reviews for: listing #72124 - Ocean Beach, California Condo rental

Stunning Ocean View!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $265 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,299 /wk

sort by:

Unbeatable

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2013

If you are looking for a real Beachhouse in a nice neighbourhood, from which you can WALK (about 15 Min.) to Shops, Diners, Restaurants, Pubs, Bars and a Farmer‘s Market with live music (Newport Ave.) stop searching, because you found it.

The Beachhouse is exactly like it is shown on the pictures with one exception:
the pictures cannot give you the unbelievible feeling standing on the deck facing the sea and the wind. It‘s breathtaking. You won‘t leave this place.

But also the interieur ist perfect. The House is very well maintained, tastefully decorated, spacious and very cosy. In the kitchen you will find anything you need for preparing your meals.

And the bed...……...wow, you sleep like in heaven and you can listen to the sound of the waves.

All in all we had such a perfect stay and cannot wait to come back. To deal with Adrienne was a pleasure.

Thank you Adrienne for the wine and the welcome goodies.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home for the 4th time!!

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

Just got back from our 4th visit to this condo! I've wrote 2 other reviews on this property and still in awe of how lucky we feel to be able to come again and again! I just book it for my daughters honeymoon in March! We had beautiful weather this trip, amazing sunset's every night! We love this place even more every time we come. When you open up those 2 slider doors and see and smell the ocean through all the windows from the dinning room to the living room any stress you might have just leaves your mind.The condo was clean as always. The neighbor Dave and the gal that lives below are very nice people and are very lucky to live there full time! Very quite place to relax and take in all the beautiful views and the sound of crushing waves. We saw flying fish this trip, 2 weddings on sunset cliffs (to die for). Went to farmer's market on Wednesday which is a must! Ate on the ob pier twice, lobster taco's and the best stuff hot peppers. Staying at this condo is so special, when you walk the neighborhood everyone is nice and willing to say hi. Enjoyed all that this condo and the neighborhood has to offer! OB which the locals call it is a awesome seaside town! It is truly our home away from home! Back in May, can't wait!! Patti B. Parker, Az.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Staycation Location on the Beach in San Diego

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

This our third time here and coming again next summer - I think that says it all! Private location, private beach, accommodations outstanding, neighbors friendly, private garage - LCD tv in both bedrooms and living room, an ocean view from every angle and room (except 2nd bedroom) and the best wrap around front deck with views that are incredible right over the ocean - you feel like your on top of it! It's mesmerizing and you don't want to leave. Adrianne is so accommodating and kind - it's truly a joy every year - I couldn't recommend this slice of heaven any higher! Can't wait for our stay again next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best vacation

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We loved this property, fantastic views, loved hearing the crashing waves, seeing sailboats, pelicans, sea lions swiming by. We were totally awe struck by this wonderful location and clean vacation home where you have panaromic views from every angle and constantly hear the crashing waves. This will be a regular for us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Breathtaking Views

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

I grew up in Ocean Beach but moved to Washington State 20 years ago. I selected this vacation rental because I wanted to feel like "I was going home". The condo is clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen had everything I needed to prepare meals. But the real joy of the property is the deck and the views. The suset is magnificent, the soud of the surf like a lullaby. We even had our very own seagull that visited frequently during the day. Easy walk to the beach and right on sunst cliffs!
I can't wait to return. The vacation brought back many wonderful memories. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Thrid Time A Charm!!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

