reviews for: listing #72243 - Tampa, Florida House rental

Italian Palace on Lake, sleeps 20
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Lake Keystone Odessa
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $5,495 - $5,995 /wk

sort by:

Family Reunion '12

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We just concluded a fantastic experience at Villa Del Lago, where we held our first family reunion in years, and can say with all sincerity that the property and its amenities exceeded the expectations of all 14 of our guests. We were immediately awed by the property upon opening the gates and driving down the winding driveway, past the acres of well manicured grounds, to what can only be described as a palace like house, next to a beautiful guest home. The main house is incredibly well maintained and seemed to have a never ending run of bedrooms and bathrooms to easily accommodate all of our family members comfortably, with some of the rooms being that much more impressive than the others (the master bedroom, bathroom, and balcony are straight out of an episode of Cribs). The outside grounds had such an abundance of space which provided our very active family the opportunity to set up several backyard games, including a full wiffle ball field and separate volleyball and badminton courts, with plenty of room to spare for a separate football game to break out (we probably could've held a complete full camp with all of the room there was on this property). The pool area was also beautiful and although the first day we arrived to several leaves in the pool, the owner promptly called the poolman and we came back from an afternoon excursion to what was an impeccably clean pool. The house also offers two docks that jet out into an incredibly serene private lake, with views that cannot be compared.

Additionally, the owner of the property was very easy to deal with and incredibly accommodating, which further added to our experience.

Overall, we had an absolutely wonderful experience and would recommend Villa Del Lago to anyone of our friends and family that are looking for an amazing place for a small family outing, or a slightly larger group event.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Skender:
Thank you for your kind words and we are so happy your family got to enjoy this wonder estate.
Dr. Felker

Helpful votes: 11 / 15

 

Simply Percect

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: November 21, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful villa for a week for a family reunion and it was perfect for our group of 20. All ages from 6 months to 71 enjoyed their time here! We were met at the property by a lovely young woman who filled us in on everything we would need during the week. My sons loved the boathouse and dock and spent a good deal of time relaxing and fishing. All of the grandkids were delighted at catching fish. The beautiful pool was a big hit with all of the families and a perfect place to all be together. We made a thanksgiving feast and the kitchen was perfect for our needs. Lots of room and beautiful as well. The master bedroom and bathroom were a resort on to themselves. The master jacuzzi tub has beautiful views of the lake and sunsets were beautiful to enjoy while soaking! A week with 20 people can be trying but honestly we had so much room to spread out that no one felt anything but happy and relaxed. I think we sat on every balcony and took it all in!! We used the guest house as well and it was perfect for the families that stayed there. Our family made memories to last a lifetime here and we can't wait to go back again and make more :) My Grandkids were asking at the airport on the way home, when do we get to come back?! Capt Al took good care of us and was very easy to deal with. Thank you again for letting us rent your beautiful villa. Until next time....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Anne:
Thank you for that beautiful review of Villa Del Lago. It does appear that your family had a great Thanksgiving get together. I have had a lot of reviews about how the children love to fish off the boat house porch. This is one of the few real boat houses left from the 1940's on the lake as you cannot build them anymore. Being hundreds of feet out into the lake lets you fish without having a boat. The largest Bass ever caught in Florida was on Lake Keystone. We are very happy you and your family got to enjoy this beautiful estate.
Dr. Felker

