reviews for: listing #72859 - Estes Park, Colorado House rental

Rocky Mountain Splendor
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $159 - $259 /nt

sort by:

Best place for a large group to stay near RMNP

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Excellent facilities and location between Estas and entrance to the park. Charming bedrooms and 2 baths were excellent. Great place for families to spread out and large table for everyone to eat together. Fantastic views!!! Ceiling fan really helped during hot spell when we were there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Estes is the bestest

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

Our stay in Estes began with checking into this large, casual mountain home. Each of us was able to have our own room in which to sleep! My husband and I enjoyed a large master bedroom. Our kids liked the cool basement. My mother was able to have a room away from the kitchen and the kids' rooms. The neighborhood was quiet. Our kids were frustrated that the internet was not strong and the password didn't work, BUT that's not what we were there for anyhow.

Our view of the mountains was spectacular! Snow-capped peaks were right outside the door. We used the car to get around town, yet you could pick up the free shuttle just a short walk from the place.

There were adequate amounts of pots, pans and dishes. Towels and blankets were abundant. We suggest if you rent this home and plan on cooking a lot, bring at least one big mixing bowl, extra hand towels, extra wash cloths, and maybe a large baking dish. We cooked some great meals and were able to enjoy them on a very large dining table with extra leaves for lots of people to sit.

The two nice outdoor decks offer views and relaxation...as did the large jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace in the master bath!

Our only major concern was that the refrigerator was slow to cool and our fresh food initially got warm. We are guessing the last occupant took the directions to shut off appliances far too literally and turned off the refrigerator.

If you plan on using the gas barbeque, ensure that the tank is full enough for your needs. We used it twice and noticed that the tank's level was nearing empty.

We enjoyed our stay and would rent this property again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Not quite what expected

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Very clean inside and a great view, but 2 of the 4 bedrooms are unusable. They are in the basement which was a little moldy, dark, cramped and had an outside door that left security worries. The only 2 bathrooms were side-by-side and a long walk from all but one bedroom, especially if you were in the basement. There were very few window curtains or shades so not much privacy from the neighbors and lots of sun early in the morning. There was trash scattered through the back yard when we arrived, and although we picked it up and left the house clean, they still charged us twice the quoted "normal" cleaning fee. When I tried to reach the renting agent about this, he does not return my emails. I wouldn't recommend this house to friends - there are too many other places to stay in Estes Park.

Owners response: Linda,

I apologize for being unavailable due to a death in my family. I have responded to hundreds of rental inquiries by phone & email & never received either from you.

The cleaning quote is always between $100-150 on a home such as this one. It has over five sleeping areas, linens, towels etc.
The home dies have 2 just below ground bedrooms which have been used by many dozens of people without any complaint.

The price you paid was well below the normal rate.

Any trash on the ground usually occurs immediately after the wildlife (bears/raccoons etc) tear through trash left out by humans. I never observed the trash referred to therefore I cannot make any assumptions.

I am sorry for your displeasure & can honestly say that you are the first complaint out of hundreds of visitors we have had.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow ! Great location & a big home to enjoy

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

This home was perfect for our family's enjoyable visit to the Rockies. We fished close to home and were able to get into the National Park in minutes.

The home had it all, large, location & clean.

Thanks & we will be back...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best of the Rockies

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2010

This home was wonderful. Everything was just right. The deck & barbeque, the views & all the space. It is very close to the National Park & downtown Estes Park. Fishing is also nearby.

We will return again.

Prices are very reasonable. $169 per night for a nice home that sleeps 8-10 people, incredible!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review