reviews for: listing #72187 - Key West, Florida House rental

Classic Key West Charm
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Truman Annex
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $549 - $859 /nt
    $2,789 - $4,289 /wk
    $8,995 - $16,495 /mth

sort by:

PERFECT HOLIDAY!

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Everything about this recent vacation was charmed -- from the very start, in fact, when I contacted Michael McMahon to rent this beautiful house to celebrate my sister-in-law's birthday/vacation/surprise visit from her son. The house is spacious yet cozy, located in the heart yet far enough away to enjoy absolute quiet and privacy. It is beautifully decorated and clearly looked after with great perspicacity. Simply, this is the only house we'd rent again when next we visit Key West. And a huge Thank You to Michael for making it all happen so easily. You rock, Michael! XO

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the kind comments about our home in Key West. It is gratifying that you all had a good time and the Birthday Party was a winner, especially since the celebrant works in the hospitality industry. We work hard to make each guests stay in Key West special and to be be successful makes all the effort worthwhile.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Luxury and comfort in one great Key West location!

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

Our family of five adults and two young children spent a week in this wonderful house. While it is luxurious, it is also a comfortable home-away-from-home for a family. You couldn't ask for a better location--pool, beach, Duval Street, Mallory Square, historic sites, and entertainment--all within walking distance. The weather was great for our entire stay, and was a much-needed break from the brutal snowy winters where we all live.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream Come True Vacation

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

If you are thinking of staying in Key West, this beautiful home is a perfect choice! Clean, trendy, feels like home the minute you step inside. The gorgeous pool is private and just steps from the front door, the patio is a tropical private oasis! All 3 bedrooms/bathrooms are completed with fresh linens and the state of the art kitchen is wonderful...
Micheal was very helpful and took care of everything we needed for our vacation.

Owners response: I'm so happy that Janice & Company enjoyed their stay. We try hard to ensure each guest has a great time and can enjoy all Key West has to offer! And get a great night's sleep too. While the pool may seem private due to it's usage and location, it actually is shared with a few other homes. The kitchen is fully equipped, the convection oven is my favorite way to cook fish, so you can eat-in as often as you like. Thanks for staying with us Janice and for the great review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

We recently stayed here and it was wonderful. The pool was right outside out door steps. Everything we wanted to do was with in walking distance. Even with a toddler this place was great. The only thing I would suggest would be to include bikes with the rental. Definitely will be back. Found a great local bar called levity around the corner. Excellent wings. This was our second trip to key west and won't be our last. Thanks for a great time

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Time

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

me and my family absolutely enjoyed everything this house had to offer. It is in the best location and we all felt very safe and secure. Everything is within walking distance or a bike ride. The owner, Mike was very accommodating. Just a few weeks before our trip, my sister broke her foot. Mike was willing to move us to another property, if necessary and offered to bring over additional chairs, etc. My sister was able to enjoy the pool and utilize her talent of painting on the deck in the nice fenced in backyard. The downstairs bedroom was a huge help also. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning Paradise

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

Absolutely the most wonderful place we have ever vacationed in. This home is beautiful, roomy, comfortable, and the absolute best location in Key West. It truly felt like home. A five star rating does not even come close in rating this property. It truly deserves a ten plus star rating. Even though it rained four out of the five nights we stayed, due to the location of this property, we still had the best vacation ever. Thank you Michael, for a wonderful and relaxing time. We vacation to Key West once a year and would love to rent this property again and again.
Chris and Bev

Owners response: We thank Chris and Bev for their wonderful review. We truly care about our guests and their comfort and we seemed to have the mark with these folks. We agree with Chris and Bev 100% - the biggest asset of the house is it's location. Cemetery like quietness in the middle of all the action Key West visitors love to experience, one could hardly ask for more. Secondly, the one place you're going to spend the most time during your vacation is the bed. So we pull all the stops to make the beds are as inviting and comfortable as any you ever been in. The house is made new as possible for each guest both inside and outdoors too. We look forward to hosting these guests again and again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything we wanted and more

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

This has got to be the best location in Key West! We were within walking distance to everything we wanted to do, and to many of the best restaurants in town. The photos posted don't do the property justice. The house is beautifully decorated. The yard is perfect...landscaped and fenced in. There is an outdoor table and chairs for hanging out and reading or dining.