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

50th wedding anniversary

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

When discussing how to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary it was finally decided to go on a family holiday. Many places were looked into, all inclusives etc. Our eldest son located Villa Del Lago on VRBO and after spending 10 days there we are very thankful for his research. There are 9 adults and 7 children in our immediate family and we were easily accommodated on the property, in the "castle" and the guest house. The main house is older but because of this it has great character. Asking my grandchildren about Villa Del Lago I received many different answers.
The yard Huge, big trees, nice plants, a jungle.
The pool Fun, fun, fun, big, deep, and had a fridge for drinks and popsicles.
The castle The color, It was so big I kept getting lost.
The kitchen wanted to make me eat pizza.
I liked Grandma and Grampa's shower.
The main floor bathroom under the curved staircase was either really neat or
scary.
The jungle room was really keen.
My dad liked the couch the best.
The great kitchen and barbecue allowed for our personal chef's (mom & dads)
to create some unforgettable meals.
The lake The little house on the pier where we went fishing.
The guest house Was everything you could ask for.
Disney World and Universal Studios is a fair drive, however with day lounging around the pool and the Villa in between trips our energy was soon restored.
Busch Gardens and the quaint towns and lovely beaches on the Gulf were very close and made for great afternoon outings, as we found it difficult to get out of the pool and get going before noon.
For me nothing was greater than getting up in the morning, going to the master bath and watch the sun rise over the peaceful Keystone Lake.
This holiday which was going to be great anyway, was turned into a dream thanks to Villa Del Lago.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Guests:
Thank you for your kind words. I am very happy your children and family got to enjoy this incredible estate for your 50th anniversary. Your children and grandchildren especially got to experience something very special other than the prepackaged vacation places. Congradulations on 50 years of marriage. You obviously are doing something right.
Dr. Felker

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Family Reunion Celebration

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We rented this home on the lake for 10 days as we had family coming in from the UK and all over the states. There were 16 of us in all ranging in age from 11 to almost 80. The grounds are beautiful and the lake view is gorgeous. The fishing dock was a big hit with some of the guys and a few fish were caught.
A lot of time spent at the pool which is great as it has both sun and a shaded area too. There is a lot to do around the area. We did Universal Studio's and a baseball game, amongst other things. The home is great for large families with kids and we never felt uncomfortable, and not restricted with silly rules and regulations like some homes we have rented in the past. If there were any problems or questions they were addressed promptly. The only thing missing for us was not being able to get a boat for a day or two to get on the lake. That would have been a great addition. All in all we had a fabulous time and lots of fond memories. This house is unique and a lot of fun. It worked for our family to be able to get together and the outside porches are a great place to hang out. We would return for sure and we would recommend to others. Thanks to Dr Felker and his staff. PS my brother really enjoyed getting to see a video shoot too! The guys were cool.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

family getaway weekend

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

My family and I feel in love with the mansion, once u learn where everytin is and how it work you got it made,,the home is not just beautiful outside, but the moment u step into the house u have an aww and a wow moment,,,We ..play sack racing and volley with the famiy it was a great experience...it look like a home set for a king and queen and yet we got to enjoy it,,,very clean inside and out, if i had one complain it would be a little more light other than that we had an amazing time, I would recommend this lovely property to friend at work and church, attracttion near was a place call Celebration Station we had lots of fun there with the kids, owner was very helpful from beginnin to the end....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Cossette:
We are glad to hear your family got to enjoy the estate and it sounds like you had a great family reunion. We appreciate positive reviews when our guest have a great time. Appreciate your kind comments.
Dr.Felker

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect - very very HAPPY - especially my bride

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

We booked this villa 9 months in advance as we were getting married on anclote island nr Newport Richey and the reception was held at the Sandpearl hotel in Clearwater.and from the start the owner was brilliant with us. Emails answered promptly and and could not be more helpful. My wife and I had the master bedroom with the fab balcony and every morning we could sit out and watch the sunrise over the lake :-) We had a further 10 guests who shared the ample accomodation and even with our 3 children the villa was large enough for us all to enjoy our own space. The villa itself is well situated for Clearwater where there is a gorgeous beach and all the fun you wish to have if you desire and Busch gardens is only a short drive away if you fancy the theme parks. We personally only left the villa for 3 days- one to get married, one to see Winter the dolphin in clearwater and one to visit Busch gardens, the rest of our time was spent relaxing in the large pool and spa, enjoying the huge gardens within the villa and playing on the villa's Boat on the lake. We had the most wonderful time and given the fact this was our wedding vacation the Villa did not disappoint, it was everything we hoped it would be and more. The kitchen easily cooked for all guests while the bbq fridge and the pool fridge certainly helped with the cooling of beer. The other wedding guest visitors we had to the villa for our BBQ the day after we married were all stunned at just how gorgeous the villa looked and without doubt the owner, his villa, the lake, the gardens and the location made the last week of our 4 week wedding trip a total success. Thank you very much - we hope to return one day !

