reviews for: listing #71750 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

Beautiful Tahoe home for a wholesale budget
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $225 /nt
    $693 - $1,575 /wk
    $1,800 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Lake Tahoe Rental Home

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Lake Tahoe. The house was comfortable and clean and the owners were friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this house to family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great family destination

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

Our family stayed two times this past summer at the Johnson's Beautiful Tahoe Home. We chose them for a last minute weekend reservation and returned later in the summer for a week. The pictures do not do this home justice. It felt so cozy and homey inside decorated well with a cabin feel. It was awesome for us traveling with our kids and my in-laws. My in-laws stayed in the room downstairs with it's private bath and kitchen they were able to escape the chaos of the kids and enjoy their own space. The yard was so green and well maintained in the middle of summer and fenced so it was fantastic area for kids.

The home was super clean. My only disappointment would be that the grill was not working so all cooking had to be done indoors.

The owner was awesome to work with and was very accommodating and easy to work with, and left nothing to question. The location was great being near the Y and Camp Richardson, and a just far enough away from the chaos of downtown. We ate at the Beacon at Camp Richardson which was reminiscent of Dukes on the beach in Hawaii, YOU have to try the fries. Large portions, 5 star quality, and simply awesome. Best pizza, Tahoe Pizza Co. did not disappoint.

I will say that the only advise I can give is if you are planning on staying longer than a few days there are no laundry amenities so pack according. And do not expect your cell phone to work pretty much anywhere in Tahoe, but the wifi helped to keep us in contact. If you are looking for a great deal and all the comforts of home you found your next vacation spot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful home

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

We absolutely loved this house! It was very clean with a fully equipped kitchen. The house included all linens however it didn't have a washer/dryer and we needed more towels by the end of the week. There were only a couple hand towels and we needed to change them. We went to the laundromat which was fine but it would have been nice to not have to.
The downstairs being a separate entrance and having microwave and mini fridge worked out great with our family needs. We had 2 adults and 2 kids, including a baby, downstairs and it stayed nice and quiet for them.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are always improving our home. One of our next projects is a laundry room with washer/dryer.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect house

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

This is a very clean and nice house. My friends and I rented it for 2 nights during Thanksgiving. We have had a great time there. We stayed at the house most of the time. Playing Badminton during the day and using hot tub at night which was great. We have enjoyed watching movies from the great selection that they have at the house. I liked the decoration very much. Rooms were so clean and nice. The view from the big windows was perfect. The owner is a nice lady. And finally the price was so great for a house like that. I stayed in other houses at South Lake Tahoe. This one is the cleanest, nicest one with the best price.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful house

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

This is a very clean and nice house. My friends and I rented it for 2 nights during Thanksgiving. We have had a great time there. We stayed at the house most of the time. Playing Badminton during the day and using hot tub at night which was great. We have enjoyed watching movies from the great selection that they have at the house. I liked the decoration very much. Rooms were so clean and nice. The view from the big windows was perfect. The owner is a nice lady. And finally the price was so great for a house like that. I stayed in other houses in South Lake Tahoe. This one is the cleanest, nicest one with the best price.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing rental, wonderful vacation

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

The house was immaculately clean, well-maintained, and incredibly cozy. I love that there is an extra kitchen and bathroom downstairs. It was a hot summer and the house stayed cool and comfortable at all times.

The area is quiet and very green. The location is very convenient--there are many nice beaches and all the stores you could need nearby. The weekend farmers' market and flea market is great too!

This is the perfect vacation spot whether you are on a family vacation or romantic getaway. There is even a DVD collection for those days/evenings you are stuck inside.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great week-end in South Lake Tahoe

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

We spent a week-end at this Lake Tahoe junction cabin and we had a wonderful stay. The cabin is very cozy and comfortable. Everything is furnished and beautifully decorated, making you feel at home. We enjoyed spending time outside in the backyard where the picnic tables make it a nice place eat. The Internet connection was a plus to surf the Internet and get all the local information we needed. The cabin is conveniently located 10 minutes from the stores in South Lake Tahoe and not far from tourist attractions like Emerald Bay and the Pope estate. I did not know South Lake Tahoe before our stay but I was pleasantly surprised. It was a wonderful place for our family to relax and recharge.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation and Great Rental

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

This is an amazing place to stay. It is warm, cozy and close to town. Spotless clean and decorated with loving care.
Extremely comfortable and quiet. It is very convenient to the amenities of Tahoe. Within 10 to 20 minute drive you can go skating, sledding, snow boarding or go to an art gallery or a nice restaurant. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loooovveettt..

