reviews for: listing #71772 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

"Tahoe Castle", Private Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $750 - $800 /nt
    $2,585 - $5,600 /wk

sort by:

Favorite Vacation Home Ever !!

Review submitted: April 8, 2009   Date of arrival: February 10, 2009

Kids loved it, grandparents loved it, husband and I loved it. We travel often and I've been all over the globe and have never found any home so filled with amenities. You float in the pool at night with waterfall on and fireplace and your favorite music, plus they have some special fiber lighting. It was absolute heaven! My only comment was his ad needs better pictures and Dan said he's working on that.
We will be back for certain.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! I treat all my guests like family and it always seems to pay off. Never had an unhappy guest in all these years, and that's hundreds of people!

Helpful votes: 28 / 30

 

Best Tahoe Trip Ever

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

My family has been traveling to Tahoe since 1975 and we have stayed in many hotels and rentals. I wish we had known about this gem a long time ago! Mind you we have stayed in some nicer homes during the last several years as we have retired and can afford the best, yet this home had things we never even considered such as a pool inside the house. How refreshing after walking all day to slip into a nice warm pool. We liked the steam room too since Tahoe can be pretty dry and my sinuses need to adjust normally. I'll add that it was a pleasue dealing with the owner. He's very good at what he does and reserving the home was easy and all communications were very polite and informative. Only bad thing was we missed out on reserving Christmas which we're told just booked. We will return though.

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review! Very happy you enjoyed "The Castle"!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Castle

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

Dan's home was perfect for our group. Super spacious and all the appliances were top of the line. Dan was easy to work with and very understandable. It really doesn't hurt to just ask so give him a call. You won't regret it.

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review, I never ask for them but maybe I should start. I see a lot of other properties have more reviews so I guess it wouldn't hurt. People consistently love the Castle and I work hard to see their needs are met and the house is beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All we hoped for and more

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

We decided to jump on a last minute deal and this home seemed so beautiful we couldn't resist. As it turns out the house is even nicer than the photos show and also much bigger. We all had a great time and enjoyed the pool, spa, steam and sauna. The guys had a ball playing pool while the girls had fun by the living room fire. Even though the weather was great we want to return for the Winter season sometime. The owner is very professional and helpful and made the process simple. Best place we've ever rented and we have rented many. We all loved it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spectacular

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

I stayed there previously as a guest of a friend who rented it. This time (September 2013) I rented it myself for my family. The photos don't do it justice-absolutely spectacular, and the living room and kitchen have the highest vaulted ceilings I have ever seen. The indoor pool and the hot tub are heavenly, and of course you see so many stars in the mountains. We even saw some shooting stars. The huge kitchen is great for someone like me who loves to cook. The place was clean, all the linens looked new, and also looked like new carpets in the upstairs where the pool table and foosball table are. Nice quiet neighborhood, and the neighbors I talked to were very nice. Dan was a pleasure to work with and made all the planning, arrival easy and had all the answers we needed. We will be back again for sure!

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to send along such a nice review and of course you're more than welcome to return to "The Castle" and hope you get to experience the other Tahoe seasons.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Magnificent Home

Review submitted: October 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

Well as the kids say, it was awesome! The photos here are not enough to see the home is even better than what we expected, much larger. Everone spread out and found something to enjoy and that was 12 people. We all had a great time and really liked this time of year in Tahoe with fewer tourists and beautiful weather. After a nice long hike it was really nice to slip into the pool or hot tub. What a great home. We are coming back next year as well.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Winter Super Fun

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We'll never forget what a wonderful time we had at the Tahoe Castle. We all loved the pool and the steam room was great for the dry Tahoe air. I don't know what else you can think of that a house has but this one was perfect. Also the owner was a great guy to deal with. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

First time to Tahoe and super wow I think we hit it big with this home. All sorts of neat things to do and enjoy. Kids were in the pool and having so much fun that when we went out they kept wanting to go "home" to swim more. Well I highly recommend this castle for enjoying Lake Tahoe. Also renting Kayaks was really fun going into Emerald Bay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Winter Castle

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Everybody went crazy over the pool, we had some days too tired to hit the slopes and wow how cool to have a swim day. The air in Tahoe is very dry too so we liked the steam room. We had some of our most treasured memories in this house and will be returning for sure.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Ever

