reviews for: listing #71881 - Keaau, Hawaii Studio rental

Dolphin Hideaway Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Haw. Paradise Park
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $55 - $75 /nt
    $330 - $350 /wk
    $999 - $999 /mth

sort by:

AMAZING - Super cute and the perfect location to explore the Big Island

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 7, 2014

There is so much good I could say about this place and Laura's hospitality that you'd get sick of reading it. SO here is the gist of it...
My husband and I rented a 4WD jeep (which is the perfect way to save money and explore the big island). We logged aprx 100-300 miles per day depending on how adventurous we wanted to be, but it was NEVER a boring drive. Now you don't have to travel far from the Dolphin Hideaway to have a good time, but we figured out it is in the perfect location on the island to travel from. The Volcanoes, black sand beaches, surfing lessons, tide pools, snorkeling areas, amazing waterfalls, coffee farms, the 2 mountains (Mauna Loa, Mauna Kea), farmers markets, etc are all within 20min to an hour or so. Amazing! Or you can just relax at the studio or take a mile hike/drive to the cliffs to watch the sunrise and dolphins.
And the studio is great - very clean - very cute - great touring information provided - movies - books available for free use - TV if you really need - good Wi-fi - peaceful and quiet - decently comfortable bed - no A/c but opening the windows at night did us just fine - rain water feeds the studio ( which is normal in the area and awesome!) and don't worry it gets PLENTY hot if need be. Bring your own water bottles though for drinking purposes.
Laura is great! She was superbly hospitable. She greeted us with a smile and had great equipment for us to use (Snorkeling gear, boogie boards, etc) and one day she gave us some homemade pesto which was awesome. She has chickens and also gave us a dozen eggs! Her place is filled with home grown vegetation and beauty. Super thankful for this place as it saved us a lot of money from staying at a resort or some sketchy cheap hotel. We were able to use the money to create the adventure we always wanted! We hope to be back one day. Thank you Laura!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks you so much for the glowing review! We are so glad you had a great time and that our central location worked out for you. Please come again and send your friends!

Mahalo & Aloha,
Laura and Gary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect location & price

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

we were there to investigate moving to the puna district and as a senior trip for my daughter. centrally located to everything we were there for. it was just us girls and we felt perfectly safe on this absolutely beautiful, idyllic property. laura was there if we needed but non-intrusive and super nice. best price we found and worth every penny and more. there is a perfect book there about the big island that we almost wore out using so much. had great info/reviews/maps,etc. about everything you can find on the island. highly recommend!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you liked our central location and thank you for choosing the Dolphin Hideaway Vacation Rental! We loved having you and hope to see you again in the future. Send your friends!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Deal!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

Very accurate listing and accommodating hostess! Perfect stay for 1-2 people. Clean, cozy, and private. Close to and easy to access town/shops/restaurants/sightseeing...So nice to be able to borrow snorkel gear, coolers, and other amenities. Definitely the best price for the area!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: When we travel we like to get a good deal so here at Dolphin Hideaway, we like to give a good deal! Pay if forward!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

We had a great time staying at Dolphin Hideaway.
The weather was not super while we were there but it was great to be in a nice place for the cloudy days and rainy nights.
The cottage is great. It has everything you need, including a very nice selection of DVDs to watch.
The place is cozy, very comfortable and clean. The wood finishings are really amazing. I wish I could have bought the mirror. :)
As for location, it is close to the beach, but as most of the beaches in Hilo, it is not a sand beach. It is around 20 minutes by car from Downtown Hilo and just a few minutes from downtown Keaau, where you can find everything you need, including a very nice organic store and a local market.
Laura was very welcoming and helpful as well.
We hope we come across places like this everywhere we travel to.
Thanks Laura!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you were comfortable and had a great time! Thanks for the review!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, Quiet and perfect for 2

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

Greeted upon arrival by a wonderful house guest. Quiet, great sunrises. HPP is a wonderful town to stay in, and this place was close to everything. My husband loved the wood finishes in the hideaway. We played with the chickens and the cat, and the fountain sounded soothing.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you were comfortable and had a great time. We are continually making improvements to the property. After you left in November, we started the process of landscaping another section of our one acre paradise. Come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What great memories!

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

Still daydreaming about our stay at your clean, comfortable, well-stocked home. Thank you for giving us our peaceful private space, yet growing to become our special friends near the end of our stay. Of the 4 homes we stayed at in the month of February 2012, yours stands out as the best! Centrally located for our jaunts to the ocean, HIlo, volcanos, the little towns, and your Farmers Market. Your quiet street so we could hear the ocean. And, no surprises - your home was just like you advertised. You really made our trip enjoyable, and we'll see you again. If available, we want the whole month next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to help all get a personal experience.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

a great place to be!

