reviews for: listing #72192 - Portland, Oregon House rental

Pocket House: Featured in New York Magazine, Clean and Green
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Alberta Arts District
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $117 - $150 /nt
    $700 - $1,000 /wk
    $3,000 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Pocket House Thanksgiving!

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

All in all the city, the house and the people were awesome! We loved the house and everything about it. The owners were very nice and quick to respond when getting ready to go out and updates on anything. The house was very close to all types public transportation as well and that made things very easy. We also walked to the Mississippi district and enjoyed all it had to offer. We had a great relaxing time and hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Really enjoyable stay - compact and characterful

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

The pocket house was a delight. We enjoyed the slight quirkiness of the property, and the location provided sufficient variety of experiences within walking distance!

The Pocket House is a great choice for a couple travelling who want to experience more than just another hotel room. George provided some excellent information (and history) which helped us get oriented quickly and get the most out of our time in the area.

We were pleased to be able to walk to local bars and restaurants and enjoyed some good quality food and service. The choices are many and varied.

Getting to attractions further away was easy, we used a mixture of local transport and our hire car, and had no issues finding our way around.

Its fair to say we fell a little in love with the Portland Vibe, (maybe it's the little bit of "hippy" in us) - and we certainly loved the Pocket House and would recommend.

Lovely to meet you both, thanks for a great stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Portland Stay!

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

The Pocket House was a perfect stay for our honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed the neighborhood and was in walking distance to cool restaurants and shops. George & Nina's recommendations made us feel like locals! We would absolutely recommend the Pocket House to anyone looking for a fun, cool place to stay in Portland.

Owners response: Thank you for the review, Audrey. It was nice to meet you and we hope to see you again.

Take care,
George and Nina

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An urban retreat

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and 5-year old son for a wonderful week in Portland. Our son loved the loft, and Nina showed us how to block the stair opening at night with a cushion. The house is lovely, with a restful, uncluttered feel. I loved swinging in the hammock, just looking at the tree branches above. It was the perfect retreat for starting and ending each day Ina very stimulating city.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Why Stay Anywhere Else?

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Why stay anywhere else in Portland? The vibe here is great -- fresh and hip, much like the city. George and Nina made us feel welcome without being at all intrusive. We had our privacy and our space. Speaking of space, the Pocket House is larger than it appears in the photos. We were three, and we didn't feel squished in the slightest. After a great day out and about, it was a treat to come home to our environmentally sensible nest to restore our energies. I would recommend this place and its owners without reservation.

North Vancouver,
B.C.

Owners response: Thank you, Kerry. It was great meeting you and your daughters. We hope you come back and stay again!

Take care,
George and Nina

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved it

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

The pocket house far exceeded our expectations! George and Nina are fantastic, their dogs are even better, and the house is so great. Very functional for us with our 2 year old. The off-street parking feels really secure and everything was clean.

Owners response: Thank you! We loved having the three of you and hope you all come back sometime.

Take care,
George and Nina

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Wonderful

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

The Pocket House is one of those rare exceptions in vacation rentals or hotels: It’s better than advertised. The amount of thought that went into every detail is evident in every part of the structure and decor. Beautifully constructed, it is both comfortable and elegant; it has the natural touches that makes a place feel like home, but also the aesthetic and attention to detail of a high-end hotel. Besides being thoughtfully built and well-maintained it is nestled in a gorgeous backyard nook that feels like its own little peaceful world. I particularly loved being able to utilize the edible herb garden. More than anything though, I recommend staying at the Pocket House because of George and Nina. They’re the kind of people who we want to support because of who they are, what they believe in, and what they represent. They are a remarkably thoughtful and considerate young pair who are crafting the kind of conscious and sustainable life we should all hope to live. And they share a taste of this kind of life with you at a reasonable price. Treat yourself and check out the Pocket House!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words, Kabir. It was great having you as a guest and we'd love to have you and your wife back any time.

Take care,
George and Nina

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Hippest House in Town!

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

Staying at the Pocket House was key to an enjoyable visit to Portland!

