reviews for: listing #72949 - Manhattan, New York Studio rental

CPW Brownstone Bed & Breakfast
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Upper West Side
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $115 - $195 /nt
    $900 - $1,800 /wk
    $2,150 - $4,400 /mth

sort by:

Exceed my expectations

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. We got a studio that was above their office. It was neat and clean, and it had anything one may need. Plenty of sun light and very quiet at night. I felt extremely safe walking at late hours and the location couldn't have been better. I was less than a block away from the Museum of Natural History and several restaurants.

When I arrived the wireless internet was not working, I mentioned it to them while I was going out to lunch. When I came back they had already fix the problem.

They have several units, for the one I stayed they didn't have any pictures online but Sally was able to email me some pictures before I booked. Make sure you ask in which unit you will be staying so you know what to expect.

Overall this was a great place to stay for the price and its location.

In the future I would definitely stay with them again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate all reviews and suggestions... Keep them coming...

It keeps us on our toes.

Blake

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

We stayed here but not in unit described

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

When we made the reservation, we said we needed a studio with a queen size bed. What wasn't made clear to us is to accommodate the bed request we were put into the second floor studio at the front of the building. Not at all like the description here.

In all fairness the location is excellent, especially for proximity to Central Park, Museum of Natural History, subway, Columbus and Amsterdam street restaurants etc. Overall the the unit was clean and considering the rest of the appointments, the towels were quite plush. There were some nice glasses in the kitchenette, but we were not inclined to spend any more time than necessary in this place. There was plenty of hot water and good pressure too.

The best way to describe my feelings is to say this unit exhibits a lack of pride in ownership by the owner. It would not take all that much investment to turn this unit into something quite acceptable. Fixing the shutters on the front windows would be a good start because you can't close them. The window air conditioning unit impedes that possibility. People across the street can look right in and forget keeping morning light out of your eyes. Don't try to lean against the wall in bed for reading. You will move the mattress, on bare frame with rollers, across the floor. I think a second hand shop might be a low cost way to solve the problem by purchasing a headboard for stability. The kitchen is so basic, that my RV kitchen seems luxurious by comparison. One also has to wonder why there is junk filling a tiny loft area. It's just tacky. If you go, maybe you will be more appreciative of the baby blue wall paint that "compliments" the weird yellow circular tiles on the bathroom floor. Any amateur decorator would stroke out at the lack of taste.

If you don't have any pride yourself, then by all means you will manage. If, however, you have any inclinations toward more than roughing it, do not make this your first choice. We are truly sorry this was the place we chose because even at the price, I would not do it again.

Owners response: All of our apartments have Queen size beds. The apartment is very light with sunlight streaming in all day...

The AC has been removed for the winter, so the historic shutters can completely close.

Many guests love the yellow tiles and blue walls,,, I don't particularly like them but.... each to his own...

Blake

Helpful votes: 9 / 12

 

good location, poor service

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

sally did not return calls made by us.never received any receipt of payment-poor business practice. the tv never worked, the towels were few and thin. there were absolutely no instructions with the apartment so if the tv worked we wouldnot have known how to operate. bare furnishings, pictures look much better than in actuality. the great thing going for this rental was its location. could not have asked for anything better

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: Sorry for the lack of communication.

Carlos and Sally and Jackie are available during business hours and via cell phone off hours which are posted in the apartment.

The 46" inch Flat Screen Television does require off on on the remote not the television, We have posted detailed instructions. .

We do send a "Breakdown Confirmation" which constitutes our receipt. We will relable it.

Try us again.

Blake

The apartment does have the best location in town on a charming street off Central Park West.

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Perfect weekend for young couple

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

We stayed in the basement apartment here. It was not big but all the space was functional and the location was perfect. Step outside and look to your left and there is Central Park! The space had lots of character and again even though it was small it still had everything you could ask for and certainly a lot more than you will find in an NYC hotel for the same price! There was street parking available and at nights the neighborhood was completely quiet! Lots within walking distance. Just a perfect choice for a short weekend stay in NYC. At the very end of our stay, my boyfriend proposed to me right in front of this apartment! It was beautiful and we cant wait to visit again after the wedding! Thanks for everything :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

we survived the Blizzard of '10 here!

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We just got back from NYC and it was an experience we will never forget. We arrived just as the snow was beginning to fall and made it to the studio before the heavy rain started to fall. The location is amazing. Even with 20" of snow, our walk to the subway station on 81st was only 5 minutes. Snowmen and sledding in central park made this trip just magical! The brownstone was divided up into several studio apartments and it is an old building so don't expect anything glamorous, but we actually liked the character of the building. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because the door to the outside balcony was in pretty bad shape and the bitter cold easily penetrated the gaps in the door. Other than that, this place was a great place to crash and relax after a tough day on the unplowed streets of NYC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

This Place is a Gem

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

Great Location... Near Central Park and lots of restaurants and bars.
We had a private terrace overlooking back gardens. very quiet clean.
Sally is wonderful. She told us about the street parking and the subway and buses which are a block away.

There is a one flight walk up and no breakfast was served, but compared to the $400 price that I was getting from Hotels... this place is a gem.. I liked being able to cook in my own somewhat small kitchen. Saved a lot of money.
Television and internet worked great.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Upper West Side Brownstone

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

We were extremely pleased with this apartment, actually better than expected. The photos are accurate, but there is really much more space than it would seem. The neighborhood is lovely, safe and close to restaurants, cleaners, stores and transportation. The service we received from Sally at Cook Travel was above and beyond the norm, she really went out of her way to accommodate our needs and made our stay a truly pleasant experience. Going back soon!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review