reviews for: listing #7291 - Sunday River, Maine House rental

Ski & Golf Estate w/ Cinema, Pool, Spa, Arcade
  • bedrooms  9
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  8
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Mahoosuc Glen
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $950 - $1,900 /nt
    $5,000 - $14,000 /wk

sort by:

Quite a Memorable Experience!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

A group of 8 couples recently stayed for the weekend at Glen House in celebration of a 40th birthday. We were all beyond impressed by the amazing house, endless amenities and beautiful surroundings. We took advantage of it all- hot tubs, steam rooms, sauna, firepit, movie theatre, video games, basketball hoop- we felt like kids at an amusement park! We also took advantage of the gourmet kitchens, cooking and grilling delicious meals. One of the best spots was the sun filled deck overlooking the pristine golf course. This was an unforgettable place and we are still talking about it. We have already decided we would be celebrating here each year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house for a large group

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

We loved our stay at The Glen House. Stunning views and many amenities. Easy access to Sunday River.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time!

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

Great house! A group of friends rented it and we had a fantastic time. It's perfect for family gatherings, weddings or for friends' weekend. It provides something for everyone from lounging to easy access to the slopes (it's a short car ride away). Additionally, the care takers are great -- we had a couple of issues with the cable and the jacuzzi and it was taken care of within hours. Would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Never Have To Leave Glen House

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

I found the Glen House online after lengthy searching for a rental property in the US that had a pool and was large enough for our family (16 of us) vacation. I was a little leary at first about renting sight unseen from an individual but the property was just like it was advertised and the owners were very responsive through the entire process and our stay. The house is wonderful and is finished and furnished with high quality amenities. And popcorn, spices, coffee, detergent, etc. is all provided for you. The owners provide a comprehensive list of activities, etc. in the area, but it was hard to leave the house since there is so much to do onsite (however, we were glad we took the owners' "must do" recommendation to Step Falls). While we ate in every night, we were surprised that there were so many restaurants in the area. For those with younger children, the pool area is perfect as it is fenced and gated from the lower yard and deck. The views from the deck are gorgeous, especially at dusk and with the gas fire pit. We would highly recommend this rental property to anyone as it is everything it appears to be online and more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Place

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

We had an amazing four days at the Glen House. The house had everything you wanted; super clean furnishings and bedding, a view, lots of space, movie theater, extras of everything, a bouncy castle (yes, a bouncy castle), a tree house, pool. We felt like kings. It was very close to downtown Bethel and everything you need was within 10 minutes (even in the off season we did just fine). The house was spotless and well maintained. They clearly care about this investment and it shows. As a vacation property owner on HomeAway, I now use the Glen House as my standard for what we strive to do for our guests. Great experience and thanks for making it a memorable trip.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our stay at the Glen House

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Glen House. The property is amazing, the views stunning, and overall just an outstanding experience. The gourmet kitchen with the large eat in was one of our favorite places to spend time together, enjoy the fireplace and the large floor to ceiling windows. The house was very clean, welcoming and well maintained. The owners were great about sending information about local events and activities. We are hoping to stay again and would definitely recommend the Glen House to friends and family.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You will feel spoiled!

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

The Glen House, it's grandeur and warmth, endless amenities and beauty inside and out, should not be missed.
We have rented many properties around the country and have put this house on the top of our favorites list. I could not have found a more perfect setting to entertain 13 family and friends or enjoyed a more memorable 50th birthday celebration. We never had to leave the house, though those of us who enjoy photography could not pass up the area's natural beauty. The accommodations and amenities were appreciated and enjoyed by all in our party.
The home, surrounding mountains, and star filled night sky wash all the cares of the day away and lull you into relaxation that vacation dreams are made of. We are looking forward to our next stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Stars all the way!

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

Amazing and luxurious house chuck filled with every amenity you can think of. The steam shower is very relaxing and therapeutic.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a great multi family getaway at the Glen House!

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

The Glen house more than lived up to our expectations for a long weekend of skiing with friends at Sunday River. The house was simply spectacular. Plenty of room for everyone, two beautiful well appointed kitchens, a movie theatre, hot tubs and more. We skied all day, came home to the Glen house, made a wonderful group dinner and the kids went sledding outside then they cozied up to a great movie to cap the night. It was a win/win for everyone. The entire group agreed that staying at the Glen house was a special experience. it's obvious the owners take great pride in this home. it is amazing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Small Company Holiday Party Weekend

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

Celebrating our new company's first annual holiday party at the Glen House was the perfect way to celebrate a great year. The house is beautiful and has plenty to entertain with. Without fail, everyone said it was the best holiday party they'd ever been to. And we're all looking forward to repeating next year! Thanks Gretchen for renting your beautiful, unique and thoroughly enjoyable house to us. Can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Glen House Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Our family spent Thanksgiving at the Glen House this year. It was magnificent. The house and ameneties are beautiful. There were 23 of us and we never felt crowded. The kitchen is fantastic! The kids loved the movie theater and game room. All of the adults just loved the many sitting areas and having the chance to hang out and relax in such beautiful surroundings. I hope we will have the chance to go back! I would love to be there in the summer, the pool and outdoor areas are just fantastic. I would highly encourage anyone looking for a luxurious "home away from home" experience for a big group to book it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: November 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

The Glen House is perfect for three families (each could have their own floor). It is big and roomy yet still remains cozy. We found the house to be even more beautiful than the photos. Not only was it sparkling clean but also very comfortable. I would highly recommend it to all Sunday River vacationers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream Wedding

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Dear Gretchen and Kris,
Thank you for allowing us to enjoy the Glen House for our wedding week. Our family and friends loved staying here and enjoyed all the amazing amenties and beautiful
details of the home and Newry. The wedding was more beautiful and lovely than we could have imagined. Chris, his and my families, our friends, and I hope to return in a year or two to celebrate our anniversary.

