reviews for: listing #72296 - Gulf Shores, Alabama Cottage rental

Gulf Shores Beach Cottage - Ft Morgan
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Rookery
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $200 /nt
    $500 - $1,150 /wk
    $1,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place = Perfect Week

Review submitted: July 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

We all had a wonderful time here at your place! It was a very convenient location and we are very grateful for all the amenities. We don't get to see each other very often (once or twice a year) and this was truly a perfect place for us to meet up! Thanks so much. We will definitely be back and recommend your "cottage" to others.

Keisha - Marshall TX
Chasity - Jefferson TX

Thank you so much! It was truly a perfect week!

The Jenkins

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Cottage

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

We LOVED it here! The cottage was just perfect--and so close to the beach. We much preferred staying here than a high rise condo--so much cozier and homey. We are already making plans to come again next year! Thanks so much for making our vacation so enjoyable! P.S. Judy, I love your artwork. Amy

Thanks Ernie & Judy. Great place. I would echo what Amy said. You all are wonderful hosts! Thanks again. Richard

This cabin is wonderful!! It is amazing too! We brought eight people here and fit perfectly. We also enjoyed our stay and it was clean so I hope it is clean for the next people. Emma

I really loved this cottage! It was perfectly roomy and spacious. Overall is was AWESOME! You are very generous to provide us with a place to stay. Thank you. Mattie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Space for Families

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We had a great time -- the perfect space for our family of four. The boys loved having their own room with twin beds and an awesome TV. The peaceful setting coupled with the proximity to lots of fun and yummy food really made this an ideal space! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kids Had a Blast

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Great time in cottage and Alabama!! The pictures don't do it justice. Deep Woods Off is a must. The kids had a blast! The kids favorite things were the beach, the fishing piers, and Fort Morgan. Best to shop in town -- the grocery store across the street is double/triple prices. Pizza place in binder is out of business; but there is a Fort Morgan Pizza in its place. We would love to return here again in the future. GOD BLESS!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy Cottage - Coming Back

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Thank you for allowing us to stay at your cottage, it was very cozy. I will agree with insuring there is plenty of Deep Woods Off next time for the pool in the evening. The information book was very helpful and we enjoyed the beach using the info you left about beach access #1. We look forward to coming back next year. Thank you so much!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time in Alabama

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Thank you so much for renting us your cottage! The beach and pool were lovely. It was buggy in the beginning of the week -- the noseeums were out; but we defended ourselves with Deep Woods Off. We had fun at the restaurants and Fort Morgan as well. Thank you for a wonderful vacation, our Wisconsin home was getting too cold. We had a great time in the Alabama cottage!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

“EXCELLENT CHOICE” “GREAT VALUE”

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

I want to thank you for sharing your home with us. Although the weather was slightly bad the stay was awesome. The home was so well equipped with all of the amenities even down to spices for cooking. The home was very clean and everything was neatly convenient.
The easy access to everything you needed to enjoy your stay. My family really enjoyed the time we spent and I would recommend your property to anyone who wants a peaceful, relaxing experience.
Anyone who stays at your home would gladly return due to the property being well maintained, well cared for and tastefully laid out. So many good things to say about the property but we enjoyed the screened in porch with the rocking chairs.
Again I want to that you for allowing us to spend some time there and we will definitely return and stay longer next time.

Bob and Michèle, Ponchatoula, LA
Devin, Kimberly and Emily, Denham Springs, LA

Owners response: So happy you chose our Rookery cottage for your vacation. Do come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

No Better Vacation Spot

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful cottage with us yet again. As usual, our visit was awesome! There is no better vacation spot for our family than here at the Rookery! Thanks again.

Josh, Jen, Zack and Dan -- Nashville TN
Stacy and Jeff -- Winchester IN
Jessica and Deacon -- Cleveland OH

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful and Beautiful

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

What a wonderful cottage this is! It is amazing here, so peaceful and beautiful. What a wonderful 71st birthday to spend here. It was so nice to meet you -- wish we could have met Ernie. Next time we will. Thank you for a getaway home away from home, had a GREAT TIME.

