reviews for: listing #7270 - Wintergreen, Virginia House rental

Cozy Home with Beautiful Views, Ski In/Out
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $375 /nt
    $750 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Point of View

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Point of View. The property was beautiful and peaceful. The house was very clean and had everything in it that was needed. It seemed like there was lots to do in the area although we didn't stay long enough to enjoy everything. The view was spectacular. We certainly would come again when we get the chance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Storm Saturn

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

My family and I arrived at Point of View hours prior to the advent of Winter Storm Saturn aka Wintergreen's 100 year snow storm. The house was warm, cozy and comfortable. Slope side access enabled us to ski out the door and down Tyro's slopes. Skiing just does not get any better than that! During the 7 hour storm related power outage, the gas fireplace not only kept us warm but allowed us to boil water for hot tea via the magic of our son in law's boy scout training. By the time the weather cleared we had 18 inches of fresh powder on the slopes (hurray) and piled up against both doors (not so great). Thanks to mom's girl scout training, we had packed a snow shovel and the youngest (and smallest) of us was hoisted out the window to dig us out of the house. By the time the lifts became operational again, we had some of the best skiing ever. On the third day the amazing plow crews had cleared the roads and we were on our way home with fond memories of the storm of the century. Special thanks to owners Tom and Sue for mentoring us through the power outage and for providing almost every conceivable amenity,( excepting snow shovel. :) We will return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

Your home was the perfect venue for our Girl's Getaway. The accomodations were comfortable, warm and inviting. We spent time on the Blue Ridge Parkway to enjoy the changing of the leaves which were at their peak for our visit. We also had a wonderful time at the Apple Festival at Monticello and bought apples at the Orchard. We also visited local wineries.
Thanks again for sharing your home with us and I will be certain to recommend it to any friends heading "north".
Pat

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mini-Honeymoon

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

We had a great stay at Point of View. The house was clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed. We found the binder with local tips to be very helpful. The house was easy to find, reasonably priced, and the owners were very friendly and pleasure to work with.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place for a weekend getaway

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

My family and I went to Wintergreen for a wedding and had a great time staying here. It is fairly close to the main lodge and has easy access to some nice hiking. The kids enjoyed sleeping in the loft. We plan to return during the ski season.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ESCAPE FROM THE HEAT!

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We really enjoyed our summer get away at Point of View! We left home with temps in the 90's with high humidity...Wintergreen Mountain welcomed us with a cool 78 degree breeze. The house was clean and well maintained. The view was awesome from the back deck. My elderly mother in law appreciated the fact that there are only a few steps to navigate to get in and out of the house. In comparison to other properties we looked at, we felt like this one was a great deal. We hope to return in the near future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Wild(Life) Weekend

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Point of View. It was great. From our window, we saw a bear, a doe and her fawn, two young bucks, a turkey, and hawks! The cabin was perfect, just as described. The loft was exciting for our little boys. It is a ski-in cabin so we were able to walk out and hike down the mountain and back. We also enjoyed Wintergreen's other amenities, like the pool, shops, restaurant, general store, and Shamokin Falls trail. Even at the end of May/first of June, the fireplace was put to full use! Tom and Sue were extremely helpful to these non-VA natives, especially in regards to bringing warm clothes, hiking, fishing, and swimming! Thanks so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Liberty Graduation

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

The whole family had a great time in VA and really enjoyed our stay in this well-maintained spacious home. The kids felt at home right away in the loft and we all enjoyed the warmth of the fireplace. The spacious kitchen & eating area was perfect for our group; and the view absolutely beautiful. My sister and I were able to keep our children somewhat on schedule and in their normal environment due to the privacy of a home instead of a hotel...we didn't need to be concerned about waking neighbors and the home rental is also much more cost effective than a hotel for our needs. I would and already have recommended this property to relatives and friends. We had a lovely Mother's Day brunch at the Copper Mine Bistro located within the resort. The Wintergreen resort entrance location was a bit difficult to find in the dark, but obviously we did make it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Rental

