reviews for: listing #72889 - Fort Lauderdale, Florida Studio rental

Ocean View Efficiency On The Beach at Ocean Manor
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $90 - $150 /nt
    $600 - $1,100 /wk
    $2,000 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Summer family reunion at Fort Lauderdale

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

I stayed for a week at this apt. Both Jerry and Elizabeth were very helpful. I loved the ocean view and the sound of the waves from the balcony. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The small kitchen was good for breakfasts, snacks, or a quick lunch. The Winn Dixie is very close and convenient. I used the valet parking and it worked well.
I will definitely stay again here when I return to Fort Lauderdale.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for your vacation

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I rented this condo for our vacation in Fort Lauderdale and we absolutely loved our stay. Prior to even arriving, the owner and his property manager, Elizabeth, were pleasant and great at communicating with me. For me, that is really important and was appreciated.
The condo was a great find. It has a balcony that overlooks the beach and the pool, so you can enjoy a drink or have a quiet breakfast at your room and listen to the ocean without having to get ready and dressed to go out. The balcony was the biggest draw for me and was definitely enjoyed during our stay.
The private beach behind the condo was very clean. There is a section roped off for chairs and umbrellas that you can rent from a beach attendant but also a section where you can have your own chairs and we were actually able to bring down a small cooler to that section of the beach. The water was crystal clear and warm...and most importantly clean and not crawling with people since it is a private beach area.
There is a valet parking service at the building for $8/day. Across the road, though, is a parking lot for the onsite restaurant and bar. We chose to park there instead of the valet just to be able to access our car more quickly. It is nice to have both options.
The condo itself was cute and in good order. The efficiency kitchen was handy to have. There is a Winn Dixie just down the way to snag drinks, snacks, etc to keep in the room.
I would highly recommend this condo to anyone who is looking for a laid back stay in South Florida.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Manor on the beach at Ft. Lauderdale

Review submitted: April 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 2, 2014

This was the perfect place for us to stay prior to our cruise. We walked the beach everyday, and enjoyed the ocean and pool view from our room. The pool and Tiki bar were very nice. Lots of shopping close by, and although a rental car is not necessary, if you have one the valet parking is cheap ($8/day) and efficient. The condo was clean and comfortable, and the daily rate is excellent for the location. Jerry was a pleasure to deal with, and Elizabeth was there if we needed anything. We'll be back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation at Oceanmanor

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

Nice place for my wife & I. Loved the tiki bar good food friendly bar tenders.
Did not appreciate the guys getting bags while going out to pool,we spent enought money already,if we wanted to bring down a alcoholic beverage they would not let us pass. First place I have ever been to like that. Other than that inconvenience all was pretty good.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Florida Vacation

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

Very nice and clean Efficiency, great for the price ! We had a fabulous time at the Tiki Bar and just laying out on the beach, also view from the room was gorgeous. We loved getting up early to watch the sunrise on the balcony. All in all a very nice place and would recommend it to couples or small families. Also close to shopping and transportation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Location!

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

Wow, what a great place and fantastic location. This apartment is right on the beach. It's very clean and has all the comforts of home. I spent a lot of time sitting on the spacious balcony watching the water. There is a grocery store right across the street with places to eat close by. I ate at the tiki bar in the building several times. The prices were very reasonable and the food was excellent. There is a nice pool and even yoga on the beach every morning.

Staff in the building were very helpful and friendly. I didn't rent a car since everything was close by. There is even a car service that will take you to the airport.
I would definitely go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

This efficiency studio is perfect and in good condition! It has anything that you may potentially need - comfy bed(s), tiny kitchenette, nice bathroom. Based on posted pictures you may consider it tiny, but for a couple or even a small family there is more than enough room. But the best is its location - it is right on the beach and the view is breathtaking!

You have an access to a very nice pool and tiki bar is just short elevator ride from your door. Drinks are little pricey, but they are to die for. Food is very good, fresh, reasonably priced! It may get little crowded in the evening, especially on the weekends, however thick balcony door ensure, that inside the unit is very quiet.

