reviews for: listing #72458 - Gun Lake, Michigan House rental

Call to Make Your Reservation for 2014
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gun Lake Waterfront
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,100 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

Perfect spot for family reunion

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

We rented this beautiful lakeside home to attend the wedding of a Niece at the nearby Bay Pointe Inn. Traveling from California, it was the perfect place for us to enjoy activities leading up to the wedding and to host my Mom, Sister's family, our daughter and her fiancé. Everything was perfect about this home including the spacious open kitchen, dining and living area and my favorite space, the huge screened in porch. It was an impressive and functional space for meals with my husband's family who drove over one day from Detroit, and the bride's family from nearby Kalamazoo. It is impeccably clean, tastefully decorated with quality finishes throughout. Every one of us found the bedrooms and especially the beds to be so comfortable. On Sunday, the day after the wedding, we hosted a catered brunch for our families and the wedding party providing a gathering for the bride and groom to open their presents.

The frontage on the lake with conversation areas, sandy beach, gas BBQ and lovely landscaping was a treat to enjoy, even on the rainy days.

I can't imagine a better place to settle into and enjoy time reuniting with our Michigan family. We are already talking about coming back again for a couple's holiday with my two sisters, brother and Mom.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great House for Wedding Guests

Review submitted: December 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

We cannot believe we let five months pass without saying how memorable the stay and the celebration was for us and our family and guests! So we are taking the time now. This house is perfect and unique for a lifetime memorable occasion and the Owners could not be more hospitable.

We needed an affordable place to accommodate out of town family guests attending our son's wedding at Bay Pointe Inn and this house has more than met our needs. There were a few kinks that arose; things to be expected but the Owners had someone over in a blink of an eye.

The house was PERFECT for our family get-togethers around the wedding. It was a really nice laid back affair. We had to pry the flower girl and ring bearer away from the beach. There was plenty of sitting areas so that guests can mingle and find a relaxing place to sit and talk for a bit. We also had the idea of doing a "hospitality suite" at the hotel where the rest of the guests were staying. We really did not use the hospitality suite much, as the house was so much better!!! It did work out well, though since the hotel and grocery store are less than 5 minutes from the house.

I have to say that this worked out absolutely PERFECTLY.

I would rent this place again in a heart-beat! The owner is very helpful and quick to respond. We had to change our dates a couple times due to scheduling issues, and it was not a problem.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are so glad the house worked well for your son's wedding. Thank you for the pictures, we love to see guests enjoying the house as much as our family does. Congratulations again on your son's marriage.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Lake Vacation

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Our lake vacation was a great time for the entire family. The house was clean and well maintained and was basically like brand new. We especially enjoyed the view of the lake while sitting on the back poach. Fishing from the dock was also very enjoyable.
We will defiantly rent again and would recommend this rental property to our friends. The whole rental process was well organized and hassle free.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Lake Vacation

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Our lake vacation was a great time for the entire family. The house was clean and well maintained and was basically like brand new. We especially enjoyed the view of the lake while sitting on the back poach. Fishing from the dock was also very enjoyable.

We will defiantly rent again and would recommend this rental property to our friends. The whole rental process was well organized and hassle free.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Gorgeous House, horrible customer service

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

This house is gorgeous inside and out. BUT it doesn't make up for the obnoxious behavior from Myra. When we first inquired about renting the house, she was very helpful. It wasn't until we arrived at the home that things went downhill.

Myra informed us to call/text her with any concerns/questions during our stay, which there were a lot of. Most importantly, why there were no cushions on the back patio. I brought my 96 year old grandma with me and Myra's response was "Oh, they were ruined and we never thought to replace them." Our stay was pleasant but the lake was disgusting to swim in off the dock and most of the lake as well.

After our stay, when it came to returning my deposit, it was worse than pulling teeth! She said she mailed it out but then 3 weeks later I still didn't have one so she mailed another which I then cashed, and the check bounced. When I tried to contact her to inquire, I received no response. I had to have someone else contact her pretending to be interested in renting, to which she promptly returned their phone call. Then when I finally was able to speak with her on the phone she proceeded to tell me how rude my family and I were and that WE were the most difficult people she has ever had to deal with. After being extremely rude on the phone, she not only refused the pay the fee for the bounced check but hung up on me as well.

