reviews for: listing #7228 - Marathon, Florida House rental

Gerry's Florida House-What The Keys Were Meant To Be
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Grassy Key
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $2,700 /wk
    $7,500 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Gerry's House-Grassy Key

Review submitted: March 12, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Location location location...this location was superb...quiet, semi-secluded, few houses nearby, very private. The house was nicely furnished, included everything you would want for enjoying the water-snorkel gear, fishing rods, kayaks. Rental agent and maintenance folks were concerned and responsive...owners are very nice folks. Great area for jogging, bicycling, etc. Half-hr. from Islamorada, 10 min, from Marathon, 1 1/4 hr. from Key West.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you had a good time at Gerry's Florida House. Thanks for all your positive remarks, we really appreciate the feedback.
Gerry

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

LOVELY, CHARMING with a RETREAT FEEL

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Gerry's Florida House is the perfect place to go to get away from it all! It is located in a quiet neighborhood on Little Grassy Key. Once on the property you feel like you are at your own private retreat surrounded by lush landscaping, a beautiful pool and spa. Sitting on the lovely screened porch you look out on the Gulf as you listen to the waterfall affect of the spill over spa, you feel like you have found paradise! This time of year the sunsets were beautiful offering reflecting colors of the rainbow on the ripples of the water. The pool and spa were enjoyed daily, being clean and well maintained. Kayaks, bikes and fishing equipment are available for your use as advertised. Walk 100 feet out to the dock especially at night to enjoy star gazing or look at the fish swim around by the spot light in the water. The home offers comfortable bedding and furnishings, a kitchen with all the pieces of equipment one needs to cook a gourmet meal to enjoy. However, if you prefer to go out to eat there are plenty of wonderful restaurants fairly close by to enjoy delightful meals with a water view. Hide Away Cafe was a fabulous find just 1 mile from the home where we enjoyed casual yet elegant dining. Keys Fishery is a great place to enjoy the local "flavor" of the area, offering a sunset celebration each night. Sunset Grill by the Seven Mile Bridge was great also. We also enjoyed a wonderful sunset catamaran sail, (Sailing Catamaran "Sirius" Ocean Sailing, Inc). Include a day trip to Key West while there and you won't be sorry. Be sure to also visit some of the local beaches, Sombrero Beach being a great one offering a wonderful sandy beach, clear shallow water, great if you have little ones, also offering a wonderful playground, clean restrooms and outside showers. Vacation at Gerry's Florida House and you won't be sorry. Thank you to Gerry and Ellis for making your home available for all to enjoy. You are the BEST!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We love it when people love the house as much as we do. Your review is very informative for other guests highlighting some of the great restaurants and activities in the area. So glad you had a nice experience in the Keys and hope you can come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mary Hughes

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Just got back from Gerri's house. One of the best places I have ever stayed. Well worth the money. Loved everything from the pool, spa, dock, snorkeling biking, and so much more. We went for our 40th anniversary with another couple. I will go back! Thanks for having everything there we could have possible needed or wanted. It was the BEST!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you had a good time at our house and enjoyed the amenities we provide. We're so glad to hear from a happy renter. We hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

25th Anniversary

Review submitted: February 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

Being our first trip to the keys, Gerry's place is exactly the type of place my wife and I wanted to celebrate 25 years together. The location of the home was perfect. A quiet neighborhood close to restaurants, shopping, and right in the middle of the keys. The house was wonderful, especially the screened in porch, what a view. M wife loved the pool and hot tube. Sitting around the pool or hot tube and looking over the gulf was very relaxing. For an avid fisherman the dock and kayaks were great. If you are looking to fish with a guide I would recommend Captain Christ Morris "Game On" charters in Marathon. We had such a wonderful time that we are planning another trip to Gerry's place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Congratulations again on your 25th Wedding Anniversary. We're so glad you spent it at our vacation home in the Keys and that your had such a great time there. We too love the screened in porch as well as the spa and pool and are glad you enjoyed fishing from the dock and kayaks. We do hope to see you again and hope you can maybe spend your 26th Anniversary at Gerry's Florida House. Thanks so much for your positive remarks - we love a happy customer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

This house has it all! We so enjoyed our week here. Great location. The owners and property manager were awesome! Either relaxing at the pool or looking for seashells on your own beach!!! We took our kiddos (2 & 5) , Grandma & Grandpa joined us also. We all fit great and each bedroom has its own BATHROOM!!! The kitchen was well stocked and stores are so close. We enjoyed dinner out at Sparky's Landing. But it was so fun to make dinner at the house and eat on the screened in porch area looking out at the water! We all had so much fun fishing off the dock....my 5 year olds first time and she caught so many fish. It was really exciting. We took a quick drive to Key West for a day and also went to swim with the Dolphins at the Dolphin Research Center also in town. The boys went on 2 fishing trips. There really is something to do for everyone. If your looking for some down time and adventure!! Thank you for a great week!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent vacation. We're always delighted when our guests enjoy our home as much as we so.

