reviews for: listing #71739 - Glacier National Park, Montana Cabin rental

Glacier Canyon River Cabins
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $230 /nt
    $700 - $1,500 /wk
    $2,000 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

We Had Such A Great Time!!

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

The cabin was beautiful clean very nicely decorated! The side yard with the fire pits was were we all spent most of our time outside of Glacier Park or walking down to the river. The kids loved having a place to run and play as we live in an apartment they don't get to do that nearly as much as they should! We all had so much fun roasting marshmallows and on our last night my Boy friend proposed by the fire and it couldn't have been more perfect! Thanks David we will definitely be in touch for another stay! The Nelson- Howard Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Great cabins!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

We spent a full week in one of these cabins and it was a TERRIFIC accommodation.
The cabin is fully furnished and it is obvious that much thought and planning
went into the selection of appointments. The beds are fabulous. Overall, very
"homey" and welcoming. As others have noted, the neighborhood is "less than ideal" but what little interaction we had with the locals was friendly and enjoyable. The availability of wi-fi was just an added bonus, since many rentals in this area do not have it. Of course, we fell in LOVE with GNP and would love to return soon. A totally enjoyable experience; our best vacation ever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Nice cabin, close to GNP

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

We had a great time here! The neighborhood is less than ideal, but the cabins are nice and clean. Everything was exactly as listed online, we would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Very Nice Cabin

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

The cabin was very nice and exceeded our expectations. The kitchen was very well stocked, overall the cabin was very roomy for the four of us.

After a long day of hiking the jacuzzi tub was very nice. Also we used the fire pit to make smores and relax.

This location is great for visiting Glacier Park. Yes it is next to a trailer park but there was never any problems with the neighbors. The locals do love their fireworks but it was usually over by 11pm.

I got a visit from the owner one night, he was very nice and wanted to make sure we had everything we needed.

Overall this is a quality cabin, very clean with good location to the Glacier Park. I'm glad this is where we decided to stay and I would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Great cabin

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

David's cabin was great, cosy, neat and super clean. It has all essential item I can think off. David was accessible whenever we need him. It was few minutes drive from Glacier park entrance. I highly recommend it.
And also like to thanks David for exceptional service.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Cabin

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

I'm convinced you won't find a nicer/more luxurious cabin between Columbia Falls and West Glacier. It looks and feels brand new. The owner is very responsive to any concerns a renter may have. All the amenities make it feel more like a home than a cabin, but I'm looking forward to renting here again in the future. Highly recommend.

Hungry Horse is a quite little town in the mountains. Some may feel concerned about the unsightly trailers near the cabin, but shouldn't be. The residents of Hungry Horse are very friendly and welcoming.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nicely decorated and adequately furnished cabin

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

We were very pleased with the accomodations. Teh cabin is decorated so nicely and furnished adequately. We appreciated the effort put forth having it so clean. Thanks for providing us with a delightful vacation in your area of MT.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fish within walking distance

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

Thank you David. The cabin was very accomodating. We caught fish within walking distance from the cabin in the South Fork of the Flathead River. We had a great time, Columbia Falls and surrounding area is very nice.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very clean cabin

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

We were so impressed with the cabin, we both had tears in our eyes when we had to leave. Being furnished the way they are and so clean you did such a wonderful job building them. The cabins are very well representd. The people around them were very quiet and did not bother us at all. We would definitely do this again. Very pleased.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice cabin with full kitchen

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

We loved our stay, so nice being close to the park. The cabin was really nice and I loved having a full kitchen and the option of washer and drier. The soaking (jacuzzi) tub was awesome. Very pleasant stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gratefully surprised

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Thank you for saving our nights. We were gratefully surpriseed by your cabin. We had a really good night.
(This renter couldn't find an open hotel room and heard about the cabin on the night he needed one. We had an opening on that night and he ended up staying an extra night. Owner.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful set-up

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Thank you for the wonderful set-up of the cabin. We loved being able to come back and grill out and relax.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice Cabin with Great Access to GNP

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

My wife and I rented this cabin over the Fourth of July and very much enjoyed our stay; especially its proximity to Glacier National Park and Whitefish, MT. The cabin was very clean and well-furnished, and had more than we expected for our stay. It had everything that was advertised, and all of it was in excellent condition. David, the owner, was very helpful, friendly, and very easy to work with.

The cabins themselves are located on the edge of Hungry Horse in a fairly quiet area. The neighborhood around the cabins was not as nice as the cabins, but the people were friendly and mainly kept to themselves. There was a nice hiking trail that led to the South Fork of the Flathead River literally across the street from the cabin.

Hungry Horse itself was a pretty quiet town. The fireworks on the Fourth started about 6 p.m. and lasted until about 2 a.m. My wife and really enjoyed the festivities on the main highway and will remember the holiday for years to come; it was truly a unique and memorable experience!

The cabin was an easy distance to both Whitefish, MT and the western entrance to Glacier National Park. It took about 15-20 minutes to travel to either, which was the perfect distance if we wanted to go hike in the park all day then go out for dinner.

