reviews for: listing #71945 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Craftsman Garden Bungalow & Gardens, Spa, Pond, & Waterfall
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $275 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Most Luxurious and Amazing Rental Experience!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

About mid-way through our three-week vacation in the Hawaiian islands, our family (including our children aged 12 and 14) stayed at this wonderful find in the hillside outside of Hilo. We found the bungalow amidst a garden-lover's delight of tropical plants, pond and gorgeous walkways throughout the property.

The bungalow was pristine and immaculately ready for our base camp for four days on this side of the island. Every amenity has been well though out - down to 4 different types of hangers in each closet for hanging all types of garments! And love the luxurious robes too..

The kitchen was well-stocked with everything you need to feel at home while preparing meals. Abundant towels, sheets and bathroom products rounded out the offering. Not one single thing was missing - almost better than the write-up on-line.

Thanks Sherron and David for adding this lovely touch to our exploration of the Big Island. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend to others - you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Mahalo nui loa!

Owners response: Aloha Dawn, Claude, Adam and Dana, We would like to extend our appreciation to you for your wonderful review of our Craftsman Garden Bungalow in Hilo. We enjoyed meeting your family and look forward to your return stay on your next visit to the Big Island. May your family enjoy a happy and prosperous new year in 2014! Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't Wait To Come Back!

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

The Craftsman Bungalow is absolutely perfect in every way! Regrettably we stayed for only three nights and the weather was not very nice, but we were content to stay in our cozy, immaculate bungalow in front of the fireplace listening to the nice selection of Hawaiian music. Seriously, this is the nicest house we have rented and as mentioned before the gardens are spectacular.
The house is so well equipped and well maintained - the owners have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and they are available if you need anything.
We hope to visit again and stay much longer next time!

Owners response: Aloha Margaret and Sam, It was a pleasure meeting you, Estill and Jill, and having you stay at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow in Hilo. We enjoyed our chats together during your stay and your enthusiasm and love for the gardens. We look forward to another visit from you. Thank you for being such gracious guests and for a lovely review that is much appreciated.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Perfect

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

After much research and deliberation, we chose to stay at the Garden Bungalow the first three nights of our recent Big Island vacation. Even after reading the many wonderful reviews, we were still pleasantly surprised by just how lovely it was. The house is absolutely perfect in every way. It is located in a nice residential neighborhood just a couple minutes away from the heart of Hilo. The décor is stunning with beautiful art all around and very comfortable high quality furniture. Everything a guest could possibly need has been provided.

The pictures of the gardens do not begin to do them justice. The one-acre property rivals many commercial botanical gardens, and I was in awe of all the beautiful tropical flowers and plants. What an absolute pleasure it was to wander around this lovely property first thing in the morning and at the end of each of our busy days.

We travel a lot and have stayed in many vacation rentals over the years. Sherron and Dave’s gorgeous Garden Bungalow was the nicest so far, and it will be hard to beat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Kim, Thank you for a lovely review, and for expressing your appreciation for our Craftsman Garden Bungalow and gardens. We are so pleased that you took time to explore the gardens and experience the beauty during your stay. We hope to see you back again on your next visit to Hilo. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

mature couple

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

What can we say that has not already been said by others. We stayed here because of the excellent reviews and the property actually surpassed them. It is an absolutely gorgeous place with everything anyone could want. We own Hyatt timeshares and are used to excellent accommodations and were surely not disappointed here. Dave and Sherron were very helpful, available, and full of good information. A quiet and restful place that we more than enjoyed. We certainly will come back next time we come to Hilo. Thanks for a delightful and memorable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha John and Cathy, It was a pleasure having you as guests at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow. Thank you for your favorable review and for your words of appreciation for our vacation rental property. We are happy that you took time to unwind, relax and enjoy the beautiful gardens and peaceful surroundings. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Hilo. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful garden and bungalow

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

The bungalow and garden were both beautifully maintained. The garden area with waterfall was very beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed relaxing mornings drinking our coffee and watching the birds among the beautiful garden flowers and trees. Sherron was very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. Hilo bay cafe was a very nice restaurant that we enjoyed. Mauna Kea was an amazing experience. The sunset and star gazing were fabulous.