We try to anticipate and supply the needs of our renters, so thanks for letting us know that we are doing this.

Our favorite part of the house is the enclosed porch. It's so relaxing and the views are incomparable which makes it an ideal place to have a nice dinner, as you mentioned.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Keys Trip EVER!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

My family (husband, our daughter, daughter's fiance, and our son) stayed for a week this past August. We had been to the Keys many times before this over the last 12 years mainly around Duck Key area. This was BY FAR the best vacation we have ever had!! Absolutely everything about the house was exactly as stated in the descriptions and then some (super clean and all necessary items were there). We loved the location (so close to everything we love - including the town of Marathon with so many great restaurants (Franks Grill for sure and Sweet Savannahs was a super good find), right on the water, as well as the private pool and jacuzzi. I got scuba certified while we were there this time to catch up with the rest of my family. We will definitely be staying here again in the future!! Wish we could go back right now!! Our only bummer was the day we left, tropical storm Isaac decided to show up - but we were so grateful it was at the end of our wonderful trip ;o) With 2 graduations coming up next year, not to mention our daughter's wedding - we won't be making it back right away, but it is definitely on our "to do" list as soon as we possibly can!! LOVED IT*******!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your Keys vacation at our home. Nothing makes us happier. Since we can't be there ourselves all the time, we love to have people there who love it as much as we do. We do hope to see you again in the future. Again, thanks for your wonderful comments.

We wish you congratulations and much joy on your family's upcoming milestone events next year. All our very best wishes to all of you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving 2011

Review submitted: December 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

We always have gone to Mexico and love it and all four of us had some misgivings about Florida. The minute we arrived at Gerry's house, we knew we found our Florida spot. The pool is one of the cleanest, warmest pools we have enjoyed in 20 years of renting homes. We found the house very clean and comfortable, including a great kitchen for cooking--and that is all I can say about the inside because we live outdoors. The porch patio is a great place to have morning coffee and dinner with great views of the water. Every afternoon we took our drinks and walked the long pier and sat and watched the birds while the guys fished. The whole neighborhood is peaceful and quiet and offers a sense of privacy. All in all, we highly recommend Gerry's House to vacationers that want to get away from it all!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really enjoy hearing that guests love our house as much as we do. You mentioned all our favorite things about the house, especialy the porch, dock and pool. We hope you can come back again soon. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We love Gerry's Florida House!

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

We had the best vacation at this house. The views are amazing. The house is very nicely decorated and landscaped. They provide everything you could ever need for a fun vacation. We really enjoyed watching the sunset off the dock every night. It is also fun to walk on the doc and look for sea creatures in the water and fishing is a must. The pool and hot tub are the best part. We spent so much time in there. I would definitely recommend this house to a friend.

Owners response: We love to hear that families enjoy our home as much as we do. We hope to see you again very soon. Thanks for all your positive comments.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

BEST PLACE WE EVER STAYED IN THE KEYS

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We had a fabulous week at Gerry's. Everything we needed was provided. Our young children loved swimming in the pool and fishing from the dock and we really enjoyed the hot tub/spa. Kayacking was perfect and we really liked the beach bikes. We walked early every morning with our kids in the very quiet and safe neighborhood. The house was so private, we thought we were on our own island and yet we were minutes from great restaurants and The Dolphin Research Center which is a must see. We're already planning our trip here next year.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Grassy Key

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

A lovely 2-bedroom home on the gulf side in a quiet area. The home well equipped with bedding, towels, kitchen appliances, and Washer/Dryer. The bathroom's were in each of the 2 bedrooms which is fine until you have more than 4 people which makes it a bit odd opening a bedroom door to get to a bathroom.

The pool and hot tub were very nice as well as heated. It takes a little effort to figure out how to make the hot tub hot (use the book with pictures).
The view was great looking north however we could not see the sunset even from the end of the dock during the Month of March.

There was a very friendly cat that seemed to be a resident of the property. It meowed a lot until we offered it some food.

The waterfront was less desirable as there was a massive amount of sea grass you had to trudge through to get a kayak or canoe in the water. The worst by far was the horrible smell from the rotting sea grass which most resembled the smell of horse manure. As long as the wind blew out it was fine.

This is the third time in 3 years we have rented homes in different parts of the keys. I would say this was the least desirable compared to ocean side in Ramrod Key near Big Pine followed by Stock Island just north of Key West.