Violet
Chattanooga TN

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Vacation to the Beach

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the use of your wonderful cottage. We loved everything about it. It was great to meet you both! It was our first vacation to the beach and we couldn't have had a better time. Our girls loved the pool and truly the water heater was one of the best parts -- with 7 of us it was over used for sure. If you are ever in St Louis look us up!

Love, the Meyers
Mike, Kim, Caitlan, Katie, Maddie, Lilly & Randy

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sea Turtles Hatch

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

Judy & Ernie, it was so fun here! We hit the beach and Fort Morgan, checked out the fort and the estuarium @ Dauphin Island. It was very "homey" here and your website is totally great! It won Mom over! Our highlight besides meeting y'all was witnessing the sea turtles hatch on Friday night!!!!! God shows his greatness even in the smallest of his creatures! :)

Fross Family and Joseph K
Westminister CO

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

Mr & Mrs Church - As always we enjoyed our home away from home. We had so much fun celebrating our daughter's 3rd birthday here. Awaiting our return next year.

The Waits
Chris, Chancey, Jordan and Lauryn

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love It - Love It - Love It

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

I love this house and I learned how to swim in your pool. I love that this house is close to the beach. I love it here and hope fully this is not my last time. (child's comment)

I love this place it was fun at the beach and the pool. (child's comment)

Wonderful, can't wait to come back :) (Mom's comment)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Place

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

Thanks so much, this place was awesome. Loved everything about it! The pool was very convenient for the kids! Will be back! :)

The Meeks and Watwoods
From Salem & Oblong IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful & Homey

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Thanks so much for such a peaceful, homey place to spend time at. We enjoyed our stay so much and hope to be back.

The Goodmans

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Make a Wish

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

Ernie & Judy -- You have a great place here. We had an absolutely wonderful time this week. Wish we could stay all summer!

House Family
St Louis MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Trip To Gulf Shores

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

What a great first trip to Gulf Shores. Lovely house to stay in, beautiful beaches, friendly people and great food. Thank you Ernie & Judy. We will see you again.

Ty, Rachel, Ford & Cole
St Louis MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

This is truly a great place to stay in Gulf Shores. Clean, close to the beach, nice amenities and very well taken care of. We'll definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and my husband and I have talked about going back sometime.. You have a small piece of paradise and we are grateful you shared it with us.

Rick and Erin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

Thanks for everything. Your cottage is lovely and close to so many fun things. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and are sad to see it end! We hope to return in the future! Thanks again.

Susan and Melanie Biggs
(and Lucy)
Maumelle AR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Back Once Again

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

Once again we have had a great stay at (Rookery) 1502! We have looked forward to this trip all year and now we can' wait to come back next year.

Thanks so much for the great place to say.

The Newman's & The Hernandez's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Didn't MISS Out

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

I am so glad that I was able to find this place on Homeaway.com. It was a wonderful place to stay. We will always try to get your place from now on. Thanks so much!

Cathey Gibson
Carmen & Alexis Hodges
Corey Sisson

Misisisippi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just Right

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

What a wonderful, cozy and inviting home! Our stay was truly blessed to have found your cottage for our visit. Just the right distance from everything in the area :)

We hope to return soon.

Tiffani, Rob, Alex
Degh, Mattie, Calli, Andru & Zahar

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVE IT!

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

Had a great time! Love this place! Will definitely be back. Thank you for sharing your cottage with us. It is beautiful and very peaceful. Plenty of room for seven people (4 adults and 3 kids). We really enjoyed it.

The Sykes and Rowells
Tracy, Kim, Justin, Kaitlynn & Payton
Papaw& Nana Rowell

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Michigan Guests from "UP" Loved "Down South"

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Had a wonderful time. Weather was nice and made it to the beach a few times. Our daughter and son-in-law with our two granddaughters :) came down to share the last week here. We just loved it. Thanks for everything.

