reviews for: listing #72066 - Manhattan, New York Apartment rental

- *Share With Owner
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Times Square
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $220 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,610 /wk

sort by:

Why stay anywhere else?

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

This was my third stay at this apartment (both business and pleasure), and frankly, for future visits to NYC beyond a night or two, this will always be my first call. The value is unbeatable, given the extra space relative to a hotel room and the proximity to transportation, attractions and neighborhood amenities. It's an ideal size for a couple or small family (one or two kids). I've always found the apartment to be clean and well-maintained, and Jimmy to be extremely responsive and accommodating. It is important for people to understand, though, that this is a large, pre-war building, which means that it creaks and groans, the air conditioner is in the window, and the radiators bang at night. You will hear sirens and trucks outside the window. Welcome to the city, folks. In return, you get to stay in a bright, one-bedroom loft on a high floor with decent views, cable-TV, free WI-FI and a full kitchen. If you are an independent traveler who is comfortable working the logistics of city life , this apartment is a no-brainer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A great time in Manhattan!!!

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

We stayed in this apartment during the week of our spring break. We prefer to rent a house/apartment (rather than stay in a hotel) when traveling due to the increased space. This apartment was perfect for us. Yes, you can hear the pipes clanging in the morning, but my teens were not roused from their sleep in the least. The apartment has one BR and it's small, but comfortable - great closet! The living room has a pull-out couch that my teens slept on. They enjoyed looking out of the windows at the great view of the city. This apartment was VERY convenient to the subway and Times Square. We decided to walk to Times Square at 11 PM and it took us about 10 minutes (I walk slow). The location of this apartment was OUTSTANDING!!! The apartment is not plush by my standard, but very nice. It met all of our needs quite well. Family and friends who live in NY came by while we were in the apt, and all said by Manhattan standards the apartment was VERY nice. They liked it a lot. Jimmy met us promptly upon our arrival and filled us in on everything we would need to know. He was great to work with and was very personable and kind. We had a fantastic trip and are glad we decided to go with this apartment. We recommend this apartment, and would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Family vacation to the big apple

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

In 2012, as we were planning our family vacation, it was decided NYC was where we wanted to go. The big apple. With two teenage girls, we just knew hotel accommodations for 8 days, 7 nights wasn't going to cut it. So after diligent research we came upon Jim and Linda's apartment. The price was right, the accommodations matched our needs and the past reviews (most importantly)were good so we went for it. We arrived in NYC in awe and amazement(my first time here)to an awesome apartment! It was just as described and the reviews were right on. The place was clean and nicely decorated. The beds were surprising comfortable, even the hide-a-bed. There are an incredible amount of storage space for clothes and personal belongings. The apartment was centrally located in the heart of Manhattan. We also had the pleasure of talking with several residents of the building and they were all so very warm and friendly. It was the perfect place for our family of 4 to end our busy days and rest our tired legs and head each night!!!! I would absolutely recommend this place to others traveling to NYC. Love, love, loved the apartment and if we return to NY in the future will look then up again! One VERY MINOR thing, the view from the apartment, while it is awesome, does not include the Empire State Building. BUT this can be seen from a window within the stair well and that too was a cool adventure for us.....

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

We had a great 8 night stay in this apartment. We arrived at Penn Station which is only a few blocks away. We were met by Linda who was lovely. Unfortunately, we never met Jimmy! We did hear from them via text part way into our visit to make sure everything was going ok. I must say, we have never had that before and we rent flats whenever in NYC. The location is perfect! The subway is very near as are numerous restaurants and cafes. My husband is a photographer and B&H is a short walk away - which was perfect!! Great central location for touring all of Manhattan. The flat was very comfortable and nicely decorated. We had everything we needed for cooking (yet I must admit, with all the eateries locally we didn't cook!) We found the bed to be comfortable and the ceiling fan was a blessing on the warm nights. Bathroom seems to be recently decorated and has great water pressure, which sometimes is an issue. Plenty of storage space for luggage and clothes. The only thing that we were disappointed in was the washer/dryer in the flat was not working. However, the building did have a pay laundry room available, but we just couldn't be bothered after touring all day to run around the building to do a load of laundry. Other than that, our stay was fabulous and we will no doubt be staying again during our next visit to Manhattan.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Average Stay