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sir Andrew:
Thank you for your 5 Star Review and we are so happy your wedding vacation worked out exactly as you planned a year in advance. What more could a bride want, a handsome sofisticated Englishman, a wedding at the Luxurious Sandpearl Hotel overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, a private Cruise Ship down the Anclote River in Tarpons Springs, and a week at Villa Del Lago. The only thing missing was Katherine and Charles, too bad they couldn't make it. Perhaps on your anniversary. next year.

Best of Luck to you both,
Dr. Felker

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

See you soon Tampa

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

If you are Visiting Tampa!

We recently rented out this residence for a week long conference. The home owner was always available to answer any questions prior to our departure and even once we got to the house he made sure everything was ready and organized for us. Upon arrival we were extremely impressed with the size of the grounds themselves and even more blow away when they saw the interior of the home. The house allowed each of our guests to sleep comfortably, and provided bedding for any extra visitors which was very convenient. Home owner also provided the names and number of a wonderful cleaning service who provided same day service to ensure the house was kept in clean order. Great location as well.
Thank you Tampa see you soon!

Owners response: Dear Scott:
Thank you for choosing Villa Del Lago to entertain your 5 business clients and thank you for your kind review of the property. The housekeepers also thank you for commenting on the excellent service they performed.
Dr. Felker

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Amazing property!

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 15, 2013

We had an amazing time with some great friends for a team builiding get-away at this unique Estate!
We found the accommodations clean and very much as shown in the pictures. The villa is set on a stunning beautiful 5 acre lakefront estate. Upon arrival the pool cleaners were taking care of the pool as stated on the property description card. We did have a question and Dr. Alan was available and accommodating. There was plenty of room and we had an absolutely incredible time!

What an ideal place to spend time w/ family and friends.


Thank you to Alan and his staff for making our stay most enjoyable. We'd love to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Guests:
Thank you for your kind words and we are very happy you had a great time at this amazing property. Yes the pool cleaners do come twice a week. We want the pool to be pristine clean at all times for your enjoyment. And thank you for referring your friends to stay at Villa Del Lago.
Alan

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

False Advertisement - Renter Beware

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

Much to our dismay, the property is pretty run down and not at all what the pictures depicted; hardly a Luxurious Italian Palace. For the most part, the scenery itself is beautiful, despite the area of yard that is used to openly store old household furniture and large outdoor items. Upon entering the house, it was difficult to breathe due to the overwhelming mold/mildew smell. We were told to turn on the AC and it would go away. This helped somewhat but only when the AC was actually running. We toured the house on our own and found it to be nothing like an Italian Palace, much less luxurious. The online pictures are deceiving with the angling of the camera it makes the rooms look much larger than they really are. The lighting in the house is pretty much non existent; not all the light switches worked and the ones that did were very dim. Not all the ceiling fans worked either. The wi-fi never worked the whole time we were there. The cable went out several times and we were not offered any assistance to get it fixed. The front door knob fell off three different times. Three tiles fell off the kitchen island. The gorgeous looking entrance with the beautiful staircase is also deceiving as it is made with styrofoam pilars and easily cracks/breaks. There were many rooms that were locked and inaccessible which is not a problem but would have been nice to know that this would be the case. The outside porches and balconies were filthy and unkempt. The guest house was also a big disappointment. The whole first floor is inaccessible but easily seen inside was obviously another dumping ground for old and used furniture and other household items that could no longer be used. The second floor of the guest house is just a run down over the garage apartment and not decorated in an Italian Palace fashion. The neighbor shoots his guns at all hours also which is not disclosed until you arrive. Aside from all this, my deposit was kept and I was not notified of any problems/damage caused from our stay. I had to contact owner who accused me of having my wedding/reception on the property. Only after I volunteered my wedding coordinator contract and dinner cruise receipts as proof that my wedding and reception were not on the property was I assured my deposit would be returned. Contract stated deposit to be returned within 14 days, I rec'd mine after 6 weeks and only because I called and fought for it.