Theresa and Chris

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Married

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Dear Glen House,
We have had the most amazing time during our stay. Our wedding on Sept. 2nd was more beautiful than we could have imagined. Our friends and family said the setting was spectacular and thouroughly enjoyed time spent at the house. So many memories were made-one's that will last a lifetime. We are off to Ireland on our honeymoon, leaving in utter bliss.
Thank You!
Love,
Sara and Chris

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Golf Weekend

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

Dear Glen House
Thank you so much for allowing us to use this beautiful home! The amenities were simply exquisite and the weather devine. Imagine my pleasure at the end of the day to return to the Glenn House after shooting 1 under par at Sunday River.
Again, Many Thanks
Steve

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We had a wonderful time--the house is just spectacular. The layout is great for a large family--never felt we were in each other's way and it was easy to separate those making noise from those who wanted quiet time! We ranged in age from 1 to 93 and all of us had a great time. Dave at the Good Food Store provided a great lobster and chicken feast. We had great weather, great golf, and the house couldn't be better. Thank you for a wonderfl 2012 Family vacation! Our vacation was filled with: rafting adventures, ziplining, talent shows, puzzles, water fights, games on the lawn golf, swimming, laser tag at Big Adventure Center, A trip into Bethel, Water Falls, and so much more. Thank You for the laughs and the love that we shared. We will Miss You!

Love From All of US

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thank you Glen House!

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

To Gretchen: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to spend a wonderful week with our family. Time with everybody together in one place is invaluable!
To Glen House: thank you to being awesome and huge and so much cooler than all those other houses!
To the Fire Pit: Thank you for helping us with s'mores over and over again!
To the pool: Thank you for being warm!
To the Hot Tub: Thank you for being warmer!
To the Movie/Game Room: Thank you for being proof that God really loves us!
To the Refrigerators: Thank you for holding many beers and wines, and for giving them up so freely throught the week!
To the next guests: We hid 5 $100 bills in the house. If you find them, please spend them on more beer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Glen House is Great

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Thank you for providing us with a beautiful haven for our family reunion. We had a blast just staying here!!! The pool, guitar hero, movie room, euchre tournaments, sooo much to do!!! We also had a great creeking adventure near the covered bridge :) Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! It was an incredible vacation! We made memories that will last our lifetime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We want to thank you for creating such a lovely yet very homey and comfortable home for our grandchildren and children to vacation! You know how to stock a kitchen for all our needs since we like to fix some of our meals! The falls, zipline, golf and kayaking were wonderful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fousins Fun

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Gorgeous home and amazing views! We golfed, ziplined, hiked, went to waterfalls and swimming holes.... a great vacation with our friends. Some of us have been friends since childhood. Now our children have been raised together and we vacation together each year. The "fousins" (fake cousins) seemed to have one of their best vacations ever here. Thanks so much!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Anniversary Spectacular

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

What an incredible house eo celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary!! Everyone had a great time and we loved it all! Family and friends from Phoenix, Tennessee, Florida and Maine! We all want to come back to do it again! Thanks for all the special touches!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

Glen House Family - This house is absolutely spectacular. You have thought of everything - inside and out! Our family and friends had a memorable weekend as we celebrated our patriarch's 60th birthday. I hope we can revisit the Glen House for more family celebrations in the future! Thanks for creating a little bit of heaven here in the White Mountains! Thank you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All ages

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

I love the house! It was so fun. The skiing was good adn the recers did good. We watched so many movies. I had a good time playing pool and going in the hot tub. The playscape was so fun! I hate to leave. I hope to come back soon. I had a wicked good time! Thank you Glen House! By HL, age 10

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Race, eat, play

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

Wow; what a blast! The house, the hill, laughter, food, fun so good! We work hard all winter at our ski area. Our experience at the Glen House was the frosting on the cake! Yummy! Thanks, and ski fast! We will see you next year! The house was amazing! Can't wait to come back next year. We really liked the movie room.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Once Upon a Time

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

Once upon a time, there were 26 ladies from upstate New York who travelled many, many miles and hours to have a great time and enjoy the beautiful Maine scenery. They went hiking and enjoyed the beautiful wildlife and views. Roster Roadhouse provided a great dinner one night and the ladies cooked the rest of the delicious food. The pool was cold but the hot tub was great, the treehouse was a blast, and the movie theater was even better. We enjoyed the popcorn and pool table too! Thank you for sharing this AMAZING house with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun times

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Dear Awesome Owners of This House, We really appreciated this wonderful stay. The scenery was amazing. The cinema was spectacular as well as the two hot tubs. The mountains were beautiful. The touch screen computer was great. PS Everyone was attached to the foosball table! From the Benzerrouk family children

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great 40th!

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We had such a wonderful time during our stay this past weekend. It was a perfect place to celebrate our 40th birthdays! The golf and hiking was so much fun. The house itself was like its own little amusement park for adults. We would love to come back. Thanks for your wonderful hospitality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Go BC

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

On behalf of The Heights, I just want to say thank you for your hospitality and such a beautiful and well-kept home. We look forward to many years of Heights trips to the Glen House!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Birthday!

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We had a wonderful time spending time with all of our family for our grandparent's 85th birthday! The pool and theater rooms were awesome! Hopefully we will all be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a week!

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Wow! What a week! Scott and I were married on the lawn on 6/10/12. We were surrounded by our 4 children ages 7-11 years old and our families and closest friends. We will never forget the Glen House. Our families also came together in a new way and so much laughter, fun and love was shared by all. the house is amazing and we can not thank you enough. Thanks also for the tremendous weather. Gorgeous! All our Best, The Charette Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't ask for anything more!!

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Our family just got home from our vacation at the Glenn House. We had a wonderful time enjoying all the amenities of the house. The week we stayed it rained (poured even) everyday!! However, it just gave us more time to play pool, enjoy the hot tub and watch movies in the theater. We most definitely would recommend this house and are looking forward to staying again.

Thank you!
Bridget and Eric

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Race House!

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

The perfect setting for our ski race team to prepare, relax and enjoy each other's company. What an amazing setup, view and environment. The layout comfortably housed our 4 families and 3 coaches. The house was immaculate, comfortable and well maintained offering plenty for those who elected not to ski. Plus, you hosts were the best to deal with. Thanks for the hospitality and the memories.

