reviews for: listing #72874 - Ko Olina, Hawaii House rental

Affordable 2 Bedroom Family Vacation on the 9th Floor/Ocean
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Ko Olina Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $500 /nt
    $2,150 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. This is a perfect location for a family reunion. Great condo, great swimming pool and great access to the lagoon. Would take the family there again. We had the three bedroom unit across the hall and another three bedroom unit on the 8th floor. Plenty of room for all 20 of us to spread out but also plenty of room to get together for meals. Couldn't be more pleased with our stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This villa was an absolute dream for my family and I. We have a 7 year old and a 10 year old son and the accommodations could not have worked better for us! The location is perfect- a 5 minute drive to any and all conveniences you might need (from AMAZING local food at En Fuego down to mainland staples Wal Mart and Target) and an easy walk to everything- pool, beach/ocean, luau, restaurants. Truth be told we didn't eat at a single restaurant in Ko Olina because we didn't have to! The full kitchen was divine and saved us a mint! The view was exceptional and we spent almost all of our time in the villa on the lanai. The assortment of beach and pool toys was amazing, as well, and led to many a fabulous afternoon spent at both the beach and the pools. We will stay here next time we go and refer this on to everyone we know. It really is a bargain, comparatively speaking- five star hotel quality with the comforts of home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful resort !

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The Ko Olina beach resort is beautiful, nice view, nice pools, well maintenance and nice landscape. It has 3 pools. One for adult, 1 mix for adult and kid and 1 sand pool for kid. The staff are friendly, efficient, and helpful. The room is imaging. It is very nice decoration inside. Very nice kitchen if you like to cook ( like me). I really like the sink in the kitchen. It has the cutting board set up right on top of the sink. It has beach towel, surf board, beach mat, beach chair, snorkel equipped,and beach toys for kid...in the room that you can use and bring back. The beach is beautiful. I had nice walk every day when I was there. I saw the Hawaiian seal at the lagoon the end of the JW Marriott hotel. You can snorkeling right at the lagoon in front of the resort... many more good thing... I hope we will come back next year...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just Beautiful

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

This was by far one of my favourite holidays and it was made that much better by the accomodations. For the two weeks we were there it was like we were at home. Awesome kitchen with it's top notch appliances made eating in a wonderful experience. Sitting on the lanai with its breathtaking view of the ocean was everything promised. I can't wait to go back and stay there again. Two thumbs up!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best of both worlds

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

First of all, Ko'Olina is the best place to stay on Oahu. Secondly, the Ko'Olina Beach Villas is the best value for your money in Ko'Olina. This was our seventh time to Hawaii for vacation, and our first experience staying in a rental property. We've always stayed at resorts like JW Marriott Ihilani, Fairmont, and Grand Hyatt. The accommodations at the Ko'Olina Beach Villas are more luxurious than those resorts and a far greater value. Fantastic furnishings, full stainless steel kitchen, nice sized bedrooms, large bathrooms, washer and dryer, living room and dining room. We had unit 903 in the ocean tower; a 2 bedroom-2 bath, 1500 sqft, and a very large lanai. The entire lanai opened up into the kitchen and living room as if there were no wall between them. Two swimming pools (one "quiet" pool for the adults who wanted a little quiet time) and a lagoon style pool closer to the beach for fun in the sun with the family. The pools were not overcrowded! By comparison, we stayed at Hilton Hawaiian Village our last night on the island and you couldn't get into the pool for the amount of people already in there. Between the pools and the beach sits a nice private tiki bar where you can sit and watch the sunsets. This is inside the gate so the public cannot get to it. Ko'Olina Beach Villas is the best of both worlds. It has the resort feel with all of its amenities, is much more quiet, and it's gated providing much more privacy and that ownership feel. Because of the kitchen you can cook a lot of meals and eat right there on the lanai while watching the sunset every evening. There is also several well-maintained gas BBQ grills situated around the property. We cooked breakfast almost every morning, brewed our Kona coffee, and enjoyed the nice cool breeze coming in through the lanai. This greatly reduces the cost of being there. Anyone who has been to Hawaii knows that the cost of everything is inflated, and eating out for every meal can cost a fortune. The owner, Mike, was very gracious in answering our questions beforehand and the continued service we received throughout our stay was exceptional. He included a local greeting service that met us at the Beach Villas once we arrived on the island. They informed us of all we needed to know about the rental, the resort and much more. We cannot wait to return! TIP: Go to Safeway grocery store in Kapolei and sign up for their club card and buy groceries there. You’ll pay club prices!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best of both worlds