The property was extremely clean and if anything came up the owner was immediate in answering our questions. We live in Florida, so we drove, but only used our car once for groceries. Next time, I will leave the car at home and cab it if we really needed to go to Publix. There is a market close by with everything we needed, though.

And, who says Key West doesn't have a beautiful beach? We discovered Fort Zachary State Park, which is within walking distance or if you prefer ride a bike there. The beach was beautiful and people were snorkeling there.

We went to some great restaurants and found a new one that is a tappas restaurant...Santiago's Bodega. Very well priced and the food was outstanding. And for the nights we wanted to stay home, we found out that Sandy's delivers! Great cuban and mexican food!

I will definitely be back to this property and would recommend it to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

HEAVEN ~ PERFECT HOUSE ~ PERFECT LOCATION

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

Great Vacation, the house was an oasis with every amenity needed. The back yard is breath taking and extremely relaxing. We utilized every aspect of the house, from sitting by the pool next door to grilling out in the evening. So much so, that we never wanted to leave the back yard area. The house was up to date clean and spacious, easily accommodated all 6 of us and we never felt on top of each other. The beds ARE fabulous!! The rooms must be soundproof as we never heard a peep when the others stayed up later than us. The pictures of the house do not do it justice. It's much more upscale and warm/cozy than the pictures show. You couldn't ask for a better location. Truman Annex is beautiful, gated and super safe. You really don't need your car. Walking distance to EVERYTHING!! Rent bikes if you aren't a big walker. The owners have done an excellent job in making you feel like it is your home. Enjoy!! We did and are looking forward to a return visit soon. (feel free to contact me with any questions!) I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE FOR YOUR VACATION!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were thrilled to learn Carole and the gang had such a great time at Casa Cristol. We spoke several times during their stay and they were truly the perfect guests. Actually our experience with Carole taught us there is a need for more quality vacation spots in Key West. So in April 2013 we are opening Cristol Sanctuary that will be the final jewel in the Cristol Group's Key West Holiday in addition to the Cristol Condo. So if Carole ever has the need to sleep 20, we can do it. Thanks Luv' we cannot wait to have you all back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Cristol--A Memorable Christmas

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Last year we stayed in Ramrod Key and decided we wanted to be closer to Key West. So this year my son chose your beautiful home in the Truman Annex for our Christmas week vacation. This included my son and friends plus my husband and me and our grandog.

The location in Truman Annex is so convenient and we were able to walk to everything-Duval St, the Sunset Pier, The Conch Republic, The Boathouse (The best Happy Hour in Key West), Mallory Square and all of our favorite places. We were able to attend Christmas Eve Mass at The Basilica of St Mary Star of the Sea-Memorable. We cooked an old fashioned Christmas dinner in your gourmet kitchen. Your home and the Truman Annex made our holiday an enjoyable “Home away from home”.

Casa Cristol is beautiful, spacious, very comfortable furniture, awesome patio for morning coffee, speedy WiFi, well stocked, very clean, plus a great kitchen. I am sure we will soon be making plans to return to “our new” vacation home. It is the perfect place in Key West for young and old, children and pets.

Thank you for a fabulous vacation and and a special thank you for being pet-friendly.

Sally Hiar
Port Orange, Fl & Mackinaw City, MI

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Christmas in Key West

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Casa Cristol was our retreat for Christmas in Key West for 2013. It was great. Mike the owner was very easy to deal with. He didn't misrepresent his home. It is just as described. GREAT.

He accommodated my friends and family in a home that is truly centrally located to all that Key West has to offer. It is in the heart of the Truman Annex, very safe, private, and pet friendly.

Very clean, comfortable and well equipped. I hope this review helps you make up your mind.

Sincerely,

Vern Hiar

Owners response: We are thrilled that Vern and family had such a great time. It is truly gratifying when our guests enjoy the home as we have for years. The location is wonderful and we try to make the place new for each guest. We like to be helpful yet not intrusive on your families time in paradise. The vacation and the home are about YOU, and having the best time possible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Son's Wedding! Key West! All This And Classic Key West Charm, Too!