Owners response: Dear Brandi :
Firstly let me congratulate you and your husband on your marriage, may you have may years of happiness. Second, what you put out into the Universe is a reflection of what is inside your Universe and should only be positive. While every guest for the past several years have truly enjoyed this magnificent estate with their families, yours in the only negative and false review. Your deposit was not initially returned because there was substantial evidence of a big party celebration, stakes in the ground, where there could have been a tent, and your contract was for rental for 8 Guests ( all documented by photographs and the emails between us ) The property simply cannot be rented for weddings due to prior code violations. Not because of your continual emails and phone calls, but because of my consideration for you, I did in fact return the deposit after six weeks. My thanks is that you wrote a false, negative review. To address your remarks, the following is submitted.
The property cannot possibly be run down as the landscapers and pool service come twice per week. There is a full time housekeeper who stays at the Guest House, and there is a cleaning crew of 3 who come prior to each check in.
The air conditioners are not set low when the house is empty, and comming from California you were not familiar the must smell until the air conditioners are turned down, as you did comment, the smell left as soon as the air conditioners were set.
The photos are actual photos taken by me and the rooms are huge, with ceilings of a minimum of 12 feet to maximum of 34 feet high.
There are instructions that tell the location of light switches, how to use the wi fi , and other general information. My personal closets and business office are locked. You did not ever call with any of these concerns. The internet service provided was called and there was a technical problem which was cleared up.
Florida allows possession of firearms and shooting firearms is legal on property of 5 acres or more. I can only assumed your party made so much noise that the neighbors had enough. Again you did not call me or the police.
It really appears that because you were so insistant on getting your deposit back, which you did, you decided to wright a false review to get even. Anyway, best of luck.
Dr. Felker

Helpful votes: 12 / 15

 

Estrella's Memmoriable Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

The Villa was a great opportunity for our huge family to get together and enjoy a wonderful week together. This place is a great setting for any occassion. Our family had wonderful memmories here for years to come.

When we arrived we did find the pool area and pool bathroom dirty from a previous function but the gentlemen assured us it would be taken care of the next day. Some of the furniture and appliances in the house and guest house needed some serious repairs. The main house family room's entertainment center was in a disarray of wires running everywhere. This did not bother any of us in my family but I was a little dissapointed. Overall, with a little repairs and TLC in this house I would deffinitely return.

Alan, our family would like to thank you for a wonderful experience. I do hope everyone after us would take care of your home as much as we did. This is a beautiful home and we would like to return sometime in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Dear Mark:
We are happy your huge family got to enjoy a week together. We do apologize that the housekeeper did not get to the pool bath for your early check in as we did have a check out only 2 hours prior. The appliance are not new high tec, and are from when the house was built, but were the best of their time when the home was built, Viking, Subzero, Bose brands were popular then . The electronics and computer wireing was put in just a few years ago and not behind the walls as in new homes., but covers up nicely when the doors to the entertainment center are closed when not watching the brand new 55 inch High Definition flat screen TV with over 1000 channels.
Thank you for takking such good care of the home, as sometimes we return and it is a complete mess. You have a very nice family and we are very happy you enjoyed this beautiful home.
Dr. Felker

Helpful votes: 2 / 7

 