Winn Dixie supermarket, liquor store, pharmacy, post office, places to eat are in very close proximity. Walking distance to Water Taxi (highly recommended!). Valet parking (24/7) is great and only $5/day - this price is a steal compared to oceanfront hotels in the area. You can easily rent some beach equipment and beach activities (jet ski etc.) are nearby. Once you get there and if you do not plan to go anywhere exploring - you don't really need a vehicle, everything is there for you. However I strongly recommend to have one to drive around and see the area.

Owner is great. Very communicating person, responds to you and answers all of your questions very promptly. The entire rental process was fast, very easy and hassle free from the beginning to the end. I have rented private apartments in many different places across the U.S. - this was, no doubt, one of the best experiences I had. Security deposit was mailed back extremely fast.

Property manager Elizabeth - she is such a great person! We had a chance to meet her personally - she makes you feel like home and will help you with anything you may potentially need, whether it is an apartment related issue/question or area/where to go type of question. She is there for you, will stay in touch with you to ensure you feel comfortable and accommodate any of your potential requests. Truly genuine, warm and great to talk to person.

Jerry, Mary Ann, Elizabeth - thank you for making our vacation restful and memorable. We are already planning to be back and we can't imagine to go and rent anywhere else!

If you will be looking for some not expensive place to stay in Fort Lauderdale, and especially if you will be undecided between couple of places in the area - do not hesitate and choose this one and this owner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ocean Manor Apartment Direct Ocean View

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

This apartment was great! The huge balcony was a big plus. Room was nice and clean. Elizabeth was very friendly. Whenever we called her, she always picked up and always helped out. The big doors kept out any kind of noise. I recommend this apartment to anyone. The ocean view was gorgeous! If we go to Ft. Lauderdale sometime, we will definitely contact Jerry. Jerry was very nice, always responding to emails and questions. If you don't have a car, that is ok because everything is so close. Like a 5 minute walk to a grocery store and Dunkin Donuts. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Anniversary celebration

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

The room was a perfect home away from home. The pictures do not lie, the view is absolutely beautiful and makes for a romantic backdrop for a nice intimate dinner on the terrace while at the same time keeping you informed of what going on downstairs such as the night they had a guitarist playing downstairs at the Tiki bar. The location is AMAZING! Everything you need is a quick walk away. There is a NY style deli that we fell in love with that serves that NY breakfast that we remember from back home. About a mile and a half up the road is 'The Square" with all sorts of restaurants and shops along the beach. "Athena's" has EXCELLENT food and service. Jerry was a pleasure to talk to and arrange things with. Elizabeth is warm and genuine, providing us with everything we needed to enjoy our relaxing weekend. We will be returning customers and recommend that you check this out! Thank Jerry!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Unit, Location, and Value

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

This unit is in a great location with a great view. This is one of only two short term rental properties/buildings on Galt Ocean Mile available with ocean views, and at a great rate. Walking distance to grocery, many restaurants, shopping, and the water taxi pick up at Shooters.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Condo - Great Location

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

Great get away for a few days. The condo is updated and very clean and Jerry/Elizabeth were both very accommodating during the whole rental experience from beginning to end.

The Ocean Manor Resort is in a great location. There is a CVS, Winn Dixie, Dunkin Donuts, and McDonalds all within a 5 minute walking distance. The Hotel is also the only resort on this particular stretch of beach with a bar/restaurant which is very convenient. Also, the resort is about a 20 minute walk to the Water Taxi from the Resort that takes you all over Fort Lauderdale. The Resort is also probably suited for the younger crowd.

Lesson learned, if you are planning on going to this area, rent a car at the airport. The Hotel charges a minimum of $45 for a cab ride to the airport, and Enterprise (closest car rental location) charges $50 for a return fee to the airport.