Owners response: Aloha Angela and Glenn, Thank you for a wonderful review on our Craftsman Garden Bungalow. We are happy that you took time to thoroughly enjoy the beauty and peacefulness of the gardens during your stay, as well as made the trek up to Mauna Kea for one of the Big Island's peak experiences. Hope to see you back again. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderfull stay

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

The house is an absolute gem. We could not find a thing that was missing. Everything was take care of. The landscaping was beautiful and well maintained. An excellent view to the north, the downtown area and airport. The Hilo area has quite a few attractions such as the volcano, Rainbow Falls and the Saturday farmers market. I would recommend the property to anyone.

Roger Brown

Owners response: Aloha Roger and Gail, It was a pleasure meeting you and your friends, Stewart and Margaret, during your stay at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow. Thank you for the very favorable review...your enthusiasm about our property was very appreciated. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Big Island. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

peaceful and serene

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

Sheeron and Dave's Garden Bungalow is one of the most beautiful rentals we have ever had the opportunity to visit. The home is spacious,immaculate,peaceful and serene. The gardens have to be seen to believe. Walking through them at morning's first light taking pictures, is one of the MANY delights of this property. The bungalow is so well equipped,you want for nothing during your stay. The home is superbly constructed with all high-end finishes and every amenity one can think of for a home in this rental price range.Sheeron and Dave were always close by if we needed any info on the home, or just to ask where to get a great lunch. This was our first visit to Hilo,and could only stay for 5 days this trip. My husband and I have decided we would go back just to enjoy this property.Mahalo, Sheeron and Dave for a wonderful introduction to the Big Island of Hawaii. Nancy and Dick Rapacilo. Kalispell,Montana

Owners response: Aloha Nancy and Dick, Thank you for a spectacular review, thoughtful description and positive comments on our Craftsman Garden Bungalow vacation rental property. It is nice to be appreciated for our efforts in creating a beautiful property for visitors to stay on the the Big Island. We truly hope you will return. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Tranquility,Peace and Refreshing!

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

the beauty of the property needs to be seen for its appreciation! I grew up on Oahu and could really appreciate all the beauty of the Gardens and the peaceful atmosphere it extends to the house!Our stay there was short but the house was immaculate. Sherron had everything we could want or use~sparing no details. The gift basket was filled with delicious mangoes,macadamia nuts, and sparkling apple cider for us to enjoy!! Thank you! What a beautiful house and a beautiful location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Sa, Sai and Miller, It was a pleasure meeting your family and I am so glad you enjoyed and appreciated your stay at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow and gardens. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Big Island. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely loved it!

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

My husband and I loved the house. It was very beautiful and perfectly cleaned. The house is comfortable and relaxing. Using the sauna was one of our favorite things to do at night after a great day of hiking. We loved Hilo, such a great little town and the house is in a perfect spot that is easy to get to from town and the shopping centers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Diane and Robert, We are so pleased that you loved Hilo and enjoyed a week of exploring the island...returning to the bungalow after a busy day of sightseeing to relax and rejuvenate in the sauna and spa. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to your return. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our stay ~ May 23, 2012-May28, 2012

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

Sherron, please forgive the tardiness of this review. As you see by our date, The Carvalho family stayed at your wonderful Bungalow property in Hillo, I am late in responding. We stayed there to attend our niece's graduation from Kamehameha School. We want to commend you for such a wonderful property and your absolute hospitality when we stayed in your Bungalow in May, 2012. You couldn't have been more gracious and we really appreciate it. Your property was magnificent from all the amenties: to having a ladder, washing facilities, the openness of the house, to the cleanliness, to having all the kitchen utensils available. Your cleanliness was superb and we really appreciated that.We loved the openness of the house. I loved your toilet paper with the stickers on them ! Thank you again ! We enjoyed our visit immensly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Bob, Tone, Nicole, Frank and Maya, Thank you for such a lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed staying at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow in Hilo during your visit to attend your niece's graduation from Kamehameha. I hope to see you again when you come back to visit family on the Big Island. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Truly Amazing!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

The bungalow is just gorgeous! It felt like home after a long day of hiking or touring around the island.

The pictures are spot on but don not reflect how spacious and clean the house is.

The house has everything you can think of so there is no need to pack those little travel packs.

Sherron was quite pleasant and was patient with us as we got our bearing. She shared with us places of interest that were off the beaten path which is our preference when traveling.

When we go back, we will definitely be staying at the bungalow.