Bill, Blandford MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing 50th birthday party

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

I can not say enough positive comments about the Glen House. My wife and I hosted a large number of friends to celebrate my 50th birthday. The house was beyond description. The kitchen is amazing and we will absolutely book again for next year.

Thanks for taking great care of us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Great Superbowl, Birthday Weekend Escape

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

This is the most amazing house you have ever seen. It was so open and comfortable with great views from every window. The house was very clean and was stocked with all the supplies pre-ordered by us at our request. The bedrooms were all very nice and there was plenty of extra linens available. There was room for everyone to sit comfortably in all the spaces. The Movie Room was a great addition for us being there on Superbowl Weekend, again plenty of room for everyone. I could go on and on, it was a spectacular place and we would all love to go back many times. The owner was very attentive to all our needs and answered all the questions we had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic House

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

Everything came as advertised. This is a great house that is perfect for large family gatherings. There is a ton to do in the house and the local area has some activities as well. The media room was a real hit and has prompted me to think about adding a similar room to my own home. We would definitely consider another trip to the Glen House.

Coming from New York City I was really dreading the drive. It's a long haul, it took us 7.5 hours on the way up as we hit a little snow and 6.0 hours on the way home. Six hours means you are doing 80+ on the highway with very short stop(s) for gas. There are two options (91 N or more eastern route via 95), they are pretty much the same. If you're traveling in the dark I would recommend the 84/95 route as it has better lighting and is wider.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

this house has everything!

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

We rented the Glen House for a getaway for a group of friends and while we are not skiiers, we found an endless amount of things to do while staying there! The owners have thought of everything - from basic supplies, to travel information, to games and movies. Our stay could not have been more comfortable. The house is large enough so everyone had their own space and even though we were there with a larger group of people, you never felt on top of each other. The views are incredible and the house is beautifully maintained - it lives up to it's descriptions/pictures! The kitchen had EVERYTHING and we enjoyed making meals for everyone and all sitting around the table together.
The entertainment system is awesome and even though it appears quite complicated, it's actually really easy to use! We definitely enjoyed all of the games and movies.
The owners also are so great about responding emails, requests and providing you with SO much great and helpful information to make your stay that much more enjoyable.
The only downside would be that we found the house not to be completely soundproof. There were a few of our group who preferred to stay up late and then others who woke up early, and those rooms on the 2nd & 3rd floors could easily hear the activity going on. So, if you have children or people who are light sleepers, put them in rooms on the 1st floor.
Otherwise, we would completely recommend the Glen House for your next gathering! And thanks so much to the owners for making our stay amazing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Thanksgiving holiday

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

Our family reunion took us to the Glen House for Thanksgiving weekend 2011! What a fantastic home! Our party included 15 people and we were all very comfortable in this "cozy" house.

The amenities were outstanding.....We particularly enjoyed the fabulous home theater.We also had a fantastic Thanksgiving dinner as the home is completely equipped for everything.

The real bonus was a 13 inch snowfall the night we arrived allowing us the opportunity to sled on the neighboring golf course and ski the mountain....

Can't say enough about the Glen House...no one wanted to leave and we look forward to our return!! Thanks very much!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

July 3 -30, 2001 Family Vacation At Glen House

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Our family had a fabulous vacation in Newry, Maine at Glen House. With 12 adults and 9 grandchildren between the ages of 2 and 13 it was another enjoyable family time for all. The house was everything we expected and more. There was so much to do that I don't think any of the grandchildren every complained except when they had to wait for an adult to be at the pool before they could swim. There were fishing trips down the river in canoes, hiking and riding to explore the many Falls and park areas. The New Balance Tent sales in Norway was a great hit with everyone. We had a trip to Portland and the Harbor Lighthouse tour and lunch at DeMillo's Restuarant. Some went to Freeport for a shopping trip at LL Bean and other stores. The Wooden Bridge is a great sight seeing trip. We found Bethel very convenient for quick grocery or drugstore needs and even used the Medical Clinic once. The guys played golf and the kids loved the basketball goal and all the other toys. The theater was a big hit with everyone as was the pool table. We ended the week with rides on the ski lifts and the zip lines. There was just to many things to try to put into this space. The scenery is beautiful and we even had a double rainbow over the golf course early one morning. I would recommend a vacation at Glen House to all. Thanks Kris and Gretchen for providing such a great place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

July Glen House vacation

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We used this house for an annual vacation with a group of long-time friends. We had 23 people and fit quite comfortably. There was so much supplied at the house, which came in very handy if you forgot something. We did find it helpful to bring food for meals from home as there weren't many large food stores nearby. There were a few small food stores to pick up the things we ran out of. Also, since we went in July we found a few stores were closed since it was no longer winter ski season. Gretchen, the owner, was so easy to work with and incredibly helpful with suggestions of what to do in the area. She helped us find someone to come to the house and cook lobsters. She emailed day trip suggestions and we wound up doing many of them. This helped to enhance our trip and enjoy it that much more as we ziplined, golfed, hiked and drove to see Portland and it's beautiful lighthouses. She coordinated half price golf passes on the view-filled and hilly course that the house is on. The large kitchens, large dining areas, pool, hot tubs, movie theater, and gas fire pit were an amazing combination of amenities to have a large group enjoy their time together. It was truly one of our best group vacations. Thank you Gretchen for an amazing time at your fantastic home. It was impeccably clean and everything you put into the home was top quality and really enjoyed by us!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family gathering place

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Each year our family spends a week together in the summer. This year we chose the Glen House and it proved to be the best thus far. With 9 adults and 10 children (oldest was 9), we had ample room to be together (kitchen and poolside) and had plenty of places to be apart. We enjoyed the Big Adventure Center, Step Falls and the Sunday River chair lift but we really didn't have to leave the house at all. We would definitely recommend the Glen House for families and groups of all ages.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House!!