Rodger and Carole
Jeff, Shelley, Megan and Molly
All from Houghton, Michigan

PS - last we checked we still have 2' of snow to go home to :(

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Les Papillons"

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Thank you for this lovely cottage...we spent our 1st Thanksgiving in the U.S. The very funny thing: On the picture of the butterfly in the living room, it is written in French "Les Papillons" and "Crest 26" which is the little town in the south of France where my mother was born and where I still have lots of cousins living! I love that! :) We had a wonderful time and we hope to come back!

The Duchesne Family
(from France -- living in Daphne AL for 3 years)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Cozy Touches

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Thank you for your warm hospitality. We noticed each touch of coziness that you provided such as the movies, coffee pot, iron and cookware. May God Bless and Keep you and all who enter.

The Davidson Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Return

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Thank you for renting us your beautiful condo. We had a lovely time. I admired the paintings in the bedroom for the whole week before I realized they were painted by Judy! I love them. We had a great time riding the ferry and visiting the Sea Lab. We will return again.

Suzy, Kevin, Nate, Blaine, Zeke, Natalie & Elizabeth
De Soto MO

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Perfect Spot

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

What a charming little place. A perfect spot for recuperating from a week at Disney World. (Quite a contrast!) We're so happy you had room for us on such short notice. We enjoy the Gulf coast and always carry a little home with us -- shrimp in an ice chest, sand in our shoes and car, and lots of pictures and memories. Thanks for sharing your home and helping us make those memories.

Ernie, Edie, Beka & Annna
Keithville LA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful place for a family vacation

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Our family visited the Rookery for a family vacation over labor day. It was a wonderful experience. The beach is within walking distance but we drove every time and parking was no problem at all. We came right after hurricane Isaac and the weather could not have been better! Also, the beach had a civil war-era blockade running shipwreck that washed up on the shore (the guys in our group just loved that awesome piece of history at our fingertips!). The house was wonderfully maintained, with a delightful screened-in porch perfect for relaxing each evening and listening to the frogs sing. The kitchen had everything you could need to whip up meals, which was a plus. There were also spices, sugar and flour in the cabinet! Because the weather was slightly unpredictable, Ernie brought umbrellas just in case (he is a superb person to do business with!). My three year-old son enjoyed the satellite TV and the beach tremendously and wants to go back. Our family made a lot of memories on our holiday to the Rookery, and we fully intend to come back in six months!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lots of inquiries already coming in for 2013 -- book early for your choice vacation dates.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Four for Four = Pefection

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Our family had such a splendid vacation. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us. Everything was perfect. We look forward to coming back VERY soon!

Cheers,

Jennifer,Josh, Zack, Dan, Jeff & Kraig

Nashville TN, Knoxville TN, Somerset KY, & Winchester IN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Mr & Mrs Church

Thank you so much for opening up this BEAUTIFUL beach house to us. Every time we come (2nd time) we feel like this is our "home away from home". We will be back for sure -- kinda a "tradition" now!

Thanks for everything!
The Waits

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Texas "TOO" Step

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Ernie & Judy, We found your place to have a relaxing vacation. The cottage met all our needs & was the perfect place to have our vacation. The cottage was clean & well kept. We enjoyed the beach and pool area. It was nice to have the Bar B Que to cook out. Thank you for the hospitality & am sure we will be back some day.

God Bless & Thanks!

The Backlund's
San Antonio, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Louisianas Loved It

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Ernie & Judy

Had a wonderful time in your "get-a-way" cottage. We certainly made the right choice. Everything was good and the girls had great time.

Jim, Donna, Laura, Rylee & Avery
Farmerville, Louisiana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gulf Shores get away

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

It was a long trek from Illinois but the cottage was a perfect place to stay...we had four adults and two 2 year olds. The Rookery was a very quiet comfortable community. Judy and Ernie were very nice and welcoming. I had read the reviews and the pool is as great as they said. My grandchildren love the water! The parking for the beach proved to be a little challenging with the little ones but well worth it. The beach closer to the fort was our favorite -less crowded and a little calmer for the little ones.