Owners response: Aloha John, Patricia and Courtlyn, I am so glad you had a great time hiking and touring the Big Island and that our bungalow felt like home after a day of adventure. Thank you for being so appreciative of the property and for the "truly amazing" review. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Denelle Lum & Aaron Langston ( San Francisco, CA)

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Garden Bungalow in May 2012 for 2 nights. It was our first time to the Big Island. The property is gorgeous and very clean. It has a beautiful garden and a modern hot tub to relax. Sherron and David are very hospitable and welcoming. They ensured the house was stocked with everything we needed from flashlights to board games. When we arrived, Sherron gave us a tour of the property and during our stay was always wiling to assist in any way she could. Before arriving to Hilo she kept in contact with us to answer any questions or concerns we had before we arrived. She even gave us a bag of fresh lychee from her tree when we checked out. They were delicious! We highly recommend staying at their home without any reservations. Our only regret was not staying there longer! We definitely plan to stay with them again when we return to Hilo! Thanks for everything Sherron and David!

~Denelle & Aaron

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Denelle and Aaron, We really enjoyed visiting with you during your stay at the Garden Bungalow. Thank you for being wonderful guests. We look forward to the next time you visit and stay. Remember...United Airlines has a direct flight to Hilo from San Francisco now. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Vacation Home!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

My husband and I and our two teenage children had a lovely time last month staying at the Garden Bungalow. This was the last leg of our two-week, three-island Hawaiian trip (first time), and it couldn't have been at a more restful, comfortable place. The home is beautifully designed and decorated and was immaculately clean. It was wonderful to have so much room to spread out after having been confined to hotel rooms. Sherron and David were wonderful hosts and they provided everything we could possibly need - even an outdoor grill for barbequing! We all, and our children especially, loved the beautiful gardens and the setting of the home. Although we experienced some rain while we were there (which is why everything is so lush and green), the home was a nice central location for day trips to the shore and to drier spots such as Volcanoes National Park, the botanical gardens, and the Waipio Valley, where we went horseback riding. We had a wonderful time and will recommend the garden bungalow to our friends. We hope to make it back someday!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Bernie, Pat, Matthew and Kyra, Thank you for choosing our Craftsman Garden Bungalow for your stay. You are a wonderful family and thoughtful guests. We enjoyed meeting you and are happy knowing you had a wonderful time and experienced many fun adventures during your stay from horseback riding in Waipio Valley to hiking at Volcano National Park. Thank you for leaving the bungalow in great shape, it makes our job of cleaning that much easier. Please return someday, we would love to see you again. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We stayed in Hilo for 5 nights during our 2 week Hawaii vacation. During our vacation, we stayed at high end resorts (Four Seasons, Fairmont), and our family's favorite place was easily this bungalow in Hilo. Everything was immaculate, and the setting was so peaceful. Would definitely come back if we ever come back to Hilo!

Owners response: Aloha Jon and Vivian, It was our pleasure hosting you and your parents at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow. We enjoyed visiting with you during your stay. Thank you for the perfect 5-star rating and your words of appreciation for our bungalow property. The naturalistic setting with Japanese-inspired, lush tropical gardens captures the tranquility and beauty of the islands where travelers can relax and experience the true Hawaii, away from the "resort" atmosphere. We are so happy that you chose to stay at our bungalow and that you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to seeing you again for your next Big Island visit. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Place, Amazing People

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

When my husband and I decided to visit Hawaii with our 22 month old daughter, we knew it was going to be a bit of a challenge - the flights starting from the East coast, the packing, the preparation, etc. The stress of planning and taking such a trip can take its toll.

Glad to say all that stress when right out the window the moment we began planning to stay here. Sherron and Dave went above and beyond to make our stay one of the best we've had - anywhere. The place was beautifully crafted, stunningly designed and immaculately kept. They tended to our every need - including having a pack 'n play on hand so we didn't have to travel with one. They even had all the instructions for all the appliances in the home in one of the drawers (talk about thinking of everything!). They gave us tips and recommendations on traveling in Hilo, and when the cable went on the fritz thanks to the rain storm that moved through, Dave was there to fix it before we even knew what was wrong.

We cannot say enough good things about this rental and its owners. We loved it, and hope to come back soon and often. If you are even thinking about staying on this side of Hilo, look no further. This is THE perfect home away from home - close to all the attractions and just far enough away from them to feel like you’re not a tourist at all. And check out their other property, too, if you're looking for something a bit smaller. Either way, you will not be disappointed.