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

My fiancé and I were looking for an intimate setting for our wedding weekend that was large enough for two families to stay, dine, and play. When we found the Glen House we knew our search was over. This house is a fantastic location for any event and has all the amenities and more to keep everyone entertained and comfortable. Each floor has it's own unique attractions, a cozy reading area, hot tub, gourmet kitchen, pool table, even a home theatre. We were very happy that the summary of the home and the accommodations were exactly as advertised. The property was clean and organized and Gretchen was extremely helpful providing us the information we needed to prepare our guests for a successful and carefree weekend. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend, and look forward to returning for an anniversary weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice House, great for large groups.

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

We stayed with a large group in January and had a great time. There was enough room that we didn't feel on top of each other, but also felt like we were in a shared space. For us, it was very appealing.

The property is very nice and the owners very accommodating. I left a couple of items behind and she was kind enough to mail them back to me. Very much appreciated.

We had a problem with the heat while we were there, which we understand that these things happen, but it was caused by the repair man and we had to tell the repair man how to fix it. Annoying, but not devastating.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Glen House at Sunday River Maine

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

The Glen House is a fantastic house with so many rooms filled with lot comfortable furniture with awesome audio and TV throughout. The kitchen upstairs kitchen....WOW! The game room was killer. We skied or snow mobiled everyday then came home to enjoy the hot tub and steam rooms. Having a three bay garage was nice because we were able to keep some of our cars snow free for the morning departure. Two washing machines, two dish washers two kitchens, TV's all over the place, game systems, pool table, foosball table, books, DVDs, this place is fantastic.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Our vacation was a combination of family reunion and friends and everyone walked away with many memories and extremely positive comments about the Glen House. The house is filled with "goodies" leading us to call Gretchen and Kris a few times to figure things out and they were wonderful. Great owners and amazing accomodations. We will definitely be back, just need to work out everyone's schedules!

The Jacuzzi was wonderful after a great day of skiing, the movie room was great for the kids and there were ample rooms and space for everyone. The one thing we weren't prepared for was that room labeled office isn't that big, but easy to move things around.

When we had problems the owners were there very quickly and it was a pleasure dealing with them throughout.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fantastic time!!

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Glen House. The house is amazing, and we would highly recommend it to any group vacationing in the area. The house has everything you need and then some. We will be back for sure!!
Glen Arbour Ski Gang

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Holiday Gathering

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

The Glen House was an amazing place for our family to stay! It was unique in that it was very 'vacation luxurious', while somehow also making me feel like I was at home. The kids loved the movie theater and game room! The wii and arcade were a hit! It was fantastic for the kids to have a place to play, giving the adults their time to enjoy the rest of the house. We particularly loved the bar, pool table and hot tub! From the kitchens to the bathrooms, the attention to quality and detail was superb! I would highly recommend this vacation house to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding of the century

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

My husband and I rented the Glen House for a week to host our wedding. We had several family members fly in from out of town and wanted them to be able to stay with us. We also wanted a reception that didn't feel like a function hall with a certain time line for the night. We got married at a local church and had the reception back at the Glen House. The house was INCREDIBLE. It felt like a huge holiday cocktail party. Our guests danced, ate, played pool, played fooze-ball, watched movies, went in the hot tub and had the most AMAZING time. People are still emailing and calling about how fantastic the reception was and how stunning the Glen House is. The owners, Gretchen and Kris, are extremely professional, go out of their way to help, are always available and have really thought of every last detail to make a vacation EASY! We now have a place where we can go to enjoy anniversaries and family gatherings. We can guarantee we will be renting the Glen House in the future and are happy and proud to recommend it to future guests.

-the McKenzie's

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was an honor to host you and your family for such an important and special day! Congratulations and best wishes! We look forward to having you back!

Fondly,
Kris and Gretchen Anderson

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

The Glen House may be the greatest home we have ever stayed at. Every year I go away with my group for a long weekend to enjoy some time away and this was by far the best we have gone to. For starters the reason we wanted this home was to ski and golf. Unfortunately we just missed the golf season which is okay since less golf than ski. The ski season was opening the weekend we were there and it was great. Short ride to the base of the mountain which was nice and we were able to go home for lunch. What happened at lunch was we did not go back. Being able to enjoy everything the house had to offer was amazing. There was something for everyone.
There was also plenty of space in the home which was nice if someone wanted to go get some rest and not be bothered. The kitchen was more than suitable for all of us (gourmet chefs at the house loved it).

Overall this the home you should rent if you are looking for a larger home with your family or friends. I can't say enough of how much fun we had and that we do look to go back in the future to enjoy it some more.

Gretchen was a pleasure to work with and helped me out with any and all questions. The whole experience was amazing.

Thanks for the great times.
(November 2010)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy to hear that you completely enjoyed the Glen House and your time in the area. We look forward to seeing you again - perhaps a week earlier next year? Skiing in the morning and golfing in the afternoon is quite a treat that our guests are able to enjoy from time to time! But as you found, having the fun at the Glen House helps if that doesn't work out! Cheers until next time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magical wedding at the Glen House

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

We were married at the Glen House September 18th and had a wedding to remember. The house was the perfect setting for a private and romantic wedding. All of our guests were astonished with the location of the house. The valley of mountains as the view, as well as the beautifull golf course made for a picture perfect wedding. We had the time of a lifetime and stayed for the remainder of the week as a mini honeymoon, which was absolutly perfect.
We had a private masousse come to the house and got massages in the movie theatre which provided the perfect lighting. Everyone in town was super accomidating and were happy to help us with any information or recommendations we seeked.
As for the house itself our immediate family stayed for 3 days to help prepare for the wedding and it was the perfefct set up. The downstairs was set up perfectly to have the kids downstairs with the nanny while we partied upstairs in the awesome game room, hottub and movie theatre at night. We swear the house is very soundproof but were not sure, all we know is that we were loud and our parents couldn't hear a thing in their rooms, perfect. The kitchens were large enough to have the caterers cater both our rehearsal dinner and wedding. (I could not be happier with Dave and Heather from The Good Food Store). The steam rooms were a hit with my family everyone enjoyed their steams and showers. The hit with the kids was the tree house if I let them they would have slept in it. It was wonderful to have a place on the property that the kids felt was their domain, and it was because if your a big guy your not gettting up the tree house, its a pretty narrow passage. I wish I could have all my guests write a review because everyone had such a wonderful time and are talking about the house weeks later.
If your looking for a perfect spot to get married and vacation too, rent the Glen House you will not be disappointed. FYI if you plan on having the reception at the house plan for an open bar all night unless you get a liquor liscence from the state of Maine. I learned that the hard way the day before the wedding, but it ended up working out perfect because all our guests were super happy. Use Gretchens vendor lists and recommendations because I was extremly happy with all the vendors and caterer. The only downside was coming home, I love my house but leaving the Glen House was sad. I plan on staying here again, maybe an anniversary!
Thanks Gretchen!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Week to Remember!

