reviews for: listing #72765 - St Simon's Island, Georgia Condo rental

Copacabana - a short stroll to village, pier & beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Harbour Oaks
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $145 - $210 /nt
    $875 - $975 /wk
    $1,695 - $2,495 /mth

sort by:

Awesome time beautiful property

Review submitted: August 29, 2014   Date of arrival: August 8, 2014

We had an awesome time! Fell in love with St. Simons Island. The condo was super clean had everything that we needed. We have 18 month old twin daughters and the property had childrens books DVDs and more very child friendly. Kids loved the pool and we loved the short walk to the village in such a fabulous neighborhood. Property is close to all shopping, pier, restaurants and beaches. The manager Sabrina was very helpful with all of the details. We will definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Getaway

Review submitted: August 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

Actually,this was my third stay at this condo. As always, we had a wonderful stay. The condo is in a great location - quiet but close enough to everything so it was easy to go. The condo is very comfortable and well-equipped. The furnishings are up-to-date. The rent is also very reasonable. We will plan to visit again. St. Simons is one of my favorite places to go, and this condo makes the stay great. I also like the fact that the condo is on one level. Al our age, we don't do stairs very well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Harbour Oaks Condo

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

We were very comfortable here-a great place for children. The owner was flexible about time spent and very helpful.
Condo is clean and up to date as far as kitchen, etc. Laundry was great to have and we enjoyed the beach items in the storage closet.
Thanks for all your help, Wendi.
Mike and Cathy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Atlantavacationer

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

I have been vacationing in St Simmons for a about 15 years. This condo is a very short walk to the restaurants and the pier. It’s a great floor plan with all necessary amenities. Very clean, quiet and conveniently located, makes this place an easy choice. Enjoy…

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2 month snowbirds

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Snowbirds in 80s w/small dog spent Jan/Mar. Weather was very good; no rain until end of Feb. Unit is convenient, ground floor for elder people. It is quiet due to good carpeting/padding upstairs, where there were tenants the full time. For one week there were 6 adults & 2 big dogs, but we barely heard them ever. They & other neighbors were very nice. Location is pleasant & close to carport & mailboxes. We had to buy mailbox lock change to get keys for our forwarded mail. The 1/2 mile of perimeter road is a nice walk. We were a close walk to park, Village & beach @ low tide. The unit is roomy, has lots of daylight, & well laid out for privacy. Everything worked except the fireplace. TV/cable/DVD/wi-fi/phone is more than adequate. The small/one-person kitchen is well equipped, albeit the small microwave & noisy frig. The cabinet doors are all askew. The walk-in showers are nice but it would be useful to have one tub for old-back soaking. The master ensuite bath is too cramped. The pillow-top mattresses are not as comfortable as hotel-firm for long stays. The seating is also uncomfortable for seniors on long stay. The patio chairs are the best seating available. The chaise is a challenge for old-timers to get in & out of and then with a sore back. The lighting is very poor for cards, games, puzzles & reading. All of the furnishings, equipment, linens, and appointments are on the very cheap side. Had to glue the computer desk chair; it was falling apart. The slider & a window or 2 don't lock. At least one window doesn't open. The carpeting needs replacing & the paint is overdue too. The tennis courts are right out the windows, but not used much in our stay (it could get noisy). The overall gated site is not being maintained well, but we would go back to a more suitable unit for long-stay seniors. This unit would have to be upgraded substantially to appeal to our needs. It might suit younger, sturdier people or short-time stayers. Obviously, the write-up above is not current or descriptive enough to disclose the unit's shortcomings & need for a complete overhaul to accomadate long stays.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Christmas vacation!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Harbour Oaks! The condo was not directly on the beach, however, the beach was a short and enjoyable walk away.The property provided enjoyable areas to walk and walk our dogs. The pool was not an option, as we were there in December, but it looked well maintained. There were tennis courts and a gym for workouts. Many delicious restaurants were very close by and we walked when weather permitted. The Crab Shack was our favorite seafood restaurant, but there were several delicious places along the walk to the pier. 2 playgrounds bordered the boardwalk and my granddaughter had a wonderful time on the swings and slides. St. Simons is very pet friendly and we could sit on the restaurant veranda while the pups enjoyed a cool drink provided by management. The condo had three spacious bedrooms and 2 baths. It was ground floor, making it easily accessible to anyone. The kitchen, a little small, still had enough room to make a Christmas dinner. We can't wait to visit again!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful condo!