Mahalo for everything Sherron and Dave! TOP NOTCH!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Jennifer and Scott, Mahalo for your wonderful review of the Craftsman Garden Bungalow. I am so fortunate to have guests like you who appreciate our bungalow property and gardens. It was our pleasure to have such awesome guests. Please do return often. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Like Something Out of The Pages of A Magazine

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to live in one of those houses you see in those design magazines. Well this house and it's incredible private Japanese gardens is it! Situated near Hilo this home provided a quiet oasis at the end of a busy day of sightseeing. Our only regret was waiting until the last night to try the hot tub and sauna. Our hosts were generous and helpful. The house is well equipped and the attention to detail is evident. I felt like I was at home. My wife and I are looking forward to our next stay.

Owners response: Aloha Paul and Susan, I love your review. Thank you for your lavish praise. Please do come "home" to the bungalow for your next "winter escape". We look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Haven in Hilo

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

Beautiful home, spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished including excellent beds and very thoughtfully equipped and provisioned. We loved having our morning coffee in the screened porch and enjoying the view of Hilo and the bay. The bungalow was remarkably private, too, and the secluded Japanese garden was a special treat. We spent two weeks in the bungalow and it was a real home away from home. we can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Chuck & Marilyn, It was truly our pleasure having you at the Craftsman Garden Bungalow for your two-week stay in Hilo. Thank you for your appreciation of the bungalow amenities, the Japanese gardens and the beautiful vistas. I am so pleased that you immediately felt right at home at the bungalow and enjoyed your time here. See you again on your next visit. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home.

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

Honestly words and pictures do not do this place justice. It looks amazing in the pictures…but it’s actually better!!! We spent 3 nights of a 2 week trip at this property and we were kicking ourselves for not booking a longer portion of our trip here and on this side of the island. This “bungalow” was nicer (and probably bigger) than our home. When we arrived we actually thought the owner was inviting us into her house! This place is HUGE, modern, extremely well equipped for cooking and outdoor adventures, and the hosts could not be any nicer or accommodating. We had never been to the Big Island and we let people convince us to spend the majority of our trip on the “dry” side of the island. Maybe we just got lucky, but it primarily rained at night, and this side of the island is beautiful and has an amazing diversity of things to offer. Honestly next time we come back we’ll probably spend half of our trip here. If you want to do your own cooking…this place cannot be beat. The kitchen is huge and stocked with everything you could possibly need. They have a beautiful backyard and a wonderful BBQ. As an added bonus, their modern hot tub uses UV light to sterilize the water which is a HUGE bonus for people like me with sensitive skin. Huge two person shower in the master bedroom and a wonderful screened in lanai so you can read in peace without being eaten alive by bugs. It was just my wife and I but this really would be an ideal rental for 2 couples traveling together. The rooms are both extremely nice, the bathrooms are both extremely nice, and the place is big enough that you won’t feel cramped. Also, the bed here was AMAZING!!! The only “downside” I can think of is that the unit abuts to a fairly well used residential road and the bedrooms are on that side of the unit. Overall we didn’t really think it was a major issue though and all the other benefits far outweigh any noise. This property is also extremely conveniently located. Far enough from the noise of downtown, but only minutes away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Paul and Susanna, Thank you for giving the Craftsman Garden Bungalow the highest rating, and for your informative review with helpful details describing the property and outdoor spa. You are a very nice couple and considerate guests, and we enjoyed meeting you and visiting during your stay. I hope you will return soon and stay longer, especially now that you have discovered for yourselves how amazing our side of the Big Island is. Please think of the bungalow as your island home away from home. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

Perfect! All the hype in the previous reviews is very true.

The hosts are most welcoming and the house and garden are superb; There is nothing untought of by the hosts. Our family of 2 adults and 2 small kids were very happy to retire here every day.

Highly recommended to all except boys on a football trip or frat party - this place is way too nice for that.

Many thanks for fantastic memories of Hilo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Kris, Marija and family, It was very nice meeting you and your lovely family from Australia during your stay at the Garden Bungalow in Hilo. You traveled a long a distance and we were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your favorable comments about the bungalow and gardens, and for recommending the bungalow highly. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Hawaii.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house and great garden

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Me and my family spent this Christmas here, and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The house was furnished beautifully and the garden was wonderfully filled with a diverse selection of plant life. Walking the pathway through the garden was an adventure on its own. Brightly colored flowers and vines torped around trees surrounded the yard and at one end, there was a lovely lily pond. During our stay, the house provided a relaxing, homely atmosphere which made us feel completely comfortable.

