reviews for: listing #72943 - Heber-Overgaard, Arizona Cabin rental

Iron Elk Lodge
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Overgaard
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $160 - $175 /nt
    $840 - $1,120 /wk
    $2,520 - $3,360 /mth

sort by:

Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 31, 2014

My husband and our 2 kids and dogs, along with my parents, and my husband's parents and grandfather and their 2 dogs rented the iron elk. There was plenty of room for everyone the dogs loved the fenced in yard and sitting on the porch. Our kids (15 and 11) enjoyed the swing set of all things and walking the dogs. They actually disconnected from their phones and we played board games and cards. It was great to relax, the cabin was absolutely wonderful. We are already planning the next time we can rent it.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

iron elk lodge

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

We stayed five days at the Iron Elk Lodge, and it was the best week we have had together as a family; our children and four granddaughters, and two dogs. The cabin is just beautiful and has everything you may need. It is decorated just perfect, and it feels like home. We loved the cooler weather, and enjoyed cooking out, and the firepit. Had a fire every night, roasted marshmellow's The grand kids loved the swing set and sand box, and enjoyed the selection of dvd's that were there. Kurt was very friendly and helpful with everything. We would definitely return some day. Thank you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Cabin Away From Home!

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

This cabin was great for the purpose we intended. 4 couples plus a single made this home for 2 days. Only wish we could have stayed another week! The home is furnished to the max. The owners have been more than cordial throughout the transaction. Major thumbs up from this renter!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family gather place!!

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

What a wonderful gathering place for our family, 5 adults and 4 kids ages 6 - 11. The kitchen had everything and more than we needed to cook our meals for a week. The beds are more comfortable that our own beds at home. The porch is big enough for everyone to sit out on and enjoy the cool weather. We had meals out there and did craft projects, played games, and had our relaxing morning coffee and quiet evening chats out there. (Well, as quiet as is gets with 9 people!) Having 3 bathrooms was a huge plus! This was the first time our entire family got together for a full week and the cabin accommodated us perfectly and we've decided a week is our new tradition--thank you Kurt. Kurt got right back with us when we had a question and he was great to work with through the entire rental experience. We recommend this cabin for your family gatherings.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Getaway!

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

This was the perfect cool getaway for my family of adult children and grandbabies! We thoroughly enjoyed out stay! The grandbabies (2,3,&4) loved the swing set and sand box. The adults enjoyed playing the sandbag game and sitting on the deck just enjoying the weather! The cabin was a perfect fit for our family; each couple had their own room and bathroom. The kitchen was perfect for our large family and preparing all of our meals, and we also enjoyed having the ability to grill. I would definitly recomment this cabin as a rental, and we plan on renting again in the near future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you Dodi!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing home in the woods

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Iron Elk Lodge. We enjoy hiking and dog scootering and were looking for a place out of the heat to do this. Neighborhood was very quiet, and close to many hiking and fishing areas. Temperatures our week were not above 85 degrees and nights were much cooler. There is a cooler on the house, but we didn't need it much. House was very clean, tastefully decorated, and beds were quite comfortable. Kitchen we as well outfitted as mine at home, and cooking was easy here. Used the BBQ each night, very pleasant to eat on the large deck under the stars. Large sized securely fenced back yard, so dogs were happy to be able to run off leash. The jacuzzi tub was awesome! Nice selection of DVDs and TVs in many rooms. Had never rented from an owner before, Kurt made this a very easy and pleasant experience, and was super easy to communicate with. Returned our deposit very quickly. This is our first choice of a place to stay in the mountains in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You so much for the nice words and the pictures of your Furry Kids!! We are Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great find

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

We used this vacation rental for a family vacation. There were 7 adults and 2 children. We had a wonderful time. The cabin was very clean, comfortable and spacious enough for us all. The huge deck outside was a nice surprise. We got a lot of use out it. My grandchildren especially enjoyed the swing set and the bean bag game. The kitchen is very well appointed with all the comforts of home. There are lots of lakes close by for fishing, we could go to a different one every day. Beautiful countryside and cute antique and craft stores. I would recommend this cabin to anyone for any type of get away. We would definitely use this place again. I am looking forward to a getaway in the winter, I would love to see it with snow....and have a chance to use the wood burning stove. I rate this vacation spot a 10 out of 10!! The owners were very pleasant and straight forward people to deal with, in fact the refund of my deposit was in my hands just 3 days after returning home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words, Sue and I have tried to make this a home away from home and its very nice when other people take the time to tell us how we are doing.
Yes, If you are lucky enough to wake up to a couple inches of fresh snow, the Wood stove is really nice to take the chill off after the kids get done throwing snow balls at each other!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This cabin was amazing! We felt completely at home and welcome. Beyond enough room for what we needed. Best deal in town! Thank you Kurt an Sue!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, We have tried very hard to make our place warm inviting and homelike. Its really nice to receive this kind of feedback

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy little cabin.

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

What else can I say? This place was awesome, the wood burning stove made the nights long and romantic, the overal cleanliness and character of the house was warm and inviting.

There is a very large area in the front that our dog loved playing in the snow in... The neighborhood is extremely quiet and we were able to take long walks (when the weather wasn't tooo cold. :)). The kitchen was stocked with good cookware and little extra bits to help in cooking. The appliances were all in like new condition, very well maintained.

Rooms were neat, and well kept, the bed in the master bedroom upstairs was very comfortable... and the Jacuzzi in the downstairs bedroom was very nice to have.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to get out of the city, away from the hustle and bustle... and slow down.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved Iron Elk Lodge

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

We absolutely loved Iron Elk Lodge. The cabin was gorgeous, beautifully decorated, and superbly equipped for all of our needs. It was large enough for our big group, yet cozy and warm. And the location was so convenient, only a short drive from town. We highly recommend Iron Elk lodge to anyone looking for a cabin in the Heber/Overgaard area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

WOW What A Place!

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

This cabin was so much more than I expected! It was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, spacious, comfortable and down right cozy. I especially liked the distinct divisions between the sleeping areas. It's the perfect set up for families wanting to vacation together but still having the ability to get their personal space! I was surprised at how comfortable the beds were. You usually don't find that in any rental! This place is definitely the perfect "home away from home" along with all modern appliances, tv's, dvd, coffee maker, etc. If you're looking for a peaceful retreat away from the "hustle and bustle" of the city, this is it. I highly recommend this place and will be coming back many more times throughout this coming year. Oh...and the owners are very attentive and congenial.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect summer escape

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

Spent this past weekend at the Iron Elk Lodge and loved it! Large cabin, fenced yard, clean, great price, very responsive owners. Our group spent lots of time on the large front patio during the thunderstorms playing games and relaxing. The cabin comfortably slept 7 adults and had plenty of bathrooms. It was great to be able to bring along our four-legged friends to enjoy the cool pines too. While it wasn't exacly secluded, it was quiet and I would definitely recommend to others.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

What a charming home. We had a great time. The cabin was exactly what was described; clean, nicely decorated. Front patio was great for entertaining and enjoying the weather and the view. Securely fenced back yard for the pooch. It provided the comfort of home while we were away. Owners were very responsive any time I had a question. I'd highly recommend and will definitely stay again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review