reviews for: listing #7253 - Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Ocean Retreat.. Oceanfront/Fantastic!/ Sleeps 12-14
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $500 - $500 /nt
    $2,000 - $3,700 /wk

sort by:

Awesome home right on the beach!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

The pictures provided on this website do not do this house justice. Due to a family event, we needed 6 bedrooms for 6 adults and this was the perfect solution. From the moment we walked in to the entry way and saw the sea turtles on the wall, I knew this was the right choice, my good omen. As we progressed up the first set of stairs, we were blown away by the size of the living area and kitchen. Both included plenty of seating. The kitchen has everything you might need, neatly labeled. Then we stepped outside, again, just blown away by the view and all the comfy adirondack chairs lining the deck. Up to the 3rd floor, and another large living area with a large screen tv. But we never hung out up there, never even turned on the tv. Not with that view outside, even though it was February and chilly. But those of you with children, this room will be a hit. Five bedrooms had at least a double bed, some with bunks. Downstairs had a room with 2 twins. All 6 adults found the beds very comfortable. I am sure the sound of crashing waves coming through the walls helped all of us sleep as well. The home was clean and well maintained. . The first floor bedrooms have the added advantage of a separate door at the entry level. Those bedrooms were the quiet rooms for the light or late sleepers. We did have a few issues specific to our group, and Jenny and Rick had all the right solutions, going above and beyond. Our group enjoyed a dinner at The Reef, a not to be missed lunch at Barbara Jean's and walking the beach every day. I would gladly recommend this to friends and family, actually already have. Need to get away and lots of space and bedrooms? This is it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

The house worked out perfectly for our family.

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We rented the house for a family reunion/Thanksgiving holiday. With three floors it worked out so well for the various family members. The top floor with the partial kitchen, large TV and beautiful views was just right for the family with children - lots of room to play and spread out toys. The views from the beach side of the house were spectacular. There were several runners in our group and the preserve across the road provided some of the sweetest trails we have ever seen-so many different habitats, rivers, inlets - it was wonderful. The house was clean and well stocked. The owners were very accessible and did their best to make sure we had a good visit - which we did.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Good, not Great

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

I rent often through VRBO and the conditions of this home were just "adequate". At $600. per night I felt the home was OK, certainly not outstanding. The disjointed layout makes it sensible for 2-3 families with each one occupying a different floor. The home makings (tableware, towels, seating, etc) were average at best and not commensurate with the up-scale image of a beach front "ocean retreat". That being said, it was nice to have the beach chairs to use and the walkway with showers to the beach were a very nice touch. Overall, it was a good place for our golf group but not in line with expectations for the price paid during October.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: We do appreciate this guests comments as we always value our guests feedback to help us do a better job. They were there for a 3 night off season stay. It was $500 a night, not $600 plus the tax and cleaning. We believe the home is more than "adequate" ... actually outstanding in every way, including the way it is equipped. Our other reviews and guests comments are evidence of that. There are 3 floors with two bedrooms on each floor. The large dining room seats 8 or more people. There are plenty of towels and kitchen items at the home but had they contacted us while they were there (which we always encourage our guests to do) we would have addressed those issues, like we do for all our guests at all of our homes. For all of our homes, we take great pride in providing our guests with comfortable, clean and well equipped homes. Jenny and Rick

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Perfect Family Wedding & Vacation

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

I chose this vacation rental for my private wedding and mini family vacation. We had our private ceremony behind the house on the beach which was essentially our private beach, it was amazing. The house was perfect for my family, all of the bedrooms have views of the beach and water. The home slept all 12 of us with space to spare I counted 1 spare bed plus two spare pull out couches. There are two separate living spaces for people to spread out and relax they even provided several board games for the family to play. Jenny and Rick were great to work with, they always answered any question or concern promptly. They even followed up after we left to make sure we had a good time and sincerely wanted to know if we had any issues so they could address them before the next visitors arrived. I would definitely recommend this property or any property they manage to anyone and look forward to renting again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a wonderful house for a family vacation.

