reviews for: listing #72105 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

Open 9/1- 9/19 Beautiful 8BR, 6.5 Bath, Sleeps 18, 4 Masters
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $675 - $1,250 /nt

sort by:

Vacation in Paradise

Review submitted: May 23, 2014   Date of arrival: May 12, 2014

Marvelous reunion for siblings and spouses. Gorgeous home and location. We all want to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great place!

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2014

Our group of 11 thoroughly enjoyed this home! The house itself was modern and the furnishings were clean and high-quality and everything worked properly! It was such a great upgrade from place we'd stayed every year for the last decade. Even though most of the bedrooms were on the bottom floor, we couldn't hear talking from the room next to us, so that was nice. The kitchen was FULLY stocked and the gathering areas were spacious. The hot tub and grill were great to have! We wondered if we'd miss the lake view from the old place, but this house was so much better than the other house that there was no comparison. We also loved how conveniently located it was to the casino and grocery store. Sherry was very responsive to my MANY pre-trip emails and a pleasure to work with. My only hesitation in writing this review was that I don't want the whole world to know about it and book it before we get the chance to do so again! But these folks have a wonderful home and deserve the praise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Superbowl Outing in S Lake Tahoe

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

For the last three years and 5 of the last 7, my two sons, son-in-law and 10 of their friends allow me the honor of finding a house to host our annual boys get together over Superbowl weekend in one of the most beatiful venues in the world. This year one of the guys brought along his two step-sons ages 10 & 8. The rest of the guys are around 40. I'm 67 still practicing law and enjoy snow skiing once or twice a year when I get the chance. This year we stayed at Celebrity Sundance for the first time. I was worried that there would not be enough room and the lack of a lakeview would be a problem. I was wrong. Everyone had a bed even though my son Mike and I split the King in the Master. The kitchen was well stocked and organized. The adjacent family room was perfect for gatherings ( cards and tv ). The outside decks presented wonderful views of the Heavenly resort area. The three story layout was easy on the legs. The garage was perfect with a washer-drying and extra icebox. Flat screen tv's in every bedroom. Pool table might have been better placed in an open area other than the bunk room but it wasn't a problem since we were occupied with other events. The barbeque deck and grill was perfect with an extra propane tank ready just in case it was needed. In short, I would book this place again and would recommend it for a large family gathering. Tom Keyser

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Sounds like the home really worked well for all you guys! We always feel good whenever guests are pleasantly surprised by the home's comfort, layout and views. Thanks for the review!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely amazing!!!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

The property is gorgeous, ideally located and fully equipped. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the common areas are all open to each other and very spacious, which fosters great interaction with everyone regardless of where they are.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sundance

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 16, 2013

The house was beautifully furnished and well stocked. The kitchen/family room/dining room was stunning! We loved the huge island right off the kitchen which had enough comfortable bar chairs for our whole group to dine together. All the rooms downstairs were beautifully furnished, the beds exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom facilities in each room were all well done. The room with the pool table was sheer genius for both young and old members of any large family. The only downside to this property is that we could not stay longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We love the new kitchen, baths and game room too. Thanks you Joy and family for this wonderful review. Your kind words make it all worthwhile!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Home and Owner !

Review submitted: November 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

We rented the Celebrity Sundance home to entertain our family from out of town. It certainly is located right near everything! The house itself was wonderful and each room was surrounded of scenic Tahoe views! Most of the beautifully decorated bedrooms have king beds and very accomodating and lovely adjoining bathrooms. The gourmet kitchen was supplied with anything one might need for cooking a nice meal. Everybody loved the BBQ deck. They have a very nice large dining room table which was great for getting everyone together. The family room was spacious and perfect for games and just hanging out. The kids really enjoyed the private hot tub--so much nicer than having to walk to a communal location. I can just imagine how much fun it would be in the Winter, having a hot toddy! Everything in their home was very very nice. Sherry was WONDERFUL to work with during the rental correspondence. We will DEFINITELY be back in either the Summer or Winter to once again enjoy all that this home has to offer!

Owners response: Thank you for taking time to write us. The home is really magical in the Winter!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

WOW!!!

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

This is a beautiful house with a gorgeous view! We had 14 people staying here for our daughter's wedding. It's close to South Lake Tahoe (where the wedding and reception were held), but we felt like we were in the middle of nowhere when we looked out the back of the house.The view was so beautiful the wedding party even had their before-the-wedding pictures taken in the backyard.

The house is spacious and open with plenty of room. It was great that the only thing we needed to provide was food. There was plenty of toilet paper, Kleenex, paper towels, dishwasher detergent, hand soap, etc. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, cookware, and utensils and we had everything we needed. There were also plenty of towels. Our deposit was returned within two days of check-out.

This is a great house and I highly recommend it!