I did like the pool, hot tub, use of Kayak's and big screened in porch.
If I owned this property I would fix the sea grass problem with a sea wall like some of the neighbors have. All in all we still enjoyed our time in the Keys! We will most likely go in 2012 seeking yet again another property to enjoy.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: I'm sorry that your stay warranted only two stars. We go to considerable effort to provide those things that will make your stay comfortable and pleasant - the use of kayaks, bikes, fishing gear, snorkeling gear, dvd's games, linens, comfortable beds and a kitchen with everything you need to make great meal

There's a neighborhod cat who lives on Bailey Street who's owner is gone all day. She loves to hang out at any of the neighborhood rentals where vacationers may feed her and give her attention. If you're not a cat lover - just don't feed the cat. Nyla has a home of her own on the next street.

Unfortunately we need to have a louvre bedroom door because the air-conditioning system is in the bedroom hallway and it needs to be lovred for the return air.

The seagrass is seasonal (winter months in particular) and there is no solution for getting rid of it. It is natural for the Keys and the Ocean and Gulf side deal with it seasonally. We are prohibited by law to change the natural shore line. Anyone with a seawall put it in several years ago. The grass comes from the Everglades and we have found that there are only a couple days for a couple of hours that the wind blows in the right direction to cause a very unfriendly odor. With the great views and wonderful amenities, we find the grass to be a minor discomfort. On the plus side - it attracts great water birds. Enjoy you stay next year in the Keys wherever you choose to go.

Helpful votes: 7 / 12

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

We’ve stayed at Gerry’s House a few times and keep going back because it offers everything and more that we’re looking for in a vacation home. It’s a “home away from home” with all the amenities to make your stay as comfortable as can be.

My husband and I enjoy a bike ride or walk in the morning in the very quiet, safe neighborhood near the house. We also enjoy walking the kids in the stroller around the area.

The kayaks are a great way to view the neighbor’s houses from the water. I would suggest that you bring water shoes to trek across the coral or sea grass, depending on the season. The pool and spa are just delightful and I appreciate the continuous filtering of the spa overflow into the pool. It’s hard to get the kids out of the pool to put them to bed at night.

My brother-in-law loves fishing from the dock while his kids snorkel in the waters nearby.

We all really enjoy the enclosed lanai with its comfortable rockers and large dining area. We like seeing the local water birds who visit in the morning and at dusk.

The close by Wreck and Galley is a good place to grab a meal, as is The Island and also the Keys Fishery has great local seafood.

The kids like to go out on the pier at night with flashlights to see what creatures they can spot in the deep dark waters.

All in all Gerry’s is a great place to stay in the Keys and we’ll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your comments. We really appreciate your repeat business and look forward to having you stay at our home in the near future.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Fabulous Vacation

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We had the most fabulous vacation ever. Gerry's Florida House is tastefully decorated and so comfortable. The house comes with everything for all our needs and wants. We rode bikes nearly every morning. We enjoyed taking the sea kayaks out into the Gulf waters. Floating around in the pool chair while reading a paperback found in the library of Gerry's Florida House was so relaxing for me. One afternoon we took the Starfish boat 6 miles out to the Sombrero Coral Reef and Lighthouse for snorkeling. It was a spectacular visual treat. Seeing so many beautiful fish in the crystal clear water was worth a little sea sickness from the 6 mile boat ride out. We had delicious seafood dinners at different restaurants every night. My favorite dinner was grilled grouper at the Sunset Grill and Raw Bar by the Seven Mile Bridge. The Keys ecosystem is amazing. The flora and fauna are unique to this area. We wish were more knowledgeable about birds. At least I could recognize pelicans and gulls. We saw a large iguana crossing Kyle Street one morning. Something we don't see back home in Virginia. We rode our bikes to Curry Hammock State Park. We felt the park didn't offer much and could have skipped that. We enjoyed a full day in Key West. We toured the Hemingway House, ate lunch at the original Margaritaville Restaurant, attended the sunset celebration at Mallory Square. As we were walking down the sidewalk, we heard the most beautiful Spanish ballad song from the Schooner Wharf and Raw Bar. The musician, Raven Cooper, then broke into a Johnny Cash tune. The chance exposure to Raven's extraordinary talent led us back for another trip to Key West. After jet skiing around Key West for a couple of hours, we were back at the Schooner Wharf to see Raven Cooper with her quartet. Last night we walked out to the end of the pier and looked up at the starlit sky and down to the quiet stillness of the gulf waters. It was mesmerizing and tranquil. We don't want to leave paradise but we will take our fabulous vacation memories with us. Thank you for a wonderful stay at Gerry's Florida House. (Nice landscaping too). We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fabulous Vacation

