reviews for: listing #72467 - Talladega, Alabama Cottage rental

Talladega Cottage- Hiking Trails, Nat Forest, Creek,Speedway
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Waldo
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $300 /nt
    $650 - $1,800 /wk
    $1,500 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Get un plugged

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

We were here over the Christmas holiday 2013. What a great way to end the year unplugged and away from the noise. Very relaxing with walks along the creek bed, nature hikes, and and outside BBQ --- great way to feed to soul and wind down. Nice clean place would recommend and would like a return trip when the flowers are in bloom.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you all had fun! My family celebrated many happy holidays there. So glad to share the love!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Gathering

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay, we had our Mother's 70th birthday party and everything was wonderful! The kids loved romping through the woods, there was plenty of outdoor space for everyone and the house was wonderfully equipped with most everything we needed. The place truly had a home away from home feel and I would totally recommend it to anyone who wanted to get away from it all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Welcomed Relief from the Everyday Hustle & Bustle

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

The property is very unique and very secluded allowing for a relaxing stay. The trains were enjoyable to listen to and did not come nearly as often as we had anticipated. Great place for wondering and exploring. The furnishings are very comfortable and completely as described in Maggie's description and shown in the photos. Everything was very clean and the owner is extremely easy to work with and is very accommodating. There isn't much to do in Talladega itself, but a short trip to some nearby cities provides adequate restaurants and shopping. The property was somewhat difficult to find from the highway as it is not marked. Our GPS was helpful in locating it though. Once you get to the turn off the highway the rest is very simple. With no internet, TV or little cell phone signals the only thing to do is relax, talk, play games, and just go back to life the way it used to be. Thank you Maggie for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful and Relaxing Get-A-Way

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. This was just what I needed, three day away from the everyday rat race. We tubed down the creek and laughed till we cried (so much fun). We went hiking and just enjoyed the outdoors and spent the rest of the time just setting on the pourch relaxing. I loved that my phone wasn't ringing every few minutes. This is the perfect place if you want to get away from it all. Even the train didn't bother us, so no ear plugs for us. Thank you again Maggie for letting us share your home. Looking forward to visiting again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad that you all had great fun! I love being in the peaceful Waldo setting. In fact I go back to visit myself whenever I can. Thank you for the kind words and come again soon!
Maggie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

R & P

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Super nice owners. Nice house, location and lot's of historic things to explore in the area. We enjoyed visiting nearby Cheaha State Park with the highest elevation in Alabama and the Talladega Super Speedway Museum. Our two dogs loved sitting out on the fan-cooled porch with us in the morning and evenings. We would have been even happier with our stay if the trains did not go by close to the house every hour or so. However, the owners do provide earplugs to assist with sleeping so it made it possible to adapt to the situation.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Waldo Cottage

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Triple Creek Cottage . It was a beautiful home and sooooo relaxing. I really enjoyed the fact that we had no cell phone reception there. We had a whole weekend away from the hustle of everyday craziness! We will definitely visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrie

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

We loved staying at the cottage. We had a great time. The trains were the only problem. The first night they blew their whistle every 20 minutes. The cottage was very nice and the owner was a pleasure to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: So glad you loved my place and yes, some days the trains run more often than others. That is why I leave plenty of ear plugs just in case! Hope you found them and used them.Most people enjoy them and feel nostalgic about them according to our feedback! I was there this week for a few days and hardly ever had a train pass by.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great weekend trip

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

My family had a great time at this cabin. We had a nice hike in the national forest and we really enjoyed exploring around on the farm. There is a lot to do around this cabin, so I would recommend staying longer than two nights! We will be going back to this cabin in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Linda and family

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

property was clean and we truly enjoyed our stay - there was information available to us in regards to activities and restaurants nearby - we hope to go back soon we so enjoyed our stay

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Retreat!