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

Our stay at the apartment was average on our trip to NYC. The great things about the apartment are the price, location, food/cooking amenities and it is more like home than a hotel. The apartment is steps away from the subway, restaurants, Starbucks and Whole Foods. We were however disappointed in the cleanliness of the apartment. It looked as though the surfaces and countertops had been wiped down but the floor, rugs, linens and pillows desire some attention. One of the chairs in the apartment had been taped. You could not sit in it because the tape and leather would come off on your clothing. There was no air conditioning in the apartment. The air conditioning was a unit sitting on the floor in the living room and it was not hooked up. There was heat! At 5:30 AM on our first morning and every morning thereafter we were awakened by loud clanging of pipes that run through the complex. We were not informed of this until our arrival and had no idea how loud it would be. No need for an alarm clock! Although you can't fix the heater alarm clock. With some TLC, deep cleaning and furniture replacement this could be a GREAT stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are always in communication (via e-mail, text, etc.) with our guests who stay at the apartment to ensure that their stay is comfortable. If there are any issues that are raised during their stay, we really try our best to resolve it as soon as possible. In this instance, they communicated to us that there stay was great and didn’t have any issues/concerns, otherwise we would’ve tried to address them as best as we could during their stay.

We have a cleaning service that comes and cleans the entire apartment floor after each guests' stay and rest assured the linens/towels are always cleaned and the floors and rugs are vacuumed. Linens and towels are replaced as needed due to wear and tear. If there is an issue during your stay, we have sent the cleaning service to clean the apartment during the stay. We have also just replaced the sofa bed with a brand new one and are in the process of replacing that chair as well.

We intentionally remove the window air conditioning unit that is properly installed in the summer months of (May/June – September) and removed in the fall, winter and spring seasons (October – May/June) as it is not necessary to have air conditioning during these months. In October, the temperature is usually in the 50s.

The building is a pre-war building, so the steam heat is controlled by the building. It is normally turned on in mid-October and turned off during April/May. Some customers have mentioned the rattling of the steam piping, but this is something that is beyond our control. It is not a constant noise and happens a few times during a day for a minute. Keep in mind that it is NYC so you are not in a place where you will hear crickets chirping outside - there will be other “noises” you will be susceptible to when you are living in the city.

The “look and feel” of the apartment is more a home, not a hotel – we do not claim to be a hotel with hotel amenities. However, we make our best efforts to make your stay enjoyable in NYC- we recommend many places and sites to see that are not “tourist traps”, accommodate early/late check-ins, and any other requests that our guests may have. There are many hotels rooms with half the space and no kitchen that your family can stay in, but it is not as spacious and comfortable unless you request a suite in a hotel which is very expensive and costly in NYC. We hope this may address any concerns for any future guests. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

We've rented the appartment for 5 days in September and it was great! Chelsea is a very good neighbourhood with lot of restaurants and take out just around the corner. Times Square is a 10 min walk so it's a great location!
The appartment and building are beautiful! It's very well equiped and maintained. The owner is very accurate and helpful. The view from the appartment is also great.
It was our 3d time in New York City but our first appartment rental in NY. We normally went to hotels but not anymore :-). This was a great experience for us!
Our family (my husband, daughter 4 years old and I) would truely recommend this aaprtment to our family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome - Perfection!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

This is the PERFECT place to stay. I've been there more than once, and can't say enough great things about this place -- and Jimmy and Linda are a blast to work with. They are so, so accommodating. When I'm traveling to NYC, I email them before ANYONE else. I can't stress how perfect this location is. When you come in from the airport into Penn Station, this place is a quick walk away. You can see Times Square lights at night -- but you're just far enough away to get out of the congestion. The subway station is seriously about 3 steps away. You can get to Times Square in approximately 2 minutes. (Or just walk! It's super close!) There's a Whole Foods nearby where you can grab food to make in the condo (fun celebrity sighting fact: the Whole Foods is in the same building where Katie Holmes lives with Suri now!). The condo is even nicer in person than in the pictures. The tile backsplash in the kitchen and the tile in the bathroom are gorgeous. I'm almost hesitant to tell you how great this is, because it's already so difficult to book it -- but I just can't contain my excitement over this place. I love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

My husband and I travelled to NYC just last week to take in the US Open, plus to tour NYC. We decided to stay in a condo only because we didn't want to be rushed every morning to get up and head out the door for breakfast, plus it allowed us the comforts of home. Jimmy and Linda are both very accommodating, and helpful. Since I booked the condo back in Feb for our trip Linda communicated on a regular basis with me, and followed up just prior to our arrival last week. Jimmy met us at the condo when we arrived and explained every little detail.