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We had the most fabulous vacation ever. Gerry's Florida House is tastefully decorated and so comfortable. The house comes with everything for all our needs and wants. We rode bikes nearly every morning. We enjoyed taking the sea kayaks out into the Gulf waters. Floating around in the pool chair while reading a paperback found in the library of Gerry's Florida House was so relaxing for me. One afternoon we took the Starfish boat 6 miles out to the Sombrero Coral Reef and Lighthouse for snorkeling. It was a spectacular visual treat. Seeing so many beautiful fish in the crystal clear water was worth a little sea sickness from the 6 mile boat ride out. We had delicious seafood dinners at different restaurants every night. My favorite dinner was grilled grouper at the Sunset Grill and Raw Bar by the Seven Mile Bridge. The Keys ecosystem is amazing! the flora and fauna are unique to this area. We wish we were more knowledgeable about birds. At least I could recognize pelicans and gulls. We saw a large iguana crossing Kyle Street one morning. Something we don't see back home in Virginia. We rode our bikes to Curry Hammock State Park. We felt the park didn't offer much and could have skipped that. We enjoyed a full day in Key West. We toured the Hemingway House, ate lunch at the original Margaritaville Restaurant, attended the sunset celebration at Mallory Square. As we were walking down the sidewalk, we heard the most beautiful Spanish ballad song from the Schooner Wharf and Raw Bar. The musician, Raven Cooper, then broke into a Johnny Cash tune. The chance exposure to Raven's extraordinary talent led us back for another trip to Key West. After jet skiing around Key West for a couple of hours, we were back at the Schooner Wharf to see Raven Cooper with her quartet. Last night we walked out to the end of the pier and looked up at the starlit sky and down to the quiet stillness of the gulf waters. It was mesmerizing and tranquil. We don't want to leave paradise, but we will take our fabulous vacation memories with us. Thank you for a wonderful stay at Gerry's Florida House. (Nice landscaping too). We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It sounds like you had a busy and wonderful time in the Keys. Thank you for your thoughtful comments about our accommodations. We hope you can return soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Marathon Must!

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

My partner & I had a fabulous time at Gerry's Florida House.The house is perfectly appointed & extremely comfortable,like your own home.It has all the amenities of a luxury resort.
Their is so much to do if you want,or just relax on the porch,or at the end of the dock. Georgeous sunsets.
We went biking aroud the area,& there's a nice bike path nearby.
We went swimming, snorkeling,& fished off the pier.Sombrero beach is minutes away.
As for attractions,the Dolphin Center was amazing.Toured the Turtle hospital.

Key West is a must only an hour away.Mallory Square has a great sunset entertainment,with many performers. Lots of restaurants,bars & shopping.

Can't wait to come back. We've already booked for next year!

Thanks Gerry for a terrific vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Delighted to hear that your vacation at Gerry's Florida House was such a good experience for you. We make an effort to provide everything for a fun time at our home and try to anticipate our guest's needs. We look forward to having your return.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Please Note Significant Drawback, Otherwise Very Nice

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

You need to read the bad news first so you won't be disappointed. Everything else I could say is just like you read in the other reviews here: the house is nicely appointed, the pool and spa are great, it is quiet and private, the fishing gear/bikes/kayaks are wonderful, the dock is beautiful, etc. It is a small, but really very nice, house. The pictures on this site are very accurate. EXCEPT THE THE FULL VIEW OF HOUSE AND BEACH FROM THE WATER.

The bad news is that during our stay, the house had no beach because there was 100 FEET of dead sea grass between the end of the property and the water. 100 FEET. I measured walking out the dock. You could walk out across about 50 feet of it, then you were up to your hips in swampy, mucky sea grass for the next 50 feet. The still-wet parts smell like rotting-grass and sulphur when the wind blows in.

So the beach does not look ANYTHING like the main picture here, where the water touches the sand. You need to add 100 FEET of rotting or dried grass between the water and the sand. If you were imagining splashing around there with the little ones, forget it. And if you would be sensitive to a rotting-grass smell blowing into the pool and screened porch area, then you'll have a problem.

Given this, you might think it odd I still rated the place 4 stars. But the house itself is really nice. Parking is good. Appliances and kitchen gear are good. Screened porch is lovely. And it's great to have the dock and all the water gear, though fishing was poor (cold snap) in the Gulf the week we were there. The privacy is truly great. Grassy Key is a nice location--quiet, but near the larger Marathon area.

As a group of six, we found the house a little snug. There are really just 3 rooms--2 bedrooms and a living/dining/kitchen combo. But this is fairly represented in the photos on this site. The sofa bed is not too good, so you may want to reconsider if you are thinking of this house for more than 4. But for two adults and two kids, this house is nearly perfect.