The kitchen was well equipped - appliances in good working order. (we've had experience where they were not at other rentals). The furniture very comfortable...my favorite spot was the rocking chair on the porch with my book and listening to the sounds of the nature preserve.

Will definitely stay here next visit

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Plan your 2013 vacation now and reserve this charming cottage at the Rookery.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Tennessee

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay in your cottage at the Rookery! It was perfect for me and my family. We hope to be back again next year.

The Sells' and Phillips' family
Memphis TN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing and Peaceful

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

Thanks for sharing your cottage with us! It was so relaxing and peaceful! Lots of wonderful friendly neighbors. The house was perfect for 4 adults and 2 toddlers. The pool was fantastic and we loved being close to the beach and to town as well. Hope to come back next year!

Thanks again,
the Breeses & Lutes'
(Peoria IL)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Time

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Thanks for sharing your cottage with us. We had an amazing time. We slept great and had fun at the pool. Loved the beach -- it was our favorite part. We will be back and can't wait.

Doug and Cherry
Anna and Kristen
Brittany and Theresa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Teachers' Perfect Score

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your cottage. We had a wonderful time and made many wonderful memories. The cottage was perfect for three teachers and our five girls ranging in age from 5-18. We had everything we could want & more.

The Hawthorne/Murphy/Wade families

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun in the Sun!

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We absolutely loved our first visit to Fort Morgan and the Gulf of Mexico. Ernie and Judy have a fantastic home for you to visit and are super easy to communicate with about rental details. (It was a treat to get to meet them both as well!)

The home itself was lovely - exactly what we needed and more. Being close to the pool was an added bonus.

The beaches were spectacular with our favorite beach being out nearer to Fort Morgan - turn right out of the Rookery and then turn left on a very poorly maintained road right before the Fort. A short walk to the beach will reward you with tidal pools, seashells galore and solitude.

We are now firm Gulf fans. It will be hard to head East to other beaches when we've experienced the beauty of the Gulf. Clean beaches and clear water just can't be beat.

We hope to be back in the years to come.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Don't wait! Book your next vacation now and enjoy the beauty of the Gulf and its beaches. Then come back to your home away from home and relax in the saltwater pool and hot tub.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

OH -- So Wonderful

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We had a wonderful time! Thank you so much.

The Eberall Family
Blue Ash OH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kentucky Visitors

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Thank you for having us. We had a great time. Everything was so clean & lovely for us. We all enjoyed the pool & hot tub & the beach of course. Was nice to be a little further out, but close to everything. Hope to come back!

The Kielys
Covington KY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from the "Big D"

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

Thank you for sharing your little piece of paradise with us. We had a wonderful stay -- wish it were longer.

Jill, Dale, Ryan & Sydney
Dallas TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Missouri Travelers

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Thank you for this wonderful home away from home. All 7 of us stayed comfortably and didn't feel cramped at all. Loved the suggestions in the book. Can't wait to return.

Kevin, Jenny, Tori, Will, Jevin, Max and Anthony

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

We thought the cottage was too good to be true, but it had such great reviews we tried it. We arrived, the cottage was warm and inviting, and we had a wonderful stay. My kids loved the pool that is walking distance from the cottage and we loved that we were so close to the beach. I definitely recommend this cottage.

Owners response: Book your next vacation with us and see why everybody loves the cottage and the Rookery!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful & Peaceful

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Rookery! The cottage was lovely and we hate to leave. A beautiful and peaceful place -- we hope to return.

Mark, Sarah & Luke
Somerset KY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oklahoma is OK

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

What a wonderful place! The cottage was perfect for the six of us. We loved the pool and the hot tub. And also spying on the baby gator out back! I was nice meeting Ernie, we'd love to come back some day.