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

First of all, Ko'Olina is the best place to stay on Oahu. Secondly, the Ko'Olina Beach Villas is the best value for your money in Ko'Olina. This was our seventh time to Hawaii for vacation, and our first experience staying in a rental property. We've always stayed at resorts like JW Marriott Ihilani, Fairmont, and Grand Hyatt. The accommodations at the Ko'Olina Beach Villas are more luxurious than those resorts and a far greater value. Fantastic furnishings, full stainless steel kitchen, nice sized bedrooms, large bathrooms, washer and dryer, living room and dining room. We had unit 903 in the ocean tower; a 2 bedroom-2 bath, 1500 sqft, and a very large lanai. The entire lanai opened up into the kitchen and living room as if there were no wall between them. Two swimming pools (one "quiet" pool for the adults who wanted a little quiet time) and a lagoon style pool closer to the beach for fun in the sun with the whole family. The pools were not overcrowded! By comparison, we stayed at Hilton Hawaiian Village our last night on the island and you couldn't get into the pool for the amount of people already in there. Between the pools and the beach sits a nice private tiki bar where you can sit and watch the sunsets. This is inside the gate so the public cannot get to it. Ko'Olina Beach Villas is the best of both worlds. It has the resort feel with all of its amenities, is much more quiet, and it's gated providing much more privacy and that ownership feel. Because of the kitchen you can cook a lot of meals and eat right there on the lanai while watching the sunset every evening. There is also several well-maintained gas BBQ grills situated around the property. We cooked breakfast almost every morning, brewed our Kona coffee, and enjoyed the nice cool breeze coming in through the lanai. This greatly reduces the cost of being there. Anyone who has been to Hawaii knows that the cost of everything is inflated, and eating out for every meal can cost a fortune. The owner, Mike, was very gracious in answering our questions beforehand and the continued service we received throughout our stay was exceptional. He included a local greeting service that met us at the Beach Villas once we arrived on the island. They informed us of all we needed to know about the rental, the resort and much more. We cannot wait to return! TIP: Go to Safeway grocery store in Kapolei and sign up for their club card and buy groceries there. You’ll pay club prices!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful location and home!

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this condo. It was well-stocked and nicely appointed. It's perfect for families. And the location was amazing - with access to a great pool and the lagoons. Mike is great to work with and very responsive. Don't hesitate to book this place!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location and Luxury Condo!!!

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at this condo during the week of Thanksgiving. The condo and it's location was EVERYTHING we hoped it would be. The Ko'Olina area is wonderful with it's proximity to the airport and Pearl Harbor. However it's away from the crowds of Waikiki. The grounds were beautiful and the beaches were too. The peaceful setting was perfect for our family with young children. However if you're looking for nightlife, you should look somewhere else. The pool closes at 9pm and the staff does enforce the closing time.

The condo itself was wonderful as well. Top of the line luxury and fully stocked with all the cooking supplies and appliances you could need. The lanai was definitely the highlight and we had the door to the outside open at all times except when we were sleeping. They also had snorkel gear and beach toys for our use and that was a pleasant surprise as well. My oldest son slept on the couch during our stay. He didn't complain and said it was fairly comfortable, but it's definitely a bit of a tight squeeze for 5 people. Although the two bathrooms definitely made it do-able.

All in all I would HIGHLY recommend this location and this condo unit! We will DEFINITELY be coming back sometime in the future -- I hope!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

BEST VACATION EVER!!!!!

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

The condo is absolutely AMAZING. We could not have asked for anything more. My wife and I came for our wedding and stayed in the 2 bedroom condo and loved every minute of it. Our families and friends came to visit and everyone was jealous. We are already planning a return visit and everyone plans on staying at the Beach Villas.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation!!!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

LOVED this condo. Perfect location/home base for a trip to Oahu. We wanted something away from the craziness and traffic of Honolulu and KoOlina was the perfect spot. The Brown's 2 bedroom Villa was the perfect home away from home. Every luxury you want and need without the crowd and expense of a hotel. Very state of the art with the best appliances and amenities. You do need to rent a car, but you have an assigned underground parking space and a practically private elevator (the entire week we were there, we only saw 1 couple in our elevator!!) All we did was stop at Costco for food and wine and we were set. When we wanted to explore the island, we were not far from anything. The lagoon is wonderful with beautiful fish and sea turtles. We snorkeled every day! If you want any typical tourist experiences Disney Aulani is nearby, but not too close to be annoying. Definitely go there for shave ice. The area is mostly families and not a lot of night life, so if you want that, you need to travel to Honolulu which we did a couple of nights, but most nights we either ate in the condo or went to a casual local restaurant. So many wonderful things to do on Oahu when you want to and great relaxation when you just want to chill. Fabulous, prompt communication with the owner was another plus. We will definitely be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Accommodations, Great View!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this unit. The place was very well equipped and very modern. The lanai was our favorite spot. We had coffee in the morning and drinks at night out there. What a view. The pools and lagoons were awesome and the walking trails around the complex were great. My son is a runner and he took advantage of the paths quite a bit. We had 5 in our party and even though my daughter slept on the couch, we really had plenty of room. She did not mind sleeping there and it was comfortable enough for her. We enjoyed heading to the north shore for lunch one day. We stopped at Mackey's Shrimp Truck and it was awesome. We also headed to the east side of the island and saw many of the sights there. The location was great. We did not want the hustle and bustle of Honolulu nor Waikiki Beach, so Koolina was perfect for us. We had a wonderful time and hope we can get back there again one day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Week of R & R!