Except for the grass thing. The main picture on this website is simply not right. There is no place where the water touches the sand. Not even close. Plus the smell depending on wind.

Assuming this review makes it onto the website, I'd be pleased to provide pictures of the grass. You don't really need other pictures because this site is otherwise accurate in my view.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: I'm glad you enjoyed the Keys and found our home to be well equiped and nearly perfect. We're always happy when families have a fun vacation at our home and we try to provide everything we can to make that happen. We understand that your stay was less than ideal due to the sea grass. The sea grass originates in the Everglades and it is seasonal. It comes and goes depending on the winds, tides and currents. There are times when there is no grass at all. It is part of the nature of the Keys. Since the grass attracks many beautiful water fowl, some find it an attribute. Marathon and other Keys are all effected by this grass. There was no deliberate misrepresentation as some of the pictures show grass (contained in DVD, especially bird photos) and some do not because that is how it was when photos were taken. I'm glad your family had an otherwise great time at Gerry's Florida House.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

My Happy Place

Review submitted: December 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

We just returned yesterday from Gerry's Florida house. I wanted to write a review because the reviews helped us decide what house would be the right one for us when we had to make a decision about how to spend our precious vacation dollars. We have never rented a private home before. We have stayed in hotels, resorts, and time-shares, but never in the Keys. I will say that this is now my favorite way to vacation. This home had everything we needed. The owners described the home accurately. The pictures and video links were very helpful in making our decision and feeling confident that what we saw was what we were going to get...and it was exactly. The property was very clean and nicely maintained. The pool man and maintenance man lived close by and we chatted with both of them. We felt welcome and part of an extended family. Our contact with both the owner and the rental agency was helpful, informative, and again, like we were anything but tourists. I would and already have recommended Gerry's house to friends and family.
We enjoyed the kayaks, fishing off the dock, the lovely pool and hot tub, the gorgeous view, the wildlife viewings, the visiting cat, the comfortable beds, and the peace and quiet. This house is surrounded by other lovely homes down the street and within the neighborhood, but you feel like you are in your own private oasis with all the beautiful landscaping. I really felt like I was on a private tropical island.
We visited during a time when Florida had unseasonal lows, but it warmed enough for us to do most of the things we dreamed of. The pool heated up enough for us to use it every day. We went fishing on the Marathon Lady, and had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner at the Sunset Grille by Seven Mile Bridge. Sombrero Beach is a lovely place for sunsets, dolphins(!), snorkeling, and lounging.
We experienced the sea grass at Gerry's also. It does have an odor. It did not bother any of us, and there was still plenty of sand for sandcastles at the beach in front of the house by the water...supplies provided.
I miss this lovely home already. I hope everyone who visits has as wonderful a time as we did. My dream is to one day be a Keys resident full-time! Thanks Gerry and family for sharing your little piece of heaven.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks you for taking the time to write such a throughtful review of your recent stay at our home. We are so pleased to see such positive comments about the kind of vacation we try to provide for our guests. You really did outline all the positive aspects of the Keys in general and our home in particular. We hope that we will see you again as a guest or someday maybe as a neighbor.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Jerry's House

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

We truly enjoyed our yearly family vacation at Jerry's house. The home had just about everything we could have needed. We fished, kayaked, rode bikes, swam in the pool and hot tub, and of course just relaxed on the beautiful screened in porched. We had a few good sunsets and some rain. We saw a shark, manta rays, Iguanas, blow fish while snorkling and a sea turtle. The kids went deep sea fishing and golfing. , I swam with the dolpins at the Reseach Center, it was awesome! And of course a day in Key West. We all had a great time. Thank you for sharing your home with our family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your comments. We are thrilled when families enjoy our home as much as we do. It souncs like you had a busy and fun time. We try to provide everything a renter will need to have an enjoyable vacation at our home and we're so glad you did.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great keys vacation!