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Wendi's condo is fantastic: very clean and spacious. Would comfortably suit 2 families (2 queen size bedrooms and a room with a bunk bed). It is about a 15 minute walk to the beach, and centrally located near the downtown area. The gated community always has a couple extra parking spaces! It's a ground floor condo, which is convenient, and the area has a lot of trees. Wonderful for the GA/FL weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful condo!

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Wendi's condo is fantastic: very clean and spacious. Would comfortably suit 2 families (2 queen size bedrooms and a room with a bunk bed). It is about a 15 minute walk to the beach, and centrally located near the downtown area. The gated community always has a couple extra parking spaces! It's a ground floor condo, which is convenient, and the area has a lot of trees. Wonderful for the GA/FL weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Georgia-Florida Game Weekend

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We came down with another couple for the Georgia-Florida game and had a wonderful weekend! There was plenty of room for everyone and the condo had everything! Just down the street (a short walk) to the boardwalk and downtown shops. The condo was also perfectly situated for easy access to grocery stores and lots of great restaurants. We will definitely be visiting again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Copacaban

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Long trip from Pennsylvania, enjoyed the relaxation and the close proximity to the pool. The short walk to the pier and village was convenient. The weather was perfect in the mid-90's with only one day above 100. A would recommend this condo to family with teenagers or young children. Didn't go to many restaurants but for seafood lovers you'll have many choices. The size of the condo was adequate for our party of 5.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

What a great place!!!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

This condo was absolutely perfect for our family vacation! Everything was so clean and neat, furniture was comfortable and had plenty of seating, just like a home away from home. The pictures on the website are exactly what the condo looks like, no surprises! Owner was very pleasant to work with and answered all questions and made sure our stay went smoothly.
Beds were extremely comfortable and kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. Loved how close the pool was to the unit and loved having access to beach chairs, cart, umbrella, etc. so that we didn't have to bring all of that with us from home. Unit was close to everything and within walking distance to shops,restaurants and the pier. Will definitely stay here again!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Harbor Oaks

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

The codo was wonderful. Convient to walk to the village, easy drive to beach. It was easy to reach the owner for any questions or needs. I highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Copacabana

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

Great Vacation getaway place. Owner is super kind and easy to work with. HIGHLY recommend COPACABANA to anyone planning a vacation to St. Simons Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect family retreat

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We are a family of 4 (2 adults 2 children. We invited my parents to join us for Thanksgiving and to visit St. Simons. Copacabana was the perfect retreat for our holiday. The furnishings were up to date and very comfortable. The 3 bedrooms were the perfect size for us. The kitchen is very accomodating in supplies that we needed. The closeness to the pool and tennis courts were wonderful. We enjoyed the gated complex area with safe bike riding for our younger children. The complex is very close to the village and easy to bike around the island. A definite return for us!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Exactly what's shown

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We booked this condo online and it was exactly what was advertised. It was clean, the perfect size for our family (6 adults, 3 kids, 2 babies), very well furnished and we enjoyed it very much. It is close to everything but father enough away should you want it that way. I would recommend this condo to anyone that wants a place to stay while visiting St. Simon's Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Vacationer's Dream

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

Copacabana was the perfect place for our vacation this year! Easy access to the downstairs unit with parking right outside the front door made loading and unloading a snap. The unit was nicely arranged, beautifully decorated, and exceptionally clean. Everything in the unit looked new. The master suite was separated from the other two bedrooms which allowed privacy. New appliances, hardwood floors in the living area, and a laundry room were very much appreciated! We particularly enjoyed being close to the tennis court, pool, exercise room, and pond. The circular, gated community was great for taking quiet walks or riding bikes. The village, beach, lighthouse, and restaurants were close enough to walk or ride bikes, and we loved all the historical sites. We had a dream of a vacation and are looking forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Ideal for Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