I have never had such terrible service. I will never recommend this home to anyone ever. Not even the most gorgeous house in the world can make up for rude, inconsiderate, obnoxious and simply intolerable behavior. If you like that type of treatment, please rent from her. But if you want kind words and caring owners to rent from, there are MANY, MANY other houses our there for rent on much more pleasant lakes and prettier areas. Again, I do no recommend this rental for anyone, there are much better choices out there to be made at a more affordable price, nicer owners, and in a nicer location.

Owners response: Dear Kelly,

I'm sorry to hear that you are upset at the decision to not honor any future request. There is no easy manner in which to communicate the reasons supporting such a decision without causing offense. The staff along with myself and my husband make every effort to ensure that each guest enjoys a wonderful vacation.

The cushions on the back patio are decorative. The absence does not deter from the patio sets usefulness and that is why the decision not to replace them was made. Since each guests preference varies, a suggestion to use the cushions from the indoor patio set was made.

Security deposits are returned on a timely manner. After offering an apology for the non-receipt of the first check, a stop payment was placed on it and a replacement check was issued immediately. I was informed by the bank that both checks were presented to the bank in the same day.

I am sorry to hear that you found the lake and the surrounding area not to your liking. Many guests have commented on all the wonderful things the lake has to offer. The lake is also the backdrop for one of Michigans premier wedding venues, Bay Pointe Inn.

I think it is for the best that we part ways. I hope you find a location that would better suit your needs.

Kindest regards,
Myra

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Amazing vacation get away

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Our recent stay on Gun Lake was one of the best get away vacations our family has had. The home was beautifully maintained, professionally cleaned and well appointed with everything we needed and more (including several games and toys for children, life vests...). I enjoyed drinking a cup of coffee out on the back patio every morning watching nature and the beauty of the lake and the glistening of the evening light off the lake in the evening. Setting up a bon-fire and making smores became a nightly routine. We spent several hours out on the lake with friends and family and enjoyed an evening concert on the waters edge outside Bay Point Inn. If ever there was a question (and a few did arise with the Pontoon boat) the property manager, Terry, was knowlegable and prompt at returning calls and answering questions. A grocery store within a short drive added to the convenience of our stay by filling in the need for any last minute necessities. For additional entertainment we rented a two person kayak at Gun Lake Rentals. Our young nieces (3 and 4 yrs old) loved playing with the toys in the sandy beach. Several of us spend hours catching fish (they were small, but still had fun) with a bait shop a few blocks away. If you are looking for a great get away in a very nice setting, this is your place!!
Sue and Brian

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad to here you had a wonderful time. Happy belated Anniversary.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We'll Be Back

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Dear Myra,

Just a note to thank you for sharing your wonderful lake home rental property with us last summer. We have stayed in several cottages over the years, as my husband and I both grew up boating and fishing. This, by far, is the best!!!! Not only is the living area spacious, nicely appointed, and comfortable, but the view of the lake is about the best in the area. We loved every minute of our vacation there and look forward to coming back for years to come.
The Ebetinos

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

The Best Lake Vacation Ever

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

The location of the Lake house was so convenient to the grocery store and all other amenities which it made getting around very easy. We loved the view of the lake from the living room and also while dinning out on the porch. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The kitchen was a great room to cook in because of its wide open space and fully modern utilities. The owner provided us with a list of places to eat out and was kind enough to share children's toys and port-a-crib so we didn't have to bring much. The best thing available through this rental was the convenience of having our own pontoon boat because it was such a blast to picnic on the lake and be able to have your whole family with you. The lake is clean and very scenic. There isn't anything we can think of that was negative, so in recommending this property for rental it is with great enthusiasm that we all agree it had something for everyone and everyone enjoyed it very much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Pictures do not do it justice.

Review submitted: September 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

Pictures are not what they seem. We were pleasantly surprised at how much larger the rooms are in person than what they appear in the pictures. The house is very clean and kid friendly. We talked directly to the owners and they were always happy to answer our numerous questions. We loved our vacation here so much we're booking in advance for next year. Needless to say, we would recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review