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Gerry's home is located in a perfect spot on the Gulf. The sunsets from the dock were truly glorious! This home is the best equipped home we've ever rented.....the owners have thought of every item rentors may need during their stay from bikes to kayaks to a bacon griddle for the grill! Our sons enjoyed the poker set, the snorkeling gear, and the fishing gear! The screened porch is the best room in the house - we couldn't stay away from it. Others have complained of the smell from the sea grass, but it didn't bother us as we are used to the smell of pluff mud. The beds were quite comfortable - especially the king bed in the master bedroom. Our teenage sons stayed in the room downstairs, and we appreciated the separation. However, if our kids had been younger, I may not have felt comfortable with them in a room that could not be accessed from inside the house. Also, as others have pointed out, a bathroom downstairs would obviously be a welcomed addition. The house was very clean, as was the pool. There was an ample amount of towels for our use. We l
also enjoyed the hot tub! Our boys fished nigth and day from the dock. We were also able to view lots of wildlife on the property - iguanas, racoons, all types of sea and shore birds, etc. The ladnscaping is quite beautiful also.
I have one small complaint...the door to the master bedroom is a louvered door. Unfortunately, every sound and light entered the bedroom from the adjoining the kitchen and living room. We traveled with an elderly person who awakened at the crack of dawn; therefore, we were awakened at the crack of dawn...not very conducive to relaxing. A simple door switch woud fix that problem.
We have rented 3 different homes on the same street, and Gerry's home is the only one we'd considering renting again. Thank you for sharing such a perfect get away with us. Key West and Bahia Honda are a short drive away and definitely worth the trip. Sombrero Beach is only about 10 minutes away, and is a great little beach. The Olde English Fishing shop owned by a Scottish gent is a neat place for those who like antique fishing gear. Castillo's is a great cigar shop about 10 minutes away - very reasonable handmade cigars by the onwer who wraps all purchases in Cognac spritzed tobacco leaves! We thororoughly enjoyed all that the Keys had to offer with your home as the perfect home base! Again, thank you for sharing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Debbie:

Thanks so much for your very positive comments about your stay at our home. Thanks also for your recommendations. We'd love to put a bathroom downstairs but we are not allowed to by code. The bedroom door is louvre because the heating/air-conditioning unit is in the closet in that area and it is needed for air circulation. We're trying to come up with a different floor plan to enable a solid door for the bedroom as we've experienced some of the same inconveniences as you described. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we will certainly try to address your concerns. We hope to see you back sometime in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

June 12th through the 19th

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Wow....What a great place to stay. When we first arrived, my wife and I looked out into the Gulf of Mexico from the balcony and watched an Iguanna stroll across the back yard. I knew then I was miles away from my office. The area is great for families. Great eating establishments, boating and veiwing wildlife. The accomodations were very comfortable. My only complaint is that I didn't book an additional week. I can understand why Gerry's place fills up fast. Thank you for allowing us to use your home. You have a great service and I will see you again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tim:
Thanks so much for your positive comments. We arealways thrilled that another family is enjoying our home when we can't be there. I'm so glad you had a good time. We look foward to accommodating you again sometime.
Ellis and Gerry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relax and enjoy the Keys at Gerry's Florida house!

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

We recently returned from a wonderful stay at Gerry's. The house was so comfortable and met our needs perfectly. No, it isn't the biggest house or the fanciest - but that's not what the Keys are all about. It's about fresh Gulf breezes, warm waters of the Gulf, relaxing with every meal on the lanai, lounging for hours in the pool, strolling along the dock & watching stingrays slowly going by. This house is everything you need & everything a Keys vacation should be. We loved the location - close to anything that interests you. Our original plan was to take day trips here and there but the house was so comfortable that we found ourselves not wanting to leave! Still in all - a day trip to Key West is a must and it was a gorgeous drive. We enjoyed Hogs Breath Saloon and loved the Island Fish Company in Marathon. The Wreck was quaint, though I was wishing we were overlooking the water. Still in all, a vacation is what you make it & this one was awesome! 6 of us in the house and we were perfectly comfortable. We wished for screens on the sliding glass doors in the 2 upstairs bedrooms to enjoy the Gulf breezes & a powder room downstairs would be a very welcome addition. As mentioned by another, the sea grass that is washed up on the shore is indeed nasty. The winds were blowing in the wrong direction one night and into the next day & the smell was pretty awful. Did it ruin our vacation? Not in the least. We had no interest in trekking through it to get to the water, so we didn't try the kayaks. I wished that someone had taken the time to pick up the litter on the sea grass. I'd have done it myself but I just couldn't walk on that stuff. Again, it's just a very minor nuisance and put no damper on our vacation. We deemed our stolls along the dock as "exercise"! It's so long and just amazing! We swam off the end of it and that was lots of fun. Didn't snorkel but there was certainly plenty of nice gear to use. Lots of fishing and again, lots of gear to chose from. Didn't catch much other than pinfish and, who knew, BBQ chicken made great bait! Drop the line down and pull it right back up again with a fish! We'd love to go back to Gerry's and certainly would love to with just a couple of the minor improvements. Go ahead, book your vacation, stay longer than 1 week if you can -- wow, now would be heavenly! Know that the seagrass may be there but understand too, that it plays an important role in the eco-culture of the Keys. Our thanks to all !!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great comments. I'm so glad you and your family had such a good time at our home. We'd love to be able to have a downstairs bathroom but are currently prohibited by regulations from doing this. We are considering to replacing the screens again but have had problems with people using the screens and running the air-conditioning at the same time. They are also very easily damaged. We have found that the screened windows along with the fans provide pretty good ventilation. The seagrass washes down from the Everglades certain months of the year. It washes away and completely disappears when the winds change direction. We appreciate the tropical birds that it attracks. We also tolerate it because of the important eco role it plays in the culture of the Keys on those days when the wind blows in the wrong direction and we're glad it's not too often. :) We hope you can come back sometime soon. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