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Cute property! Perfect for ski in and ski out. Even though there was no snow, we had a wonderful time with family and friends! Fireplace is wonderful! The views around the area and out off the deck are quite breathtaking. Good restaurants, friendly people! Lots of games to play with and videos to watch at night. We would recommend to anyone who loves the mountains.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ski Weekend

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

We had 3 couples go for weekend of skiing and tubing and had an awesome time. The house was just as described and the views were awesome. We actually were fortunate enough to see some natural snow Friday night while we were there which was nice too. The house was very clean and cozy. Look forward to reserving again for our next ski trip.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Christmas 2011

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Our family had a wonderful Christmas due to this lovely, comfortable home. We felt right at home the minute we walked in. We had not spent Christmas together in 5 years (our son, daughter-in-law, daughter, son-in-law, and grandson) It was very spacious and was very private. Our children live in eastern Virginia and this was a very easy drive for everyone. Not much snow, but we did enjoy all of the aminities that Wintergreen has to offer. Beautiful views, expecially the doe that grazed on the ski slope. I would recommend this home to any family looking for a nice vacation.
PY - St. John, USVI

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

Can't wait to go back! So cozy, plenty of room, gorgeous views, and awesome ambience! A must rent!! The owners could not have been more pleasant to deal with from day one. Thanks for a great weekend getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Wintergreen Home...ski in, ski out.........

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Wonderful mountain home in Wintergreen! The house was great with all the amenities and the view was spectacular. We would definitely rent it again in any season of the year...lots to do in the area! The owners were so accomodating and they had the best price on the mountain for a 3 bedroom home with lots of room.....if you go in the winter, it is ski in, ski out....can't beat it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

My husband and I wanted to take our 5 month old for a little fall color weekend. We found Point of View online and had a very pleasant email exchange with the owners. The description of the listing accurately reflects the home's cleanliness and modern amenities. Excellent view of the sun rising (nice when you're waking up with an early to rise baby) and easy access to hiking trails. We enjoyed the place so much we worked out staying an additional night.

We mostly cooked in the home (kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, etc.) but on our way out of town we stopped at Wild Wolf Brewing Company for lunch. The fried chicken salad was unique and very good.

We hope to return with my sister's family in the near future. I would absolutely recommend this place to a friend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice note. Kudos to you guys for all the adventurous hikes you did with a 5-month old! Hope to have you and your sister's family back again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better Than Listing Description

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

Had a great time with our grandkids Oct 28 to 31. It snowed and all of the trees were covered in sparkling ice. We enjoyed walking on the ski slope, especially in the snow, which was a very short distance away. The house was very cozy and nicer inside than the pictures. We cooked most of our meals and everything we needed was in the kitchen. Lots of supplies were there although we took our own. The owners were very responsive and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Get-away!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

My husband and I, our teen daughter and her best friend stayed for 2 days in the beginning of August.
This was our first VRBO rental so we were a bit nervous---our emails were replied to promptly and in a friendly manner, which made us feel good about Sue and Keith. We left 100 degree weather for 80 degrees in the mountains which was terrific.

The house is in a beautiful setting overlooking one of the slopes. The photos are spot on. It is well marked "Point of View" so we had no trouble finding it. When we walked in I was struck by how clean the house was--in the kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms, and other living areas; which made me feel really good about the rental. The living room is spacious with a great view, a gas fireplace, and tons of board games. The four of us had a blast playing pictionary and guestures. The kitchen was well stocked and very functional even thought it was small and mostly a one person cooking kitchen. I was perfectly fine with my husband making the meals! The beds are very comfortable-we all slept like logs.

The girls had so much fun in the loft, watching DVD's, playing board games, and talking. They said that the loft was a bit hot when we got there but it cooled down nicely with the numerous fans they have in the loft. There were several ceiling fans and floor fans on the 1st floor as well. There is a very powerful window/wall air conditioner in the kitchen/eating area which really cools the kitchen and living space down quickly. (We used it briefly one afternoon when it got a bit hot out as we had been out most of the day.) We ate breakfast on the deck which was delightful!

The girls went tubing at Discovery Ridge which is very close to where the house is. All four of
us played mini golf as well. None of us had the nerve to try the Zip Line but it did look scarily fun.

