reviews for: listing #72549 - Malibu, California Cottage rental

Charming Oceanfront Get-Away on Dry Sandy Beach - STINGRAY
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Carbon Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $350 - $450 /nt
    $1,575 - $2,450 /wk
    $6,000 - $10,500 /mth

sort by:

Cozy, serene oceanfront getaway on Carbon Beach

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 25, 2014

What a weekend! Angel greeted us upon our arrival at Stingray. He gave us a tour and answered any questions we had...very nice and accommodating. We got settled in to our place and hit the balcony to enjoy the fresh Malibu air and crashing ocean waves. What a sweet place you have! And the location? AMAZING! We enjoyed our relaxing weekend by resting, eating, walking the beach, cocktails, and walking to the Malibu Pier. There are fantastic restaurants within a mile of Stingray. We enjoyed Tra Di Noi, V's Restaurant+Bar, Taverna Tony's, Nobu, Nikita, Mastro's Ocean Club, Geoffrey's Malibu, Malibu Farm Pier, Marmalade Cafe...needless to say, we never used the beautiful and well equipped kitchen! Ha!
The closets were fully stocked with linens, towels, tp, kleenex, soap, shampoo, etc. The TV's worked wonderful, but we hardly used them because we were at the beautiful Carbon Beach!
Thank you for our magnificent stay. We enjoyed our anniversary weekend very much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!

Review submitted: April 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

What an amazing week we have spent here. The place is perfect. As far as location goes, you can't get any closer to the ocean unless you are on a boat. Amazing views for morning coffee and evening wine. So close to so many wonderful attractions. The condo had everything we needed, towels, linens, stocked kitchen, beach towels, beach chairs etc. don't think we will ever stay in a hotel again...hope to be back here soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic location and lovely accommodation

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

This apartment is a real find. It is a beautiful location on a clean sandy beach with rock pools for the kids to play in, and the deck for the adults to relax and enjoy the incredible view of the ocean. Superbly clean, and full of everything a holidaying family could want, the apartment was fantastic. Also the beds were wonderfully comfortable, including the sofa bed. Angel and the rest of the on site staff were attentive and kind, and made sure everything was in first class shape. They even provide change for the laundry! There is a great organic grocery store near by for deck picnics, and easy access to all LA sightseeing while being away from the crowds. We could not have wished for anything better, and will be back soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Malibu stay

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We saw Stingray online and tried it for the first time for my mom's 80th birthday. She lives in Las Vegas and this was the perfect location.

From the moment we arrived, drove through the wrought iron security gate on PCH and met Angel, we knew we were in the right place. He showed us our two parking spots (one covered). He showed us the bright, beautiful, clean and FULLY equipped floor unit with easy access to the beach for our family. Deck with chairs, BBQ and right on the ocean. Walking distance to the Malibu pier. Out the door, down 10 steps and you are on the beach for long walks, tide pool exploration (sea anemones, crabs, mussels, etc.), swimming, sunning ... the list goes on. There is a wash down station at the base of the stairs to help keep the sand out of your unit. There is a laundry room on site if you need it.

You can learn to surf or paddle board from the local surf shop. You can visit any number of local sights (there is a binder with much information on the local Malibu, Los Angeles and Hollywood area) or you can do what we did. Relax and enjoy the ocean and salt air. My mom said the bed was so comfortable and with the deck dutch door open at night, the waves crashing on the beach lulled her to sleep every night. The convertible sofa in the living room was the softest I have slept on.

From the bright breakfast nook, looking out the big picture window, she got to see one gray whale making it's migration north from Mexico while still sipping her morning tea. We saw several dolphin and seals during our stay, as well as pelicans, cormorants, sandpipers and seagulls.

We saw two of the dolphin at Duke's from a window table while we were eating the most delicious meal. We highly recommend Duke's for a dinner out or you could choose from any number of fine dining restaurants in the area. There are also casual food places in easy walking distance. The rest of our time we grilled burgers and hot dogs or prepared easy meals in the kitchen. Malibu Ralph's market is just up the road.

We had a couple of issues to deal with. My aunt has MS so it was important for us to have easy access in the unit and we wanted to bring our dog, Franny. It was great. The only large threshold was at the back door to the deck but my aunt had no problem with it. And Franny had a blast running up and down the beach, chasing the sandpipers and sea gulls.