The Newells and Outhiers
Bixby, OK

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quick 2-Day Get-Away

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Thank you so much. We had a great time

peace lov n hope

Debbie
Louisiana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mini-Vacation

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Thank you for sharing your cottage with us. It is so charming. We had a wonderful mini-vacation amd we look forward to coming back again soon.

The Riveras
Edwin, Marie, Sean Carlos, Ciara and Giselle
(Katy TX)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Footprints in the Sand

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Thank you for the perfect beach cottage! We have been to Gulf Shores many times, but have never stayed in the Bon Secour/Ft Morgan area. Now, I can't imagine staying anywhere but here! We stayed with our 2 girls (3&6 yrs old) and MeMe. Plenty of room for us! Loved the peacefulness here and being far away from the crowds. (My how things change! Before kids we wanted to be with the crowds & now -- not so much!). Met lots of friendly neighbors and enjoyed EVERYTHING here! Something about the beach that just restores your soul. "Our memories of the ocean will linger on long after our footprints in the sand are gone." Thank you again for sharing your cottage with us. We hope to return again next summer.

Jonathan & Amy
Marin & McKenna
& MeMe (Barbara)

Little Rock, AR (by way of Memphis) :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Many Happy Returns

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

Ernie & Judy -- Our annual trip has been such a blast. Thank you so much for your incredible hospitality. The weather has been so beautiful. We are all returning well rested!! We hope to see you back next year :)

The Newmans & the Hernandezs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 8, 2012

This cottage was perfect for 2 adults, 2 toddlers and a "grandma". We all had a great relaxing week here. The pool here is great and we are close to alot of other things to do. Thanks for letting us spend the week. We'll recommend vacationing here to others.

Huntsville Travelers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Indiana Vacationers

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We had a large group - 6 adults and 2 little ones - and had plenty of space! The cottage is nice and cozy, and close to lots of cool things! We had a great time here! Thanks so much!

The Hornungs and Davis families.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Weekend

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

What a nice, cozy place you have here! Thanks for sharing it with us for the weekend. Sure wish we could stay longer! We sure felt at home here.

Robert & Elvora
Bogalusa LA

I agree! Perfect & cozy!
Loved staying here!

Jessica & Andrew
Bogalusa LA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a Fantastic Time AGAIN this Year!!

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We called Ernie and Judy again this year when we decided we wanted to go back to Gulf Shores. Their place is perfect! The cottage is the perfect size in a fantastic location. We love that it is not in the "thick" of things. We were only minutes to town yet far enough out that we don't have to fight the mad rushes. They have an immaculate place that is perfect for family vacations! The beaches are beautiful, the swimming pool and hot tub are just fabulous for when you don't want to be in the ocean.

I would recommend this as a "Fabulous Find"!!
Danielle Nolan

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: If you are looking for your "fabulous find", call and make a reservation at our little piece of paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Louisville Guests

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Thanks so much for allowing us to stay at your house. We have had a great week here and hate to leave. There is so much to do here, but just being in the home is also a great "attraction". We loved the plants and the natural surroundings.

Thanks,

Jeri and family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Repeat Performance IN the Rookery

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Ernie & Judy -- Thank you guys for yet another wonderful spring break. We are well rested and "toasted". Your place is perfect! Close enough to everything, yet far enough from the "masses"!.

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Montana -- White Snow to White Sands

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

Ernie & Judy -- The two months spent here at the Rookery were real special. Your hospitality was great. The pool and hot tub was a blast & the beach was our favorite.

We enjoyed the Tequila bar -- food is really good! Especially the fajitas, chicken and beef.

Thank you so very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay near the Gulf

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Rookery, surrounded by nature in such a lovely, quiet place. This cottage is sunny, spacious, clean and well kept. The morning sun comes streaming in the east-facing living room windows. Sitting on the veranda facing the nature preserve and listening to the frogs, birds and alligators was truly relaxing. We walked the beach almost every day, delighting in the wildlife and scenery.