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This property is nothing short of spectacular. The Ko'Olina area of Oahu is a little-known gem (that will become more known due to the addition of the Disney Aulani) and the Ko'Olina Villas is the star of this area. With the child-safe lagoons right out front, the beautiful grounds with an amazing koi pond and wonderful pools, the development itself is perfect. Michael's condo in particular has a fantastic view, and the lanai is huge. When cooking in the kitchen, you feel like you are outdoors on the beach! The condo is extremely clean and has well-appointed features such as top-of-the-line appliances, huge showers, and a luxurious soaking tub. On top of that, the family-friendly touches such as snorkeling gear, boogie boards, skim boards, sand toys & beach chairs are such a bonus! No need to pack anything other than a few swimsuits & outfits! You really don't even need a car-- walk over to the nearby resorts for dinner or lunch, then walk back to this villa for peace & quiet & watch the sunset from the lanai! This was the most stress-free vacation we've had in a while-- Michael was so easy to work with and his greeting service on the island was very helpful & informative. The kids were happy & entertained with the pools and beaches, and they could even pop over to the Disney property to get a Mickey fix :) We were glad that we could enjoy this beautiful area without staying in a cramped hotel room with crowded resort pools! Thank you Michael for making this gorgeous condo available to us at such a reasonable price!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Break 2012

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful stay for 8 nights in this beautiful condo. We have two young kids and the setup worked perfectly for our family of 4 (bedrooms, 2 full baths, 1300 sqft.). The condo is beautiful, clean and has ultra-modern features. The open lanai from the living room is fantastic. We ate dinner outside almost every evening. The beach villas community is very quiet and well designed. The kids loved the pools, and the lagoon is perfect for beaching it and just steps away. The underground parking and the semi-private elavator direcetly to the unit made it so easy to come and go. Lagoon #2 is where it's at if you want a nice quiet beach, Lagoon #1 is a crowded mess due to the Dinsey property and the JW Marriott sharing it, Lagoon #3 is busy from the timeshares as well, so if you want a mellower vacation this is the place to be. We're already planning a trip back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

High end property in beautiful Ko'Olina steps from the beach

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Michael's apartment in Ko'Olina. This is a high end, 2 bedroom apartment with a comfortable king bed and two singles, which worked very well for our family of 4. This luxurious unit has a kitchen with a Wolf oven, wine fridge, sub zero fridge, and Fisher Paykel dishwashers. Not that everyone wants to cook on their holiday, but for those that do, this kitchen makes it easy!

The apartment looks out over the pool, well manicured grounds, and has a view of the ocean. The pools are great - a long lap pool, as well as a group of 3 pools with an area even for the youngest of kids. It is also close to lagoon 2, a safe beach and swimming area for young kids, and the quietest of the lagoons. Our 7 year old even got to watch a sea turtle snacking when he was snorkeling!

Picking up the keys was handy - Gabriela met us when we arrived, and walked us through the apartment, showing us everything we needed, even how to use the electric blinds for the lanai. The apartment was clean and very well maintained, and even had snorkelling equipment and beach toys to use (though we had brought our own).

We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Perfect Annual Vacation Spot

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

A wonderful month in the perfect location. We've rented at KoOlina Beach Villas before, but this condo has the best view over pool and out to lagoon. Mike was very attentive to all our needs and a delight to work with. The condo has everything you'll need from snorkle equipment to beach chairs. We're already planning our next trip and hope to stay in one of Mike's beautiful condo's again. Walk over to Marriott or Disney next door for a restaurant and than return to the peace and quiet of your own piece of paradise!
Mohalo