This condo is very clean well maintained and could not be in a better location. It is walking distance to Time Square, and there is a subway right out the door. Not to mention a Starbucks!!! Thank you Jimmy and Linda for making our stay in New York a clean and comfortable one!

Amanda Edmonton Alberta Canada

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

Thank you both Linda and Jimmy for making our stay a memorable one. This place has a great location, very clean, and with all the amenities of home. There is a cute master bedroom with a great bed, a big living room and the kitchen was completely equipped. The bathroom is very nice bath and even shampoo-conditioner-shower gel dispenser and with a local Starbuck downstairs, it felt like our home away from home. Jimmy was very helpful in getting us acclimated. He also gave us detailed information on where to go, what to see, and even how to get there. This is perfect if you’re looking for a great 1 bed room condo for you and a significant other or a few friends. We look forward to staying again on our return. Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent rental flat well located !!!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We rented this flat for one week in august with my parents. We've been welcomed by Jimmy who was really nice for explaining how everything worked before handing us the keys.

I must say the flat has a perfect location, 10 minutes walk from times square, a metro station down the building and a really secure area with tons of shops around (especially if you intend to eat at home).

The place itself was clean and accomodating, there's a cute master bedroom with a great bed, a big living room with a sofa/air mattress (really convenient), and with a kitchen complitely equipped. The bathroom is also great with a nice bath and even shampoo/conditioner/shower gel dispenser.

The building is really clean and the neighboors are quiet. The elevators are a bit warm though.

I would definately recommand this place which is a really good deal considering the price !

A couple of small things to note:
- The noise is pretty bad at night especially if you plan on sleeping on the sofa bed. Note that its the case everwhere in Manhattan, but there is nothing to cover the mosquito net by the air conditionner.
- The air conditionner is right next to the sofa, if you plan on watching tv better get on the chair or turn the air con off if you don't want to catch a cold !
- The air mattress deflates down to half of the air during the night
- and there's no strainer (nothing to cook basic rice or pasta).

But honestly apart from these little inconvenients I would definately say go for it !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a perfect location!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We wanted something more comfortable to come back to than a hotel room. This condo provided just that! The condos location seems fairly centrally located in the city and being so close to the subway was such a time saver. There were also plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance as well. Having a full kitchen to prepare breakfast before heading out for our busy days and having a place to store snacks was wonderful. We had a fantastic time. Jimmy checked on us during the stay to make sure everything was going fine. We would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unbelieveably accomodating and Welcome returns

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

Jimmy and Linda were so accomocating for us, allowing us to check in early and checkout late due to our flights. Very professional. If your going to the city to do and see everything, the location could hardly be better as we were everywhere from the Metropolitan Opera to Southstreet seaport. The One train goes both ways and its right out the front door. The place is extremely cozy and my daughter and i looked forward to arriving at our "home away from home". Everything was great at the apartment. The only downside was that there seem to be no above average restaurants right near, so we would dine before coming back. having Starbucks on the first floor was awesome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect spot for NYC

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

We often rent apartments in NYC and found this to be just as advertised with no surprises. It is clean, comfortable, everything works well and we would certainly be pleased to stay here again. The location for public transportation is ideal. We did not avail ourselves of any advice as we are long time NY visitors but it was obvious that the owners were pleased to help in any way should we have needed this.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful apartment

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

Jimmy's house is perfect for a beautiful holiday in New York.
The location is great just a few meters from the subway in middle of central Manhattan.
The house is clean and has all the necessary comforts. Modern kitchen, comfortable bed, a large and comfortable bathroom.
Jimmy is a perfect host always available for information.
He has allowed us to do a check-out late and so we are very grateful because we could enjoy the last day of vacation.
I will recommend this apartment to all my friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great apartment and the best location