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

Casa Cristol exceeded our expectations! Our son was married at Ft. Zach, and this property was the perfect place for our family to spend a week in KW! The property is spacious, immaculate~the decor is truly characterized by fine taste. We took advantage of the lovely patio area one evening and invited our son and daughter-in-law over for burgers ala the gas grill~the evening blended in with the romance of the wedding and the tropical mode of Key West! Michael's "Casa" away from home" is award winning from location to it's "charm." While we did not have the opportunity to meet Michael personally, we appreciated his emails and phone conversations prior to arrival. His acumen for both business and family is to be commended! Thank you, Michael! This was our family's 5th vacation to Key West. We've stayed at resorts, hotels and, one year my husband and I were able to get away to a lovely B&B--this year, our experience at the TA was the best! The spacious kitchen area is perfect for dinners, however, in light of all the wedding activities, we enjoyed sampling the wares of KW. We started off with the rehearsal dinner at The Rum Barrel. The morning after the wedding my husband and I strolled over to Louie's Backyard, pulled up a chair at the Afterdeck Bar on the beach, sipped a Bloody Mary, and soaked in the beautiful atmosphere! Paradise at its best! Over the years, we've established our favorite local restaurants--Louie's Backyard, Sloppy Joe's (of course!), and Blue Heaven is a must! My son took his groomsmen to breakfast to Harpoon Harry's-the guys had a blast! The bride and her "maids" relaxed at Caroline's over lunch! Our "kids" enjoyed Hog's Breath, BO's, Island Dog and certainly Margaritaville. The wedding guest list consisted primarily of college friends (25-30 age bracket) who found their niche at Irish Kevin's, Sloppy Joe's and Smokin Tuna. We strongly feel that each of us find our "own" Key West simply by walking and exploring. Each vacation offers a cache of new memories and, with each year, we discover a new Key West! We would strongly recommend this property in a 5 star fashion! If we find ourselves planning yet another KW vacation, Michael would be the first one we call in the hopes he has an availability. Several wedding guests found accommodations within the Truman Annex, however--Michael's Casa Cristol was voted "the best"

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is a marvelous feeling to have one's work validated by such a glowing review. To only say thanks hardly seems adequate - but thank you, my friends from Wisconsin. We strive to make each guests' experience a fulfilling and satisfying event that allows them to focus on the wonders and joys of Key West.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just what we needed...

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

...beautiful and typical Key West style house, located in a peaceful gated condominium 2 minutes walk away from the busy and vibrant down town: we felt really priviledged!

Fort Taylor Natural Park with its famous beach and fishing spot was 10 mn away on a bike. The boys would come back every evening with one or two fish we would grill on the barbecue for diner. This was paradise.

We rented a boat for a day, went off snorkelling and saw amazing things with the kids (aged 4 to 7). Kayaking was also a great adventure for us all: fantastic for nature lovers: iguanas, little sharks, lobsters, birds.

Good reaturants, nice bars with good music bands, we liked the fact we came during the low season.

We definitely recommend this property and may come back sometimes no matter the 9hrs flight!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are so pleased to have our first guests from France, and that they had a great vacation and will consider enduring a nine hour flight to see us again! With iPhones and Google Translate one can effectively communicate in all languages, so we are hoping to host more international guests in the future. Thanks Audrey for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

"No A/C" and No Response From Owner to the Problem

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Upon arriving at this rental at about 4:00 pm, my initial inspection of the house found that the A/C was not functioning. I had received a communication from the owner/landlord, Michael, earlier that day that the AC was not working and he assured me that he would have it operational upon my arrival. Finding it not operating, I tried calling Michael to no avail. I left several messages. In the meantime, the cleaning lady stopped by at about 4:30 pm to pickup an item she had forgotten and confirmed that she had cleaned the house that day without the A/C. She also gave me the phone number for Jon who she said was a point of contact as well. Without A/C, the midsummer heat in Key West made the premises uninhabitable for my family, which included two small children and our pet. We decided that we would not be able to sleep there overnight without air conditioning so, not hearing back from the owner, I made the decision to call in a serviceman to remedy the problem. It was that, or seek out hotel rooms. I was finally able to reach Jon to explain the problem. He indicated that it was a brand new system still under warranty but was uncertain about what to do. We informed him that we had attempted numerous times to reach Michael without success so we had no guidance other than to call in a repair service to fix the problem. After 2 ½ hrs, the serviceman completed repairing the unit and rendered it operational. He requested a cash payment from me. With payment in full, he completed the invoice and gave it to me. With the problem fixed, we stayed in the residence for the full seven days and not once did we get a call back from the owner despite the many calls we made to him. I sent a registered letter to Michael cc:Jon submitting the bill for the repair and requested reimbursement for the amount of $246.90, the cost of the service. He has refused to honor this request and was irritated that I bothered him with this matter. RENTER BEWARE!!