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic 5 star+ apartment

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

This is an absolutely wonderful modern apartment equiped with everything a family could need. My daughter was very excited to find a TV in the 2nd bedroom. The villa has magnificent unimpeded views of the ocean and we enjoyed lovely sunsets at night. This complex is great - the lagoons out front are just stunning and the property has very nice swimming pools. The lagoon pool provided plenty of interest for my 8 year old daughter. The location of Ko Olina is also fabulous as it is so close to the Freeway which makes trips anywhere a breeze. We found this location a fabulous base to sightsee the entire island although I must say that the 4 lagoons at Ko Olina were hard to beat.
Michael is great to deal with - very professional with great communication and the greeting service was awesome when we had a late arrival in the dark. I think this property was outstanding value for money.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Gorgeous and Everything You Expect

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying two weeks in Mike's unit in August. The unit has one of the best views in the building...wake up in the morning, sit on the balcony and it's the ocean and pools. even the views of the mountains and golf course are gorgeous from both bedrooms. Unit is clean and Mike even has a rice cooker...how handy is that for those who love eating rice! Mike was just a gem to deal with--efficient, quick to reply, trustworthy, and very accomodating. we know we will definitely be returning to Mike's unit next time we are in Oahu.
My only wish was that the 2 twnb in the 2nd bedroom can be combined into a king size bed and the coffee maker is not a one cupper machine. hey, when you are in "paradise" who sweats about little things like that! thanks so so much for sharing your "paradise" with our family!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Destination

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the villa with our two young adult daughters. The villa was beautiful and very comfortable with everything you could possibly need. We really loved the view from the lanai of the ocean and the grounds as well as the convenient elevator that takes you directly to your room. We did our shopping at Target and Safeway in nearby Kapolei and walked to the restaurant at the Marriott next to the property for several meals.This was one of our best family vacations ever and would recommend it to other family members as well. The owner was extremely helpful and always prompt in communicating with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Wow - we could not have found a better place to spend our vacation. Not wanting to be in crowded Waikiki, we looked all over the island. Ko' Olina was suggested by a friend from the island. If you want relaxation, beach and/or pool time then this is the place for you. The condo itself is perfectly maintained and the owner is always quick to respond with any questions you might have before and during your stay. I would recommend a car as there are minimal restaurants within walking distance and the closest market has really high prices. Just a few miles away in Kapolei there is shopping/groceries etc... You are perfectly situated for island adventuring. Everything is 45 minutes away at most and Honolulu is easily accessible by car or even a ferry that is close to the condo.

We will certainly return and stay in this fabulous place

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

Beautiful property, great view, comfortable beds and perfect for our family vacation. The front desk staff were very helpful and the owner was quick to respond to all our questions. I will recommend to friends!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay for families.

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

I stayed at this incredible villa at Ko Olina for the first week in March and it was amazing. The villa was beyond my expectations and the facilties at the resort were very clean and taken care of. The beach was probably the best on the entire island for my family. Since I have two small children the lagoon at the beach made it very safe for our kids. The pool was also great and we enjoyed every minute of it. The villa had everything you needed for your stay and the best part of the villa was the open lanai with the ocean view. The resort does not have any restaurants but just a short walk away you can go next door and eat. The owner Mike made the booking easy and once we arrived our personal greeter, Eric was waiting for us and took us up to the villa. Eric explained all of the necessary things for our stay in the villa and the resort. Great week in paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

Stayed here with our 3-year old post-Christmas 2010, into the New Year (we loved it so much we even considered extending the trip!). Everything is top notch in this place, as is the overall resort - views are amazing - complex is amazing and very kid friendly - enough to do within walking distance with a great seawall walk (access to a couple hotels plus a market for supplies and a great Mexican resturant) and Waikiki is a short drive if you want some action. Open the lanai doors and just sit out and enjoy the view... and relax.... and great sunsets too! We will definitely return. (oh and owner was quick to reply and good to deal with as well)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

none

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We spent Thanksgiving week here with a family of 4. I must say that this exceeded my expectations by a long shot. The villa and the whole complex were very beautiful, private and very secure. The villa has a fabulous view of the ocean and we spent much of our time on the lanai watching the sunset. The villa has everything we needed to be very comfortable. We spent many days just swimming, snorkeling and sitting on the beach at the lagoon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

WOW!

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

Spent two weeks. First class. Absolutely best vacation we've had as family. Great staff. Beautiful condo with great views. Kids enjoyed. Lagoons great. Very good restaurants close by. Nice golf course. Better appliances than at my house. Stunning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

KoOlina - Place of Joy!!

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

Our family of four had a memorable week here. The condo is luxurious with a killer ocean view & a kitchen to die for. The owners are wonderful as is the staff at the resort. The lagoons in front of the resort make for a very enjoyable & safe swimming in the ocean. Definitely a place to return to!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review