Overall, a great trip and well kept condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best deal in Lauderdale

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

We have been staying in Ft Lauderdale for over 20 years since our Father moved there and can tell you with experience Jerry's units are clean ,updated and the best place to stay for the money. My sister rented from Jerry year and had the same experience. The hotel it's self could use some updating but the Tiki bar is fun with service on the beach and pool and has an upscale restraunt in the lobby. The location is great you are walking distance to grocery store, liquor store Great restraunts and bars. If your staying in north Ft Lauderdale give Jerry a call.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome condo in Ft. Lauderdale

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this condo for 3 nights and had a great time!! The condo is easy to get to, has affordable valet and self park options, and is in a great building with a coffee shop, sushi restaurant, and tiki bar/grill. The unit itself is clean, nice, and has a great view!! Beds were comfy, bathroom and kitchenette worked perfectly, balcony was nice. Jerry, the property owner was easy to work with and upheld his end of the contract without any issues. Elizabeth, the local property manager, is a sweetheart who is available to help you with anything you need. We had a great time relaxing on the beach during the day and eating and drinking at some cool local places at night. I would definitely reccoment the condo for anyone looking for a nice little get away!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great location/perfect studio

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

The condo was in a great location. Loved the beach/pool view from our balcony. It was a perfect studio for 2 people, even with 2 beds. Loved that we also had a small kitchen, made it more convenient for us. The owner was also great with us, very accomodating. For the price that we received per night was perfect for our budget. Although the Spring Breakers were there, the sliding doors on the balcony kept the noise out at night which was a plus! The shower could be a bit cleaner, but it wasn't bad I chose to wear my flip-flops while showering. Overall, we would stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

birthday weekend

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

From the time of contacting the owner till the time of departure, this was an amazing time. Elizabeth contacting me before arriving and during and making herself available if we needed was great. The room was very clean, ocean view amazing. I can only say good things about this trip and the room itself. Will definitely go back. The tiki bar is just great!!! food was great, and Tokyo Blue was great for sushi. If you don't want to leave you don't have to, everything is right there for you. Grocery store within walking distance, bank of america across the street. very very nice.......

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EXACTLY what we needed

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

We stayed here for a 2 day girls weekend, and it was exactly what we needed. The room overlooks the pool and private beach directly behind it, and you will catch some beautiful sunrises there. In addition to a nice pool and beach, the hotel has multiple restaurants and a great pool side cafe that made it easy for us to spend all day outside and never have to leave the hotel. The efficiency itself is in great shape. Owners are great, communicative and helpful. We were able to walk about 15 minutes to the water taxi as well, which was a favorite part of the trip! I'd recommend this place to anybody.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

don't pay for a hotel!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

this efficiency in the Ocean Manor resort was a steal compared to name-brand hotels in the Fort Lauderdale area. it is right on the beach, as advertised, with the added bonus of a very nice (if pricey) sushi restaurant in the building and a bar/restaurant on the beach. it's true that the space in the room is very tight, but with a balcony overlooking the water and of course all the outdoor attractions, who stays inside? wireless internet was not available, but the owner was able to lend us a router for the room. the cooktop is useful for canned soup or oatmeal, but don't expect to do much cooking otherwise. Winn Dixie, McDonald's, CVS and some other shops within walking distance. all in all, a good value for a good trip.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

better than a hotel

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

Nice accommodations right on the water with good views of the ocean. We liked having the kitchenette for lunch and breakfast. The bed was comfortable and while the building is showing signs of aging the room itself was clean and nicely appointed. The only down side is that the room itself was fairly small, and the bed took up most of the available space. We were lucky to have nice weather as the only place to sit an eat was on the balcony.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good time

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

Very clean and relaxing, good place to stay with very nice price.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very good value

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

The property was clean and is a very good value. I liked the balcony overlooking the ocean. The Tiki bar was fun. The pool was almost always empty.

It was close to Lauderdale by the Sea which has free live bands on weekends. Very nice.

The communication with the owner was very good. The security deposit was returned very quickly

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review