reviews for: listing #7273 - Dollar Point, California House rental

*Summer Special!! Luxury Home In Prestigious Dollar Point
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Dollar Point
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $571 - $785 /nt
    $4,000 - $5,500 /wk

sort by:

Phenomenal House

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Massive 5000 sq ft of luxury and comfort all combined in one. We had three families staying there during Christmas week and we could not have had a better time or feel more comfortable. House comes well stacked with kitchen equipment and all the goodies wives need to keep them happy. Close to best ski resort (Squaw Valley), Tahoe City and 50 yards to the beach - yet in a very quite setting. Loved our stay there and will sure look to come back although the house could use an outside hot tab?. Deal with Tara was quick and easy. Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific Tahoe Home!

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

Thank goodness for this terrific home that we rented since we were a little short on snow this year. The beds were comfortable, and each bedroom was very private and quiet, great when you have babies in the bunch! We really liked the art work and mountain type furnishings, there was space for everyone to relax, cook (awesome kitchen) and play! Coffee in the morning on the deck with views of the lake, long walks at night..we did not want to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Welcome back anytime! We are happy you loved the home..
Owners

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECT TAHOE HOME!!

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

My family and I stayed at this home in late Spring and LOVED it! The home has updated decor and is so comfortable and warm feeling. It is stocked with everything we could have needed. We had a great time hanging out on the huge deck with plenty of room as there are 2 tables and lounge seating as well. The beach was super close and the kids enjoyed the yard in front and back. Night times were spent gathering in the Family Room with a games or a movie while the older kids played pool or foosball upstairs. It was a perfect trip for the whole family..thank you owners!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed our home..
Owners

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, Wonderful, Fantastic!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you!! Can't say enough about the home. It was beautiful, wonderful and fantastic. Everything went extremely well and everyone had a great time. We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the cabin.
Spent Sunday at the beach which wasn't very crowded. Celebrated Father's day and my b-day that evening. Monday we drove to Fallen Leaf and checked out the falls and went to Jake's, had a great meal there. The guys went fishing on Tuesday, caught 5 nice trout and we BBQed them, delicious.
Wednesday we went on the Thunderbird Lodge Castle tour which everyone enjoyed.Then went back to the beach and the kids caught crawdads right off the pier. Then Thursday morning came around and we realized that we had to return to Reality.
Everyone so appreciated the opportunity to enjoy such nice surroundings. Loved it all, from the front deck to the backyard area. As soon as we arrived the kids went out back and played until dark. So awesome to have the fenced in area to let them loose.
I am already suggesting we return next summer. It was and extraordinary experience and your home is beautiful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AWESOME RENTAL!!! LOVED IT!!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Excellent home in all ways! We had a great time here over the Holidays. Perfect home for family to gather, cook up a storm (gourmet kitchen) and tell stories around the huge fireplace. All bedrooms were nice and spacious, nice bedding and sheets, with own bathrooms (one has one across hall) and own TV/DVD/STEREO's. Wonderful mountain decor throughout the home and nicely maintained. Some of us played Pool and Foosball while others made snowmen in the fence in backyard for entertainment. We were only a short distance to Ski Resorts and Tahoe City is right there by the home for convenience! Great views of the lake in multiple rooms..great stay! I already have recommended this home to friends and family and the owners are super nice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

This home is beautiful, and the Dollar Point location is the BEST! The grandkids had a good time in the fenced backyard building a snowman. They really loved playing fooz ball, and the adults played pool. The fireplace in the living room provided us with lovely ambience in the evenings. Bedrooms are spacious, and there were many bathrooms. This home would also be fun to enjoy in the summertime, as it is a very short walk to the club/pool/beach/tennis courts. We certainly can recommend this home for great family vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed the home and location and hope to have you back again:)


Regards,
The Owners

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good Show on the Lake

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

My family of 13 had a terrific time at this Dollar Point house. Bedrooms were spacious and well appointed. Kitchen appliances were top of the line and the living/family room was comfortable for all. The Dollar Point amenities were outstading. The tennis courts were first class and the swimming facilities were enjoyed by several family members. Your photos of the property were very helpful in making our decision. We would indeed recommend this property to our friends. .
Dick Johnson, Santa Barbara CA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic house in a great location!