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

What an amazing weekend. The cottage is cozy and welcoming with plenty of room for the entire family. It is well-furnished with great attention to details. The interior is decorated with lovely local art and treasures. We loved the porches and the outdoor shower after hiking and tubing Talladega Creek. Our boys and dog enjoyed the open spaces and the trails. Our favorite experience was swimming in the creek. It was awesome to see the covered bridge from the water. The owners make your stay easy to enjoy with innertubes, fire pit, grill, well-appointed kitchen, excellent DVD collection (for young and older), soft linens, and multiple spaces for your family to gather and enjoy one another. We will definitely be back! We highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

never stayed but frequent area

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

maggie, i have frequented this area for 28 years and people need to know what a gem you have here. just wanted to add.... appx. 1 mile past the cottage on the forestry road going in, is a beautiful large reservoir to see or fish from. The permit is only ten dollars and affords the oppurtunity to not go far and still enjoy another unadvertised gem of the area. just thought you could use this in your advertisements. by the way there is a small stream and cave( barred off) u can enjoy on the forestry road also, it is perfect for kids to play in( the stream) as I take my grandkids there. Thanks for letting me add,Mike Travis...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: THank you, Michael. Yes, the city of Talladega owns the Mump Creek Resevoir you mentioned. You can call the Water Dept of Talladega to find out about fishing there. The cave across the stream that you referred to is actually an abandoned Gold Mine, that is why they barracaded it. There are several old Gold Mines in the area... most are much more hidden and secluded. It took me years to find some!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommended

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

This is a great location to relax and explore. Our family had a wonderful time, and we visited Cheaha State Park (about 30-40minute drive), with a beautiful hike to Devil's Den waterfall. We also recommend Talladega Creekside Resort, if you want a longer tube/kayak trip (about 3 hour tubing float). While this cottage is secluded, it is only a few miles outside of Talladega.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: thank you so much. Thanks also for mentioning Talladega Creekside Resort. I will have to check them out.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Rented the cabin for a guys' reunion of a few high school and college buddies. Spent a lot of time in the creek during the day. Floated the full stretch down to the bridge twice. It was slow going in the middle portion but definitely refreshing. Mostly just bobbed around amid the rocks near the upstream access. Walked over to the Old Mill Restaurant & Bar (after dinner) to check out the local night life and music. Nice stroll from the house and fun atmosphere. Will have to try the food next time. Loved the barn, the old road above, and the covered bridge. Property is amazing. Wish the fields had been cut a little more along the creek to connect the house to the upstream creek access (just for a change of pace walking down, visibility, and also for Frisbee or football tossing possibilities). Made good use of the grill and front porch. Fans seemed to keep the bugs at bay out there.Cooked all meals at the house (actually never left except for a couple of quick trips down the road for ice). Kitchen had everything we needed and more. Trains a little more frequent than anticipated but not a big deal (though only reason for giving 4 stars instead of 5).

All in all, a great setting for the guys that all thoroughly enjoyed. Just over an hour from Birmingham so very convenient. We plan on returning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for relaxing with friends

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

Though it's a terrible season for ticks and other bugs, we had a great time relaxing with our friends in the Talladega cabin. The bedrooms and bathrooms are perfect, and our children especially enjoyed the bunk beds. Our hope is that the porch is usually screened in. That was our only big disappointment--that we didn't have a screened-in porch to enjoy. Seemed like we stayed indoors way too much to be in such a pretty spot. All in all, though, we may book it again some time. Being able to walk to a great restaurant (The Old Mill) in that type of spot is extra special. Also, the caretaker young man was especially polite and friendly.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Laura, so glad you and friends had a great time! I do enjoy the food at the Old MIll Restaurant and the live music was good last time I was there, too.

Jeremy, our sweet caretaker is a treasure. So glad you got to meet him. I have been best friends with his mom since before he was born... sort of dates me, huh!