We really appreciated knowing exactly what we needed to bring. The towels and linens are provided.
Seems that folks who rent sometimes leave some stuff behind for the next renter as there were already paper towel, and handsoap when we arrived. We still brought our own which would be recommended because you cannot count on these supplies being available. It is up to previous renter whether to leave some things or not.

Sue and Keith are a pleasure to work with--very helpful, friendly, and very good communicators. The rental agreement was very reasonable and straight forward.

We will definitely be back and whole-heartedly recommend this rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Peaceful

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

This cozy house in the woods offers a beautiful view of the Blueridge and sunrise. It is surrounded by trees making it very private. A great summer retreat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A pleasant house for families to enjoy!

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

My college friend and I -- and our two families -- have gotten together here for the past two springs and have had a lovely time. The house faces one of Wintergreen's slopes and has a peaceful mountain view. It's quiet and in a convenient location to Wintergreen amenities, many in walking distance of the house. Each bedroom is nicely appointed, and the loft has three beds and room for an inflatable mattress. There is certainly room for the 8 of us. The deck is pleasant. Owners are responsive and helpful -- we would definitely recommend to a friend or relative.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great ski-in, ski-out location on middle part of Tyro

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

The house is great. We're stayed at Dobie condos for the same price and gotten noisy, dirty, smaller condos. Point of View is a great retreat for a family or 2 with kids. My son loved the loft. Will definitely be back next year. Had a slight problem getting gas fireplace going, but owner was very responsive in walking me through getting it restarted.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

warm inviting home

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

This home was perfectly located on the side of tyro mountain. we were able to ski in and out , stopping for lunch and avoiding the crowds at the restaurants. Is was nicely decorated with a warm fire to keep the whole house toasty warm. I especially appreciated the well stocked kitchen. we had a great time at wintergreen and hope to return to Point of View again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First time at Point of View

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

My family (husband, in-laws, 8 year old and 7 year old) had a great time at Point of View. What a treat to be right on the Tyro slope! My 7 year old learned to ski on this trip. We could all put our skis on in the back yard and jump right on the slopes. Loved the fireplace too! The whole house was spotless. We've stayed at other houses at Wintergreen with critter problems. So I was thrilled that the house was so clean and well taken care of. We will definitely be back!.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our cleaning woman will be so happy to hear this. She is wonderful and takes great pride in making sure Point of View is spotless. We hope to have you back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy Home Right on the Slopes!

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

My family and I really enjoyed our stay in Point-of-View! We ski @ Wintergreen every year but this was our first stay right on the slopes. What a treat! The house is well furnished, comfortable & cozy, and a true ski in-ski out home...we are now spoiled with being able to jump right on the slopes in the morning and then just ski home for lunch! And what a view! :)

The owners were so helpful, friendly & informative...felt like we were staying in the home of lifelong friends! Thanks Sue & Tom for a great vacation spot!

Jenny, Justin, Jack & Campbell

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay in October 2010

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

Thanks for sharing your wonderful house on the ski slope! My family had a terrific time! All the needed essentials were included, so we didn't find that we needed anything. The cozy fireplace was nice to warm up to in the evening! The place was very clean and cared for - we would defininitly recommend it to others.

The only thing we were surprised about was that there was no front or back yard for the kids to play in. However, we enjoyed hiking up and down the ski slope. And, we played some games and had a treasure hunt around the cul-de-sac.

Thanks again! We enjoyed ourselves!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We HAD to Stay Longer

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Our Thanksgiving visit was wonderful... The home was cozy, warm, and delightful. There were plenty of books, games, and movies... for ALL ages... We were at peace immediately. This is the home for anyone who wants to relax and be worry free. We couldn't leave on time... We HAD to call the owners and stay one more night in this mountain heaven haven. Nature, comfort, family, and the slopes.... Your search is over. Treat yourself to this vacation. You deserve it...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great long weekend!