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

My now husband and I were looking for a place to have our wedding. When we saw the Glen House on HomeAway, we knew it would be the most amazing place!! As awesome as the house looked online, I must admit that having never been to the place where I had decided to have my wedding, I was a tad bit weary. But when we got to the house, everything was as spectacular as it had looked in the pictures. The ooh's and ahh's and exclamations as we walked through the house for the first time are something that I'll never forget! We had a marvelous week. Getting to spend the week before our wedding with our closest friends and family from around the country was an incredible experience. The house had something to offer to everyone in our group! Hanging out by the pool all day and playing pool all night was a great way to spend the day! And when it came to the wedding, the owners were so helpful with finding vendors and making sure that we had everything we needed. It was truly an unforgettable experience. The Glen House was the ultimate place to gather friends and family, and we hope to be able to return year after year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Glen House Is AWESOME

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

We stayed at the Glen House June 19 2010 - June 26 2010 and enjoyed every minute. The house was beautiful and the amenities were wonderful. The kitchen was fabulous and all appliances perfect for preparing large meals. We had 23 people staying in the house and the kitchen was sufficient for feeding everyone. The bedrooms were of ample size and the kids loved the steam showers. The movie theater and the game room were also big hits with the kids. We had the pool heated and were able to swim at all times of the day and night. Overall, our time at the Glen House was fantastic. Everyone had a great time and we would definitely go back.

Shane

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The "Best in Every Way Home" away from Home

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

The Glen House is an amazing combination of elegance and comfort in a beautiful setting! Our family of 22, ages 4 months to almost 68 years, enjoyed a fabulous week here, whether we chose to be lazy and hang out on the premises only or travel about exploring. The kitchen was equipped with every imaginable need and then plenty extra. Thank you to Gretchen and Kris for such a wonderful place to vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The "Best in Every Way Home" away from Home

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

The Glen House is an amazing combination of elegance and comfort in a beautiful setting! Our family of 22, ages 4 months to almost 68 years, enjoyed a fabulous week here, whether we chose to be lazy and hang out on the premises only or travel about exploring. The kitchen was equipped with every imaginable need and then plenty extra. Thank you to Gretchen and Kris for such a wonderful place to vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FIVE STARS !

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Our stay at The Glen House was perfect. From our initial contact with the owners (who were incredibly nice and welcoming) until the very end, the rental process was professional, easy-going, and flawless.

The house itself is amazing. It was clean, well-decorated, bright, open, and great for a large group entertaining. It has absolutely everything you need. The location is great and all your guests will be very impressed.

Overall, we loved this house, inside and out, and recommend it to all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Wedding Venue

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

My wife and I decided this would be the perfect place for our wedding and reception. We were right! We were specifically looking to have an "intimate" occasion, with about 70 guests. The owners went way out of their way to help us by recommending caterers, rehearsal dinner and brunch venues, and even suggesting setups for the ceremony and the best way to use the in-house entertainment features! When we first arrived at the house, it was very late at night. We had seen all the pictures and had even visited before, but it still an amazing sight to see. Both of our immediate families stayed in the house for the week from infant nieces and nephews to grandparents. The guys spent the morning of the wedding on the golf course (which has some of the most amazing views of the mountains) while the girls were pampered at the house by a local spa staff (also recommended!). The wedding went just as we had dreamed, some people played pool and foosball, watched movies, went swimming and hot tubbing, used the bars, danced upstairs and downstairs, played football on the lawn, sat by the fire, and ate terrific food. The wedding went for 9 hours, which people told us was crazy, but in that house the time flew by and we had to "make" people leave on the last shuttle back to the Jordan Grand hotel. I asked one guest if she was having fun and she said "It wouldn't be possible to even hide from fun in this house". All our family and friends who had questioned "WHY MAINE?" understood the minute they arrived. And they can't stop talking about it since. We arrived on a Thursday night and had the wedding on Saturday. We spent the rest of the week at the house relaxing. Sunday football in the movie theater was better than being at a stadium! We went sightseeing at the state parks and enjoyed the town of Bethel, but we couldn't wait to get back the house to enjoy the heated pool, hot tub and fire pit. Thank you Glen House for an unforgettable experience! We are looking for a reason to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: November 5, 2009   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

We recently stayed at the Glen House for a reunion of college friends. The house was magnificent! Beautiful, comfortable, every amenity you can think of. It was the perfect setting and very accommodating for a large group. It offered plenty of space and entertainment for all, beautifully decorated. The property was very clean and cared for and the owners were very helpful. I would certainly recommend this property to others and we will definitely be back for another gathering ourselves!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Heights

Review submitted: September 16, 2009   Date of arrival: May 12, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Glen House. The view from the deck was amazing, first of all. It's location is even better: right next to Sunday River, right on the golf course, hiking etc. A ton of outdoorsy activities close by for any of the 4 seasons.

The owners were extremely accommodating to our stay. We were taken care of well.

The house itself is enormous and beautiful. The hot tub and steam room were our personal favorites, as well as watching the sun set on the deck and grilling by the pool.

I would absolutely recommend this place for any large group looking to get away and relax. The website does a great job of portraying the house, and it is even more impressive in person.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Wedding!