Owners response: We are so sorry that Gerry had a problem with the a/c unit, which had been installed two weeks prior to his visit. Our technician was on the property at 6:30 and found another service company there.

Unfortunately I was in an Everglades cell dead-zone (which is another story altogether - I meant to be on I-95 . . .) regrettably we cannot be available 24/7. We do have a day jobs.

Gerry has a surprise coming, his refund was mail out last weekend from our farm in Maryland and he should have it any day now. We want each guest to feel comfortable with the rental transaction, even if it means issuing marginally valid refund request.

Our maintenance practices of keeping the property in excellent condition at all times, had caused us to replace the functioning a/c unit (circa 2003) out of fear it might break down during a visit. Ironically the new one did - it was a faulty relay.

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

Great Value and Super Location!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Perfect accommodations! Fabulous area of Key West. We were three couples all over 60 in good health. We were very satisfied. The Truman Annex is a gated, residential community next to the downtown area. Very, very secure at night. Peaceful. The house is well maintained. Michael is extremely helpful.

Large modern kitchen with all the appliances. Even a wine cooler. Living room with HD television, DVD player, and full cable. We were too busy for watching television, however. There is even a iPhone and iPod docking station. Big patio outside with a propane grill.

All three bedrooms were beautiful. The downstairs bedroom is pretty small and not next to its bath which is several steps away in the entry hall. The upstairs bedrooms have their own bathrooms and are up a pretty steep staircase. Not a problem for us, but they would be inaccessible for the handicapped. The swimming pool is next door, and shared with other owners. While the pool is small, it is still nice and well maintained. Only open daylight hours. Fort Zachary State Park is just 3/4 miles away. It appears to have the best beach in Key West. We spent two afternoons there, and watched one of the sunsets. Entry fee is $2.50 per person. There is a concession stand. No need to take food or drinks. But if we would have gone one more time we would have brought things for a picnic.

No need for a car or bike while you are there. Downtown is just a couple of small blocks away. But grocery shopping is a problem. The closest modern supermarket (Publix or Winn-Dixie) is across the island. We took a cab which was $3 per person each way. Otherwise, we were limited to milk and a few things at the Walgreen’s on Duval. Mallory Square, restaurants, and some of the museums are nearly next door. Try the Westin Resort on Front Street for lunch, we went twice. Hemingway and the Butterfly Conservatory are a good walk. And Church at St. Mary’s of the Sea Catholic Church was another cab ride.

No question that all of us would return. This has to be one of the best locations in all of Key West.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're thrilled that William and his group has such a grand time and appreciated the location of Casa Cristol. We hope that all of our guests enjoy Key West as much as these seasoned travellers and take advantage of the abundance of natural beauty during the day and the enticements of Duval at night.

While William didn't mention it, part of the locational advantage is we are three blocks from the world famous Green Parrot, Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville or Sloppy Joe's, two blocks from the Bull and Whistle, a block from Kelly's for those who love the night life and great live music in a intimate setting.

We try to be as helpful as possible, so I apologise to William and the gang for not mentioning Fausto's Food Palace - a true Key West landmark run by fourth generation conchs - that is a full service grocer with many speciality products not found elsewhere and its closer to Casa Cristol than Walgreen's. There is also Shorty's across from The Red Garter and two doors up from Sloppy Joe's which is great for those needs between 8 PM and 4 AM - it's also great for people watching too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Location, Location, Location!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

Okay folks... you need not look further for a classy yet reasonably priced place to stay. Great value, especially for 3 couples. Beautiful home which the owner takes great pride in maintaining in an upscale manner. Literally within walking or biking distance from anything you want to do on the island. Gated community, so need to remember to take keys with you so you can get back in the "short" way.
We cannot recommend this place highly enough! The minor downside was the small pool, but it ended up being quaint and we got to know other vacationers. You will be awakened by roosters crowing and crazy birds tapping on your window, which adds to the island experience. Rent a cab to do major grocery shopping, or hop on the bikes to run to local grocers. Fun trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for such kind remarks, it makes us feel great when someone loves the home and location as much as we do. The pool really is a great place to meet others and get the scoop on the best restaurants in town while taking a quick dip. (If you're one who enjoys a day at the pool Dante's on Caroline Street has a huge pool and it's open to all.) We promise to give our best effort in making it a comfortable place to stay for all of our guests.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Stay - Planning to Rent Again