We stayed in this terrific condo for our family vacation with our 16 month old child. It was ideal because it is located on the first floor (no hauling stuff up and down stairs), it has a great baby pool on the premises, and is very close to the downtown area so we could ride our bikes with baby in tow to the nearby playground, beach, and water park. The decor is absolutely lovely without being too fussy (and therefore we did not have to worry too much about spills/breaking things). The place is very well stocked with supplies and the DVD / book selection is excellent (including a few books/toys for our little one). The other major advantages were 1). having a washing machine/dryer on hand to avoid taking back loads of dirty laundry! 2). Storage shed for storing beach gear to avoid getting sand everywhere 3). covered parking so our car did not get overheated 4). secure premises so you can relax and walk around to see the ducks! We loved our vacation to St. Simons and hope to stay at the Copacabana condo again in the future! Highly Recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacationer's Dream

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

Copacabana was the perfect place for our vacation this year! Easy access to the downstairs unit with parking right outside the front door made loading and unloading a snap. The unit was nicely arranged, beautifully decorated, and exceptionally clean. Everything in the unit looked new. The master suite was separated from the other two bedrooms which allowed privacy. New appliances, hardwood floors in the living area, and a laundry room were very much appreciated! We particularly enjoyed being close to the tennis court, pool, exercise room, and pond. The circular, gated community was great for taking quiet walks or riding bikes. The village, beach, lighthouse, and restaurants were close enough to walk or ride bikes, and we loved all the historical sites. We had a dream of a vacation and are looking forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We loved our stay at the Copacabana. This condo was exactly how it appears in the photos. It was very clean, with no stains and no odors of any kind. The towels were generous and fluffy. Lots of good beach reads available. The furniture was new and clean and very comfy.

Our favorite thing about the condo is its location. We could walk to the village; that's how close it is. Early morning stroll down to get coffee and take the kids to the new playground down the boardwalk at Neptune Park. The pool and beaches are very close. But frankly, we spent more time at the pool then at the beach. The pool at Neptune Park is very impressive with lots of activities for every kid. But the miniature golf there has no shade, so we didn't attempt that (there's another miniature golf place at Jekyll Island that looked very fun). But definitely check out Neptune Park pool - it's very reasonable ($7 all day pass). Though we stayed for a week, we still didn't get through all the shops in the Village. We had lots of fun shopping in the toy shops and visiting the ice cream/candy shop every day. The village also has lots of great restaurants. We did plenty of cooking for a crowd and got groceries from the nearby Winn Dixie, which is very easy to find. The park that's on the way as we were walking from the condo to the Village is beautiful. The live oaks and the hanging moss make for lovely pictures. We did kayak trips (go to the Southern Adventure store in the village to make reservations) through the marshes to hear all about the Bloody Marsh battle from the Civil War. Christ Church and Fort Frederica were big hits and a 10-minute drive from the condo. We all loved climbing the lighthouse and touring the old lighthouse tender's house. All of these were doable even with a young child and older kids because we could stop at any time we got tired and head back to the condo. The most fun? Renting a 6-person surrey with a fringe on top and bicycling all over Jekyll Island. Hilarious!

The owner of this condo is very responsive and keeps the place clean and well-stocked. We played tennis every evening; courts are right next to the condo. The property is very quiet. We will definitely be coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

July getaway

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

My vacation was fantastic and much longer overdue than I’d realized. What a great place! We spent every day at the beach at Massengale Park. Visited the pool a couple of times (it’s very convenient), went to the pier, saw dolphins everyday out in the water, I read TWO books, my parents each read a book (can’t ever recall seeing THAT happen), visited the lighthouse, my parents walked to the village on the cooler nights. They needed the vacation as much as I did—my grandmother has moved in w/ them and it’s been very stressful. She did not come with them—they needed to get away—so it was just 5 of us. The weather was fantastic—hot but very dry at the beginning of the week and some spectacular afternoon t-storms the last 2 days there. Purchased 2 hermit crabs at “Beach Bum” and released the 2 ‘water hermit crabs’ we’d caught. Visited the sea turtle center and went on a turtle walk one night on Jekyll Island--no turtle crawls were seen but it was still fun and informative. We ate at Barbara Jean's twice and had some fantastic pizza at CJ’s. The boys (including my dad) had a blast swimming and riding boogie boards and digging in the sand. They even read books, too. We drove around the island exploring and looking at the houses. Everything was absolutely wonderful! It’s really an easy drive there from Stone Mountain area, too. Interstate almost the entire way. I love the Golden Isles. Next time, I’m going to visit Cumberland Is while I’m there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review