reviews for: listing #72575 - Muskegon, Michigan House rental

Ruth's Retreat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bluffton
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $120 - $140 /nt
    $700 - $900 /wk
    $1,800 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

The Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Ruth's Retreat was surprisingly one of the best vacations my wife and I have ever taken! The house was so lovely and comfortable. We spent a majority of our time in the kitchen baking cookies and making gourmet meals. The house also has a beautiful master suite that looks out into the backyard. The master bath was also nice with the spa tub. It truly was a relaxing place to be. During the evening we spent most of our time in the backyard sitting around the fire pit. The front porch/sunroom was also nice because we could sit on the sofa and watch the sailboats pass by in the distance.
We also enjoyed staying here because we were able to bring our our little dog with us. She really enjoyed running around the backyard; and we liked taking her for a walk around the Bluffton area, especially walking along the Lake Muskegon shoreline.
There was also a nice dog friendly beach on Lake Michigan less than a five minute drive from the house.
My wife and I went into this vacation just looking for something different and relaxing, but what we found was a place that we will be returning to annually. We truly love this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your nice review. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful time. Do come back ! Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our home away from Home!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

What an adorable home..... very nicely decorated with a master on-suite that just makes you go "ahhhhh"!!!! We were comfortable from the minute we walked in. Nancy has thought of everything to help make your stay perfect and enjoyable... from the boogie boards for the beach to the coffee maker to a basket of brochures to help you find places to eat and visit. Our daughter loved the upstairs with the divided area and views of the sailboats. And, thank you so much for allowing the "furkids" to vacation with us. Walking on the dunes to the lake as a family and dogs was great. Oh, don't forget to check out the sunset on Lake Michigan!!!
We hope to visit Ruth's Retreat again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The description regarding the layout and the pic posted are exact in everyway. The property was clean and very well-maintained. Nancy was very easy going and the best property owner ever! She was available via phone and was able to answer all of my questions During our stay there were 2 screens on the upper floor broken and the jacuzzi didn't work. Otherwise, everything else was in working condition and perfect. The home is located a short and easy walk from Pere Marquette Park. We have 2 kids (4y and 1.5y) so we chose to drive. We were able to bar-b-que on the grill daily, roast marshmellows, and do everything imaginable on a summer vacation. We watered the plants and ran through the sprinklers. This was the best vacation experience that we have had as a family and I would recommend Ruth's Retreat to anyone. The home has been updated and the cool breeze during the evenings remind me of being on the ocean (the lake in right in front of the house). Nancy also had cleaning supplies on hand so I was able to clean throughout the week and did not have to purchase antibacterial wipes or spic/span to clean the countertops. She had everything you could think of to make the stay comfortable and enjoyable. I was nervous submitting a check in the mail to pay for the retreat at first (considering all the scams that you find online), but she contacted me when she received my deposit and sent a beautiful postcard welcoming my family as well as a receipt. If you are doubting Ruth's Retreat, don't. Make the decision to stay and you will be glad you did! The trip was so great we will be returning next year. Thanks Nancy!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We arrived after a three hour drive to a welcoming, graceous homeowner who took us on a tour that accurately matched the description on the website. The master bedroom is roomy and comfortable with a beautifully appointed master bath and many high-end upgrades. Much nicer than any hotel room in the area could afford..nice touches in the upgraded kitchen-we needed for no utensil or pot, pan, serving dish, etc. There is even a wine chiller, coffee maker and blender..not that we used any of these items except the coffee maker-daily- as we enjoyed reading a book with a fresh cup early morning on the great back deck. The neighbors are unobtrusive, but still gives you a sense of safety in your home-away from-home..the two bedrooms are dated but comfy with a beach house feel- and isolated away from the downstairs so that there is much privacy and space..and the best part of it all is the beach- which we drove 2 minutes to get to-but could have easily been accessed by bike or by foot through the small dunes and grasses in the back yard..the water at Pere Marquette Park is crystal clear and the sand almost powder colored..with a great lighthouse walk to enjoy as a background to the fabulous sunsets. We ate at great restaurants-some high-end and some pub-like and found all the locals friendly and accomidating. We did our laundry in the washer/dryer provided and didn't even have to provide the soap! Beach chairs, bikes and even beach towels were available and at our disposal. All in all, the owner is kind and big-hearted, with a carefree, laid-back attitude and made us feel very much welcomed, and the fact that the house is rented in honor of her mother, who used to love to walk on the beach daily is a very touching and sweet tribute to keeping a loved one's spirit alive. We will rent this house again without hesitation and hope this review helps in your decision to rent as well.- Julie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

home away from home

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

our stay at the retreat was perfect! house was clean and comfortable! it was breezy at night and the fans were rarely used...there were many books, games, dvds and lots of outdoor and indoor fun, some of which we didn't even get a chance to use. the private bathroom was perfect! it had a walk in shower and a jacuzzi next to it..the master bedroom also has a private sink with large mirror and a wall tv, there is also a patio walk in. it's really easy to get around to the beach or go sight seeing along the boardwalk and up the lighthouse..we also took our dog and he loved playing in the sand! the neighbors were friendly and we, as well as my dog made many frinds! lots of things to do for people who are looking to relax or seek adventures!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review