Too many things to say, not enough characters. lol

We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Location - Beautiful Property

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

This property is absolutely beautiful, perfectly furnished and appointed with everything we needed for our week long stay. As soon as you step into the apartment, you immediately see the amazing ocean view. When we arrived, we met a property manager who happened to be present. He was very helpful and friendly and ensured we knew where everything was inside the unit. He even returned mid-week to see if we needed anything. We spent many hours relaxing on the balcony and the beach. The apartment is located within walking distance of the Mailbu Pier, restaurants and a quaint plaza with a Starbucks and a small movie theatre. We would recommend walking to Sunday's farmer's market where you can buy local produce and very unique food items; as well as have a sit-down lunch. We spent a couple of busy days in L.A. (TMZ Tour, Leafs vs Kings, Universal Studios); 30 minutes away by car. After those busy days, we looked forward to returning to our relaxing beach house and the sounds of the surf.
If we return to the Malibu area, we would definately stay at this property again and would will recommend it to family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Getaway!

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

We had a wonderful week staying in your beautiful, well equipped, incredible location condo. The weather was perfect for our entire stay. From the balcony, we saw dolphins swimming, as well as watched the breathtaking sunrises. We truly appreciate you sharing your piece of heaven with us. We would love to come back again next year. :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The most magnificent property....

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

The location is perfect.
The weather in October is ideal.
The property is an absolute treasure.


The condo was well stocked with basic necessities. The floors were clean, the sheets were fresh! And even the pull out couch was comfortable!
And the playpen was almost brand new!

This rental property is a total gem!
So glad we found it!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

The property was exactly as described. It was clean with tasteful beach themed decor and the balcony ocean view was stunning. Our 2 and 4 yr old spent a lot of time watching the waves with us. Our 1st morning, we saw dolphins from the balcony which was such a treat! We loved having the beach just steps away where we spent most of our time. The fully equipped kitchen came in handy, we cooked some meals there as well as ate out. The Malibu Seafood Patio has excellent deep fried fish! All in all, we had a fantastic time and plan to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Sandpiper family visit

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

We came to visit my daughter and her husband in the Palisades and stayed here while visiting. Loved it! Angel greeted us on our arrival with plenty of information about the area. He was so nice, then he showed us our place, we were blown away! The view is spectacular! We saw dolphins, and a cute little seal sat on the rocks right off our deck. The weather didn't cooperate but we still had a wonderful time. The place is spotless and comfortable. We will be back many more times. Thank you for everything.
Dianne and Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Best location!

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

My husband and I brought our two teenage daughters and we all loved this home. The kitchen had everything we needed and we filled it with groceries that we bought up the street. Each morning and evening we sat on the porch with our coffee or wine and watched the waves crash below. We saw dolphins and seals, a modeling shoot and a tv show filming all in one week from that porch. It's a beautiful location and the home is very comfortable. Our daughters are tall and they were very happy on the pull out couch. Everything was very clean and the home owners could not have been nicer. And, it's only a few houses down from Nobu. Make sure to take a walk out to the Malibu pier to the Malibu Beach Supply Company or head to Marmalade Cafe in town. If you want to see more of LA, we also took a great studio tour of Paramount Pictures and saw the Glee cast (tickets purchased online), ate lunch at the polo lounge at the Beverly Hills Hotel and shopped downtown in Santa Monica on 3rd street. Or, you can just stay on that porch. It's beautiful and very relaxing. We hated to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Could not have been more pleased!

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

This is an exceptional find for someone who would like to stay in the Malibu area. The setting is beautiful, and the apartment is clean, comfortable, and well-equipped. We could not have been more pleased when we walked in the door and immediately felt at home. The photos do not do justice to the beauty of the view. The owner was very helpful with making the reservation, as well as with check-in arrangements. We cannot wait to visit again!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Goodness

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

This has to be one of the best vacations my family has ever had. It wasn't difficult getting used to the waves crashing just below our cottage. The cottage had everything we needed for a week long stay. We're Los Angeles residents so we bought groceries and cooked most meals in the kitchen and enjoyed just being still for the entire week. We took nice long walks on the beach, the kids swam in the ocean and kayak'ed (spelling?) one of the days. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I'm recommending this property to all of my friends and family. We're already planning our Malibu vacation next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location!