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Aloha Laura and Gary!
How lucky we were to be able to stay with you at Dolpin Hideaway for almost four weeks. We had a wonderful time. We loved to come back to your comfortable flat in the evening to relax after adventures trips and meetings with nice people.
We felt at home immediately. It was impossible not to because it is so beautifully decorated and taken care of with love.
Also it was nice to discover that your place was perfectly situated in regard to our travelling tours. Thank you again, dear Laura, for showing me where to find the turtles, since the meeting with them was a highligt for me (hopefully also for them) ;-) We are happy to have got to known as warm hearted people as you. We will recommend your studio all people who look for a comfortable place, from which you can reach easily the wonders of Big Island. Mahalo!
Petra and Lone

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: We loved having you here and we are very glad you had a wonderful time. We really appreciate the kind words you wrote in our quest book.
We look forward to seeing and hearing from you in the future, either here in Hawaii or in Germany!
Many thanks again for the glowing review!

Mahalo & Aloha,

Laura A. Richman RS & Gary Kort
Dolphin Hideaway Vacation Rental

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great place to see the Hilo side of the island - for us the best deal on the whole trip!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

The Studio is a great place to stay for visiting the volcano and the beautiful beaches around Puna.
We loved the place, even though the kitchen is not too big, there is everything you might need. Everything was very clean and well kept. We liked the wood (floor, bed etc.) very much.
It looks exactly like on the pictures!
We enjoyed having breakfast at the lanai! But unfortunately, if it was raining before, there were mosquitoes, just to be aware.
Considering to the price and what you get for it, it was the best deal on our four week trip!
The only thing we didn't understand is, if there would have been WIFI? But in the end, we didn't need it anyway.
So Laura and Gary, thank you for giving us the possibility to have such a great time! We would definitely recommend the place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We now have WIFI. Not sure if you saw this but there are plenty of mosquito coils under the kitchen sink. They seem to be are only around after a heavy rain which happens occasionally. We are so glad you had a great time.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A home away from home in paradise!

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

This ohana is a beautiful, well appointed, very very clean, private and peaceful place to stay. Definitely a BARGAIN whether vacationing or honeymooning. Centrally located for exploration of the Hilo side of the Big Island, you will love it here. The listing is completely accurate. We visited 09/11 for an extended stay and were able to cook all our meals, enjoy fresh produce from the Farmer's Market, and spend our days exploring the Puna and Hilo districts. The owner is very helpful and kind. We loved going to the "hot pond" near Pahoa, the massive tide pools in Kapoho, Volcanoes Natn'l Park, and also circumnavigating the island, experiencing the different climate zones. The "Saddle Road" is newly completed so it is only an easy 2 hr drive to Kona. Less than a mile away from this ohano are breathtaking ocean cliffs to sit by and feel refreshed. For walkers and runners, there are miles of safe roads to enjoy. Need a beach chair, beach towels, snorkel gear, etc? They are free for your use. DON'T PASS THIS LOVELY OHANA up! We have recommended it to several friends and they are looking forward to staying here and fall asleep to the sound and rhythm of the ocean like we did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Hannah & Larry (Dallas, TX)

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

My wife and I took an extended getaway in the islands for a month during the summer of 2011. We chose the dolphin hideaway through the word of mouth of friends living in the islands. It was the perfect location to set up homebase for our trip- remote, quaint, private. Driving distance to Hilo, the volcano, and Kona was reasonable.
Most of all... the price was stunning! Surely the best deal in the area. Everything you might need was included.
Laura and Gary were certainly a pleasure.
You won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words! We love sharing our piece of Paradise with from people all over the world. We are continually upgrading and adding amenities and conveniences for our quests. Please come and visit us again and thank you for referring us to your friends!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Enjoyed the central location and comfortable studio

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

A perfect location and jumping off point for Hawaiian Volcanoes National Park, Mauna Kea, Hilo or the Puna District (tide-pools and warm springs on the east side). We spent three days enjoying the Hilo and Makuu Farmers Market; Mauna Kea and in a day took in Lava Tree State Monument, Kapoho Tidal pools and Kalapana. It was a nice place to return after sight-seeing. Our only regret is purchasing groceries at Foodland in Kea'au instead of waiting for the abundance at the Farmers Market. Gary and Laura have a tidy well-kept acre!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you had a great experience here at the Dolphin Hideaway Vacation Rental. We enjoyed having you and hope you will come again. We look forward to seeing your friends, family, neighbors, and business associates. We love sharing Hawaii with all!