Owners response: Thanks for the review. The mountain backdrop is picturesque --especially for capturing such as memorable event.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our family's favorite

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

We have stayed in a number of vacation homes and the Celebrity Sundance was by far the most impeccable. Between the loveliness of the setting, the thoughtful design of the house itself, and the attention to detail (down to the labeling of the drawers and light fixtures), it was a wonderful family reunion site/staging area for our Edgewood wedding. Unlike many large rental homes with dorm-style accomodations, this house has 7 separate, well-appointed bedrooms, many with private baths, affording comfort and privacy that adutls over 30 appreciate. We had no kids in our group, but there is a great space for children here as well--bunk beds in a fun game room. The master is spectacular, with a fireplace, sitting room and huge closet. We found we did not miss having a lake view. Instead, there is a sweeping, south-facing vista of the mountainside which gives a sense of expansiveness and privacy at the same time. Sherry was helpful and responsive with details leading up to our stay, and while we were there Geoff stopped by to check in and make sure all was well (it was). We hope to return some day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

50th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

We chose to spent our 50th wedding anniversary with our entire family at Celebrity Sundance. It was the right choice because all 14 of us have a wonderful time. The house is every bit as impressive as the photos and is situated close to all the activities in South Shore. The kids were very happy with their bunk beds, pool table, horse shoe court and hot tub. The adults loved the spacious and well stocked kitchen as a meeting place for casual food and conversation. The bedroom and bathroom accommodations were very generous and comfortable, especially the master suite which is magnificent in size and décor. We were especially impressed with the content labeling of all the drawers and cabinets throughout the house. The house is very clean well maintained. I can't think of anything this house did not have for our comfort and enjoyment for our family gathering. I highly recommend Celebrity Sundance for large family gatherings. The local property manager was very responsive to any questions we had about the property and setting up reservations was quick and easy. We look forward to our next trip to this impressive house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a WONDERFUL way to treat your family to lasting memories for years to come!
We appreciate your kind words and look forward to hosting your lovely family again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Home With All The Amenities and Convenience Your Could Ask For

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

I do not usually write reviews, but this house truly deserves one. A large group of friends (late 20s/early 30s) and I recently rented this house for Labor Day weekend and it was nothing short of perfect. The listing description and photos are pretty accurate, but I would say even better in person. It was clean, spacious, beautifully decorated, and replete with incredible views and a massive yard that looks like it never ends. We even saw a bear in the yard (thankfully, though, from the safety of the 2nd floor deck).

Location: Very central. It took a couple of minutes to drive to the casinos, supermarket, and south shore of the Lake. The driveway has enough room for 4 cars, plus a 2 car garage.
Amenities: This house has it all in terms of entertainment: multiple decks, pool table, horseshoes, hot tub, games, movies, big screen TVs, etc. The owner really thought of everything you could possibly need while on vacation: extra cots, blankets, pillows, portable fans, coolers, and even strollers/high chairs for kids. Everything in the house was labeled, We wanted for nothing.
Nearby Attractions: The Lake is just stunning. We hiked the Rubicon Trail (gorgeous and easy hike, takes about 2-3 hours each way) and rented pontoon boats to cruise around the Lake. Montbleu Casino is around the corner and is pretty new/fun.

Last but not least, the property manager, Sherry, was a gem to work with. Everything went smoothly, she responded quickly to my calls/emails, and there were no issues with the deposit, getting into the house, or anything else.

All in all, a highly recommended rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lake Tahoe Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Our multi generational family's Lake Tahoe Vacation was so much fun and stress free because of the beautiful home we rented for a week in Heavenly Valley. The house had a well stocked gourmet kitchen. The floor plan was very conducive to family time with plenty of spots for quiet time if needed. There were hiking trails out the back door, but otherwise the home's location was central to most activities. This was one of the best family vacations we have had in years.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family vacation August 2013

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We found Celebrity Sundance to be a lovely well maintained house in a quiet neighborhood backing up to the National Forest. Our communications with Tahoe Woods before renting were all very helpful and also very positive after our week's stay. There were 16 of us ranging in age from 10 years to 80 years with four of them teenagers who enjoyed the bunk room. Although you will note that the bunk room has only a half bath, they showered in their parents' private baths or the downstairs hall bath and that worked well. There were plenty of plates, glasses, mugs and silverware as well as cooking utensils. The kitchen, dining room, living room and family room areas all flow together which makes it a very functional arrangement. I had trouble visualizing the space before our arrival without a floor plan. The washer and dryer are in the well lit and clean garage on the top level which opens into the front entry hall. From there you go down about 8 steps to the main living level. All of this looks out on to the forest beyond. The bunk room is down another few steps under the garage and then five other bedrooms are on the lowest level including the large master bedroom. We so enjoyed our stay here, and were we to come back to vacation in the Tahoe area, Celebrity Sundance would be our first choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Family vacation with 15 adults and teenagers, the property was fantastic, just like the pictures!! This mountain home exceeded our expectations, Sherry and Geoff were so helpful before and during our stay! The house was immaculate and well maintained. We cooked in every night after our activities for the day and the kitchen and eating areas were well stocked for a large group. Would definitely recommend and cannot wait to return to this beautiful mountain retreat:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect mountain home for our family reunion