Owners response: Aloha Ginger, Pauyu and family, I am happy that your family had a wonderful Christmas stay at the Garden Bungalow. I'm glad that you were comfortable and at home in your surroundings. We are so fortunate to have guests like you. Thank you for the lovely review and favorable comments. I look forward to seeing you again when you return to visit our island. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Craftsman Garden Bungalow

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

The bungalow was excellent and the description of the place was very accurate. The owner met us there on our arrival. She was very nice and accomodating. The house was very clean and very well maintained.
The garden and landscape around the house was very beautiful.
We would definitely reccommend this home to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Mervin, Arlene and family, It was a pleasure meeting you during your stay in Hilo at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow. Thank you for an excellent review on the bungalow and gardens. I am happy that you enjoyed a wonderful family celebration, and I look forward to your return stay for your next Big Island visit.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay in Hilo!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

This vacation rental was phenomenal. We stayed 3 nights and had a great time. The place is beautiful, clean, and fully stocked with everything you might need on vacation. We couldn't believe how lucky we were to find the place. The pictures online seemed almost to good to be true, but the place exceeded our expectations. We were only sad that we didn't have more time to spend in the rental because we were out touring the area during the days.

Owners response: Aloha Katya, Mahalo for such a wonderful review. We really enjoyed you, Steve and Irina during your stay at the Garden Bungalow. You really were able to do and see alot in a few days. I hope you will return to the Big Island and stay at the bungalow again. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

The bungalow was really beautiful, elegantly furnished and lovingly decorated.
Everything was absolutely clean and in perfect shape.
Plus the kitchen and the entire home were fully equipped with everything you could need. From steaksauce, zip-locks, hairdryers, 2 BD-players to even board games.
We also enjoyed the setting in a lush green and friendly Hilo neighborhood. The garden is beautifully landscaped with lots of wonderful flowers, trees and orchids.
Sherron and David are great and caring hosts. Whenever we needed help they were right there.
Hilo could be one of the last real hawaiian towns and it's just a short drive to many beautiful hikes at Volcanoes National Park.
So even if you stay in luxury hotels and resorts regularly you won't be dissapointed in the Orchid Isle Bungalow! We can absolutely recommend this vacation rental to everyone.
Mahalo Sherron and David for the wonderful time and it was a pleasure meeting you both!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Bernd & Cornelia, You are a delightful couple and we enjoyed meeting you and visiting with your family during your stay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the bungalow and your time in Hilo. I hope you will return for another visit. Cornelia, next time you will have to play the piano for us. I hope to be able to go to Weidenberg and perhaps we can see you and Ulrike and Hans Juergen when we visit. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

This was definitely hands down the most beautiful property we've stayed at. The house, garden, location, and the environment was all just perfect! Sharon and David were so nice and very helpful. If we needed anything they were just a phone call away and right next door to help. Even though they were next door, you still feel like you had your privacy. The landscape and the building structure is phenomenal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Tu, Mark & friends, I enjoyed meeting you and our visits during your stay at the bungalow. I'm glad you found your stay at the bungalow very satisfying. Thank you for your compliments on the property and the great review! I look forward to your return stay for your next Big Island adventure. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Craftsman Gardon Bungalow

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

We stayed at the Bungalow for 11 days and it was just marvelous! A home away from home. Sherron and Dave are wonderful people and very nice and helpful. The Bungalow is beautiful. There is a lovely screened porch and you can sit out there and listen to the birds and watch the sky. In back is a patio with a waterfall and a small pool with a water lily in it. The grounds ae well kept and lovely. The house is very neat and clean. The kitchen is stocked with anything you my need. The furniture is very comfortable and the floors beautiful. There is a nice garage for your car. After being gone all day it was so wonderful to return to the Bungalow and just relax! Anytime we're in Hilo this is definitely where we would want to stay. I'm so glad we found this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Betty & Gene, We enjoyed meeting you and getting to know each other during your stay at the Garden Bungalow. I am happy we could assist you and make things easier for you while you were here in Hilo taking care of family business. Mahalo for being wonderful guests, and we hope to see you back again soon. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The ideal hospitality