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

We had our wedding in the back yard of the Glen House and it worked out perfectly. All of our immediate family stayed at the house with us, which was a great opportunity for our families to get to know each other. The view was magnificent during the ceremony. The movie theater and video games were a big hit with the kids and kept them occupied. Everyone had such a great time that we are hoping to come back in the future. I would highly recommend this home for a family reunion or a smaller wedding.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Glen House - Family Reunion

Review submitted: September 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

We recently enjoyed a wonderful family reunion at the Glen House - arranged through "VRBO" on the web. . . .the property was everything that we had hoped it would be - and then some!

The home is extremely well-equipped and maintained; and the owners provided the "little things" that were needed or forgotten (Ex.: an electronic baby monitor) The location was a bit remote from town, but easily accessible to local activities. Directions and suggestions to find local points of interest and activities were plentiful and complete. The house was spotlessly maintained when we arrived and provided every amenity that was advertised - it was perfect for a large family reunion (we had 23 people staying in the house) - and yet provided some "quiet spaces". The pool, hot tubs (2) and home theatre provided great entertainment for the children, teen-agers, and adults - as well as a suitable "stage" for our family's skits. The owners were readily available to answer all our questions and provide information, but were never intrusive.

Local shopping in Bethel was easy - the "Good Foods" store on the main highway provided excellent service (try their ribs!) and fair prices.

The area activities we enjoyed included golf at two local courses, swimming in local swimming holes, excellent hiking (the Appalachian trail is only a few miles away) fly-fishing, and gorgeous views from the deck of the Glen House, which overlooks the first hole on the Sunday River Golf Club.

We would recommend this property "without reservation" to anyone planning a family reunion, wedding, ski trip - or other large group activity in the western Maine area - - you won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Mountain Vacation

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Our family, a group of 24 of all different ages, had a wonderful week-long vacation at the Glenn House. The house was more beautiful in person than it was on line. We swam in the pool,soaked in the hot tubs, played golf, played pool, watched movies, played games, went horseback riding, hiked in the nearby park and made wonderful meals using the inside and outside kitchens. We all hated to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

AMAZING HOUSE

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

My friends and I rent a large house each year and we try to pick different locations each year, and this year we decided to do Maine and the Glen House. The photos on the website are true to what you get in the house itself. It's a large house, well kept, well supplied and has just about everything you would need in a home and more. The pool was fabulous and nicely heated. If there were any problems that occured in the house, you gave the owners a quick phone call and they were there the next day to address it. One of the best recommendations from the owner was doing a personal chef. We highly recommend Heather & Dave - we loved the food, the service and they were reasonably priced - very professional! The house is located near Grafton Notch State Park, where you can do some fun hiking and of course on the Golf Course, for those golf lovers. Only negative thing I would mention, is bring bug spray - lots of mosquitoes and gnats at night, but during the day it was fine. So in the evenings, just watch a great movie in the wonderful theatre room they have. A Great Place for Large Groups to vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wedding of a lifetime

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

The Glen House exceded all of our expectations. Our dream wedding turned into a dream week with friends and family. The back yard overlooking the mountains was the most beatiful spot for a wedding. After the ceremony there are so many places for people to gather and socialize. It couldn't have been more perfect. The property itself is amazing. It was made to entertain. All of my guests have expressed interest in coming back for an anniversery/reunion party. I would recomend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Home

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

What a fabulous home and perfect for all ages! We had our family reunion of 20 and the house was perfect. Great setting on the golf course and wonderful activities around the area; kayaking, canoeing, hiking. And when it rained there was so much to do at the house; pool table, movie theatre, hot tub, fuse ball, that no one was ever bored. I would highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic House

Review submitted: July 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

We had 19 family members share this house for a week. Thank goodness we all get along because it poured rain for all seven days we were there so we weren't able to enjoy many outdoor activities. We did use the pool & outdoor hot tub since we were going to get wet anyway. We also made good use of the upstairs hot tub. Of course the movie theater & pop corn machine were a big hit. We also appreciated the large kitchen since we all pitch in to cook & clean up. We used the large counter for our meals because it allowed all the adults to sit together while the children ate on the porch.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family reunion

Review submitted: June 17, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

We have a reunion yearly but have never had a better venue. The Glen House was described exactly the way we found it -- spacious, clean, inviting -- and with a dramatic view of the mountains through the tremendous window wall. What was really special was having a film room and a billiard room which kept us all occupied during some rainy days. It was also a treat to have a chef come in with a complete Maine lobster meal ready to eat -- furthermore, he showed our kids who had never had the experience, just how to go about eating it. The nearby historic town of Bethel was attractive and worth a visit. But the Glen House itself is what made our reunion so special.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanks for a wonderful location for our reunion

Review submitted: June 2, 2009   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

The Glen House was the perfect spot for our family reunion! Everyone had something to do. The communication was great and the house was immaculate! The beds were so comfortable and the seating areas were large enough to fit all the adults in one location. Before we got to the house the kids were planning on going to the Adventure Center, but no one wanted to leave the house, including the kids. There was so much for everyone to do. We only wish we had a few more days. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic rental home

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 8, 2009

Our stay at the Glen House in Maine for a weekend family reunion was fantastic. It is like staying at an all inclusive resort! Everthing one could want was provided. The house is beautiful and there was plenty of room and activities to please everyone. The kids loved the pool, the adults loved the game room and everyone loved the movie theater. The guys hit the golf course while the ladies and kids had fun at the pool. The hot tub was a nice relaxer at the end of a day of golf. The pool table, the piano, the fooseball, the pinball - there was enough to keep everyone busy having fun. There was room in the movie theater for everyone to relax with popcorn at the end of the day. We are looking forward to our next stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best vacation rental home!!!