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

We throughly enjoyed our stay and are planning our trip for next year. This was our 5th stay in Key West and by far the most beautiful property. The house is perfect for three couples or two families. Whether you want a quiet cup of coffee in the morning or grilled dinner in the evening, the patio was the perfect spot to unwind. A short walk to all of the fun on Duval Steet, sight seeing, or dinner at Rick's Blue Heaven... Michael was fantastic to work with offering not only his beautiful home but travel selections if you haven't visited the area. We will be back, and this property is our first choice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great home in Key West

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

We loved this home. It was located in the beautiful Truman Annex. Great location for riding bikes and/or walking to shops, restaurants, nightlife and beaches in Key West. I would definitely recommend this property to all types of families...with or without children. Went to a great restaurant called Blue Heaven and would recommend that as well!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful house

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

This house exceeded all of our expectations! The location near Mallory Square and Duval Street was perfect--we walked everywhere!! Because we had two separate parties arriving at different times, we had two vehicles, but there was only parking for one, so we had to park the second car away from the house. Plan a week or two here--it's a perfect vacation get-away with a wonderful balcony off the master bedroom upstairs, a terrific patio downstairs, and easy access to the pool right next door. Truman Annex is a beautiful, quiet, safe, gated neighborhood. We all loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A Hidden Tresure

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

We could not have asked for a more perfect rental property for our stay in Key West. The home was clean, comfortable and the location could not be beat! We found many extra ammenties that we were not expecting! The homeowners were exceptional to work with. We are counting the days until our next stay!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Location, Beauty and Charm made for a great vacation!

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay on our vacation. The home was in the perfect location to everything. Close enough to walk to Duval, Mallory Square (about 2 blocks) and other must-do activities but secluded and private enough to not be in the middle of it all. Don't worry about driving anywhere! Our kids loved having the pool right there close by. Michael went above and beyond, answering any questions we had (big or small) and making sure our stay was perfect! We will definitely be back. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

The house is awesome. Although our expectations were high prior to arrival, they were surpassed once we got there. You couldn't ask for a better location within Truman Annex. Located two blocks off Duval street, there is no need for a car. Our stay was one for the memory books. Michael and Jon were very helpful with any questions we had. Definitely can't go wrong here, book now!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Great Stay!

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

We had such a lovely stay here at Casa Cristol. It is kept wonderfully clean, beautiful decor, and awesome location! Its a nice quiet home, only a few blocks from Duval. We had a wonderful week here with our family and look forward to coming back very soon! Thank you for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AWESOME PLACE

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

THIS HOUSE IS ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS. WE JUST SPENT A WEEK HERE WITH OUR FRIENDS AND HAD A GREAT TIME. IT IS LOCATED CLOSE ENOUGH TO ALL THERE IS TO DO. YET BEING IN THE TRUMAN ANNEX IT IS NICE AND QUIET AT NIGHT. THE OWNER MICHAEL IS MORE THAN WILLING TO HELP WITH ANY PLANS OR EXCURSIONS THAT YOU MIGHT BE WANTING TO SET UP. THIS WAS OUR 5TH TRIP TO KEY WEST AND BY FAR THE NICEST PLACE THAT WE HAVE STAYED. I CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS PLACE. WE WILL DEFINENTLY BE BACK SOON.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

We discovered a treasure in Key West

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

I stumbled upon this gem while searching the HomeAway site and truly found a treasure. From the immaculate home, to the very gracious host, to the precious greeting committee...we felt at home away from home the minute we got to the house. The location was perfect...quiet but close to everything....and the beds are everything any other review states...the best sleep we've gotten in a LONG time!! Our host, offered his assistance in everything from making reservation arrangements for island activities to making sure we were OK on groceries the morning after we arrived!! We've been visiting the Keys for over 15 years and I believe we have our new favorite place in the Key West! It's a place we will return to again and again. Thank you...your beautiful home helped make my 40th birthday celebration with my family the best ever!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic House and Excellent Customer Service!