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2011

>The home was fantastic! Great location, remarkable kitchen, very well maintained, and perfect for our size group. I definitely got kudos from the entire group for finding such a gem at an affordable price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEAUTIFUL LUXURY HOME RIGHT BY THE LAKE!

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

We stayed here in July for boating, hiking, horseback riding, and great food in town at night- wonderful location right by the lake and super close to the beach! Our experience at this place was outstanding in every aspect. The home was as beautiful as or better than the pictures on the internet (rare case) and exceeded our expectations. The owners are exceptionally nice and helpful. The location is ideal for summer activities. We were able to enjoy the private tennis courts and pool as well. Spending a week at this place was one of the most relaxing and fun for the family experiences ever!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

HORRIBLE RENTAL!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: July 21, 2008   Date of arrival: June 26, 2008

First of all this house is not set up for renters and definitely not fit for children under the age of 10. The owners manage this rental and it shows. They have “stuff” (CD’s, magazines, papers, files, nick-knacks) crammed in corners, behind chairs and anywhere there is space behind furniture. From free weights left on the floor in the loft to prescription drugs left in the bathroom drawers, these people have not taken the time to make this house “renter” friendly. It is a nicely constructed home and spacious, however completely ruined by the lack of time the owners have put into decorating and cleaning it up for renters. Also there are rude computer print out signs everywhere in bold letters reminding renters not to use or put things back exactly the way they found them. Treating us like we are irresponsible teenagers! Which I can assure you, could not afford this home.
The biggest issue, however we had, is that there are two homes being built across the street. One of them is DIRECTLY across the street and the other is a few doors down. We were woken up EVERY day (except Sunday) between 6:30 – 7 am!!!! The owners never warned us about the construction and when we requested one nights rent returned, they told us that the construction isn’t allowed to begin until 8am. Had we known that, we would have gone over and spoken to the construction team. Regardless workers began showing up between 6:30 – 7 am and were extremely loud. Also there were no less than 10 - 15 cars parked on both sides of the street and someone was always coming and going… We rented the house in early July and I would say that both houses under construction will not be finished for at least 3 – 4 mos.
We were extremely disappointed in our stay and have only pointed out the major issues we had, there were many more small problems we encountered as well. This house was expensive to rent per night and definitely NOT WORTH IT. DO NOT RENT THIS HOME!!!!
Call me if you want any more details –
Gracie, unsatisfied renter

Owners response: The condition of our home is excellent. Many guests love the home and return every year along with their small children. References from other guests are available on request. Most of this reviewer’s comments simply are not true. Almost every wall in the home is decorated with very expensive, large paintings. A lot of time and effort has been put into the décor with high-end mountain furniture and furnishings for a warm, homey feeling. The home is professionally cleaned every week. We have notes, magazines and books in the home which guests appreciate. In this approx. 5000 sf home, owner has one separate area 2’x4’ for personal file cabinet and private items on shelves. We do have CD jackets in the master suite stored behind a love seat until completion of a cabinet. Personal bathroom drawers are locked except the guest bath where owner has left shampoos, conditioners, first aid, etc. The exercise room has a few pieces of equipment and two sets of weights. We have parking for 6 cars on the premises. Two homes which were under construction are near completion, one across the street down to the lake and one down the street. These are not homes next to us. A few weeks ago they were addressing final finish work in the interiors. Little noise is heard and only intermittent. Work cannot begin until 8 am by County Ordinance and they leave early. Our home is also virtually new and extremely soundproof throughout.

Had we known these guests would be so destructive, we would not have rented our beautiful home to them. Besides giving the owner a check that was no good, they left the home in complete disarray, transformed one room into a nursery and left it that way, forced open a locked bathroom drawer, left food and spills all over the floors, cabinets and in furniture. Items were missing and they ruined a high-end comforter that will have to be replaced. If you would like more information, please email the owner or call us.

Helpful votes: 20 / 25

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review