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

We had so much fun in Malibu! We have two teenage daughters who used the pull-out sofa and we took the bedroom. Bedroom is a little noisy from the neighbors and PCH traffic (and we knew that going in - that's the nature of these homes on the water) but honestly after the first day , we were so tired from exploring, kayaking, hiking and paddle-boarding -- we just slept through it! Sitting on the balcony was the best! Never a dull moment watching dolphin and pelicans feeding right along the coast. We were able to walk the beaches from Malibu Lagoon all the way to nearly Big Rock. If you have teens, this is a good location for them to go off on their own on foot and find things to do including a nice beach right next door with plenty of lifeguards.

We bought tons of fresh produce from a farmstand just outside of town and the local grocers had wild caught salmon on sale so we cooked a lot of our meals right there on the grill. The kitchen was very well stocked and even had seasonings and such! For nice dinners, Geoffrey's and Duke's were good. We also took a short drive down to Santa Monica for shopping and dinner one night.

We've been in beach condo rentals many times and this was definitely the homiest -- felt like we were visiting a friend's house! The towels were great quality and they provided more than we needed. Bedding was perfect, even on the pull-out! All is provided to set a nice table with placemats, chargers, adorable sea-shell dishes and glasses. The pictures are very accurate which was surprising. Actually, the view in person is better than the pictures could possibly show!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An amazing oceanfront getaway- for perfect R&R!

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

Thank you to Sandpiper for an amazing stay in your oceanfront condo on Carbon Beach! This spot will not disappoint! We celebrated my 50th birthday while staying here -- we enjoyed long beach walks, time on the balcony overlooking the beach/ocean crashing in, & some amazing sleep /rest! The carbon beach club at Malibu beach inn is right next door & has amazing food. Also, Plate, just a short walk down highway 1, is a great breakfast/lunch spot. PC Greens market (right next to plate) is a fresh, healthy market with fantastic deli foods. Our time here was precious & we will definitely be back! Thank you Sandpiper for such a memorable milestone birthday!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most relaxing and beautiful!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We recently stayed at this beautiful condo for 3 nights.This is a prime location in Malibu and our stay was absolutely perfect. If you love sound of the ocean and breathtaking views this is a place for you. Very nice decor (beach/cottage) and has everything what you need being on a vacation. The appliances are brand new and furniture is clean and inviting. Plenty of luxurious towels and bedding sheets. The owner has been very helpful in giving us precise directions to the condo and allowing us to departure a few hours later. We already recommended this condo to our friends and we definitely planning on coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible, fantastic, perfect! You can't do better than this one!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

My wife and I booked this property for a very short stay in Malibu (4 days, 3 nights). We were overwhelmed at how nice this property is. The bedroom is on the road side of the property, and there was some road noise from the Pacific Coast Highway, but we used the sofa bed (reasonably comfortable), and had a wonderful time falling asleep each night to the sound of the surf. The balcony is wonderful; literally, right at the ocean's edge. We saw dolphins right from the balcony!

The owner was very, very thoughtful and pleasant to work with. Multiple emails, telephone contacts, etc... Everything was thought of, from extra TP to soap and shampoo, to cooking utensils, to local menus and magazines, to TONS of fresh, clean towels and sheets. The fact that we had a garage to fit our car into at night was a big bonus, as well.

I can't say enough about how nice this properly was for a short vacation. You can not go wrong with this wonderful little vacation property. We'll be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best of Malibu!

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

We spent a lovely long weekend at this perfect condo. The condo was clean and ready to use with all the necessary amenities. We brought two pre teens who slept comfortably in the living room. We utilized the bbq grill on the patio and the kitchen quite a bit. Yoga was a short drive away as was the health food store. Our son enjoyed a surf lesson from just half a block from the front door. We also rented kayaks and just had a wonderful vacation. We are very much looking forward to another stay here this summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I’m certainly hoping this will not be my last time

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

Dallas, TX- You are the perfect hostess. You have provided an amazing place for those of us fortunate enough to stay here. I’m certainly hoping this will not be my last time. The staff is terrific. They represent you well and truly treat your guests and your property with respect.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Welcome relief from sightseeing

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

Dallas, TX- What a nice place for a few days of relaxing and a welcome relief from sightseeing. The amenities were perfect-everything we needed was at our fingertips. The sunrises and sunsets were wonderful from our own porch and bird and people watching was great. We walked the beach down the pier and enjoyed perfect weather. Thanks for everything. We’ll be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The accommodations were perfect