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

Wow what a house! This has it all with the warm indoor pool jacuzzi and steam and sauna and pool table. I can't think of anything else you need...well ok...beer! Seriously this is the best house I've ever rented and I have been all over the globe. Dan who runs the place was helpful and very professional; he's been at this a while. Hey one tip plan ahead, I missed the house last year but will plan this coming winter well in advance. Before someone reads this review and gets my dates!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review. I never get tired of hearing people say nice things. Number one comment is the pictures don't do the home justice. Better to be pleasantly surprised I suppose.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Happy Stay

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

Everything was wonderful, We enjoyed our relaxing getaway, at the Castle. It's a beautiful home, it was so quiet around the neighborhood, ;) The kids were playing in the snow, building forts to having snowball fights lol, my husband included :)We didn't want to leave, sadly we did but want to return soon, I have to ck the schedule ! lol will recommend to our family and friends
thank you so much , Barbara R.& family

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Merry Christmas

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

We stayed at the Tahoe Castle on our Christmas Vacation and loved this house! Lake Tahoe was absolutely stunning in Winter as it were but to come "home" from a long day of skiing and unwind in the steam room, pool and spa was perfect. We had so many pictures of the house but somehow all our vacation pics got deleted, and too bad because we had some really great ones. As a cook I personally enjoyed the large gas stove and easy access kitchen for all the ladies to gossip while the men played pool in the loft. One issue though, after you get home expect a
lot of nagging from the kids "Mom when are we getting a pool inside" :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Dream Home

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We all love visiting Tahoe in the Summer or Winter and this last visit was all the more special while staying at the "Castle". The pool and steam and sauna were all so relaxing and rejuvenating. This home is quiet and private and really has the feel of Tahoe. This was a vacation within a vacation. I recommend you reserve ahead, I know this last Summer rented almost every day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Very Impressive

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

My family and friends have been traveling to Lake Tahoe now for 30 years and have stayed in nice homes and not so nice homes. This one gets our highest rating. Everyone had a great time and the amenities really set this home apart from the rest. Also to note that Dan is a great guy to rent from, very helpful and friendly. I only hope I'm not encouraging someone to rent our dates because we will be back :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

What an Amazing place! We hiked and biked and boated all day and it was so cool to come back to a relaxing swim and serve up dinner in the beautiful log greatroom. Kids loved the loft area and played foosball and cards and the men played pool and we all had a great time. Easy drive to everywhere and very quiet there. I recomend this Castle to anyone except maybe handicapped because of the stairs.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

Excellent Vacation Home
Everyone had a lot of fun here. The house is bigger than it looks in the pictures and the pool, spa, steam and sauna were heavenly. The kitchen and living room were large enough for a good sized group dinner and the loft was a good place for the guys to play pool and be men, while the living room by the fireplace was great for the women to do, whatever it is they do. Very private and very quiet.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2009

Winter Wonderland
We had a great time at Dan's house in Lake Tahoe. The kids loved the pool, I liked the hot tub in the snow out back, my daughters liked the steam room, and my husband and son played pool and that football game till the wee hours. The home is absolutely beautiful. In fact this is out new "dream home". If we can ever get another one built it will have a pool. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed staying at this home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Fantasy

Review submitted: November 9, 2009   Date of arrival: April 9, 2009

Everything we had hoped for a Snowy mountain getaway and more! We didn't even realize the pool was in the house! We thought it was in some shared development, wow, we were amazed. Great skiing in Early April by the way. Then it's so great to come "home" and go for a swim and a steam. Only down side is you have to leave eventually!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Tahoe Castle

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

Overall we had good experience with this property. Nice layout & good amenities. Having said that, this cabin could use a really good thorough cleaning. Lots of things to do close by. Nice biking, hiking, walking trails nearby. The pool was nice for the grandkids, the steam, dry sauna, & hot tub was great for adults. I would use this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Have new Maid service now. Absolutely inexcusable, but the problem is resolved.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Unbelievable!

Review submitted: March 31, 2009   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

We just stayed here recently in March 2009, my wife and some of our friends. I just don't know where to begin, everything was great and the house, or should I say castle, was everything we had hoped for. Great location, warm pool, everyone had a really great time, skiing was excellent and it was really nice to come back to a steam, sauna, and hot tub after battling the mountain all day. One other thing, we do our research for getting a deal and this house was priced similar to houses with none of the features here. You get better deals when owner direct, that's for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review