We stayed there in March, 2010. This is a nice home with everything you need in a beautiful location close to everything in the keys. Although snorkeling gear is provided by the owners, there is nothing to see in the water at the homesite. You need to go elsewhere to see anything. We took the Spirit snorkeling trip to Sombrero reef and thoroughly enjoyed that. The fishing off the dock at the home is fun. Need to use small tackle with pieces of squid to catch pinfish. Then use larger tackle with the pinfish as bait to catch larger fish. We caught several sharpnose shark off the dock which provided great excitement. There is a cat that hangs around the house and catfood was left by someone with a note to feed it. I would not suggest leaving food out at night as the local raccoons came by and gave my daughter quite a fright. We had another fright when we saw a large black scorpion on the lattice work door under the stairs. It was quickly dispatched. The pool and hot tub are nice. You need to follow the instructions to get the hot tub up to temp. Grassy Key is appropriately named as tons of seagrass piles up on the beach at the homesite. In fact, there is so much grass [1-2 feet thick] that there is no beach. There is a smell of rotting seagrass that you get used to. The house is close to Curry Hammock State Park which has a nice beach with shallow water and many hermit crabs. It is a 20-40 min. drive to Bahia Honda State Park which has gorgeous beaches. Key West is about 75-90 min. away. Traffic can be a problem as most of the roads are 2 lane and any accident or construction will slow you down. There are bike trails near the house which we did not take advantage of. Lots of interesting restaurants are nearby. We liked the Island Fish Co. Restaurant, Keys Fisheries Restaurant, Annettes Lobster and Steak House and the Castaway Restaurant. Don't buy dessert at the restaurants. Save your money and buy a Key Lime Pie or a Mango Key Lime Pie at Publix. It's the best. The homeowners were great to talk to and quite helpful. I would definitely recommend this property. The weather was chilly when we were there. If I were to come back I would come back later in the year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Transplanted Buckeye - We're so glad that you and your family had a good time at our home in the Keys. There was an unusual cold snap this year which is, of course, unpredictable. The colder weather could have kept the fish away from the dock. We usually see mangrove and other snappers, pinfish, lobsters, nurse sharks and the occasional parrot fish but a half day snorkeling trip out to the reef is alot of fun. It seems our guests enjoy feeding Nyla, the cat who has a home on Bailey Street but endears herself to our renters. You're right, it's not a good idea to leave cat food out at night. We have an exterminator but it is possible to see the occasional weakened scorpion in the downstairs area of the house. They have a nasty sting but are not very dangerous. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you and your family again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 26, 2009

My husband and I spent a week here in May and I can't imagine anything being nicer. We had everything we needed right at the house. We never had to leave to have a great time. but the surrounds resterants are fabulous, and our trip to Key West was great. The beaches and water were fantastic and so is the fishing! You have all the comforts of home but you are in paradise! Sitting out in the screened porch is so relaxing, especially in the morning with my coffee.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very pleased but room for improvement!

Review submitted: January 7, 2009   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

This is a lovely property in a great location. All of the most important elements are present in this home. It is right on the water with gorgeous views day and night. We loved enjoying a glass of wine and some cheese and crackers at the end of the dock. (We are cheesehead Wisconsinites!)

The pool and hot tub systems are first-rate. The instructions for using the system and regulating water temperature, etc. were user friendly. We had great weather during the week following Christmas, and spent long, lazy hours at the poolside.

The master bedroom bed was comfortable and clean. The large room had a great view of the ocean and had plenty of windows for ventilation by fresh sea breezes. We never needed the air conditioner! The second main level room has twin beds and ensuite bath with a private balcony. Our only disappointment was the lower-level sleeping room. It became unpleasant for the children because sand fleas invaded and they woke up full of bites. Soon we found them sleeping on the livingroom couch for the remainder of our stay.