The owners were fabulous people who knew their community well and were able and willing to share great recommendations for shops, coffee and eats. Their attention to detail in making the Pocket House feel warm and cozy was exceptional. I felt as if I'd come home upon arrival, and found myself wanting to just "go back to the house and hang" in the middle of the day. Such a retreat, a truly seamless connection of indoor and outdoor spaces. I was able to bike to all my destinations and also had ready access to public transit options. The super-comfy bed was bonus! I would stay here again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Couldn't ask for more

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

This place was absolutely perfect for our 1st trip to Portland. It's a great alternative to the standard hotel room, it's a short walk from good food, beer and public transportation AND the hosts, George and Nina, were more than accommodating. AHHH...wish we could've had that beer you two. Next time, next time. Thanks again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing space!

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

The Pocket House is a truly amazing space and a wonderful place to stay. George and Nina are exceptional hosts leaving us cereal, milk, coffee and fresh fruit for breakfast while also allowing us our own space. You never feel like you are in someone else's backyard. We stayed with our newborn and 3-year-old, and the Pocket House is perfect for kids and provides plenty of space for a family of 4. George and Nina even left us extra kid toys to use during our stay. The place is lacking nothing and is beautifully designed and decorated. It is central to great neighborhoods and downtown and so easy to access. Thanks, George and Nina, for the great weekend at your Pocket House! We'll be back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the REAL Portland

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: May 18, 2010

This is a great place, located in a very cool part of Portland. If you want to see what Portland is really like, this is the place to stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cool and cozy

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

This house couldn't be in a cooler part of Portland -- right in between the Mississipi and Alberta districts. The contractor who built this place is a craftsman, and everything is well thought-out and cozy. If you want a more authentic and interesting stay in Portland, then skip the downtown hotels and stay at the Pockethouse!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The place to stay in Portland

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Wow. The Pocket House has it all. It is a small space but me, my sister, and her baby were more than comfortable. It was raining and with all of the big windows, natural wood and skylights, we felt like we were in Europe. Very cozy. We loved that we could walk to the awesome neighborhoods right near by. George and Nina gave us some good recommendations on where to go too. This will be the only place I stay when I’m in Portland.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice!

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

Very aesthetically pleasing and highly functional. These two characteristics do not often co-mingle, but the Pocket House brings these two traits into sublime harmony.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place, perfect neighborhood

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

I love the Pocket House! The space is beautiful. I love all the natural light and all the wood. It's a great space to just hang out in. The neighborhood is perfect - such great restaurants. And George and Nina are such wonderful hosts - there to recommend places to eat and hang out, but not in your face. Love that. And they let us bring our dogs! How great is that? I have recommended the Pocket House to all my friends and family going to Portland for a visit. In my opinion, it's perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loft sleeping and star gazing

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

I often dread going to stay at places with the owners nearby. I don't want to have to make small talk with strangers when I'm what I'm really interested in is re-connecting with my partner. Enter the Pocket House and George and Nina. The space is amazing - so much natural light and clean, modern lines, plus privacy. We slept in the loft with an incredible view of the stars and made our own breakfast before heading out for a walking tour of the neighborhood. Cute shops, coffee, and restaurants all nearby. George and Nina were the perfect hosts - they left us completely alone initially and and then stepped in when we asked for help - offering us the use of extra pots and pans and ingredients for our dinner in. After that evening, I actually wanted to get to know them better because they seemed like amazing people. I'll have to save that goal for next time. This place is fabulous!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love it!

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Can I move in? Love it. This is a wonderfully designed, light, welcoming space for couples, families, and dogs, if you have them. It's clear a lot of care and hard work has gone into creating a terrific spot for guests to enjoy while in Portland. I've loved being in Pocket House with such terrific hosts close-by. George and Nina will offer help if you need it, or give you space if you're just in town for a quiet weekend. Located in a hip neighborhood with great shops within walking distance, I'd stay at the Pocket House again and again and again...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A fantastic space

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

A really fantastic space! Great for exploring Portland and is very near to bike routes and public transportation to travel around to the rest of the city without a car. It's a very modern, well-kept little house with up-to-date facilities. And, it is beautiful too. George and Nina were excellent, understanding hosts and we really appreciated them letting us know about how to get around the city. They even shared some recipes with us when we decided to cook. We highly recommend staying here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review