Ernie was very professional, responding promptly and clearly to our questions before arrival. He and his wife, Judy, gave us a warm welcome and made sure we had everything necessary for an enjoyable stay. They shared their delight and enthusiasm for The Rookery neighborhood and the surrounding area.

We have already rented the cottage again and are inviting family and friends to visit and experience The Rookery for themselves! Thank you, Ernie and Judy, for making our stay so easeful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: See why everyone loves it here at the Rookery! For 2012 vacationers, not many days left...for 2013 vacationers, book now for the best dates.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay near the Gulf

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Rookery, surrounded by nature in such a lovely, quiet place. This cottage is sunny, spacious, clean and well kept. The morning sun comes streaming in the east-facing living room windows. Sitting on the veranda facing the nature preserve and listening to the frogs, birds and alligators was truly relaxing. We walked the beach almost every day, delighting in the wildlife and scenery.

Ernie was very professional, responding promptly and clearly to our questions before arrival. He and his wife, Judy, gave us a warm welcome and made sure we had everything necessary for an enjoyable stay. They shared their delight and enthusiasm for The Rookery neighborhood and the surrounding area.

We have already rented the cottage again and are inviting family and friends to visit and experience The Rookery for themselves! Thank you, Ernie and Judy, for making our stay so easeful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rookery

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

This was my 1st visit to AL and it was beautiful. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay....this is it! Love the HOT TUB!

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: 2012 reservations are filling up quickly. Don't miss out on a vacation in paradise. Book today for a memorable stay at the Rookery.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Third Visit to The Rookery

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Thanksgiving 2011

Erin, David, Rachel & Lucas

Dear Ernie & Judy -- As usual the house is perfect for us. Thank you for turning us on to the Sunday night live blues @ Behind the Pines -- good music, food and drinks! We will have to get together again during our next visit!

To All Future Guests

Go see the Blues - live on Sunday evenings @ Behind the Pines. Wonderful fun! Ask Mr and Mrs Church about it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from New York

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

Great location. Love the beach bag -- made use of it throughout the vacation collecting items from the beach.

Nice spot!

Clare and Tine Corcoran
Upstate NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Unit

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

Extremely nice owners! Beautifully decorated unit and FULLY equiped Kitchen with everything: pots, pans, dishes, utensels, and more. We cooked half of our meals here and also tried out the wonderful nearby resteraunts. Walmart is only fifteen miles from here at intersection of Hwy 59 and Hwy 180. Six adults and one child slept here very comfortable for five nights. After spending all day at the beautiful beach or sightseeing, the three TV's came in handy as the men watched the baseball playoffs, ladys watched one of the many available DVD movies, and the ten year old watched another TV. We're looking forward to coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Come see for yourself why everybody loves this cottage and this area. Book your next vacation with us now.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More From Missouri

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful place to stay. Great space and decorations! Plus all the small odds and ends were here -- everything we needed.

Paul and Cheryl
Lees Summit, Missouri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Missouri Travelers

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

WOW!!!!

We're from Missouri, the "Show Me State" so we had to see it first to believe it. Words and photos on the internet don't do it justice. This place is Wonderful!!! Thanks Judy & Ernie for the BEAUTIFUL rental.

The Riebold's
Jefferson City, MO

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful and comfortable!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

My husband and I recently had our vow renewal ceremony in Gulf Shores and we stayed in this nice cottage. It was everything we needed. The owners were very nice, they stopped by to make sure we were ok and they left us some pretty flowers in the master bedroom to help us celebrate our wedding! We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words -- so glad you enjoyed you stay with us. Many more happy years together.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Weekend Retreat

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Wonderful place to spend the weekend. We will be back! Gulf Shores is an awesome area! Our favorite part of the stay we had was the quiet beach.

The Frye's
Huntsville L

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding Party

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here! Can't wait to come back again! Thanks again for the beautiful flowers!!

The Kings
Cedar Bluff, Alabama

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Mississippi

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

We enjoyed y'alls nice cottage! Gulf Shores was a blast! Hope to see y'all soon! Back to "Missippi" we go!