Review submitted: May 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

This house was amazing. We went to many houses around USA and Canada and this one was the best. It has everything that you could need and more. The steam showers were really great and the cinema room was perfect with all the selection of movies available. The kids really liked the playarea. Do not hesitate to go there. It's the perfect place to relax and have fun at the same time...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

When one travels as extensively as we have, one gains enough lodging experiences to know and appreciate the quintessential abode to rest yoru weary head after a long day of skiing Jordan Bowl. The Glen House is off the hook! Kudos to Gretchen and Kris for their attention to detail and thought put into the design and construction of the mansion. By far one of the best Passover Saders was celebrated by our family here. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 26, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We celebrated a 60th birthday at Glen House, coomplete with cocktails both evenings, 5 course dinner followed by Karioke upstairs. The entire weekend surpassed by expectations and we felt very special being in that home . Thanks.
The Kelly group

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 26, 2008   Date of arrival: December 26, 2008

Thank you so much for allowing us to have one of our best Christmas's together. When we first entered this house, we were transformed into a state of relaxation. This home has allowed us to come together and given us some of the best memories. This year has been a stressful one, and this home has given us a place of peace in our hearts. The beautiful view is sketched in our minds and the joy in our hearts. So thank you again. All our love, The Watsons & Reilly's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 22, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Glen House is so much more beautiful when you arrive, then you can see in the pictures. Pictures don't show the spectacular views, the golf course, the beautiful landscape around the house.
There are so many beautiful details in this house , you have to see them for yourself !
Each and every bathroom is beautiful, each bedroom has its own personality ,
the beds are so comfortable, you will not want to get up ! The view from bed in the morning is breathtaking!
The theater room is fabulous... a great place to spend quality family time...and what is better then popping your own movie theater popcorn !
I look forward to spending many more family times and times with friends at this beautiful home, Gretchen and Kris have (and always do ) pay great attention to every detail.
We LOVED staying at Berner HAus over the years, and now love to spend time at Glen House as our family has grown !
This house is so beautiful, you will not want to go home!
We had a wonderful stay .

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 24, 2008   Date of arrival: September 24, 2008

Well we are checkign out of this fabulous house! The Glen House made an incredible venue for our wedding - better then any dream I've ever had. The guests were amazed by the beauty of the spectacular views. John and I enjoyed the serenity of it all after our guests left. I hope all future guests enjoy the Glen House even a fraction of how much we did. "May your best day of the past be your worst day of your future!" - Diana and John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 21, 2008   Date of arrival: September 21, 2008

I had a great time here and so did my new family. My mom and new step dad had the best wedding that they will remember for the rest of their lives. I love this place. I definitely want to come back. I will never forget this incredible expereince. Thank you so much!

It was the best stay ever. My dad had his wedding & reception here. I felt like royalty in this house. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2008   Date of arrival: August 30, 2008

This was the best stay ever. We played pool a million times and stayed up late. This was the best few days of my life! We'll be back. This house is so gorgeous!

I had the best time here! There was laways something to do here without leaving the house. The movie theater was amazing. I watched so many movies in it! The tree house was also really fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

Five Stars! I had an absolultely wonderful time. The Glen House is beyond beautiful. There are excellent views, amentities and ambiance. This place is a home run. Hopefully our group has another opportunity to return. Thanks for the lap top. The only other thing I can say is WOW!!! PS from child - This is the best house I ever stayed in. Ten starts.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2008   Date of arrival: July 26, 2008

What a wonderful home and vacation! Even though it rained, we still had a blast! We sat in the hot tub, played pool and watched movies in the theater. I brought my entire family here for vacation, 14 people, and they all said it was a vacation of a life-time! Thanks for allowing us to rent your beautiful home! PS from daughter- This is one of the greatest vacations ever. I hope we can come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

We had a great time here at the Glen house. This week we went hiking, mining, swimming, and much more. We LOVED the movie theater and listened to a lot of music. We loved the playground! It was awesome! We had a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

This is my best vacation ever! Chloe Age 6. The best thing is the beautiful views of the mountains, Ian age 6. I think we should live in this house forever! Alex age 3. A beatuiful way to celebrate our 50th anniversary!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

This is the way every grandparent should spend their 70th birhtday. Surrounded by family, in a beautiful house and settin with may great things to do. We've played golf, been kayaking, moose "hunting", shopping, riding to the top of the mountains on chairlifts, doing water parks, mining gems, etc etc. Thanks, Gretchen & Kris, for providing such a beautiful place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2008   Date of arrival: May 23, 2008

The Doody Family began gathering, arriving from "The Country", the crown of Maine, Baltimore, RI, and ARizona. Glen house has provided us with the most wonderful location for our family reunion. So easy to manage all events as proven by our daughers and others. As we conclude the Dood Family Reunion, we reflect on the amazing memories that have been created at the Glen House. The weatehr, the views, the endless amenities, the food, the golfing, the food, the pool, the hot tub, the pool table, the food, the movie theater and the food. It was all amazing! Kris & Gretchen - you have created a "home away from home", we are so fortunate to have found this wonderful home for the Doody's to enjoy. We'll be back...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 5, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

There was 23 of us that stayed at the Glen House. We all went to the a private academy together and live all over the place. Now 17 years later we are enjoying getting together once a year. The Glen House is a perfect place to stay. Kris and Gretchen have thought of everything. We have found the right house for us to hopefully revisit every year. Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 25, 2008   Date of arrival: February 25, 2008

We had a perfect ski vacation and absolutely LOVED the house! We celebrated my husband's 50th birthday, and will always remember this beatuiful setting for festive fondue party! The kids were always busy - movies, pool games, piano, hot tub, chess and checkers - you've thought of everything! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 9, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

On behalf of our group, I'd like to extend our most gracious thanks for letting us stay at The Glen House the past few days. We all had a great time on the slopes and especially at the house. The house was very impressive to say the least and we are still raving about how much fun we had on the trip, especially when we were at the house. Thanks for providing us with the perfect place to stay with all imaginable amenities, and then some! We will be spreading the good word about The Glen House to all of our friends in hopes that they too can experience such a great place, and hopefully, we'll be back to visit in the future.

Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 1, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

This house is truly amazing! We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay with a group of friends-the house,weather, Red Sox & Pats games, all the amenities were Fantastic!!The house and location has something for everyone...golf, skiing, hiking,kids playground,pool, theater room.
It was great to go away and have all the amenities of home and then some. We can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 15 / 17

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 1, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Let me start by saying that we had the most wonderful time staying at the Berner Haus for our 19th annual Friends and Artists reunion. After staying in a fabulous geodesic dome, in Joshua Tree California in 2006, I had my doubts about finding a place that could equal it in character and location. It turned out however that the Berner Haus did just that in giving us an exceptionally comfortable place to stay while also providing a unique quality that seemed to capture the very spirit of Bethel, Maine. Your home certainly helped to make reunion 2007 the best one to date. In fact, I was so happy w/ it that I’m already looking at the Glen House for 2010 when our reunion is scheduled to be back in the New England area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 5, 2007   Date of arrival: October 5, 2007

Gretchen & Kris, Thank you for such an amazing vacation. Teh house is gorgeous - you thought of every detail! It's hard to imagine staying anywhere else. Sharon was such a great recommendation for massages too. I only wish we discovered her sooner so we could have had a few more!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 13, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Gretchen & Kris,

I cannot accurately express in words how absolutely FANTASTIC our recent vacation at the Berner Haus was. We had an amazing family reunion with people traveling from as far as St.Croix, USVI; Seattle, WA; Reno, NV; and many other locations and the Berner Haus was our "home" for 4 days. It was the perfect setting for us all to gather and laugh, cry, share memories and stories and for some of us, to meet one anothers kids for the first time!

There was so much to do for everyone; the hot tubs for the adults, the pool and playground for the children, the absolutely wonderful kitchen where we all gathered and cooked together.

We truly were so grateful at all the amenities that the house offered; we had several small children and having high chairs, cribs, toys and of course the play area made it easier and more enjoyable for us all. We also were pleased with all the information offered in regards to outdoor activities and we spent quite a few days hiking and enjoying the beautiful area around the house.

Thank you for providing the PERFECT place for a family to reconnect and we hope to come back and do it again!! I know we've already recommended the Berner Haus to all of our friends and family!!

Thank you again!!!

The Lane, Baxter, Bennett, Foye, Boulay, Homan, Dunn and Stinson Clans!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 9, 2007   Date of arrival: September 9, 2007

For the Machado Family theres is nothing quite as wonderful as etting all together to have fun! This house provided the idilyc setting for a family of 14... and counting...Everything was perfect. We were busy all the time. ATVing, canoeing, rock mining, photographing, barbquing, swimming in the awesome pool, relaxing in the hot tub, playing piano, pool, guitar and finally watching movies in the movie theater! 3 kids and 2 babies and 9 adults and all loved every minute of it. We can only hope to repeat the experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 3, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Without a question of a doubt one of the very best family reunion facility we have ever used and we did quite a few.Everything they said that would be there , was and more. Same with the conditions. Just flawless !!

Helpful votes: 10 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 20, 2007   Date of arrival: June 20, 2007

Hi Kris & Gretchen,

I wasn't able to arrive until Sat. morning. I just wanted to thank you for an incredible weekend. We were there to celebrate my Dad's 80th B-day, and we couldn't have found a more perfect place to stay. There was so much room for everyone and so much to do. The only problem is we wished we had more time to enjoy it all. I think the kids swam from 9-6 on Sunday and then went back in after dinner. The adults were able to relax to a movie last night - what a great room!!! Hot tubs, steam rooms .... I could go on and on. It was the perfect place for five families and my Dad to have a great family reunion. Thanks for everything!

Sue Bothwell

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 20, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

This was our second time renting the whole house and like the first time we had a blast. The kitchen is amazing and we had a great time simply enjoying the house, its views, the hot tubs and especially the new foosball table! Most of us never even left the property and just hung out in and around the house for 3 days. We love the place and most likely will be back as it’s a great place for reunions since it can sleep so many people comfortably.

Thanks again Kris and Gretchen.

Sherman

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 24, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

WOW

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 9, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

Gretchen and Kris,

We had an amazing stay at your Mahoosuc unit. Every amenity has been provided for us. The property is simply beautiful. We have already recommended your property to many of our friends and we definitely plan on returning next year. My only suggestion for improvement is to replace the Sony PS2 with the new PS3 haha.

Kind regards,
Runager Tam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 7, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

What a fantastic property. The Anderson's have thought of everything to make your stay very comfortable. We came for a family get together and some great skiing at Sunday River. We were impressed by the web site, and everything was perfect. We would highly recommend to anyone. 1st class all the way !!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 26, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Kris & Gretchen,
Thank you very much for such a nice stay. The haus was everything that you said it would be. One minute we were outside enjoying the fall weather, the next we woke up to a snow storm! The views are amazing!! We cannnot wait to plan our next trip back to Maine!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 18, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

What a wonderful place for the whole family. All eleven of us found every thing perfect. Our ages ranged from 71 to 7 . We celebrated our 50th wedding anivarsary with our daughters and their famlies. PERFECT. First night we had Dave at the GOOD FOOD store fix a wonderful meal which allowed us to just enjoy...that was a great thing to do. We all like to cook so the kitchen was where we spent most of our time!! The Maine fresh sea food was a special treat. The game room ; Hot tubs and pool made for great fun for the five grand kids. We had to bribe them to go out on trips during our stay. Thanks for all you did to make this a very special time for the Alleys; Smiths and Wheelis. We will cherish and remember this for a life time. John G. Alley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 13, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

I had a wonderful time staying in the whole house. It was the best time I had ever had because of the house and it was my first time to visit Maine. Thank you for letting us rent your home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 15, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

We were so amazed at this house! We stayed in the Mahousac Unit and it was everything we could have wished for. We are hoping to rent the entire house for our next ski trip. What a perfect place for a bunch of old friends to gather, ski and celebrate. Thank you for making your home so comfortable and inviting!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 9, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Absolutely outstanding... Everything was perfect. Great work on the website, it was awesome help for us when we were planning.

Hope to see you in '07!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review