Loved this house!!!!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

The pictures of this house are nothing compared to what you see when you enter!! The bedrooms are wonderful. The location is great. We had 10 adults and 9 children stay for a week in this house and there was enough room for everyone!!! The fishing pier was great and some of our family was out there all day fishing. The pool was very refreshing as well as the jacuzzi. We met Alan and anytime I called him with questions he answered and always was able to assist. When we got there, the house keepers were still there and they were very polite and showed me around. I stayed in the master bedroom with the jacuzzi tub in the middle of the bathroom and the sauna shower. Our family loved everything about this home and the kids never got bored. Thank you Alan and the rest of your crew for making our family reunion a good one! I would recommend this property to anyone!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Allison and Family:
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you had a great family reunion.
Alan

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Beautiful Setting!

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

Our family enjoyed our time at your place, Dr. Felker. Beautiful, private setting on the lake. Huge master suite! Thanks again for accommodating us!

Owners response: Dear Debra:
Thank you for choosing Villa Del Lago for your family reunion and I am glad your family had a great time.
Dr. Felker

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful Vacation Spot

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

What a great place to relax in a very private setting! There was 18 of us & we did not feel crowded at all. Lots of room for everyone. A very family friendly vacation spot.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Dear Loretta:
I am glad that your family enjoyed your vacation week at Villa Del Lago. With 18 family members, you chose the right vacation home for a relaxing time. Best Wishes,
Dr. Felker

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A PERFECT place to stay if you are many people travelling together!

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

We were 8 adults and 10 teeanagers staying at Villa Del Lago. We all enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property to any large group of people visiting Tampa. This property is huge.

Everything was perfect! The teenagers, parents and coaches will definitively remember their stay at Villa Del Lago.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Dear Dominique: We are glad your large family had a great family reunion and all the girls got to play volleyball and enjoy this magnificent estate. We appreciate the kind words we receive from our many guests north of the border.
Dr. Alan Felker

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relax at your next Coorporate Sales meeting

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

We were in shorts and flip flops instead of tie and coats, one of the most productive meetings in 10 years. If you are going to pay $225.00 a room downs town you can all stay here. Take a break from all the noise and cabs and expensive bar tabs. Hungry have Anthony at Stone Chef Catering bring your meal is they are fantastic and his staff goes beyond the call to please.
Your creativity is much more focused when you relax and plan important profit centers, it might come to you in the boat who knows.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Chris:
Thanks for having your corporate guests stay at Villa Del Lago instead of downtown and I am glad Stone Chef Catering delivered. I may recommend them in the future.
Alan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Villa Del Lago

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

A group of us recently stayed at Villa Del Lago and were delighted with the accommodations. The villa is set on a stunningly beautiful 5 acre lakefront estate. It's ideal for a family get together or large group of friends. Thank you to Alan and his staff for making our stay most enjoyable. You will not be disappointed. Jon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bonnies Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

I would definitely would recommend this property to anyone for reunions, family vacation or just a get away. The property is beautiful and well maintained. It is located close enough to tourist attractions and yet is very private.
Alan, thank you for sharing your home with my family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Bonnie

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad your family got to enjoy this magnificient estate.Best to you.

Alan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Property

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

We had a wedding at this property. The location and accomodations are great for an event.
However, there seems to be some severe hostility between the owner and the neighbors. They are not pleased about him renting this property. They 1st came over in the early afternoon to advise us it was illegal to rent private property for events, and that we would be sorry. Then once they heard the wedding beginning by the processional music in the afternoon, they started setting off car alarms, blowing air horns none stop. This was very unpleasant when two people are trying to say their vows. Then once the sunset, they started flashing spotlights over the fence into everyone's eyes. We tried to talk to them, but they were very hostile. It was sad that these people are so immature to do actions like these, especially considering he is a Doctor in St. Petersburg.
Besides that and the owner showing the property to prospective tenants when everyone was trying to get ready for the wedding(very annoying). Great setting for a wedding/reception.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Dear Cav:
Thank you for your kind comments about how great the location and accomodations are. I do apologize for the neighbor's childish activities. Prior Guests had disturbed him and played loud music all night. The property was shown to prospective guests at 2:00 in the afternoon, prior to the 4:00 check in time and an early check was permitted with no extra charge. We apologize for the intrusion.
We are happy that you felt like this was Great Setting for a wedding reception. Best of luck to both of you.
Dr.Felker