This was our 3d trip to this condo. Do we love it, YES. We have been home for 1 day and I just booked again for next Oct.! This condo is amazing to say the least. The view here is breathtaking. Its almost like your right over the water! With the first look off the deck my husband and I just siegh, feeling very lucky to be back. No empty nesters this time around, though. We took both our girls and one fiance. Had plenty of room. The "kids" couldn't belive how beautiful it is here. The condo was as nice as ever. This trip we saw 3 dolphins and one seal. They have made much needed repairs to the shoreline that leads to Ocean Beach Pier. What a awsome walk that is. All the pictures they have of this place is as is in person, but only better! Everything we needed was here. It's such a cozy place to hang for the week! Of course we went to farmers market on wesnesday after a walk on the pier where we had our lobster taco's. They even remember us from the last visit. We also ate at Poin Loma Cafe right around the corner from condo. Great food, nice people. The condo was spic n span clean. The garage is tight (real tight) for a suv. Must be careful pulling in and out. When our time was up we didn't want to leave but the condo was booked for that afternoon or I know Adreinne would of made it work for us. She's great! So we went to mission beach for the night. Now we know why we don't stay there anymore. This place will totally spoil you! Nothing compares to it. The privacy is unbelievable. We will never go back to the boardwalk scene. The bbq was alittle worn this trip so I mention it to Adrienne. I'm sure they will replace it very soon. The neighboors added outdoor furniture to the compound, looks awsome. They are all very nice! Quite as usual but sometimes you can hear the neighbor through the wall from the master bedroom but not enough to make us stop coming here. We had to fly our daughter out for a family emergency on day 5 at the san diego airport. It was so close and easy to get in and out of. Went to Anthony's twice for lunch! It's been in bussiness for years in the harbor. My only worry about this condo is it will go off the market for renting!! I am telling all of you that you can not go wrong with this place! Next Oct. back to just my husband and myself. Fun with the kids but more relaxing for us mid 50's old folks! Can't wait till next trip! We will be back, and back....Patti B. from Az.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

New empty nesters reteat, AWSOME...

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

My husband and I just got back from this awsome ocean front condo. Whats there to say that hasn't already been said? The pictures tell no lie, it is just what you see and more! We spent the whole 5 days on that deck. The condo itself was very comfy with plenty of nice linens & towels. We cooked every meal in the kitchen and was never without something we needed. You can see and hear the ocean in every room except the spare bedroom and one kitchen window and the bathroom. We never used the spare room but it was plenty big with full dresser. My kids would of loved it! If we had invited them. Master bedroom was big with all the closet space I needed. Bed was unbelievable! Wanted to take it home. The deck is the largest we've ever had in S.D. The whole complex was so quite, safe, well maintained. Only have 4 units total and most live there full time I would guess. Who wouldn't want to! Saw only 2 nieghbors during our stay and that was a fast hello. There is someone who lives under the condo and you can see "alittle" of her deck but she was never out, and if she would of been it would have never affected the view. You can't mess up this view, although mother nature didn't treat us very well. We went later than we had planned it was cloudy, some fog and alittle dizzle the whole week. But being from the hot desert we didn't mind it a bit. I did miss not seeing a sunset over that beautiful ocean not even once. We walk the cliffs all the way to ocean beach pier. Some of a rough walk where you had to come back to the street but it was fun looking into the water holes for "live things". Found a store for beer, ice and booze close by. Walk to the farmers market on wes. Great food and alot of fun. Its a good 10 blocks or more from the condo though. We bought great veggies to bring home and are still enjoying them! The only, only small thing bad about this condo was there wasn't a good resturant within walking distance. The beach itself was nice, but small. Not sure I would swim with all the rocks and seaweed. The landscape along the ocean in some spots looked alittle rough and unmaintained, and indeed some spots looked ugly. I hate to say that because it didn't matter to us. This is a nice place! We enjoy watching the guys fish with their nets when the tide went out at night. Fun...We rented this spot because we don't have the kids with us anymore and wanted a quite reteat away from the usual boardwalk seen. And we sure got what we paid for. Booking next summer! AWSOME

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Best Family Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

We came out to Ocean Beach in April, 2011, to help celebrate my youngest daughter's 30th birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed the views and sounds of the ocean. The relaxed atmosphere added to the beautiful surroundings. Everything was clean and comfortable. The decor was quite nice and it suited the amazing views without being too "beachy". The neighbors were friendly and helpful. There was plenty of room for all six of us. We were able to make a wonderful Easter dinner and included four more guests.
I would love to stay here again!! If I could do, it I would come back every weekend!
**Special thanks to Adrienne for being so patient with all of my questions!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