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

We really enjoyed staying in this gorgeous bungalow. It was very clean and greatly fashionable. There was everything that we would need. For us Japanese, to take off the shoes before entering the house was comfortable,too. Also we had a lot of fun to find various ornaments here and there.
During stay for a week,we were looking forward to going back there every day 'cause it was such a homelike place.We watch a big TV in the living room,played the ukulele in the terrace and took a walk in the beautiful Japanese Garden.
The owners,Sherron and David were ideal hosts,and their son, too! We enjoyed talking with them in broken English. If we could speak English better,it would be more enjoyable. It's the only thing we are regretful.
Someday we want to visit again with our family. Sherron and David, until then 'OGENKIDE'
Best regards,
Naoko

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Naoko, Mahalo to you and the other ladies in your group from Japan for being wonderful and appreciative guests. It was a great pleaure meeting you and having you stay in the Garden Bungalow during the Merrie Monarch Festival. I hope you will be able to return for another visit in the near future. Mahalo again for the favorable review on our vacation rental property. I am happy that you enjoyed the bungalow and gardens and that you felt at home. I look forward to your next visit. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome place to stay!

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this amazing home. If it is available, do not hesistate for a minute to rent this place. It is brand new and has the finest furnishings, appliances, dishes, etc. Just look at the pictures. Also, the owners are wonderful and very kind and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Patrick & Wendy, It was good meeting you and your family and having you as guests at the Garden Bunglow. I am happy that you had a wonderful stay in the home, and embarked on many exciting activities on the island. Mahalo Wendy for sharing the lovely, fragrant tuberose flowers you collected. When you return to the Big Island, we look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a Family

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

This property is perfect for a family to rent. It is very clean and well kept. The owners met us upon arrival even though our flight came in later than expected. The house has everything you could want. It exceeded our expectations. I would definitely recommend this property over a hotel. The owners recommended Ken's Pancake House for us to eat at since we arrived so late and everything else was closed. What a great recommendation! We had forgotten to pack a couple of things and they generously allowed us to use theirs. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Lori, Mahalo for your compliments on the Garden Bungalow and for highly recommending the property. I'm glad that you and your family felt right at home in Hilo. I look forward to your return stay on your next Big Island adventure. Mahalo, Sherron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house and delightful garden!

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

There is a 50 character limit to the title for ratings. That is way too few for all the superlatives that this property and the owners deserve.
If you have ever thought it might be nice to live in a model home, here is your chance. It could not be more thoughtfully equipped, more pleasingly designed, or better landscaped. We loved staying in a residential section of Hilo. It made us feel like we really lived there. The house is located on an older house site and the owners have situated the new one to take perfect advantage of the beautiful old Japanese garden that was there. My kids, who are architects, were most impressed with the quality of design and construction of the home. We peeked at the little suite above the garage and were amazed at that, as well. All of us agreed we could move into that and be very happy, It, too, is beautifully designed and furnished.
Being in Hilo allowed us to explore the rest of the island in all directions, as well as enjoy the things the town has to offer, such as the Hilo Farmer's market, which should never be missed.
The owners are most helpful and also felt like real neighbors. I would move in in a heartbeat.
The only hesitation I have about writing so glowingly about this property is it might make it harder for me to book next time I come to Hilo.
I have rented numerous properties in Hawaii, both beach front and not. This is, without a doubt, the nicest one I have stayed in.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Wendy, Mahalo for your excellent review of Orchid Isle Bungalows...both the Craftsman Garden Bungalow and the Zen Bamboo Bungalow! Your glowing superlatives are very rewarding and provide us with the fulfillment of knowing that we succeeded in achieving our goal of giving our guests quality accommodations surrounded by nature's beauty, with a spirit of aloha and ohana. Mahalo for receiving the gift. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Hilo bungalow

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

This home was an immense pleasure to stay in, we both wanted the house as our own! Not only is the house beautiful, and well appointed, the gardens are fantastic. I was vacationing with my 71 yr. old mother; the space was easily accessible for her. The kitchen is large and has everything you need. I really appreciated the cruelty-free soaps and shampoo in the bathrooms. Sherron and David were perfect hosts: they let you have privacy but are available if you need anything. I would love to return some day.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Lydia, It was a great pleasure having you and Barbara stay at the Garden Bungalow during your visit on the Big Island. Mahalo for appreciating the bungalow and its amenities as well as the beautiful gardens. I'm happy that you and your mother enjoyed your stay and had many wonderful times. I hope that you will visit us again. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

...a Hilo Paradise...