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Palace near Tampa

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

We did a bachelor party at this home and it was great. Alan provided personal instruction on how to use the many amenities that this property offers. There is tons of space to accomodate many guests. Its hard to not get lost on the 5 acre lot. About 20-25 mins to downtown Tampa, so we were able to get transportation down for festivities. Far enough away from neighbors so you have the place all to yourself. We had a great time and would love to come down to Odessa again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Greg:
Glad you and your friends had a great bachelor party. Perhaps your bride to be would consider the wedding at Villa Del Lago.
Best of luck.

Alan

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

accurate

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

Went there with a group of 16 and had an awesome time. Beautiful house on a great property, plenty of room and very isolated. Ended up hanging out outside, enjoying the views of the water, cooking and grilling, and taking group trips to go golfing, casinos, bars and restaurants.

One knock on this place it the technology is just OK, would love to see some new TVs and audio equipment around the house.

Loved the experience, great house and great location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dear Matt:
I am glad you and the your friends had a great time. The housekeeper appreciated the attention and compliments. Thank you for choosing Villa Del Lago for your golfing vacation venue.
Alan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful experience

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

We recently had a wedding reception and ceremony at villa del lago and couldn't have enjoyed it more. The accommodations were excellent, the house was beautiful and perfect for an elegant wedding reception. The owner is very attentive and promt to any concerns and issues that may have arose. We definitely recommend this rental property!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Congratulations on your wonderful wedding. When we returned and noticed all the beautiful flowers around the front porch, we knew your wedding planner did an outstanding job decorating and making the estate even more beautiful. I would recommend her as well.
Alan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

10th Wedding Anniversary Party!

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

What a Weekend!!!!!

Our family and friends came to Villa Del Lago Estate to celebrate my brother and sister's 10th wedding anniversary and from beginning to end the weekend was amazing!

Where do I begin?

For starters, I would really like Dr. Alan Felker to post a picture of the master suite. I could write a three paragraph review on it alone;
the view from the bathroom, the large romantic balcony and the bed that has more gadgets than you'll know what to do with, there is so much character behind the doors of the master suite.

The rest of the mansion is equally as beautiful. Each room is it's own hideaway. Again, there is so much detail to observe... every nook and cranny has been given proper attention.

The grounds are perfectly maintained. This home is perfect for all occasions! You can't beat it!

Dr. Alan Felker was readily available for all of our questions before and during our stay. Unanswered phone calls were returned within minutes.

We had a slight misunderstanding regarding our check out time and again, Dr. Alan was more than accommodating. The misunderstanding worked in our favor because it caused Dr. Alan to come on site for a showing. After the showing, all of our guest (including our children) got a free boat ride on his boat! Several got to watch (from the boat) the sun set on the beautiful lake. Icing on the cake!

The house is fully stocked with dishes, towels, soap, dish detergent, soap powder, etc.
Just bring yourself and be prepared for a great time and an unforgettable event.

Don't think about it, just book it!

If you don't get an opportunity to meet Karen (Dr. Felker's right hand) just leave her a diet mountain dew and a slice of cake in the fridge:-)

Thanks for everything Dr. Felker. I'm sure we will see you again:-)

Valencia's Family...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Kelli, Valencia, Dr. Hot and Cold,(too many names to remember) , children, and all your wonderful Friends and Family:

Thank you for your unsolicited over the top review. It was a beautiful warm day in January and perfect to take the boat out. With all the children just hanging out on the boat dock. Why not, and I am so glad you all got to see and enjoy this beautiful lake. Best part was when I arrived early, your friend said, Are you going to end the party, and I said to her, no, I 'm going to join the party. I told Karen you were the nicest group of Guests we have had.