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

Crete, IL- Upon our arrival from Chicago we were relieved to find our expectations fulfilled. We wanted and received our weekend getaway on the beach. The accommodations were perfect, everything we needed was available (especially the corkscrew!) Hopefully we will be visiting this wonderful beach home often!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved this place; perfect spot to relax

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

Lincoln, Nebraska- Loved this place; perfect spot to relax. Loved coffee on the deck every morning, watching the pelicans, dolphins and seal. We’ll be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful relaxing time!!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

Tempe, AZ-Wonderful relaxing time!! Did learn not to walk the beach during high tide! Really hate to leave, but we’ll be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything we hoped it would be

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Ruth and Larrie B
San Diego, CA- Your Malibu beach front unit is everything we hoped it would be. The crisp blue and white décor inside was charming and welcoming. The provisions were thoughtful and complete. Even the little heater in the bathroom was just the right touch for a chilly morning shower. And as nice as it was indoors we were mostly on the deck. We took our tea and read our papers there and even cooked our meals there. We knew we were surrounded by good restaurants but didn’t want to leave this enchanted spot. We live in Sandpiper Diego and travel to and from Santa Barbara on the Pacific Coast Highway (formally Roosevelt Highway) often. This was our first overnight in Malibu and it was perfect. We chose it to be near the Italian consulate in Los Angeles and the Getty museum. Thank you for your hospitality and thanks to the staff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful getaway for a few days

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

New Mexico-Wonderful getaway for a few days. Thanks very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for the awesome R&R

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

Burleson, TX-I thought I had enough sand until I came here. Thank you for the awesome R&R. You are awesome. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for the place of my imagination

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

Hamburg, HH-All I can say is “no,no I don’t want to go!” Thank you for the place of my imagination. I have to come back. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is an amazing and wonderful place

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

Los Angeles, Ca-Great Week Vacation! This is an amazing and wonderful place. Saw starfish, sea lions, dolphins, amazing sunrise and sunset! Even the dogs loved it! Definitely coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We look forward to our next visit!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

St.Louis, MD- Thanks so much for making our vacation so great. The condo was great the sound of the sea, even better. We look forward to our next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful place and view

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

Morous, Ohio- Wow! What a beautiful place and view. I could have lived on the deck the entire time. The sunrise was breathtaking. The condo and amenities were fantastic. Can’t wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for having us!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Solana Beach-Thank you for having us! We were actually able to fully unwind in just 3 short days! Loved the Sage room in Zuma (Spinach Salad esp.) and reading the paper on the patio. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect weekend getaway

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

Seattle, WA-The perfect weekend getaway. Fabulous location and a great set up. We would not have changed a thing. Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Houston, TX- We had a great time! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a perfect place to spend some relaxing family

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

Wisconsin-What a perfect place to spend some relaxing family time. The kids loved watching the waves and the dolphins swim by. Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful unit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful setting

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

Encino,CA-Beautiful setting. Great space. We had a lovely time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We’ll be back next summer!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

Scotsdale,AZ-We loved the view. Doesn’t get any better than this. Malibu Inn was nice and close place for dinner. Perfect place to call home while our daughter enjoyed volleyball camp at Pepperdine. We’ll be back next summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hard to Leave!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Cedar Pak,TX-Thank you for offering this place to us non-celebraties! My son and I had a great time together and he learned to surf. We enjoyed the surf and beach. Hard to Leave! I’ll have to bring my husband out here--maybe next time my Longhorns play your Trojans. Hook ‘em Horns!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing views

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

we spend a week in February, the place was very nice but the weather was cold there especially in Malibu.
At night when the tides are high you feel like you are on cruise, location is great with shops and restaurants around and just 10 miles away from Santa Monica. The ocean view is breathtaking