In the vrbo info, I say a porch... don't think I mention screened porch. Afraid the first year of renting my home as "pet friendly", I took down the screen. Pups and screen do not go well together! We were having to replace it almost after each guest. I had to decide... screen porch or allow pups. Since your pup got to come along, I'm sure you agree that I made the right choice. Afraid the ticks are quite bad in the woods no matter where you go in summer in Alabama.

Hope to have you back in Waldo soon!
Maggie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Donna
The home was large, well laid out and comfortable. The nearby train tracks took some getting used to, but the trains were interesting to watch. We were in the area to attend a family wedding so the cottage became a home base for relatives traveling in from different directions. As we weren't there to "get away from it all" the lack of cell reception was a problem for some, but overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving 2011 in Waldo!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The home is really large and well laid out, plenty of room for everyone. It has all the basics, just bring food and clothes. There was a nice selection of DVD's but you could bring a few of your own. We could get no cell phone or internet reception. (Not a problem for us). If you get the chance, you can walk to the Old Mill Restaurant. Good food and really nice people.

We explored the entire property, had an outdoor fire every night and just really relaxed. The house is in the country, but Walmart (Talladega) is about 6 miles away. We went on day trips to Cheaha State Park and Desoto Caverns.

FYI - Trains, the daytime trains were fun to watch and enjoy, but the nightime ones are a bit noisy. Thankfully the owner provided earplugs - those plus some Tylenol PM helped us sleep through the night. Other than that - this cabin in the woods is a winner! Thanks for sharing your place with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

What a wonderful place to rest and relax! We enjoyed swimming in the creek, skipping rocks, exploring the forest, and playing games with our daughter. The house is beautifully decorated and furnished (love the antiques). We would love to come back in the winter and maybe see some snow! Keep up the good work and thank you for giving us the opportunity to enjoy such a peaceful quiet time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

good family fun time

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

my husband, myself and 2 boys, and my brother and his family stayed for a weekend in july. they did the dale jarret driving experience at the race track, which is close to the house. we had a great time at the house..because there's no tv, no computers, we played charades and uno with the kids. we had a blast, and laughed so much. we walked up to the train tracks and let the kids--ok, we did it too--put pennies on the tracks. we cooked out and made smores. if you are looking for a time to really connect with your family, this is the place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Special Place

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

What an amazing piece of land - so beautiful, with such interesting things to explore. Highlights include the creek, the covered bridge, the wooded trail, and the barn. The cottage itself was comfortable and relaxing, with a nice open floor plan, and the shelves were stocked with plenty of amenities. Overall, this is a uniquely peaceful and secluded spot. I hope to return when the weather warms up, and do some tubing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: How wonderful! I love that you and your brother got to enjoy my Waldo cabin. What a great place to meet and spend quality time together! Do come again and bring the family along for tubing the Creek when the weather warms up a bit more.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place to Unwind

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

What a lovely place to relax and unwind with the family. The boys and their puppy explored until they were completely exhausted. The cottage has an open floor plan with plenty of great space and light. Our only complaint was that we could only stay for two nights. Next trip we will stay longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

One of the best vacation rentals!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Talladega cottage during Christmas and enjoyed a wonderful stay. While Talladega is not necessarily a prime vacation spot, I would consider anyone who is thinking of venturing to the area to consider this rental. The house is beautiful, comfortable, and very peaceful. The owner is wonderful to work with, very trusting, and it's just an incredible stay. You have to see it to believe it but trust me when I say we have been all over the country renting from VRBO and this is one of the top three places we have stayed anywhere! Great place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words, Chris! Hope to have you all visit many more times in the future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great!

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

My family (wife, 2 kids, 2 dogs) all spent Thanksgiving in Waldo. Absolutely loved the house and especially the property. Spent the days hiking, fishing, playing in the woods and relaxing. At night cooked some great meals in the fully equipped kitchen and made smores over the outdoor fire pit. I have to tell you my kids (9, 11) were not too excited when they viewed the pictures on the website. But when we arrived to quote "this place is tons cooler than we thought". The highlights for them were the barn, hiking trail, the fire pit and of course the Bunk Beds!! Thank you very much and we hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Guess I need to get more FUN photos up on the vrbo site! Yes, I raised my daughter here in Waldo with horses, goats and chickens in the barn. We never even needed a horse trailer...just rode out the driveway and onto the Talladega National Forest roads in any direction. Yep... it is TONS cooler than it looks on the photos! So glad you all enjoyed your Thanksgiving there.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WOW!