All the best to all of you,

Alan and Karen

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Unwinding

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

A few friends and myself rented this property after a long deployment to Iraq. It was exactly what we were looking for. We were close enough to the city but far enough away to not be bothered. The property was outstanding.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Anthony and Servicemen:

I am glad that you were able to unwind and enjoy my home while on leave from duty. Thank you for your service to our country. Although I never met any of you, I wish you well and a safe return home.

Dr. Alan Felker

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wedding celebration - great family event on a beautiful property

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our wedding at "Vila Del Lago". The homes (main house plus detached house) were a perfect way to have our families co-located during the weekend event. You'll find the property exactly as described: it is comfortable and accommodating, has wide-open spaces, large jacuzzi, beautiful interior styling that photographs very well, multiple piers, and more. The owner is friendly and easy to work with. He helped us to make this a perfect weekend getaway and wedding celebration!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Mr. and Mrs. Justin Hall:
Thank you for your kind words and congratulations on your wedding. It was pleasure to meet your wonderful family and in-laws. Feel free to keep in touch.
Sincerly,
Dr. Felker

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wedding at the Mansion

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

We were so lucky to find Villa Del Lago. For the price of a hotel rental hall, we stumbled across this magnificient estate. An estate of this magnitude was a rare find in Tampa. The grounds were manicured with specimen palms, and overlooked a beautiful lake. Upon entering the mansion, if felt like small castle. The marble floors and circular staircase was breathtakin. My family and guests couldn't stop talking about how beautiful the estate was. We had 100 happy guests who enjoyed this beautiful property. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this property for a special event or wedding.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Gayle:
Thank you for your kind words. I knew you would have absolutely fantastic event and happy birthday. All the best to you.
Alan

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A memorable place

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 27, 2010

We wanted someplace memorable for our wedding and also a comfortable place for out-of-towners --to give them a taste of Florida and a place to unwind and get to know each other.

Vila Del Lago delivered.

We had plenty of room, and our guests never stopped talking about the beautiful grounds, house and furnishings. Our week there wound up being like a miniretreat. You really feel like you're getting away, and there so many great settings for large and small groups. But you're not really that far out of the city. We especially liked that the house was just 20 minutes from the airport. That made it easy for people flying in.

We're just starting to get photos back from the wedding, but we've been blown away by how much the setting added to shots we'll be looking at and sharing for years to come.

Bonus: The owner's a nice guy -- very easy to deal with and accommodating.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Jeff and Mimi:
Thank you for your kind words. I knew your wedding would be special, especially how you set up the reception in the front of the house and that was really cool with the live band on the lakeside terrace. Can't wait to see the photos, also. Best of luck and much happiness in your marrage
Alan

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Greatest vacations ever!!!

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

This place is hard to describe,pics doesn't do this place any justice.Starting with the owner,you get all the privacy you want he is there to help if anything,but otherwise if you are like me that like privacy this is your heaven.The house is amazing,gorgeous,inviting,very well decore and simply leaves you speechless.I had a family reunion there and all of my family had a great time,the only bad thing was that we couldn't stay any longer,other than that these were the best vacation I had so far,not the last since I will rent this beautiful home again,but for a whole week this time.Thank you so much Alan for all your help and making this the most private and wonderful vacation of my family!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Alex:
Even though I never met you, I am so glad that your family had a wonderful reunion. You are one of many families that have had reunions here and all were just as overwhelmed and happy as you. Funny thing is I am from New Jersey, but move here 30 years ago.Just love Florida. Thanks for your kind comments.
Sincerly,
Dr. Felker

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Place

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This place is awesome. Very private, very nice. Excellent for a romantic getaway or second honeymoon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review