Much Aloha,
Laura and Gary

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

a real bargain

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

Great, new studio. Accommodating hostess. Convenient location. Amazing chattering birds. A real bargain!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at our Dolphin Hideaway!
Hope to see you again in the future. Thank you in advance for all your future referrals!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The Perfect Hideaway!

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

This studio is truly the best deal on the Big Island. We spent 3 nights in this cute and comfortable studio. Laura was very friendly and even let us borrow some flashlights for our nighttime lava viewing. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. We especially enjoyed the table and chairs on the front porch for our morning coffee. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks, Laura!

Owners response: Thank you for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed yourselves and had a good time. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Please tell your friends, neighbors and business associates about us. Thanks for spreading the word!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent place for the price.

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

Very nice and clean guest apartment. Although it is attached to the owner's structure the guest quarters are more of like a "mother-in-law" apartment that is very common in Hawaii. Since it was separated from the main house by a carport, it felt very private. The small kitchen and Lanai out front were really nice added touches.
The setting helped to establish this feeling as well. It is a few miles of the main road, in between Hilo and Volcano, so a pretty good spot and relax at night, but still be pretty centrally located to many of the sites most people would want to see on the East side of the island. You will definitely need a car to visit this area, so make sure to book one.

The hosts were excellent too, very helpful in giving suggestions, but also giving us plenty of space to relax and adjust in our first few days on Hawaii.

No, it's not the most extravagant listing you'll find on VRBO, but considering the relative price, helpful owners, and very clean and comfortable place, it was a great place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was like home

Review submitted: July 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

When I arrived I was tired and ready for a bath and a good place to call home after a long day of travel. Laura, the owner , had already arranged things for me so that I could be comfortable and ready to use the studio even at my late hour.

The studio was very clean and nicely arranged, even in the atmosphere and energy that it inspires. I felt relaxing just by stepping in ... then the clean bathroom and tub with as much as the bubble bath available was a genuine welcoming touch.

Laura was always available and interested in making my stay pleasant and worry free. She is a very caring, loving lady and though you perceive the caring presence, she lives next door, you'll feel your privacy and space truly allowed to you. I truly felt cared for, in every sense. I had friends who were staying at nearby vacation studios and homes , but, by far, Laura' studio was the best. I was happy, happy, very happy of my choice and ... I'm planning on coming back if I am in Keaau again.
Thank you Laura, for your hospitality and service.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

We stayed at the Dolphin Hideaway for our short trip to the Big Island. It was very clean and comfortable, we only wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks Laura!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved it!

Review submitted: July 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Dolphin Hideaway while in Hawaii. It was clean unlike a hotel room and came with the extras. We had chairs to take to the beach, and beach towels available which is always important for us. There was satellite tv available as well as several movies to choose from.

There was a microwave, small fridge, and all the dishes and accessories. The owner wanted to know if we needed anything else in our room. We could hear the waves crashing some days from our lanai where we ate our meals, thanks to the fridge and microwave.

Recommended for:

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

It was like home

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

When I arrived I was tired and ready for a bath and a good place to call home after a long day of travel.
Laura, the owner , had already arranged things for me so that I could be comfortable and ready to use the studio even at my late hour.
The studio was very clean and nicely arranged, even in the atmosphere and energy that it inspires.
I felt relaxing just by stepping in ... then the clean bathroom and tub with as much as the bubble bath available was a genuine welcoming touch.
Laura was always available and interested in making my stay pleasant and worry free. She is a very caring, loving lady and though you perceive the caring presence, she lives next door, you'll feel your privacy and space truly allowed to you. I truly felt cared for, in every sense.
I had friends who were staying at nearby vacation studios and homes , but, by far, Laura' studio was the best. I was happy, happy, very happy of my choice and ... I 'm planning on coming back if I am in Keaau again. Thank you Laura, for your hospitality and service.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

We stayed at the Dolphin Hideaway for our short trip to the Big Island. It was very clean and comfortable, we only wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks Laura!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Dolphin Hideaway while in Hawaii. It was clean unlike a hotel room and came with the extras. We had chairs to take to the beach, and beach towels available which is always important for us. There was satellite tv available as well as several movies to choose from. There was a microwave, small fridge, and all the dishes and accessories. The owner wanted to know if we needed anything else in our room. We could hear the waves crashing some days from our lanai where we ate our meals, thanks to the fridge and microwave.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review