Overall, we both really enjoyed our time at the cabin. We would go back if we had the opportunity, especially to experience the Fourth of July in Hungry Horse again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice accommodations

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

we had a very pleasant time in Hungry Horse. The cabin was as represented, although it is right next to a trailer park (not mentioned or seen in the photos) and, whileit was not a distraction upon one occasion a less than desirable character attempted to "welcome us to the neighborhood." The cabin was clean and well equipped although the wi-fi did not work upon arrival, butthe owner promptly attended to it and had it fixed. He was extremely helpful and while not physically present he was always available by phone and quicklY responded to calls. Overall, it was an excellent experience, one I would repeat. I might also add that our deposit was refsunded fully accordance with the terms.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hungry Horse is a small MT community with working class people that are very friendly and always willing to lend a hand. The cabins are on the outskirts of town and as shown in the pictures, you can see the homes on one side and the woods on the other side of the cabins. A two-minute walk through the woods takes you right down to the South Fork of the Flathead River. The tall fence next to the cabins gives you privacy when barbequeing or using the firepits and picnic tables in the yard. The cabins are always spotless and the full-size kitchens are fully supplied to cook the most extravagant meals. A large grocery store is only 10 minutes away to stock up on all the ingredients you will need to make those delicious meals. Come and join us and enjoy the town, the woods, the river, the jacuzzi tub and the nights around the firepits roasting smores and telling big tales.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will stay again.

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

Thankfully we were referred to this cabin when Kalispell, Whitefish and park were booked up. We really enjoyed it and are grateful we stumbled upon it. Certainly, we will stay again if we have the chance.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pleasant surroundings.

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2010

Great stay, pleasant surroundings. A well appointed cabin. A little "out of the way" but nice and quiet. We would come back again and tell our friends. CANADA!

(P.S. The cabins are only 5 blocks off the highway. The owner.)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our stay.

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

We loved our stay. We really enjoyed the time we spent in your cabin. Beautiful, clean and fun. Thanks.
CANADA!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful new cabin.

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

Beautiful new cabin. Spotless clean. Quality workmanship. Well decorated. Thoughtfully supplied. We enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Homey, comfortable cabin.

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

We had a wonderful stay. The cabin was homey, welcoming and comfortable. We found everything we needed was provided and were extremely happy. It was a great environment for our family of 5. We loved everything including the cute set-up and design. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great beds.

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

We were the first family in this new cabin! We thought it extremely nice. Great beds. Thoughtful kitchen supplies. Good luck the rest of the season.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A find

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We had an amazing stay. This truly is a find. We felt so relaxed and at home with so many comforts.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Inviting and relaxing place.

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the South Fork cabin very much. Only wish it could have been longer. You have provided an inviting and relaxing place to come home to after a full day in the park. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay at Glacier Canyon River Cabins

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

We had a wonderful two night stay wishing when we left it could have been longer. Our cabin was new, spacious and well furnished with all the comforts of home including satalite TV and wifi but with a quiet mountain community location and feel. Nice safe grassy area for children to play in an run off energy at the end of a day. We enjoyed a relaxed and peaceful stay with doors and windows open to capture the smells of the forest and rain showers. Very convienently located to the services and businesses of Hungry Horse and to the west entrance to Glacier NP.

A great place to just kick back and relax sitting on the cabin porch or around the fire pit(wood provided),cooking out on the provided grill or as a base camp for exploring the attractions of the area. We prefer cabins to motels and busy resort environments. Glacier Canyon River Cabins were among the best we have stayed at and we would definately return to these cabins if our travels take us back to northwestern Montana.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Glacier Cabin

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Given the busy weekend in Kalispel, it was nice to be able to find a place and being escorted to the cabin. The cabin is well made and designed very well to fit the needs of all sorts of people. From families with teenagers to families with young children even older people.

Even though it was on the outskirts of a trailer park the people from the park never bothered me at all and were nothing but friendly upon walking by. The river was within walking distance and it was a nice view from there. I felt very confortable in the cabin and would definately visit it again in the very near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Cabin - Awesome service

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

I found this place to be beautiful, the cabin was laid out beautifully very clean and spacious. I had wished I had more time to enjoy more of the area. I took a walk to the nearby river, said hi to the neighbours who were walking their children by from the nearby trailer park. I felt quite at home as it it was in a neighbour hood with children, dogs, cats etc... It felt like I hadn't left home at all. It was nice the cabin was on one level. I also liked the fact there was a fire pit in the yard to use as we pleased.
I found everyone in Hungry Horse Montana to be very friendly and hospitable.

I personally recommend this property to adventure seekers, families with children of any age...teenagers would enjoy as well, romantic getaway, sight seeing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

great cabin, iffy neighborhood

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2010

The cabin is spotless and good quality construction. Nicely appointed. Someone has taken a lot of care with the building, the grounds, the furnishings and the cleanliness.
I was a bit uncomfortable with the surrounding neighborhood. Very trashy trailer park all around. I thought this was an isolated cabin(s) but it is right in a questionable neighborhood with dogs barking at night and kind of a junk yard look. There was a lovely river nearby but I never saw it as it required walking through a little woods to get there and I was not sure if that was private property. The river could not be seen from the cabin. I would have been uncomfortable staying there alone and being from Chicago, I don't scare easily. I always took my laptop with me when I went anywhere..I was afraid to leave it in the cabin.
I would recommend this cabin to men/fishermen and perhaps to hunters. The cabin was luxerious but the neighborhood left something to be desired. I would not recommend a group of women stay there or an older couple.
In conclusion, our time there was wonderful. We were only there to sleep. Our goal was to see as much of Glacier Park as we could. We had a successful trip. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review