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2009

Our business requires us to travel all over the United States along with our crew so not only do we have to please ourselves but also our crew. We have stayed all over Key West, from the Pier House to the Duval House and the Eaton House over the past 8 years and this house was the best place we have stayed by far. The entire crew loved the place. We could play on Duval Street and come home to a nice quiet house and get a good nights sleep when we needed it. It was extremely clean, we cooked all week long, there were plenty of cooking utensils and the washer and dryer were great to have. Of all our travels over the many years we rate this the best place so far. The owner was very helpful with all our needs. I had trouble with my bicycle and he picked me up from Mallory square and gave me a ride back home. He made himself accessible every day we were there. He is an awesome person! We have found our new home in Key West.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love the mascot Nastie, and the whole Crazy Chicken crew (National Powerboat Racing Champions), and are so happy they enjoyed their vacation while winning the cup. While they are celebrities each and every guest at Casa Cristol is treated in the same fashion, with big Key West open arms. We love for our guest to have a great time and we look forward to making their Key West visit a special time in their lives.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This 3 bedroom, 3 bath luxury home was incredible!

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

We loved the house and had a wonderful time there! You can't beat the location~1 block to Duval Street!
We watched the cruise ships come in from the pool deck and what a treat, to have 2 pools to choose from each day!
The washer and dryer were so new and advanced that it took us a minute to figure them out, but they worked great. Loved the kitchen and we grilled red snapper and parrot fish that our friend caught in the ocean for 3 of our dinners.

We will definitely be back and we all have recommended you to our friends!

Thanks so much, Colleen from Tampa, Florida

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unsatisfactory - among worst customer service

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

The house was not ready for possession at the 4:00PM check-in and the cleaning crew didn’t leave until 5:30PM. There was a host of cleaning, odor, and privacy issues that remained after the cleaners left, but the Property Representative was unwilling to come to the property to review its condition. Although we left numerous voice mails at the Property Representative’s office, he made no attempt to welcome us at the property, status the condition of the property or address our concerns. A certified letter to him documenting the condition of the property was refused delivery and returned unopened. Lease terms for this property require full payment 60 days prior to arrival, which is not advisable. The Key West Chamber of Commerce offered the best advice: “Buyer Beware”.

Owners response: I am so sorry Zookie was disappointed.

We try to be as prompt at check-in as we can be, but sometime events beyond our control prevent us from being ready at 4 PM. And this is Key West, which is not exactly known for being an "always-on-schedule" place.

While we prefer to personally greet all of our guest sometimes other events require our attention (day job) and we are unavailable, especially when in Miami. Our staff of cleaners was at the house twice during a five day stay and reported back the house was in fine order.

The guest after this stay absolutely loved the house and we have become friends (as often happens). The photos accurately depict the condition of the home as it is today, and we employ the finest cleaners available to make the house "new" for each visitor as is our goal.

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Our private castle

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

My sister is a local. My brother and I took our families to visit her and we had a wonderful time. We know Key West pretty well and this was perfect. Near the Sunset, dive shops, Kelly's, the Rooftop Cafe. We never made it to the larger pool b/c we had the other pool to ourselves. We were in awe of the house. It was all so perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great times!!

Review submitted: March 8, 2009   Date of arrival: February 28, 2009

We go to KW twice a year and this is the best place we have ever stayed. Beautiful home, (spacious even with 6 adults), great bedding and towels, concerns addressed immediately by local, attentive owner. And the 3 best things...location, location, location! Really close to everything (Duval, Harbor, Sunset, Shopping, Services), and yet quiet when it's time to sleep. The best of KW!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind remarks about your recent stay, which were made even more rewarding by the fact that your family frequently visits Key West. We will look forward to seeing you in the future. Mark, our goal is to maximize the enjoyment of our guests during their precious vacation time when they are spending their precious vacation dollars, and as you pointed out it all starts being within easy walking distance of all major Key West tourist attractions and of course, Duval Street.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Great time had by all