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We spent Labor Day weekend at Point of View with our daughter and two teenage friends, and we had a wonderful time. The girls loved the loft, we all enjoyed the movies and games that came with the house, and we really enjoyed the gas fireplace on the first chilly night of the year. This is a very quaint and cozy house, and its location on the mountain is ideal. It is very close to the lodge, the market and all activities available at Wintergreen. It's a great house for an active family looking to enjoy all that Wintergreen has to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Point of View

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

We had a great weekend at Point of View and would recommend it! The house is very comfortable, clean and good for kids. We enjoyed the beautiful scenery and watching deer wander through as we sat on the deck. We hiked around Wintergreen and had fun at Lake Monocan. Thanks to the owners for being so helpful - we'd like to come back in ski season!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great respite from the summer heat of the city.

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

We loved the mountain view from the deck and the quiet of the woods. We enjoy Wintergreen in the summer for the cool breezes and the quiet. The house was very well-equipped and comfortable. A great place to relax and unstress. We visited Sherando Lake which has swimming, camping, picnicking, hiking, and fishing for a modest fee. Recommend bringing lounge chairs, floats, etc.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great view and comfortable

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

We had five adults that stayed at Point of View. The place was very comfortable and convenient for us. The only thing that could have made it better was to have had at least a half bath upstairs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good Owners

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

Point of View is a nice place to stay and a good value. The owners were also great to deal with and helpful. My family would definitely come back.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for many activities

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

Point of View was a fantastic base for our early summer family getaway. Great location as base for visiting Wintergreen, Blue Ridge Mountains, Crabtree Falls and Monacan Lake. The owners were great to work with and we found everything as advertised ! The guide directory provided on site was invaluable resource.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! We spend a lot of time making sure our "Things To Do" binder is up-to-date so that our guests can easily decide how to spend their time at Wintergreen - or decide to spend their time doing nothing but enjoying the mountain weather and views of the Blue Ridge Mountains from the house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

We stayed at Point of View for a week (April 10-17). The size of the house was perfect for our group (7 ppl). Since we were cyclists, the location on the mountain was a challenge..but that is what we were there for...HILLS!! Thanks Sue and Tom for the ease of booking and all of the useful information in the "bible" as we called it. In addition to cycling, we got to visit Wintergreen Winery, and did the Plunge and Crabtree Falls hikes. Such an amazing area in the spring. We shall be back next year...and may need to find a second house for all of our jealous friends!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

Spent a wonderful five nights at Point of View with our baby. It was very well kept, had everything we needed, and an great view. Thank you for a very relaxing few days in the mountains.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

Point of View was so convenient being right on the Tyro slope. The slope is just a few feet from the door! The house was furnished nicely and provided everything that we needed for a great vacation. We would like to stay there again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

We just got back from a lovely visit here. Truely a "ski-in/out" house. We loved it -quiet, clean and kid friendly. Owners were great to work with. We look forward to returning soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

Our family had a wonderful stay at Point of View during Thanksgiving! The house was very clean and convenient. The upstairs provided plenty of room for our three children and all three had a great time. We look forward to our next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 22, 2010

We really enjoyed Point of View. The home is cozy and we loved the ski in/ ski out feature. We avoided all of the crowds and enjoyed skiing on Tyro, Eagle's Swoop and Big Acorn. Then back to the warm fire and a fun evening of Winter Olympics viewing. Our children loved the loft area. We'll be back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

We arrived after a 30 inch snowfall to snow up to the front door knob! Needless to say, slope conditions were great and house location is superb. Point of View is a cozy, well equipment house with a great view and selection of movies and games. A little cool in main room when snow is piled up a foot or so against doors unless you are bundled up (with someone)or you stay close to the fireplace :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

Very nice house. Well accommodated and very cozy. Good beds and great location on the Tyro slope. Owners were very gracious and easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: January 23, 2010

Our family used the Point of View cabin for our yearly ski trip and having a home instead of a condo was refreshing. It was roomy and well stocked with all we needed to cook and also had lots of games and movies which came in handy since all day Sunday it rained. We will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

We stayed at your house the week before Christmas 12/16 through 12/20 and hoped to have enough snow to ski, on Friday 12/18 we got our wish 32 inches!! - The house is great, well kept, everything we needed. We had many laughs playing the games you have at the house. Great family time around the fire at night. Thanks again for letting us rent your home we hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 27, 2009   Date of arrival: December 27, 2009