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We were delighted to find that this home was everything that it was advertised to be. It has gorgeous views from nearly every room. The main floor is spacious and open, with more than enough room for our group of 18 to eat, relax and visit in. We found it was well stocked with all the amenities we needed, with every cupboard and light switch labeled for easy access. The master suite was over-the-top lovely, with large windows and balconies with views of the pines and mountains, the bunkbed/game room was great for the youngsters, and the main floor bedroom was very nice, with balconies and views. The other bedrooms were adequate and attractive. We used the passes to the nearby beach and pool several times. We also loved the beach at Sand Harbor, ate breakfast at the local Red Hut (can recommend the special), dinner was good at the nearby Golf Club terrace restaurant. The Wi-Fi was excellent, the large binders full of information on food, recreation, stores, etc. were very useful. We had 5 cars and were able to all park in the garage or driveway. The manager came by a couple of times to see if we needed anything. He was friendly and helpful. We felt well cared for and had a great vacation!.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

Sherry,Wow our vacation time in Tahoe was superb, and you folks at Tahoe Woods really know how to take care of your customers! We were overjoyed with the Sundance House, and likely to return on other years! Our Cousins Reunion far surpassed our highest expectations, and the House was superb on all levels! Thank you so much for taking such good care of us, and please extend our thanks to Geoff as well!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property review

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

My group and I just wanted to thank you for making our stay in Tahoe as comfortable as could be. Everyone loved the house and the views, and everything we could ever need to make the stay comfortable was there. We will definitely be bookmarking your house for future stays. thanks again

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We loved the house! It was all you promised and it worked beautifully for our large group---especially the large open kitchen and the two separate sitting areas. We cooked dinner together every night in that spacious kitchen while others in our group enjoyed cocktails, games, and conversation. A cup of coffee on the deck, watching the sun rise over the trees, was a morning ritual we were sorry to give up when it was time to leave.

Lake Tahoe is gorgeous. We did lots of hiking, including the convenient and lovely hike beginning right outside the back door. Warm afternoons were spent on the beaches, marveling at the views of snow-capped mountains in the distance. In how many places can you do that?

Celebrity Sundance house is the perfect spot for a summer family reunion!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing home, totally private!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

Not only was our party blown away with how cool this house was, but we could not believe how quite and private the property was. The view from the back of the house looks up to Heavenly California side, and there is no neighbor in sight. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning mountain home

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

This home exceeded my expectations.

It was tastefully appointed, well equipped, breathtaking views and prime location. Hiking trails out the back door, sandy beaches close by, sprawling decks to enjoy dinners and sunsets on, and Heavenly resorts Gondola minutes away.

I have already recommended this home to my co-workers and family. I plan to reserve this home for my next visit to Tahoe. Thank you Tahoewoods Lodging for your exceptional hospitality.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy to cook at the Celebrity Sundance House!

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

The Tahoe Woods properties are among the best places to stay at Lake Tahoe. I know because as a Personal Chef for hire, I have the pleasure of cooking often in their properties. Recently I cooked at the “Celebrity Sundance” property for a 60th wedding anniversary celebration. The renters were so impressed with the property they insisted on getting me out of the kitchen to give me a personal tour of the entire house! Now I can say not only the kitchen is fabulous, which has just been remodeled marvelously, but I can now honestly say the entire house is outstanding! It is complete with custom touches and rich furnishings. I have no doubt your stay there will be comfortable and filled with great memories!

Bon Appétit

Chef Marcie Stetler

Owners response: Marcie, Thanks for preparing such marvelous food for our guests in our new gourmet kitchen. I'm sure they were as impressed with you as they were with the home. Warm Regards, Jerry

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Family Festivity

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

The property and surrounding views are more spectacular than the photos indicate. This gorgeous mountain home was impeccably clean and fully equipped, providing the ultimate comfort and 'wow factor' for our family gathering. The great communications and helpfulness provided by the owner in accommodating our large groups' needs, far exceeded our expectations. The property is unique in offering privacy and tranquility yet remains only a few minutes away from the action of the casinos, ski resort and myriad of restaurant choices. This is definitely somewhere we will be returning to, so my only hesitation in recommending this property with the enthusiasm it deserves, is not having it available when we plan our trip.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

"Wonderfully Relaxing Home!"