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

I travelled to NY with my family (husband and 2 kids -7 and 11) and we had the best time in this apartment. Everything is just as we see in the pictures, tasteful decoration, cleanliness and confort. The owners cover not only the basic but also some small things that are very appreciated (like oil and salt for salads, cloth and tableware detergent, iron, and of course all kitchen appliances).
Beds are very confortable (the mattress in the sofa bed is an air mattress and not just the usual thin ones) and linens and towels are in good shape.
We were 10 steps away from the Subway (line 1) that takes you everywhere in the North or in the South end of Manhattan.
We enjoyed having Starbucks downstairs and Gigi Deli (gourmet salads, sandwiches and pasta) steps away.
The area is absolutely safe at night. We were two o three subways stops from beautiful restaurant areas, such as West (Greenwich) Village and Meatpacking District.
Linda and Jimmy, thank you so much for sharing your apartment. I will definitely come back and recommend this rental to fiends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, comfortable, excellent value

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

This was my first experiment with a vacation rental in NYC, and I could not be happier. I was in town for 8 nights on business and for an extended stay, the having the kitchen and the extra room to move around was really nice. The apartment itself is very clean and well maintained and it's 18th floor location means that it is unusually bright and fairly well insulated from street noise. The location can't be beat--a few blocks from Penn Station and Harold Square, close to the Flatiron district on one side and the Highline Park on the other. Plenty of great restaurants/bars and stores in easy walking distance. I'd say here again in a heartbeat and recommend it to my friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

excellent apartment!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

excellent apartment! coll location and the apartment have all i need! Jimmy and Linda are very good people and got all for me! i had good times there!! the best happy new year of may life!! everything is good!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing apartment and amazing locaiton!!!

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

I rented this apartment for my cousin's 30th bday. Linda and her husband were amazing. They met me at the property upon my arrival to give me a tour, show me how everything worked, etc. They also provided us with a book of local to-do's which was really helpful. The aparment was great, perfectly clean with all the amenitites that one could need. The beds were very comfortable. One was a pull out couch with an air-matress on top of the regular pull out couch matress making it feel like a real bed! The bathroom was also very clean with a washer and dryer should you need it. The kitchen was very posh and was fun to sit in and have cocktails! It was perfect for the 3 of us! It felt like being in a home away from home. There is a whole foods marekt very close which was great for buying snacks and breakfast items. This apartment was so close to everything the metro, Chelsea, SoHo, Madison Square Garden, Central Station, I mean everything. It's high enough up to have great views and to cancel out the busy traffic below. If you are looking for a cool new york experience this is the place to stay!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great apartment, great location!

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

This apartment was a wonderful place to stay on our long weekend celebrating my daughter's birthday. It is just around the corner from a subway stop making it easy to get anywhere you want to go. The Starbucks just downstairs makes it easy to get your morning coffee on the way out to explore the city. We enjoyed having a spacious apartment to return to at the end of the day. Plenty of room for four people to share and be comfortable. The sofa bed was comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful and the kitchen was well equipped. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Trip to NYC

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

What a trip. Loved the place and would recommend the apartment to everyone. Within walking distance to most places on Manhattan and enjoyed the fact that the subway was within steps of the front doors of the building.The apartment exceeded our expectations and had everything we needed. We will stay here again when we come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Trip To NYC

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

It was our first trip to NYC and it was an unknown as to the location of where would stay. This apartment exceeded all of our expectations. Had everything to make you feel at home

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect first trip to NYC!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

This was my first trip to NYC...From the moment we booked to the moment we left Linda and Jimmy were nothing but kind and helpful. The apartment was so beautiful and clean. It was steps to the subway and in a great neighbourhood - walking distance to sooo many great places. The apartment was fully equipped with everything we needed - towels, sheets, blow drier, kitchen supplies, movies, everything!! Linda and Jimmy were really accommodating. They let us check-in a bit early, and made the trip to meet us with the keys.