We five high school girlfriends of 40 plus years spent 3 wonderful nights at Point of View in early Dec.The view, fireplace,& accommodations were excellent.We look forward to future gatherings there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

My husband and I were married at Wintergreen and celebrated our sixth anniversary at Point of View. It was perfect for relaxing - a lovely view of the autumn leaves, a convenient gas fireplace, and a comfy bed for snoozing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 14, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

Our family had a great time at your house. The weather was great, cool at Point of View, compared to the 90's in the valley, and it was a convenient starting point for our sightseeing as well. We hope to visit again sometime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 20, 2009   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

We had a WONDERFUL time at your mountain home! Point of View is perfect and the skiing conditions were great. I want to thank you for charging such a reasonable rate. Had your rate not been so reasonable, we would not have been able to take our annual family ski trip this year. Our family has taken a family ski trip for the past 24 years and I am very grateful that we were able to do it this year to continue the family tradition that my dad started 24 years ago. He is 74 (75 in April) and still skis when we take this family trip. It is good for his ego and a great morale booster for him. Thanks again for sharing your lovely mountain home with others. ?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 12, 2009   Date of arrival: February 12, 2009

Well equiped kitchen, wide selection of movies that were actually worth watching, cool loft for kids, fire place works great, easy ski in- ski out but MAKE SURE you dont miss the house when skiing back! They all look relatively similar :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Great place! One heck of a view. Easy in/out for skiing. Games, Sat tv, spacious loft for the kids. Enjoyed our trip. This is just as advertised and the Keiths are easy to work with. Can't wait until the next trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We just recently stayed at Point of View for two nights. It was beautiful inside and extremely cozy. For a group of close friends, it was wonderfully equipped for quiet evening entertainment when we weren't skiing, with a few of my favorite board games and a good selection of movies. Cooking for a family size group of people was easy, all we needed to provide was our food as the kitchen was very well equipped. We had a wonderful stay and definitely plan to stay again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 31, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

We had many people come up to Virginia to spend the Christmas holiday with us and I thought "What a better place to go to than Wintergreen?" And I chose a great home to stay at! Some people went skiing some of just stayed at the house and hung out. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 28, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

The house was wonderful and look forward to returning in the future. It is very updated and will give anybody a relaxed vacation. The location is wonderful with easy access to ski slopes and surrounding areas. I would recommend this house to anybody looking for a fun family vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 19, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

We have stayed at Point of View multiple times because we enjoy it so much. Tom & Sue have done a nice job of continuously improving the place over the years. It is located within walking distance of Blackrock Store (a quaint little store that has a little of everything) and also some great hiking trails. It is secluded enough if you want a romantic get-away, yet has enough room to take your whole family. Linda and I highly recommend it and plan to return in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 5, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time at Wintergreen during the Thanksgiving Holiday. We even got to ski one day. Point of View was very convenient to the main lodge and had all the amenities for a great holiday break. Great place to rent! Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 2, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

This is our sixth visit to Wintergreen and our fourth stay at Point of View. This is a special annual reunion made even more special by this home. The house is always clean, beautiful, comfortable, and stocked full of useful information. The views are outstanding as well as the location! We will be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 19, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We had a terrific time at Point of View. Really quiet, spectacular weather and a very cozy house. We will definately be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We rented this house for a 2 day girl's weekend and
found it clean, comfortable, and with a well-equipped
kitchen...very important for 5 women who love to
cook! The area was very quiet and we had a great
time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 3, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Wonderful views and excellent accommodations for a
smaller party. We enjoyed staying there a lot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Wonderful place for a vacation. The house felt like a home. The location was incredible, great views.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 10, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Pics accurately showed the cozy cabin, very comfortable. Kids loved the spiral staircase which lead to the loft bedroom. We had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 22, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time! The view was great and the house was cozy! We will certainly come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 21, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We had a blast at Point of View. We have stayed here many times and it just gets better each time. We really enjoyed the new furniture. It is such a beautiful view. Also it's great to be able to walk out and ski from the cottage. We will definitely return many more times.
Thanks!!!!!!!:-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 31, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