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

First of all, the location was excellent. We were a group of 14 adults & most everything was about a mile away, shopping, dinner, skiing, the lake...and the longest was the grocery market about 2 miles away. The home itself was very well appointed and had everything we needed, plus a little extra. The hot tub was amazing after a long day of skiing. Would definitely recommend to friends and stay would stay here again ourselves!

Owners response: thanks for the feedback, we love the location, too.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just a note of Thanks

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Well, I am just beginning to get excited about our annual family trip for Thanksgiving week in South Lake Tahoe, this will be our 28th year, and our 5th year in one of your wonderful homes. I was so fortunate in finding you, I have always had to make a trip to Tahoe every summer to check out potential homes for rent since most of the time, you cannot tell what you will end up with by looking at pictures and reading the descriptions as most of the homes are not as described. I must say I was pleased to find that not only did your pictures capture the beauty and furnishings of your homes but the descriptions were right on. The beds and linens were comfy and warm, furnishings were wonderful and the kitchens were well stocked and spacious. And, the homes are well cared for and cleaned by your wonderful staff.

We have stayed at two of your properties, Celebrity Sundance and Lake View Lodge and have been more than pleased with each one and we are returning to Sundance for the third time! Thank you for all your assistance Sherry.


Regards,

Sandy R.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...The house was awesome, great customer service"

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

The house was awesome. I will never stay in a hotel again. At least not when I have a party of 6 or more, which I did on my last visit to Lake Tahoe.
We needed to meet in Tahoe for a film project production meeting and needed accommodations for our crew and producers as well as meeting space. After checking with the Casinos and local hotels we found Tahoe Woods and chose the Sundance house because the overall cost per person was much less plus we saved on the meeting room rental and all the restaurant meals out as well.
But we never expected the level of luxury or how completely stocked the home was. Everyone loved the house so much we found that we spent more time together than we would have had we stayed at a hotel. We bonded as much preparing the meals as we did enjoying them around the two large tables that accommodated all of us comfortably. Not to mention the ease that we satisfied special dietary requirements for some of our crew. And though we were very close to the Casinos they were more of an occasional activity than the distraction they could have been, allowing us more time focusing on what was really important.

I highly recommend Tahoe Woods Lodging to any family or group that wants to spend quality time in Tahoe. They’re surprisingly affordable and staying in a vacation home really did change the Tahoe experience for the better in ways we never imagined.

P.S. And thanks Jeff, for being on call and your excellent customer service.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We hope to come back year after year!"

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

"The house was truly beautiful especially during this past weeks snowfalls. I wanted to let you know that I dropped one of the juice glasses and it broke.Other than that everything worked smoothly. Thank you so much for clearing the snow for us each day. We hope to come back year after year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

"We had a wonderful time at Celebrity Sundance Home, the house is beautiful! In fact, we’re thinking about renting it again for next year".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Location & Views!"

Review submitted: December 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

Just wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had during our stay at your Sundance property. The accommodations were 5 star! From the exceptionally well appointed kitchen to the pool table, games and 2nd refrig/freezer in the garage - everything was top notch and I can't think of anything we needed that wasn't provided. The central location made everything just a few minutes away, and the views were incredible!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Super Convenient!!

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2010

I recently stayed at this rental property about ten minutes away from heavenly valley ski resort. The location was ideal, convenient to all locations in and around south lake tahoe with a nice view of the lake. The property is quite big, with a spacious living room/kitchen/and family room and big, nicely furnished bedrooms that made the place still feel quite cozy. The addition of a pool table, good wifi plus a desktop computer, and a jacuzzi rounded out was an enjoyable stay. I highly recommend this rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

I’m still in a blur after the wedding weekend but wanted to take this opportunity to tell you how renting the Sundance house made our time in Tahoe so special. It allowed us to be with our east coast family and friends in a home environment rather than an impersonal hotel and that made all the difference in the world. Each and every moment we spent in the house was incredibly special as they created special memories we’ll never forget. I think we channeled the original owner as we sat around the fire playing guitar and singing! Geoff was great and the house reached our expectations on every level. We will HIGHLY recommend it to our friends for the future. My only regret is I wish we could afford to buy it! ;-) Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

My name is Jill, my husband and I rented the Sundance home the first weekend of November of last year and it was absolutely amazing. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We have told everyone we know about how beautiful it is. We may never stay in another Tahoe hotel again after finding this place. -- Jill.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

I had an amazing time here. The place
is gorgeous. It really exceeded my
expectations. The view was a perfect
backdrop for our family gathering.
Sherry was a real pleasure to work with
and made the whole experience great. I
look forward to our next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 10, 2009   Date of arrival: December 10, 2009

We had the best time at this Cabin. Words
cannot describe this amazing place. It is truly
amazing. Every detail of this home is perfect. It
has plenty of room you can get lost inside. The
location is perfect also, very private with huge
back yard and close to the casinos and ski
resorts. You will not be didapointed with this
place, worth the money.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review