I really enjoyed my first trip to NYC, and staying at this apartment made it even more memorable. I will definitely be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing apartment in an amazing city

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

This apartment exceeding our expectations! Spacious, clean and comfortable, the apartment had everything we needed and more. In a great location, we were able to get everywhere we needed to go and when exhausted, we enjoyed recharging our batteries in the apartment. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting an easy and comfortable stay in new York!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We'll be back

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Place exactly as pictured. My friends and I loved this location, and it had everything we needed. Right next to the 1 train straight up to Times Square. Plenty of restaurants nearby, as well as Whole Foods within a few blocks. The only gripe we had was the A/C would vibrate, thus creating noise that can be a bit loud, but the owners informed us they recognized this and are going to remedy the problem. Definitely a place we are looking to come back to next time we return to NYC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our second stay at this lovely apartment

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in this apartment in December and when we decided to take my grandaughter for her first visit to NYC, a return visit was simply a 'given'. The apartment is clean, spacious, and has all the amenities plus a great sunset view. The location is convenient to subways, buses, Whole Foods Market, restaurants, and many other conveniences and attractions. Strongly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Appartment- Location, Very Service Oriented

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

I very strongly recommend this appartment, it is exactly as described. it is very confortable and greatly appreciated after a long day of exploring Manhattan. The location could not be better (subway station downstairs, many restaurants nearby, walking distance from many interesting locations). But what made our stay excepcional is Jimmy and Linda's great service oriented attitude. Whenever we have had a question, we would send them an e-mail and they would answer almost immediately. We had a late flight and they let us do a late check out.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location just steps from the 1 subway

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

Couldn't have asked for a better location or apartment. I'll never stay in another motel in New York york city. Apartment was fully furnished and even has a binder filled with helpful information on things to do in the city and restaurants close by the apartment. Short walking distance to 2 grocery stores was a big plus. A big thanks to Jimmy for checking in with us during our stay just to make sure we were doing fine.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great apartment!

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We had a great stay in this beautiful apartment. The location is great, close to everything and the subway is just outside the door. A very short walk to times square, Madison square garden, 5th avenue and much more.

Overall we highly recommend this apartment and will definitely be staying here again when we visit NY in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautifull Condo iN the heart of MAnhattan

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

This was my third time in NY , but first renting a Condo and would now not do it any other way!!! The condo was nothing short of awesome - beautifull and clean - great view and most of all pheonominal location. A very short walk to times square, Penn Station. We arrived very early in the morning and Linda and Jimmy graciously let us in way before check in time!! We absolutly loved it and look forward to yearly returns and stays at this wonderfull Condo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Huge apartment in a great location!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

We stayed in this apartment for 2 months. In this time we enjoyed the the fact that everything was supplied for us, including cutlery, plates, towels, etc. The washer / dryer was amazing, and you won't find another place that has one.

The location is great for visitors, with most big attractions like Madison Square Gardens and Herald Square within walking distance. The apartment is much larger than the photos suggest which is great if you're in a group.

Overall we highly recommend this apartment and will definitely be staying here again when we visit NY in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location of this cozy condo!!!

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

I traveled with my sister for my second time visit to NYC. While I was looking up for vacation rental, I know my priority was that the place needs to be near a subway station. Jimmy and Linda's cozy condo is an excellent place---literally 10 steps away from a subway station! This was perfect as me and my sister just purchased a 7-day unlimited metro pass and we took the subway to the various locations we visited. Definitely recommended for those who are planning to take the advantage of the subway system while touring around NYC.

The condo was clean and very well-maintained. All the description regarding the location, layout, and amenities was accurate. What really surprises me was that Jimmy and Linda put together a great resource book outlining the details of how to operate certain amenities (ie. the air sofa bed, laundry), location for the garbage chute, menus from nearby restaurants, as well as information on local tours.

The only downside to this place was the noise from the water pipes against the wall in the living room. It happens about twice each hour and lasts for about couple minutes each time. Apparently the whole building is like this. It was ok for me and my sister as we were sleeping in the bedroom and have gotten used to the noise. If we are traveling with more people next time, we'll probably be having the heavy sleepers to sleep outside on the sofa bed!