THe house was perfect for our family of 6, kids loved the loft. The location was ideal, we could ski in and out since Tyro slope was open. Had a wonderful time, hope to return next year

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 5, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Point of View went above and beyond our expectations!!! It was the PERFECT getaway us after finals week and before heading home for winter break. There was less snow and fewer slopes open than we expected, but the cabin was so nice and well stocked that the skiing was hardly missed. The loft was so cozy and the living room was a great place to hang out, play games and watch the many movies Sue and Tom provided. We all hope to return soon, regardless of ski conditions! Thanks again!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 20, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Thanks again, our family enjoyed the house very much! The view is the best and the fireplace was wonderful! Happy Holidays, The Bryant's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 24, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We had a great weekend in this very nice and well-kept house. It is the best-equipped rental property we've ever stayed in, with everything you need in the kitchen, even a good collection of toys, games, books and movies for both kids and grown-ups.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

What a nice stay we had in this home. Three days of beautiful weather and wonderful activities. Everything was as promised. Thanks for helping us have a great vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 30, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We had a wonderful stay!! The house is cozy and inviting and we can't wait to go back. The view is wonderful and far enough away for the city, but close enough to charlottesville if needed. The house is in great condition and we felt very comfortable and at home. Thanks again!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 3, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

What a lovely spot! And what a cozy mountain cottage! We had a delightful long weekend at Point of View to attend our daughter's UVa graduation. We particularly loved being out of the bustle and crush of C'ville after the ceremonies. Some day we hope to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 23, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

A great cozy home for a winter getaway. Right on Tyro where you can ski in and out and also watch the skiiers right from the family room. Very clean and owners easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 23, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

Our family stayed in Point Of View for a long weekend in the fall and it was lovely. The home is ideally located for views and convenience and it is well stocked with movies & games to keep everyone entertained. Sue Keith was helpful and friendly through the reservation process. We would recommend Point Of View to anyone looking for a house in Wintergreen!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 23, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

My wife and I and another couple stayed at Point of View last February over Valentines. The weather and ski conditions were great. "Point of View" was perfect to ski in and out of. Tom and Sue Keith were excellent to deal with and made arranging the trip very easy. I would and will definately stay here again. The view, access to slopes, warm fireplace and the layout of the house were awesome.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 28, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Point of View is an excellant place to rest and relax. The view from the balcony was great, and then entire home is neat and cozy. It was so nice to sit by the fireplace while watching the fall leaves drift down from the trees. Also, the renters are very accommodating and helpful with directions and suggestions. I would highly recommend Point of View!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 24, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Point of View is a delightful, cozy escape. I would highly recommend a family get away at the Point Of View!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 30, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Point of View was clean and comfortable- close to great hiking in the Blue Ridge mountains. The owners were very accommodating and helpful. A great place to spend a relaxing spring weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

My family of four and two friends had a wonderful weekend getaway at Point of View. The accommodations were as advertised and very comfortable. It was very entertaining to watch skiers and snow boarders from the living room. Everyone complimented me for making such a great choice!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 27, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

our family had the opportunity to enjoy your home for 3 days and it was everything we were looking for and more. great views and wonderful, prompt people to deal with. thanks for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 26, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

We rented Point of View for a ski vacation with extended family and it was wonderful. There was plenty of room for the 7 of us! Tom and Sue Keith are wonderful to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 7, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

For an absolutely wonderful experience, definitely
book Point of View. Working directly with Sue and
Tom rather than a real estate firm is a real plus!
This is a home away from home for sure ... well
stocked, great floor plan, wonderful fireplace, great
front porch to take off boots and clothes after
skiing from the slope to the front door, and views
from every huge window! You will enjoy every
moment of your stay here! It is a prize!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 2, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

Wonderful place. Very cozy, GREAT Location and very nice landlords. I loved skiing in and out right from the house. My wife and kids enjoyed having the extra space as opposed to being couped up in a hotel room. - Antony

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 30, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