The Maness/Hayes Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wilkomen from Germany

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

The best parts of the trip were: watching rays, turtles, pelicans and crabs. And of course - the cottage. We love it!

The worst part was: our tight schedule only gave us two days here in this paradise. But we will be back. Promise.

The Bergermann Family
Tyrone GA and Ubach-Palenberg, Germany

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Texas Visitors

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

We had a wonderfully relaxing time at this lovely and comfortable cottage. Everything we could possibly need or want (and more) was provided. We loved the quiet peaceful environment, the pool, and the beach. Only wish we could stay longer!

Dave, Julie and family
Wylie, TX

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Cottage!

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

Lovely Cottage! The kids enjoyed the pool and the beach. We appreciate the simplicity of the place and will be sure to put the Gulf at the top of our vacation list! The ferry ride was fun and hot!

Thanks and best wishes, Tameka and the kids.

Gadsden & Weaver AL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tennessee Travelers

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

Thanks for sharing a beautiful cottage in a great location with our family. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return again sometime.

The Marshall Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Illinois

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We enjoyed our visit to the cottage. Thank you so much for giving us a comfortable "home away". We hope to visit again.

The Crosnoe Family
Petersburg IL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from OK lahoma

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Thank you very much for a wonderful "home" away from home. We could not have asked for a better beach vacation.

The Franklin Family
Edmond, OK

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from "Hotlanta"

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

We enjoyed our visit to the Gulf Shores area. Thanks you for a nice and cozy "home away from home".

The Bridges and Clark families

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from "Hotlanta"

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

We enjoyed our visit to the Gulf Shores area. Thanks you for a nice and cozy "home away from home".

The Bridges and Clark families

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Show Me State" Guests

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Love the cottage! Had a wonderful time here, great pool, nice neighbors, everything was great. Couldn't have asked for a better vacation. We will be back!

The Pounds Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

OK Guests

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our vacation. You have a lovely rental home.

The Holdens
Norman Oklahoma

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love the Cottage

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Me and my wife LOVE IT! Great place for a family vacation. We love that the pool is so close. Take a picture of the cottage with the beautiful flowers and post it on your website.

Norman and Cesilee

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Thank you for giving us such a comfortable place to stay! Your suggestions in the binder were a big help and were very accommodating. We can't wait to plan our next trip back to this cottage.

The Ramirez Family

We love this cottage. It's right by the beach. Our family has had a great time. You have your own space. We would really like to come back and stay.

Emily

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Get-Away

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

What a great get-away spot! We truly enjoyed the tranquility of the location and the convenience of activities within 15 minutes of the "cottage". We hope to vacation here again!

The Nichols family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Adorable cottage

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

This was an amazing property. Such a quaint place. Very quiet and relaxing. Just what we needed. If you are looking for a place to unwind, this is it. The only reason for 4 stars is the distance from the beach. Very convenient to the beach though, just a quick drive. The pool was fun too! Overall a great value and lovely place to stay on vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ready to unwind? Come on down to our beach cottage. Call for reservations now.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorial Day Vacation

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We love this cottage. Very quiet and comfortable. The neighbors are even great -- lol. When we come back to Gulf Shores, we will stay here. Thanks.

The McCormack family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Alabama & California

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

Thank you for a wonderful visit. We loved being here and meeting you. I am sure we will come again.

Jenny(Martha), Han, Tiana and Honeymoon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Reunion Weekend

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

What a wonderful visit we have had! We all hate to leave this cozy and charming cottage. Thanks for sharing with us. I hope you will accept your new guest book and apologies for the additional "decorations" to your other book. Our little cousin wanted you to know how much he enjoyed your cottage too! You were both very gracious to accept the news with laughter. We can't wait to come back again and we will definitely plan around the availability of this cottage. We hope it becomes "our" new place!