Jimmy and Linda are very easy to communicate with. They responded promptly with e-mails, met up with us at the apartment, and maintained communication via phone/text message during our stay.

Overall, me and my sister really enjoyed our stay in NYC this time and definitely would come back and stay here next time. Certainly, I would recommend this great condo to my friends and fellow travelers to NYC!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best yet!

Review submitted: December 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 8, 2010

My daughter and I have been renting apartments in NYC for several years and this one-bedroom was by far our best experience. The location is convenient, the apartment immaculate, the beds very comfortable (even the sofabed is more comfortable than most hotel beds), and the view lovely from the 18th floor. We were met by our host who showed us not only the apartment amenities, but also had put together a wonderful guide to restaurants, shops, etc. in the area. There was even a subway map on the wall! We will certainly recommend this to our airline friends and passengers (we are Flight Attendants) and will definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great NYC Experience

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

This apartment looked better than the photos (which were great anyway). we stayed for 7 nights and wished we had longer. The apartment was located in a great spot but its other major advantage was the close proximity to the subway. It was straightforward to get to from the airport via the subway and it was close to markets and sightseeing attractions. The unfortunate thing was we did so much that we spent less time in the apartment than we would have liked. It was great having the kitchen and laundry appliances. The view was great - the windows open to really take in the fresh air and views. We could walk everywhere or if we were tired we just hopped on the subway downstairs. The Metro bus was also just accross the road for added ease of transport. Having times square just up the road was a plus. Jimmy and Linda were very hospitable and gave us some great tips. wifi worked perfectly. All in all this apartment made our experience very memorable. when we return next we will be booking this place as it met all of our needs. I have already recommended this apartment to friends. Hidden in streets close by were amazing Italian resturants and many other types of food stores. The village was close by which was great for nightime activities. There is a great subway map on the wall which really assisted in planning the days activites visually."

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great NYC experience

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

This apartment looked better than the photos (which were great anyway). we stayed for 7 nights and wished we had longer. The apartment was located in a great spot but its other major advantage was the close proximity to the subway. It was straightforward to get to from the airport via the subway and it was close to markets and sightseeing attractions. The unfortunate thing was we did so much that we spent less time in the apartment than we would have liked. It was great having the kitchen and laundry appliances. The view was great - the windows open to really take in the fresh air and views. We could walk everywhere or if we were tired we just hopped on the subway downstairs. The Metro bus was also just accross the road for added ease of transport. Having times square just up the road was a plus. Jimmy and Linda were very hospitable and gave us some great tips. wifi worked perfectly. All in all this apartment made our experience very memorable. when we return next we will be booking this place as it met all of our needs. I have already recommended this apartment to friends. Hidden in streets close by were amazing Italian resturants and many other types of food stores. The village was close by which was great for nightime activities. There is a great subway map on the wall which really assisted in planning the days activites visually.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

Our family decided to spend Thanksgiving week in New York and wanted to try a vacation rental rather than a hotel. Choosing this apartment was by far the best decision. From the start, the owners were very responsive to our questions and offered a showing of the property to a family member that lives in the city.
The kitchen is wonderful and we were truly able to make use of it for our Thanksgiving dinner.
The owners have thought of everything from providing extra towels, linens, pots and pans to compiling a resource book which was very useful.
The Subway 1 train located downstairs was very convenient. My husband also loved the Starbucks located next to the building.
I would truly recommend this property to whoever is looking for a cozy yet trendy apartment.

Our expectations were exceeded.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great apartment, great location

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

My mom and I stayed at Jimmy and Linda's apartment for our girls' trip to NYC from Oct 27-30, and it was perfect. The place looks just like the pictures (actually, better in real life), and location literally could not have been better. Until I was there, I wouldn't have had any idea how convenient it would be to have No 1 subway steps from the front door of the building. There were a couple markets a few doors down, and we had lots of fun places to eat just outside the door -- could easily grab a bite at a new/different place for each meal. (And not only do you feel like a local eating at the cozy places in Chelsea, I couldn't believe how cheap the food was in this area relative to the more touristy hot spots just a couple blocks away! I could get lunch cheaper in NYC than I can when I'm working in downtown Des Moines, Iowa!) If you come into Penn Station from the airport, it's an easy walk to the apartment; can also see Times Square from the street in front of the building. There were tons of clean towels and extra bedding. I really can't say enough good things about this place. Only suggestion for improvement would be to get a new lock or key, as we struggled to get it to work a number of times. Although that was pretty frustrating in the moment, I'd still enthusiastically recommend this place in light of how great everything else was about this place. Definitely hope to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2010