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

It was our pleasure to meet you. We had a great time, my friends and I went snowboarding and tubing at Boreal, everyone else enjoyed the stayed at your cabin and of course your heavenly hot tub was amazing... Cooking in your well equipped kitchen was a pleasure. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. We'll definitely be in touch for a return visit. =')

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Would go back and recommend to my friends

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Lake Tahoe Junction. We would go back again and recommed our friends. The house is well maintained,clean and well equiped. We enjoyed the decor/ambience and wood burning stove. It is close enough to town for daytime activities and nice and quiet at night. Beautiful sun room with huge windows and view of the forest is a nice room to relax. My husband enjoyed the TV's in every room. The house is large enough to accomodate group activities comfortably while still having some rooms offering a private space for quiet time alone. The outdoor jacuzzi is a nice feature too. The owners were easy to reach and very easy/helpful to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved our stay at Lake Tahoe Junction

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

We were very happy with this property. We would go back again and recommend it to our friends. I felt that the property was even better than we had expected of a vacation rental property. It is very well maintained, very clean and well equiped. The kitchen had everything we could possibly need and it was well organized and clean. The house has a large living room area, great for group events and also private areas for some quiet time alone. The jacuzzi is a nice feature, clean and nicely set up outdoors. I loved the sunroom and view from the sunroom. My husband liked the TV's in every room and large TV in the main living room area. It is nicely decorated and just a nice place to be, with views of the national forest. It is quiet at night and close to town for activities during the day. We found the owners very easy to reach, honest and helpful. I hope you go and enjoy this home as much as we did!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

definately recommend to my friends and go back again myself

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Tahoe Junction. The house was very clean and well equiped. There is plenty of room for group events / activities as well as private spaces for some quiet time alone. The jacuzzi and jacuzzi area is very nice. The setting is lovely, it is nice a quiet at night and yet close to town for activities during the day. Everything we could possibly need was there in the house, the kitchen was well equiped and everthing was clean and well organized. We really enjoyed the log burning stove too ... very cozy at night. The house is nicely decorated with a wonderful ambience. I would certainly go back and recommend the vacation rental property to my friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean, OK on comfort

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Two-story house, clean and well-furnished. Close to a main road, unfortunately, so not as quiet as we had hoped.

The upstairs has a small kitchen with a mini dishwasher. The main bedroom, which is advertised as a "Master," is actually across the hall from the bathroom. This one was nicely furnished; comfortable bed and flat-screen tv; the second bedroom down the hall had a bed that was hard and uncomfortable.

The bathroom upstairs was typical shower/tub combo. The living / dining areas were just about the right size for our group of 4.

The downstairs area was quirky and awkwardly laid out (used to be the basement?), and the owner has personal items everywhere which aren't to be touched or moved. There was no place to keep our suitcases other than the floor. The bathroom itself is good sized, but the furnishings are very small - a teeny tiny shower, which was hard to use, and one tiny shelf next to the sink to hold personal care items. Suited for one person at best. The kitchenette area was clean, and well-lit with lots of windows, great for sipping morning coffee.

The owner gave us a good deal, and we were traveling at the last minute, so it was adequate for a couple of nights.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful and convenient place

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Great home, with views, convenience (to trails, meadows, etc) and lots of space! Would definitely stay here again. Host was very helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fantastic Deal

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

If you're looking for a steal of a deal, you won't find anything better than this. The amenities are already listed, so need to go over those. Let's just make a list of the good and the areas to improve:

Good:
1. Great Deal.
2. Very-responsive owners. Call them any time if something's not right.
3. Proximity to South Lake Tahoe.
4. Spacious and homely.
5. Big backyard, great for snow forts.

What could be improved:
1. Upon renting the place, there was a checklist given of all the stuff to do upon arriving and leaving. Then there was other stuff added on another sheet, then there were additional requests made by e-mail...it got to be a lot to keep track of. If they could streamline all of this information, it'd make it a lot easier to check-in and check-out. However, I must say that whenever I called to double check on something, they very easy to talk to.
2. Some of the dishes and pots and pans weren't entirely clean. Not a terrible thing, but nobody enjoys doing dishes when they arrive at a place. If you're a hypochondriac like me, bring a couple extra skillets or something if you plan on cooking breakfast, as one of them seemed to be pretty rusted out.
3. Only one or two rolls of toilet paper and paper towels. We had to go out and grab some more. Either supplying more paper towels and toilet paper, or leaving a note so that we know we'll run out soon, would've been great.

Final note: Clearly, the things to be improved upon are minor quibbles. Good deal, good place, good owners.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review