INCREDIBLE - INCREDIBLE - INNNNNCRRRREDIIIIIIBBBBBLE

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

I just enjoyed the MOST enjoyable GIRLS VACATION in my life with my best friends!!! Thanks to this wonderful property, it will be forever edged in my mind. The listing and pictures don't even do this place justice, it was so much better than we expected. The property was clean and very well maintained. The owner and other neighbors were so nice and friendly. The bed.......Ohhhh THE BED...I slept in the 2nd bedroom with the queen bed and I wanted to take it home. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, and I miss it so much! The views were breath taking. It really doesn't matter where you are in the property you will see the Ocean. The living and dining area are literally a wall of windows. The sounds of the Ocean can be heard in every room. Although we did venture out a little bit, we did find that the views we had on our very own private deck were so much better. There really is no reason to ever even leave. This is the PERFECT place to stay and just relax and enjoy the views!!! We did come upon a very friendly seagull name "Murphy" and I do hope if you rent this place you read in the book, at the property about him. He loves french fries!! Thanks Adrienne - IT WAS FANTASTIC!!!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing views! 5 Stars

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

We stayed at this amazing property for three days before our cruise in March 2011. The photos do not do the property justice. The property is well-equipped and included some special treats. The beds are really comfortable and the sheets are a high thread count. The deck is the perfect place to watch the sunset or to watch surfers and pelicans do their things.

We've posted some additional pictures of the views from the condo (and the surrounding area) at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/pierham/sets/72157626298284161/show/

One other tip - the nearby wine and beer tasting at Olive Tree Market is really worth the trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Panoramic Ocean View

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 27, 2010

Panoramic ocean view is a great way to describe the view from this place - I loved it - when you want a different view, move to a different window or side of the deck - beautiful! The interior itself is very nicely redecorated - true to photos provided on the vrbo site. The beds and the bedding were so comfortable. The wireless internet connection worked very well. There were a variety of snacks available when we got there, nice touch - gave us time to find a local grocery store (Olive Tree Marketplace on Sunset Cliffs Blvd was only about 6 blocks away). There is a flight of stairs up to the deck/entrance, and there's no closet in the second bedroom, but neither of these were an issue for us. In summary, it's a beautiful view in quiet neighborhood, not far from a variety of area attractions - I will definitely be looking for an opportunity to stay here again!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

"Wow" indeed!

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

No wonder 3 reviews open with “wow!” Appliances and amenities are top notch, the condo is located in a quiet residential neighborhood and the ocean view is spectacular. The second bedroom is a bit small (no closet) but not claustrophobic. The condo is on the second floor, but the stairs are not steep. Adrienne is a professional and helpful agent, and the condo is a vacation destination in and of itself. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Best view in OB, PB, Mission Beach...

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We had the best time! We were there over labor day, and could not have been happier. The place has everything you could need. Very comfortable beds in the bedrooms(nice size bedrooms). We have stayed in Mission Beach a lot and like it, but down there on the cliff was so quiet. The only noise aside from ourselves that we even heard was the surf. Its really hard not to spend all of your time on the deck, because it's so beautiful. Can't wait to go back!!! Oh and we watched dolphins and sea lions swim right out in front everyday! Awesome place!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

I'm always a bit anxious about renting a property based solely on the pics and description. However, the pictures are true-to-life. You are situated on the ocean and hear the waves crashing as you fall asleep in this newly remodeled, completely furnished (with everything you could need but food) two-bedroom. We loved it and plan to return. We had California friends over to visit and they were taken aback by the beauty. Wonderful touches, which I probably shouldn't mention in case they stop leaving snacks and a bottle of wine for your arrival ;-) However, it was totally unexpected and a nice gesture. My only concern is leaving a positive review and not having it available next time for us.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 15, 2009

WOW - From the moment we walked through the gate, we were blown away by the beauty and sounds of this location. Owners have done a fabulous job in decorating the condo. We however, spent most of our time on the fantastic patio. We had a wonderful time and will be back again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

WOW! We just got back from our stay at this condo and it was fabulous. The description was right on: "Amazing beach front...ocean views...tastefully designed...fine linens and quality beds....." The beds and linens were wonderful and I've never before said that about anyplace. The photos are exactly what you get. We loved having the grill-dinners at the beach on your own deck what a treat. The small beach was like having your own private beach and several mornings the dolphins were swimming around. We would recommend this place to anyone anytime. Thank you Adrienne for making the renting process so easy.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

Wow,

What a great place, we spent a short week at the property, it was clean, new Crate and Barrel furniture, two big bedrooms, excellent kitchen and the view was breathtaking, I can't wait to get back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review