My wife, my daughter and I stayed here for 8 days in the beginning of November. The apartment is exactly as it is in the photos. It is cosy and clean, has all you might need away from home - fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV (but will you need it in that great city? Walk, walk and walk! See the city!), the Internet, wardrobe, queen size bed and a sofa with air matrass which is very funny and comfortable for kids, linen and towels. There are also washing and drying machines. And what you definitely will notice is its great location - just 15 m from subway line 1 that will take you to uptown and downtown in minutes. Empire State building and Times Square are in 15-20-mitute walk.
Jimmy himself was very helpful and kind. He gave us a lot of information about sightseeng in NYC (you can find it in a folder on a table).
I would recommend the apartment for everyone who wants to see the city and feel like at home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great neighborhood & very comfortable appartament

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2010

My sons and I spent a week visiting New York City. We found this excellent apartament in a beautiful old fashioned building in Chelsea. Subway access at few meters from the entrance, walking distance from Times Squire. The neighborhood is plenty of restaurants and markets.
The owners are very kind, they gave us a whole binder with very usefull information about the city, places to go, etc.
Very recommendable! We enjoy our stay a lot!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

locatio/location/location

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

Great accomodation in a superb location. The owners Jimmy and Linda were a lovely helpful couple. We would definately recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent weekend get away

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

We had a great weekend in the city! The apartment was so beautiful. Everything was spotless and new. The bed was quite comfortable and the location was excellent. The owners were so friendly and helpful and kept contact with us throughout our stay to make sure we had everything we needed! I would absolutley recommend and I would use again! Thanks so much! Krissy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

comfortable apartment, great location

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

We rented the apartment for a week in early September- as mentioned elsewhere, the accommodation was just as described, comfortably furnished and well equipped. We used the sofa bed, which was comfortable. The complimentary wi-fi was a definite plus and we loved the cable tv.

Excellent location; subway is only few metres away- especially convenient when loaded with shopping bags- a whole foods grocery store is within walking distance, and there are lots of great food outlets nearby. Owners' takeout recommendations (in a visitor manual) are spot on.

Owner/s were helpful from the outset, responding promptly to our initial enquiry, and maintaining good communication throughout our stay.

Only minor issue was noise levels, but this is to be expected in New York City- and nothing that earplugs won't largely fix.

Two thumbs up!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Owners...........

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

We traveled to N.Y. to attend the U.S. Open and to visit with my daughter. The owners of the unit were wonderful, professional and very easy to do business with. The property was exactly as described and contained every amenity listed and more. There is a Starbucks right next to the lobby, great for us. We did some serious walking and found the location to be a wonderful place to get around from. The apartment had a window air conditioning unit that didnt quiet cut the unusual heat New York was experiencing, nothing a few fans didnt take care of, maybe a higher capacity unit would do the trick? The Owners offered their assistance with anything we needed. We would definately recommend this apartment to anyone traveling to the Big Apple!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

This apt was an excellent find. It enhanced our stay in NY. It was wonderful to come home to a nice newly renovated apt. We were a little skeptical at the beginning but this truly is everything it describes and shows on the pictures. When we head back to NY we are planning to rent this place out again. It was comfortable and felt like we lived in NY. The decor is very contemporary and you have washing machines which came in handy on several occasions. The sofa bed is nothing like a normal sofa bed. It actually has a very comfortable air mattress on it. I highly recommend this place. It is much better than staying in a small NY hotel. Its convenient location by the subway station was also great especially when you get home after a long day touring NYC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great apartment in a great city!

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and it definitely made our first trip to NYC a memorable one! The apartment is in a great location to get around the city. It was great to come home on the subway and be steps from the apartment! especially after a long day of sight seeing! The apartment is very clean and comfortable with great accommodations. I would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review