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vancouver couple

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

This condo really did feel like a beach cottage. We were blown away by the view when we walked in. Couldn't be any closer to the ocean unless you were walking on the beach which is possible within steps.Arrived in time to enjoy the wonderful sunset on the deck with a glass of champagne and my husband of course. Spotted dolphins on our first morning there. Our daughter happened to be in the area for 2 of the nights we stayed and found the pull out bed in the couch very comfy. She loved being able to open the upper half of the dutch door on to the deck and enjoy the sounds of the ocean. Had dinner at the Malibu Beach Inn which is just 2 doors away. This is a pricey hotel and dinner was also pricey but a lovely treat. Also tried Charlies just across the street. It was very enjoyable and had live entertainment. Suggest a reservation. Lunched at Plate, within walking distance, and that was lovely too. They also deliver if you are having a problem leaving this lovely beach condo. We had a problem spotting the number of the complex from the road even though we knew according to our GPS that we had arrived. Even when we pulled into the right driveway we couldnt find a number. This is a general complaint concerning the complex and unrelated to how we would rate out stay at Sandpiper. Sue was very helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

An ideal place to relax and unwind. We loved mornings on the deck, watching the pelicans dive, the seals play, and the dolphins swim. Several good restaurants are within walking distance or a short drive. The apartment was clean and comfortable, with a great bed, first class linens, and a well-equipped kitchen. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful location

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

Very cute on the outside, beautiful views, great access to the beach (although there isn't a ton of it except at low tide). Perfect for walking on the beach, nice location, and very pretty area. Garage parking and gated entry which was great. Everyone we came into contact with was very, very nice in the complex.

We weren't entirely thrilled with our stay here. A few things we would have been really glad to know for the price we paid. If you're a light sleeper, this might not be the place for you. We got VERY little sleep over the weekend which is a bit of a bummer on a get away type of weekend. The kitchen isn't fully functioning. Fine for a quick bite, but not meals (no working oven). The windows don't seem to lock, and there are no screens, and you can't really sit on the beach with this place. A great deck, but there just isn't a lot of sand in front of the apartment.

Very sweet little place, but not somewhere we'll be going to again.

Owners response: The guests opinions are very surprising.

It was unfortunate that during their brief 2 day stay (an exception was made to our usual 3 night weekend stay) that the beachfront weather was overcast with high tides - - a condition that cannot be controlled - - but may have made their short stay less than perfect.

This vacation rental is an oceanfront corner unit so it is difficult to understand the implied noise problem, although, noise is subjective. Most people find the ocean waves soothing, perhaps, these guests found them loud.

Immediate service was provided for the oven difficulty and the guests quickly accepted the unsolicited offer of a rebate on rent for any inconvenience.

All feedback is appreciated, however, this is the first time since the inception of our business that a review of this vacation rental was other than outstanding.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This place is absolutely fabulous.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

San Carlos, CA- This place is absolutely fabulous. It has definitely contributed positive healing effects for injured tendons. We will carry these memories with us and reflect back with fondness.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We just loved this place.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

Riverside, CA- Thank you so much. We just loved this place. We are glad we stayed another night. The weather has been so nice. I don’t want to go home. Our dogs loved it too. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I wish we could stay longer

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Tarzana, Ca- We had a wonderful time. Our 13 year old kept saying she was in paradise and that it was the best Memorial Day ever.
Your attention to detail is appreciated.
I wish we could stay longer, perhaps next time. All the best.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved it and will definitely be back.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Vancouver, BC- We had a wonderful, relaxing time in the beautiful beach house. Shopping in L.A, stunning coastal drives, walks on the beach admiring the gorgeous houses, surfing, cupcakes from Crumbs and going to sleep listening to crashing waves. What more could you want? We loved it and will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was just the get away we needed.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Pittsburg, PA- This was a great place to stay while taking classes at Pepperdine. I will be back. We loved watching the pelican’s fish in the morning and at night. It was just the get away we needed. We also love Nobu. Great food! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful beach house!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

Idaho-Wonderful beach house! Nicely stocked and a great location for us to relax-along with attending and participating in our daughter’s local wedding. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ready to tackle NYC.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

New York, NY- Ready to tackle NYC. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We absolutely loved the place

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

Carefree, AZ-We absolutely loved the place and had a wonderful time relaxing. Staying right on the water and listening to the waves is where it is at!! You are a wonderful host and the place is clean and just as described. Don’t miss Guidos for dinner! Great Italian food!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

Redmond City, CA- Loved the beach and the great view of the pier. We loved the old style charm mixed with nice, new updates. Great location-enjoyed many beaches, restaurants and sights in the nearby area. Thanks for everything!
P.S. We saw whales and dolphins too- both were very exciting for our family to see!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for a lovely stay!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