Review submitted: June 16, 2008   Date of arrival: April 5, 2008

We stayed at this home in April 2008 and even though we where excited by just seeing the pictures of the house it was even better in person. Location was the best, easy access to downtown and stumbling distance to the bars. The pool outside the house was great for a fast dip. MIke the owner of the house was a great host. He went out of his way a couple of times to make our stay great. Can't say enough about this place. Renting this house is the way to go.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: June 13, 2008   Date of arrival: June 5, 2008

This property is amazing! The Truman Annex truly is the best location on the island; its proximity to all the fun things Key West has to offer is fantastic. Everything is within walking distance! The home itself exceeded our expectations by far! Michael was very accomodating by offering his time and knowledge to make our stay more comfortable. The private lanai was used frequently and the grill was a nice feature! The updated interior includes a beautiful kitchen with new appliances, incredible bathrooms with awesome showers, and super-soft mattresses that will help you sleep off those wild nights on Duval. We used the smaller pool right next to the house and had it to ourselves for the majority of the trip. We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning...hopefully for many years to come. We would definitely recommend this property and this property owner!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

excellent stay!!

Review submitted: April 10, 2008   Date of arrival: April 2, 2008

We absolutely loved this property!!! The owner was more than gracious and accommodating!! The house is beautiful and OMG the mattresses were out of this world! We are all going to go buy them! Everything you need is right there in the house. The entire community is beautiful. We used the pool located right next to the carport and it was perfect. We took full advantage of the outside deck and enjoyed breakfast and even grilled dinner one night. Makes you not want to go back home. Located only a few short blocks from Duval Street and just a short walk to Mallory Square, it is in the perfect spot. We walked everywhere. Found a few great places that we will surely come back to, like Blue Heaven in the Village, and Caroline's Cafe where they have the best pasta and chicken dish with a cajun creme sauce. Fogarty's was great for lunch. Croissants de France has the best spinach and feta croissants too! And the marina with the great restaurants right on the boardwalk was another great place to be. We had a spectacular time and it was only made perfect by the great accommodations! Why spend time in a hotel when you can have your own home to come back to? Chris in NH

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We aim to make the place new for each guest and do our best to make sure you have a great vacation that is hassle free. And thanks Chris for the nice remarks and those suggestions for excellent places to dine.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Great House

Review submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We just returned back to Wisconsin after a GREAT week in Key West. The house was awesome. Just as Michael said it would be. It was spotless and the beds were probably the most comfortable beds we have slept in. Michael was very accommodating especially with great restaurant spots to eat. He even went out to buy us a griddle so we could make pancakes in the morning. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: March 4, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This property was beyond expectations. Great location and prettier than a picture. The landlord was as gracious and helpful as I've come accross. I will be comming back here as often as I can for as long as I can. You cannot go wrong with this property!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Luxury Truman Annex

Review submitted: February 10, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Loved our stay in this home. Extremely cozy & convenient to everything - we walked everywhere, even the beach. The beds were very comfortable & consierge service was so nice - the kitchen was stocked before we arrived. Will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

My Key West Bachelor Party....

Review submitted: January 7, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

6 of us came down to Key West for my Bachelor Party and I really wanted to treat ourselves. I typically stay in various Bed and Breakfast's when in Key West but I could not find any that held my entire group.

After staying here, I'll not be going the Bed and Breakfast route again. Our stay far exceeded my expectations. The house was pure luxury (even down to the bed sheets).

I wish we could have stayed longer so we could have enjoyed the house more. The house had an awesome TV (we watched some football).

The house looked brand new. I felt like we were the first ones to stay! There was an awesome BBQ on the patio that I would have loved to use (again, not enough time).

The location was incredible. We were two blocks from Sloppy Joe's (just far enough away to not be disturbed).

Mike was a fantastic host. He totally met our needs and was just a phone call away.

He warned us about bringing too many cars. The house has only one spot but he most graciously gave up one of his own private spots down the street!

He offered to make any reservations we needed and was very knowlegable about the area.

We are already planning a trip in the summer (this time with my soon to be wife).

Thanks Mike!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 11, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

We were lucky enough to be the first guests to stay in this newly renovated house. Everything brand new and beautiful. The beds are beyond comfortable. I wanted to pack mine up and send it home.

Beautiful and private deck. Pool right outside the front door. And one of the best features of all is that it is within walking distance to just about everything. Don't need a car at all. Thanks for a fabulous time. Can't wait to return next year, if not sooner!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review