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

The Garden Bungalow property has by far exceeded all my expectations of a vacation rental. Sherron truly went above and beyond to make sure my stay was stellar.. Immaculately landscaped, very well-maintained and an overall exemplary property.. very safe for the solo traveler.. I would highly recommend the Garden Bungalow experience to any one who desires top of the line accomodations and hospitality that cannot be beat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Kristen, It has been my pleasure to have you stay at the Garden Bungalow for the past 2 months. It was very special to meet Luke and your family during their visit and stay at the bungalow also. I wish it were longer as was the plan, but we can't help it when work assignments change. Mahalo for all you have done to be a responsible and considerate guest. Remember that we encourage return stays! And bring your friends and family when you come back for a real Hawaiian vacation. Say "aloha" to the folks back home for us. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hilo Luxury Bungalow & Japanese Gardens

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 25, 2011

Our 2 couple stay at the 'Garden Bunglow', a new spacious 1 level home, was fabulous!
The home was designed and built by the owners.
The home was spotless, quality furnished and appointed.
The Japanese style landscape both hard and soft is something to see.
The on-line photos and descriptions of the property are truly accurate.
Our hosts, David & Sherron, were super polite and helpful.
This is definately a 5 star + vacation rental to be done again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Les & Lavonne, Rex & Marilyn,
We enjoyed visiting with you all during your stay in the Garden Bungalow. Mahalo for being gracious guests and for sharing your appreciation of the property with such enthusiasm. We were very excited to receive your approval of the Japanese-style garden, knowing that you are a professional landscaper and a landscape professor. When you return we should be completed with the sunken Japanese Garden to delight you. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Hilo Home

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

This is by far the nicest vacation home we have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The hosts were so helpful and welcoming. The house is gorgeous, immaculate, really well appointed. The gardens and outdoor areas are lovely. The neighborhood is pretty and fun to explore, and downtown Hilo is a short drive away. (Don't miss the farmer's market- open most days but Saturday and Wednesday are best. Fabulous produce and locally made food.)
You will LOVE this house. We can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Katy and Don for your kudos and praise. It is very much appreciated and gratifying to know that you loved the bungalow and gardens. David and I enjoyed meeting you and your family and look foward to your next visit.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful vacation home

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

Our stay at Orchid Isle Bungalow was wonderful; we'd return in a heartbeat. The house is lovely- elegant, spacious and comfortable.
We especially enjoyed the outdoor living spaces: a screened porch with a view of Hilo Bay and the beautifully landscaped lanai area with lots of seating and a nice gas barbeque. We were in Hilo to visit family, and one evening we hosted a dinner for nine. There was plenty of room for all to be comfortable, and enough of everything we needed in the kitchen. The neighborhood is quiet and nice for walking; a creek meanders through it. David and Sherron were so warm and welcoming and helpful. We would highly recommend this vacation home to anyone coming to Hilo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Katy, Don and family for being wonderful guests. We are so happy that you enjoyed the bungalow accommodations, the beautiful gardens and the visit with your family in Hilo. We look forward to seeing you again on your next stay. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Beautiful Big Island Home Away from Home

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

My grandson and I were privileged to have enjoyed this comfortable, fully furnished, modern, one-story home away from home for a little over 7 ½ months. It is an upscale, well appointed new home that sits on a knoll at the beginning of a cul-de-sac. The home is beautifully designed and furnished with attention to detail and immaculately clean. The home is in a convenient location for our purposes, a mere 5 to 10 minute ride to schools K-12, the University of Hawaii – Hilo, to major shopping centers, and to medical facilities and services. The home was more than adequately supplied with the basic necessities for modern living. It also provided us with lovely landscaped surroundings to afford us the luxury of time and space for contemplation. Its spacious landscaped grounds offer strolling pathways that beckon one to explore hideaways for peaceful moments. Shoji privacy doors on one side of the home open up to a closed-in, private, open-air patio enhanced by a pond and old growth plantings. Easily accessible and ample parking round out its desirable location in a quiet neighborhood of Hilo. Thank you very much Sherron and David! With much aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Merrie Monarch Retreat

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Your beautiful home was a perfect base for the Merrie Monarch festivities. This home is exquisite inside and out. Many thanks!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review