LA, CA-Thank you for a lovely stay! My family and I had a truly nice and relaxing time! See you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

Lynwood, WA-We had such a relaxing time…waking up to this amazing view, dolphins, seals-just wonderful. What a great place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

Ridgefield, CT-We had a wonderful time-thanks so much for sharing your wonderful property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The location was perfect and the place was adorabl

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Roseville, MN-What a great week this has been away from the Minnesota snow! Even though it was rainy quite often, we did get some great time on the beach and playing in the sand. We love the ocean, so the location was perfect and the place was adorable.
We saw 3 dolphins, a starfish hanging out, and got to watch the rescue of a seal a couple of doors down.
While we did many fun things (Santa Monica Pier, Point Dume, etc) one of our favorites was starting our day with breakfast and a book on the deck while the sun came up and the waves rolled in.
Thank you for the perfect home away from home! We’d love to come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We have had a perfect and relaxing week.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

U.K-Thank You. We have had a perfect and relaxing week. You can sit and eat breakfast and watch dolphins passing by.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The lulling sound of the waves is magic.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

Jackson Hole, Wyoming-Fabulous 3 weeks away from the snow and ice at home. The lulling sound of the waves is magic. Bose the seal still here, plus dolphins and all the birds. “Squadrons” of pelicans are such a joy to be close to. We got some amazing photos, which I hope to use for a painting. Two starfish hung around in tidepools for a couple of days-we named the orange one Charlie and the maroon one Sheen…so you know what has been the news here in SoCal! Our yellow lab Annie and cat Abbey loved our cozy time here too. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a peaceful gorgeous place

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 8, 2011

Arcanum, OH-What a peaceful gorgeous place for a break that was needed. Having a sunrise and sunset on the same balcony is quite remarkable.
This was a great location for access to the local places we visited and the details to our accommodations were better than any other VRBO we have been previously.
A sea lion became a regular in front of the balcony daily. We named her “Rose”
After being here I am ready to put my house up for sale back east. Thanks for an amazing stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Saw dolphin and seal right off the deck.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

Woodstock, MD-Grew up in SM but never experienced staying right on the water. Got some great photos. Saw dolphin and seal right off the deck. If you are looking for some great food try Marmalade for B/h or Dinner, Guidos or the Beachcomber. Very relaxing visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This place is absolutely fabulous.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

San Carlos, CA- This place is absolutely fabulous. It has definitely contributed positive healing effects for injured tendons. We will carry these memories with us and reflect back with fondness.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We just loved this place.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

Riverside, CA- Thank you so much. We just loved this place. We are glad we stayed another night. The weather has been so nice. I don’t want to go home. Our dogs loved it too. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I wish we could stay longer

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Tarzana, Ca- We had a wonderful time. Our 13 year old kept saying she was in paradise and that it was the best Memorial Day ever.
Your attention to detail is appreciated.
I wish we could stay longer, perhaps next time. All the best.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved it

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Vancouver, BC- We had a wonderful, relaxing time in the beautiful beach house. Shopping in L.A, stunning coastal drives, walks on the beach admiring the gorgeous houses, surfing, cupcakes from Crumbs and going to sleep listening to crashing waves. What more could you want? We loved it and will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved watching the pelican’s fish

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Pittsburg, PA- This was a great place to stay while taking classes at Pepperdine. I will be back. We loved watching the pelican’s fish in the morning and at night. It was just the get away we needed. We also love Nobu. Great food! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved watching the pelican’s fish

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Pittsburg, PA- This was a great place to stay while taking classes at Pepperdine. I will be back. We loved watching the pelican’s fish in the morning and at night. It was just the get away we needed. We also love Nobu. Great food! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved watching the pelican’s fish

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Pittsburg, PA- This was a great place to stay while taking classes at Pepperdine. I will be back. We loved watching the pelican’s fish in the morning and at night. It was just the get away we needed. We also love Nobu. Great food! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful beach house!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

Idaho-Wonderful beach house! Nicely stocked and a great location for us to relax-along with attending and participating in our daughter’s local wedding. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful beach house!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

Idaho-Wonderful beach house! Nicely stocked and a great location for us to relax-along with attending and participating in our daughter’s local wedding. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ready to tackle NYC.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