The Newman/Tracy/Hernandez families

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Weekend Respite

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

Thank you very much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. I love the quietness and peacefulness; it is so relaxing. We will definitely remember this house in the future, especially with a baby on the way. I like not being in all the touristy cities, yet still close enough if you wanted to go. Thanks again.

Heather and Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Louisiana

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

Your house is very joy full from Logan Horne.

You have a nice house from Caleb Horne.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Easter Visitors

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

Thanks once again for a great stay. Perfect weather, family and friends and an awesome beach house = a great Easter weekend. We'll be back.

Coynes & Clutters

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this cottage tremendously! The minute we walked in we could tell that it was super clean, comfortable, and like a home away from home. It surpassed our expectations! It was so close to the pool and grills which was nice for us, as we liked to grill up the fresh local fish. The cottage was spacious and gave us plenty of room for a week's stay. Ernie welcomed us and filled us in on the area restaurants and attractions; he was the nicest person! We will definitely come back and stay at this cottage. It was a perfect family getaway; so close to the beaches and very relaxing. We needed the WIFI so that was a huge benefit! We definitely enjoyed our stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: See what the rave is all about. Book your next gulf vacation with us at the Rookery.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Muscle Shoals Visitors

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

My 6 yr old granddaughter and I loved staying at you cottage. It is so cozy and comfortable! We will be back.

Vicki

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Indiana Spring Breakers

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

We had a fantastic time at the Church's cottage! It was the perfect fit for 5 adults (both my sons are bigger than me now so I can't call them children anymore.......sigh). We were close enough to everything that we could have asked for and remote enough to escape the crowds.

I would reccomend going here to ANYONE and EVERYONE!!

Thank you!!
Danielle Nolan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: See what everyone is raving about -- reserve your next vacation now.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring Break

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Thank you so much for treating us so nicely when we arrived. The house was PERFECT and we had a wonderful time. This is a beautiful area and house and I'm sure we'll be here again.

Thank you again!

Mark, Amber and Tessa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Indiana

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

Thank you guys so much! We had a wonderful time at your beautiful cottage. The perfect respite to such a cold winter this year in Indiana. We could not have asked for anything more!

Danielle, Andrew, Gavin, Karen and Dale

Thank you!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Illinois Guests

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

Thanks for the great spring break from cold Illinois. Perfect temps and a beautiful house and beach. I couldn't believe everything was so easy to get to -- not much traffic. Good food all around. This house is very comfortable for a family. Thanks again.

Katrina, John, Cory & Sadie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

First Trip to Gulf Shores

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This cottage was amazing! It had everything it promised and was more beautiful than the pictures on the website. We were so comfortable here. It really felt like our home. We saw dolphins on our first day! There was so much to do and the laid back community was great. Very peaceful at the end of every busy day!! We never knew if these reviews were real or what to believe. This trip made believers out of us! We can't wait until our next visit:) Judy even came over and introduced herself. What a sweetie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You can become a believer too! Call and reserve your special vacation place on "Paradise Island".

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bloomfield, Indiana

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

WOW -- this was our first trip to Gulf Shores and it won't be our last! Wonderful home, great people and beautiful scenery. Could not ask for more. Back home to Indiana. :( Scott, Stacy, Hannah, Brenda and Debbie

Added by Hannah -- 7 years old -- I had a great time here. The rooms are great. I love your paintings. My fave one was the one that had the flowers and the shells on it!

Added by Debbie -- Thanks for letting us share your summer home! It makes leaving Gulf Shores terribly difficult. Nice meeting you Judy and your grandkids. Hope to return next year. Blessings to you all!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Slidell LA

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

Thanks for letting our family share your little piece of paradise. Even though the weather didn't hold up for us, we enjoyed the serenity of the shore. David, Susan, Preston, Sierra, Savannah & Ashley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from France

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

The cottage is warm and comfortable. Congratulations to Judy on her decorating of the cottage. Our month here has been wonderful -- de tres beaux souvenirs (beautiful memories) of Gulf Shores. Now, back to France.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review