This is a beautiful spot to relax and unwind. The view is wonderful and the unit is nicely furnished making it easy to just enjoy your visit. There are numerous places to walk and hike and take in nature's beauty.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

Sons, daughter-in-laws, and grandson joined us at Point of View in July. Enjoyed the wonderful view eating outside on the deck. Clean, well stocked with games, books, and decent movies. Binder of maps, restaurants, and things to do. Keiths made it easy to book and enjoy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 12, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

I booked "Point of View" for a father/son ski trip for my husband/son and a friend/son. They had a great time and said it was the perfect location and size...they especially liked the ability to ski in/ski out. We had previously stayed at a Wintergreen-owned condo, and Point of View had it beat hands down...at a similar price point. To top it all off, Sue Keith was a delight to work with; very prompt, very professional and also very nice. Will definitely stay here againg.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 26, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

Great place and great price! One of the cleanest rentals we have ever enjoyed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 18, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

Great "base of operation" for our family. Well stocked, the kids liked the movie selections and games. We liked the peace and quiet and comfortable atmosphere.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 30, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

Our family spent the first week of Aug 04 at Point of View and had a wonderful time. The house is lovely - very clean and well-kept, nicely furnished and very well-equipped. Nothing was lacking. The kitchen had everything we needed to make preparing meals very easy and convenient. The house was roomy and comfortable. We felt very much at home. The location on the mountain is excellent - very convenient, and as you would expect from its name, tremendous mountain views from the many huge windows across the back of the house. Sue & Tom were wonderful to deal with. We will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

We enjoyed our stay in this well-kept, comfortable house on the mountain. An ever-changing view and plenty of wildlife kept our visit interesting. We would recommend this as a nice place to rent again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 9, 2004   Date of arrival: January 1, 2004

Great location for skiing! The home was very roomy and the 3 beds in the loft are perfect for company. Great location to take nice walks to the lodge.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 25, 2003   Date of arrival: January 1, 2003

Our family of six stayed at Point of View for 3 days of skiing, and it was perfect for our needs. It is in a great location right on the slopes, and we loved being able to ski right out from the house, then easily come back when we needed a break. It is also very close to the Mountain Inn, for restaurants and ski rentals. We enjoyed the video collection and the fireplace, and our three boys loved having the loft to themselves. We'll definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 14, 2003   Date of arrival: January 1, 2003

Our family enjoyed our winter stay at "Point of View". The home is charming, clean and the views wonderful. Hiking, skiing and enjoying time by the fire made it a great get-away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 12, 2002   Date of arrival: December 1, 2002

I will go back! The cabin was in a beautiful location with an amazing view (we were lucky enought to go on a warm fall day when the leaves were still in color). Everything was there that we needed, it was clean and very nicely decorated, and plenty of room. Nice touches were the firewood so we could use the fireplace, a great movie selection, and last but not least, the comprehensive binder left for guests with everything from restaraunt recommendations to hiking trail maps! We went on one of the hikes and rated it for future guests. Getting there was half the fun. The leisurly drive from Fairfax included stops at wineries to pick up a few bottles to enjoy during our weekend, as well as a stop at the Plow & Hearth Outlet!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 24, 2002   Date of arrival: October 1, 2002

Five of us (mothers & daughters spanning 3 generations) spent a three day weekend Sept. 14 to 16 at Point of View. What a wonderful place to relax, share, laugh, cry, and be together. We loved the ever changing views from the expanse of windows as the fog lifted, settled, cleared and then repeated the cycle! The true test of a place is if you can have a fabulous weekend when the weatherman sends you rain for the better part of three days! The warm toasty fireplace, great selection of movies, comfortable furniture, private location, well equipped kitchen, and great layout kept us happy and cozy. The binder of information provided by the owners is incredible! I've rented at least six other accommodations at Wintergreen and by far this comfy hideaway is the best I've found! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2002   Date of arrival: September 1, 2002

What a great place to stay! The house is very comfortable and has great views of the mountains and ski slope! Highly recommended for a relaxing getaway!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 29, 2002   Date of arrival: July 1, 2002

We spent a really relaxing weekend at this house. The house was clean and nicely decorated. Beautiful views! We'd definitely go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review