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

What a wonderful house for a family vacation. Ocean Retreat was the perfect house for our large family (12 adults and a 16 month old) to spend a week at the beach. The layout worked well with plenty of space to spread out. The furnishings are very comfortable. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the house - probably the cleanest home we have every rented! The beach access is right off the porch and we especially liked the fact that there are no commercial properties near by which means less people on the beach! Rich and Jenny are great to work with - they respond quickly to email and phone calls. We were on the phone to book for next year before we pulled out of the driveway!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Beach House and Location

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Can't say enough about this wonderful vacation house: On the beach, great views of the ocean, photo-perfect for sunrises and sunsets, three separate family floors, bonus "crow's nest" on top, connection with a beach club with workout room and pools, easy correspondence with the owners, close to some nice river restaurants, two large family rooms, etc. Best of the bunch!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

the perfect beach house

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

After renting other oceanfront homes, I found the right one this year with this lovely home. It has plenty of space for your family, well equipped with everything you need for the perfect vacation. Loved the spacious living areas, number of bathrooms, two oceanfront balconies. Convenient location, too.

Owners response: This vacation home is the best yet. Everything was just as presented.
There were unpleasant surprises. The house was immaculate and well stocked with what was needed. It is extremely spacious and comfortable. The views from the windows are spectacular. It could not have been more perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Everything we expected it to be and then some

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The home was clean and ready to go upon our arrival. It was actually more spacious than we expected. Close proximity to a relatively private beach with an observation deck with views to die for. We took some great sunset and sunrise pictures. Plenty of activities and attractions nearby. My family felt we got our money's worth.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

St. Augustine ocean retreat home

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

We spent an amazing week at this 6 bedroom seaside home. This beautiful home is well maintained and well stocked. The owners added a touch of warmth by setting a bottle of Reisling for us ... We received our deposit back immediately...highly recommended ...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family vacation

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time during our week at the Ocean Retreat. We found the listing on the Internet, and working with the renters prior to our arrival was quite easy and efficient. The six bedrooms are small, but the two family rooms are spacious and well-furnished. A big plus is the "crow's nest", where you can view the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. We plan to return next year, and look forward to another great week!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Trip to Remember!

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Our stay at the Ocean Retreat was absolutely wonderful. The house was beautiful and spacious and easily accommodated our multiple families. The owners and management company were always on hand to help us when we needed it and were very friendly. The beaches here are amazing. White sand, perfect waves, and secluded beaches. It was like we had the entire beach and ocean to ourselves. I would highly recommend this beach house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach front, relaxation time with family!!

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We have been renting a house in the SPVB area for the last 21 years. By far this house was the cleanest. Great views. Lots of beach to the east, south and north, State park to the west. Very relaxing!! With this many bedrooms, and our large family, it was great to have the privacy between the different floors. St Augustine is within 11 miles for an evening stroll on St George Street for ice cream with the kids. Aunt Kate's restaurant was close by for an enjoyable seafood dinner on the intercoastal waterway. We look forward to returning next year. We would recommend this house for families with teenagers, children or families with several generations. Although not recommended for those that have difficulty with stairs. Nice and close to Ponte Vedra for the golfers in the family. Also would be great for 6 couples planning a get away. R & J were very helpful in setting this up and on the day of checking in. Thank you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ponta Verda Beach stay

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

The accomodations were great. It was very quiet except for our group but was by far one of our best beach house rentals ever. And we have had a house for the last ten years. The photographs did reflect the actual location. We will probably come back to this property if we find it available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful House

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

The house was absolutely beautiful and all that it was promised to be. The location was nice in that it was halfway between both Ponte Vedra and St. Augustine, yet at times, we were the only people on the beach. It was a most relaxing and rejuvenating stay. All who stayed at the house were extremely pleased and impressed with the property. My only complaint is that after such an incredible stressless week, the 10:00 am exit time was a definite shock to the system. I just did not want to leave. Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review