New York, NY- Ready to tackle NYC. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We absolutely loved the place

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

Carefree, AZ-We absolutely loved the place and had a wonderful time relaxing. Staying right on the water and listening to the waves is where it is at!! You are a wonderful host and the place is clean and just as described. Don’t miss Guidos for dinner! Great Italian food!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

Redmond City, CA- Loved the beach and the great view of the pier. We loved the old style charm mixed with nice, new updates. Great location-enjoyed many beaches, restaurants and sights in the nearby area. Thanks for everything!
P.S. We saw whales and dolphins too- both were very exciting for our family to see!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for a lovely stay!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

LA, CA-Thank you for a lovely stay! My family and I had a truly nice and relaxing time! See you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

Lynwood, WA-We had such a relaxing time…waking up to this amazing view, dolphins, seals-just wonderful. What a great place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

Ridgefield, CT-We had a wonderful time-thanks so much for sharing your wonderful property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for the perfect home away from home!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Roseville, MN-What a great week this has been away from the Minnesota snow! Even though it was rainy quite often, we did get some great time on the beach and playing in the sand. We love the ocean, so the location was perfect and the place was adorable.
We saw 3 dolphins, a starfish hanging out, and got to watch the rescue of a seal a couple of doors down.
While we did many fun things (Santa Monica Pier, Point Dume, etc) one of our favorites was starting our day with breakfast and a book on the deck while the sun came up and the waves rolled in.
Thank you for the perfect home away from home! We’d love to come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect and relaxing week

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

U.K-Thank You. We have had a perfect and relaxing week. You can sit and eat breakfast and watch dolphins passing by.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The lulling sound of the waves is magic.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

Jackson Hole, Wyoming-Fabulous 3 weeks away from the snow and ice at home. The lulling sound of the waves is magic. Bose the seal still here, plus dolphins and all the birds. “Squadrons” of pelicans are such a joy to be close to. We got some amazing photos, which I hope to use for a painting. Two starfish hung around in tidepools for a couple of days-we named the orange one Charlie and the maroon one Sheen…so you know what has been the news here in SoCal! Our yellow lab Annie and cat Abbey loved our cozy time here too. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for an amazing stay

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 8, 2011

Arcanum, OH-What a peaceful gorgeous place for a break that was needed. Having a sunrise and sunset on the same balcony is quite remarkable.
This was a great location for access to the local places we visited and the details to our accommodations were better than any other VRBO we have been previously.
A sea lion became a regular in front of the balcony daily. We named her “Rose”
After being here I am ready to put my house up for sale back east. Thanks for an amazing stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very relaxing visit

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

Woodstock, MD-Grew up in SM but never experienced staying right on the water. Got some great photos. Saw dolphin and seal right off the deck. If you are looking for some great food try Marmalade for B/h or Dinner, Guidos or the Beachcomber. Very relaxing visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

Villa Park, Illinois -
What a beautiful and relaxing place. Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Palatine, Illinois -
We came here to see the Rose Bowl Parade and the Rose Bowl Football game. We enjoyed both. However, the experience did not compare with our experience at Malibu and this beautiful oceanside cottage. We enjoyed every minute here. Thank you for making this experience available to us. Thanks for your warm hospitality! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful and relaxing place

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

Villa Park, Illinois -
What a beautiful and relaxing place. Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for your warm hospitality

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Palatine, Illinois -
We came here to see the Rose Bowl Parade and the Rose Bowl Football game. We enjoyed both. However, the experience did not compare with our experience at Malibu and this beautiful oceanside cottage. We enjoyed every minute here. Thank you for making this experience available to us. Thanks for your warm hospitality! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

Thornhill, Ontario Canada -
Thanks for a beautiful working holiday. Thank you for a beautiful cottage and beautiful view. We had an amazing time watching sunrises and sunsets. This spot has made us feel beautiful and relaxed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful cottage and beautiful view

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

Thornhill, Ontario Canada -
Thanks for a beautiful working holiday. Thank you for a beautiful cottage and beautiful view. We had an amazing time watching sunrises and sunsets. This spot has made us feel beautiful and relaxed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So many wonderful amenities available in this rent