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

We had the best time this past week at your beautiful, secluded property. The location was perfect for us. We felt like we were a thousand miles away, but we were only an hour and a half from our home. We went fishing, tubing, and kayaking, biking, hiking and enjoyed unplugging while we were there. We had the best time just playing in the creek and even falling in! We ended our last night there with a small fire in the fire pit and toasted marshmallows! It was like having our own private campground. We loved it and have already recommended it to several people. We are planning on coming back in the spring. Thank you for sharing your wonderful place with us, it was a true blessing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind words! I am thrilled that you had fun and got to explore the area so well. It is an amazing place to live and visit.

YOu might enjoy knowing that the couple who stayed there just after you all this past weekend got engaged while there!!! Talk about romantic get aways! He proposed on the back deck!

Maggie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Waldo

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

What a great place! Secluded, yet convenient to many great areas. Maggie is an absolute pleasure to deal with. She takes pride, service and honor to another level. Accurate listing, photos are accurate, property clean and maintained, owner extremely helpful (even offering added local advice and directions), Yes I would recommend this property to a friend. Perfect score. Once again, a great place to getaway from it all. "The way the world ought to be ! "

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jason,
Thanks so much! It was so much fun helping you surprise your wife with a get away in the country. I hope you got some rest and also got to enjoy the bottle of wine we left you! I enjoyed giving you directions to Cheaha the "back way"... made me remember how beautiful it is there. Take care!
Maggie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, private, relaxing

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

My husband and I loved this weekend getaway close to our home in Birmingham. We lounged on the porch overlooking a forest, cooked together, walked a little ways to the creek, enjoyed the inner tubes in a easy, fun float, and hopped out at the scenic and a little spooky Waldo covered bridge near the house. Amazing to have an inner tube float on a crystal clear creek on the property! We were close to many hiking choices - we really recommend the Chinnabee Silent Trail on the flanks of Cheaha, with the incredible series of waterfalls and pools that are great swimming on a hot day. The Talledega Wally's World feels like only a few minutes down the road if you forgot something, yet once you approach the house you are in a shady, private, au naturale world. The train may be closer than many are used to, but didn't interfere with our enjoyment. The house is very clean, spacious, modern-but-rustic, and comfortable. We hope to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great place to get away from it all and relax...

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

My family and I spent a week and it was exactly what we were looking for - quiet and secluded but not too far from town so we could run to a store if we needed something. We brought our dogs which made it even more like a "home away from home" and they were able to enjoy everything with us. We went on hikes, tubed down the creek, explored the barn, played board games, read books - we even put a sprinkler in the yard and ran through like little kids. Coffee in the morning on the porch was fantastic and when we cooked on the grill we sat outside on the swing and on the steps just talking. Maggie was wonderful and very helpful in answering questions and with information about the area. The cottage was adorable and there was plenty of room for all - I would recommend to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks so much for the kinds words! I love Waldo and the Talladega Creek, historic covered bridge and all! I am so happy to share it with others who can fall in love there too! May you return soon to see other seasons in Waldo.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A GREAT place to stay!!

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

My family and I loved this place. Very quiet and peaceful. They have a wonderful selection of books to read. A great porch/deck to sit outside and just watch the squirrels. Great exploring to do around the bridge, and to cool off go wade in the creek. My family will be going back this year. The owner (Maggie) was very gracious and worked with me when we requested an extra night.Very homey feeling home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

"we are in Blue Ridge in a cabin and I and the others had just said how much we miss the house at Waldo! We loved it.... we are coming back."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review