Our other concern, since we cooked most of the meals we ate at home, was the maintenance of the cabinets and cookware. We had to rewash a lot of it before using. The blender was filthy and after cleaning it, I found the gears were stripped so no Pina Colada's that night!
Over all, the few simple maintenance issues will certainly be addressed by the management after these short comings are brought to light and the next visitors will have a truly perfect vacation. Gerry, thank you for allowing our family the privilege of enjoying a wonderful time to bond, share and love in your cosy home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you had a wonderful time at our home and we're so sorry that previous rentors left the pots and pans in such bad condition. We'll have our maids be on the look out for this in the future. The blender will be replaced immediately. As for the"no-see-ums" or as you call them, sand fleas, they are prevailent at certain times of the year in Florida and at certain times of the day - dawn and dusk and really don't have anything to do with the bedroom. Using Skin-So-Soft, I undertand is a good deterrant for these pesky little bugs.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We loved it!!

Review submitted: July 28, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

Thanks so much for opening your home to my family July 12-19. We live in S.C. and usually vacation on the Carolina coast, but this year we wanted to try something different. We couldn't have been more satisfied. Even though it rained the first few days in the Keys, it didn't stop us. We spent hours in the pool and on the pier. Everyone loved kayaking, some for the first time. I went snorkling for the first time off the pier and with Captain Hook's. My husband brought his scuba gear and messed around off the end of the pier and at Captain Hook's as well. Everything was clean, and the amenities provided with the house were awesome and very thoughtful. Thank you again for such a wonderful week. We feel rested and can't wait to plan our next adventure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 7, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

We spent last Christmas and New Year at Gerry's.It was the holiday of a lifetime, so relaxing, and comfortable. we can't wait to go back, just the cost of the air fare from the UK that's stopping us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 30, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

I have Gerry's in my computers' favourites and still click on it just to see the house and remember our holiday!! Our first time in the US and I think we were spoilt - what a holiday. We were there for Christmas & New Year '07. Lovely family home from home with lots of extras - namely the pool & spa & porch. Very peaceful area to relax and unwind and well worth it. The kids lived in the pool and on the dock.....we will be back for sure, we love the Keys!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 23, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We just returned home from spending a week at Gerry's house, and weren't ready to leave! It was a very relaxing and enjoyable week. After a few days of not so great weather, we were able to soak up the sun by the pool. My husband and his friends were up every morning fishing off the dock for 2 hours. We highly recommend this lovely home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We love the Keys and we love this house. I cried my last day there because I did not want to leave and I booked for next year before we left. It has everything you could want, a pool, hot tub, a view, sea kayaks, bikes, snorkel gear, fishing poles, a sunset, an awesome dock, bbq, stereo and cds, dvd and movies. It isn't the fanciest or biggest house we have ever rented, but everything in it is very nice and it has a stuuning view and everything you need. You never have to leave the house except for groceries and beer if you don't want to. My teenage daughter and best friend spent the entire week on the dock!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 21, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

having just returned from gerrys place i have to say i have never had such a relaxing holiday from finding 9 baby turtles in the pool on our first morning we arrived from england my parents from france 6 all together never in each others way the pool is a delight but i must find a way of keeping the bait on the hooks without the fish stealing it!!! we will came back as its very close to the dolphin research centre ... thank you...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 27, 2005   Date of arrival: March 1, 2005

We just spent a week at Gerry's Florida House. It was a piece of paradise. There is no detail not taken care of at this house. It had to be the most peaceful vacation we have ever had. There was something for everyone from the pool, the spa, the bikes, the kayaks, the fishing supplies and the snorkeling gear. We fished and caught from the dock. Looking down into the water from the dock gave us our own private aquarium. It is beautiful and we can't wait to return. You will never be disappointed here.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 28, 2003   Date of arrival: July 1, 2003

Gerry's Florida House is a great place to vacation at the Keys. Thanksgiving week will be the 3rd visit by our family in 14 months. Having a dock on the Gulf of Mexico, with all the equipment supplied by Gerry, is terrific for fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, or just watching the fish. The screened porch is a wonderful place to relax, read, eat, watch birds, and nap. Sunsets are beautiful. Inside the house is well supplied, clean, and comfortable. We have keys-disease and are planning on looking for our own place in paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 9, 2003   Date of arrival: June 1, 2003

This is truly a fantastic place to stay! The house is beautiful and very comfortable. We loved using all of the provided equipment - bikes, kayaks, snorkeling gear. I loved sitting on the porch and watching the birds and the boats and of course the sunsets! I can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 8, 2003   Date of arrival: June 1, 2003

The house is beautiful, Our favorite spot was the huge screened in porch overlooking the Gulf, from our coffee in the morning, to sunset and beyond, we could not get enough of the relaxing breeze from the porch! We took a two year old and two teenagers, the house was perfect for us. We can't wait to come back! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 6, 2003   Date of arrival: June 1, 2003

My husband and I brought our whole family for a week in this house. There was something to do for everyone. I can't describe how wonderful the house is. You feel like your on a fantasy island. This place leaves you wanting for nothing but more time there.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review