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Richmond, California -
Thank you for having so many wonderful amenities available in your rental. My family and I had an incredible, relaxing, privileged stay and will come back next year (same time, if available). We loved every moment and will tell all of our friends where they should stay while visiting LA.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Richmond, California -
Thank you for having so many wonderful amenities available in your rental. My family and I had an incredible, relaxing, privileged stay and will come back next year (same time, if available). We loved every moment and will tell all of our friends where they should stay while visiting LA.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2010

Studio City, California -
This experience for my girlfriend, mother and I has been amazing. All of us took this time to reset and discover ourselves.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect place to take time to reset

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2010

Studio City, California -
This experience for my girlfriend, mother and I has been amazing. All of us took this time to reset and discover ourselves.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relax right on the Ocean

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

My wife and I just spent 4 nights here. It was wonderful. It is absolutely right on the Ocean so we spent hours on the deck or living room staring and listening to wave. We also heard them in the bedroom at night. Everything was clean and exactly as described to me by Sue who was a terrific host.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It’s true what they say: “Location! Location! Loca

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 9, 2010

Madison, Wisconsin -
It’s true what they say: “Location! Location! Location!” We spent many happy hours on the deck watching waves and more inside listening. It was great to find comfort, luxury and the little touches – like spices in the cupboard and fluffy towels. A happy time, we don’t want to leave.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

Des Plaines, Illinois -
Great Place! Great View! You are a great host, be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2010

Castle Rock, Colorado -
What a wonderful week! The sound of the ocean, the seagulls, the sun, the beach and a wonderful comfortable cottage to enjoy it all from!
Thank you so much. We very much enjoyed our stay, and we’ll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place! Great View!

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

Des Plaines, Illinois -
Great Place! Great View! You are a great host, be back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful week!

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2010

Castle Rock, Colorado -
What a wonderful week! The sound of the ocean, the seagulls, the sun, the beach and a wonderful comfortable cottage to enjoy it all from!
Thank you so much. We very much enjoyed our stay, and we’ll be back

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Warm, cozy, great location and breathtaking surf

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

October 16, 2010 -
Wickenburg, Arizona -
On the edge of North America we relaxed, connected ever further with nature and I personally spent a treasured time reflecting on life from the balcony.
Warm, cozy, great location, Malibu history and breathtaking surf. We loved every minute!
We’ll be back. Thanks

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

Wickenburg, Arizona -
On the edge of North America we relaxed, connected ever further with nature and I personally spent a treasured time reflecting on life from the balcony.
Warm, cozy, great location, Malibu history and breathtaking surf. We loved every minute!
We’ll be back. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beachfront Paradise

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

Beverly Hills, California -
Well, I thought about keeping a journal on a daily basis, however, I found myself so relaxed in the comfort of this beachfront paradise.
You have made this trip memorable with all the comforts of home in your beachfront paradise, that we would like to come to the beach more often.
Our favorite place to dine on the beach was NoBu & Beaurivage. However, other places that we dined at that were good were Terra, Bui Sushi and Geoffrey’s.
A walk up and down the beach is a great way to spend the day. The beautiful pelicans diving for fish is an incredible site and usually occurs in the late afternoon to early evening. Also, do not forget to watch for the playful dolphins traveling up and down the coast.
In closing, I would like to thank you for being a wonderful and attentive host. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

Beverly Hills, California -
Well, I thought about keeping a journal on a daily basis, however, I found myself so relaxed in the comfort of this beachfront paradise.
You have made this trip memorable with all the comforts of home in your beachfront paradise, that we would like to come to the beach more often.
Our favorite place to dine on the beach was NoBu & Beaurivage. However, other places that we dined at that were good were Terra, Bui Sushi and Geoffrey’s.
A walk up and down the beach is a great way to spend the day. The beautiful pelicans diving for fish is an incredible site and usually occurs in the late afternoon to early evening. Also, do not forget to watch for the playful dolphins traveling up and down the coast.
In closing, I would like to thank you for being a wonderful and attentive host. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Way to Relax

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

Pine Mountain, California.
An amazing week of sun, exploring, and relaxation.
This cottage is the perfect way to relax.
Thank You!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See Dolphins and Seals from the Deck

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

The Woodlands, Texas
Saw dolphins and seals from the deck! Very relaxing!
Our stay was wonderful!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

The Woodlands, Texas
Saw dolphins and seals from the deck! Very relaxing!
Our stay was wonderful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review