reviews for: listing #72951 - Puerto Vallarta, Pacific Coast Villa rental

Casa Guacamole
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  El Centro
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $700 /nt
    $2,800 - $4,900 /wk

sort by:

Exceeded our Expectations!

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with my family, friends and me. We stayed for 2 weeks and loved every minute of it. Our favourite moments were have Erica and Carolina surprise us with their amazing culinary skills at breakfast and several dinners. The location of the house is perfect, within walking distance to hundreds of bars and restaurants. We never had a meal that disappointed. We have travelled a lot and this is by far the most beautiful, unique home we have ever stayed in. The kitchen is outside!!!!! I have nothing negative to say about this place, I even enjoyed the nightly 250 steps back up to the house, helped keep the weight off so we could enjoy those meals. Would absolutely come back and would recommend for families and friends. Thanks Jeffrey, Arturo, Erica and Carolina.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review, we appreciate and love all our valued guests and it makes us happy if you're happy. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Birthday Celebration

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

I want to follow up after our stay at Casa Guacamole on behalf of myself and the girls.
I couldn’t have asked for a better birthday celebration than our stay at your house. We were in awe once we entered the beautiful house and experienced the layout with such amazing views and the perfect furnishings with all the conveniences.

Of course that was after huffing and puffing up a lot of steps, but that was a whole other experience that turned out to be the perfect way to burn off all the margaritas and guacamole. I was definitely in better shape when I left than when I arrived and enjoyed my walks and climbs.

We love your staff who took such good care of us and served wonderful breakfasts and cooked us a special dinner. Your driver, was wonderful, so professional and patient waiting for us while we were on our adventures.

Being in a neighborhood proved to be such fun, meeting people on our way up and down the streets. We explored and had wonderful adventures.
I got the upper bedroom, because I am the birthday girl, and loved the balcony over looking all of Puerto Vallarta.

I have been raving about our stay with friends and clients as a hidden gem for a wonderful holiday.

I hope we can return one day.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Week

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

We just finished the most fantastic week at Casa Guacamole. Have never stayed in a property so well appointed and were amazed at the beauty and location of the property. Erika and Catalina were fantastic as they prepared breakfast and one dinner for our group. We hired a mariachi band for one night of appetizers and cocktails and it could not have been more perfect. The property gives the feel of old Spanish architecture with all the modern amenities. Cannot say enough good things about Casa Guacamole. We are looking forward to returning with friends and family in the future. Thanks for a great week Jeffrey.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review, we are so happy that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay at Casa Guacamole. We love getting positive reviews from all of the great guests that have stayed with us. We take pride in making your vacation experience a memorable one and hope that you will think of us again for your travel plans.
Jeffrey

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Celebration

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

The dramatic views and spacious house are as described. The casa is well maintained and very clean with daily service. The owner is responsive to all inquiries and arranged transport from the airport and our welcoming dinner meal. We took advantage of the chefs, having them cook almost all evening meals and a couple breakfasts. They are also very good bartenders. The food and drink were great and of great value. We used the driver services for shopping, transport to the zip-line and sightseeing. Besides the zip-line, parasailing, jet skis and the beach are just down the hill. We tried them all. I recommend this place to all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

January 2010

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

We stayed here for a week with friends to celebrate their Wedding Anniversary. The accommodations were fabulous. Can't wait to come back again. Great location. Great views. Great place!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

SPECTACULAR VILLA

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2010

What a magical home you have created Jeffrey. Casa G. is absolutely stunning, the architecture is spectacular, decor superb and the location couldn't be better - right in the center of town. The view are just magical, overlooking the Bay of Banderas and Our Lady of Guadalupe Church, with fireworks in the evening just to cap it all off. My sister and family from Melbourne, Australia joined our family for a wonderful holiday in PV. We enjoyed the 5 block walk down to the Malecon (beach boardwalk/esplanade) exploring all the shops and markets and dining in the various restaurants. We also enjoyed the hike back up the hill (although taxis are plentiful for those not choosing to do so), knowing the reward would be diving into the beautiful pool and relaxing at the Casa. There's a great Tapas restaurant just two blocks down from the Casa that we enjoyed very much as well. The people of PV were all very warm and welcoming and we felt extremely safe and we're so glad we had the opportunity to stay in this wonderful city.

I would also recommend Rigo, the driver you arranged to meet us at the airport - he is great and spoke English very well. We also hired him to take us on a day trip up the coast to Sayulita Beach, as well as a tasting at a Tequila factory to learn how it's made etc., which we enjoyed very much. We hired Marta to cook authentic Mexican meals for us on two evenings (don't miss out on this whatever you do!!). What a treat - the food was spectacular. Marta is an accomplished chef and a thoroughly delightful lady - next time we would like to have her cook every meal!! Erica the housekeeper and her colleague where very professional, helpful, friendly and did a great job of keeping the Casa ship shape.

Thank you again Jeffrey for sharing your beautiful home with us. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It has been almost a year . . .

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

. . . since my week-long stay in paradise, and I am SO sorry not to be returning this year. Despite the stormy weather last October, our stay at Casa Guacamole was anything but. Best vacation I've ever had! Josie, Erika, and Marta were wonderful, and the villa is beyond beautiful. I hope to make it down next year!

One more note -- I have severe arthritis in my knees, and the hill and stairs were very tough. I would crawl up the stairs if necessary to stay at Casa Guacamole again! As for the hill -- cabs are inexpensive. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Place

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

I celebrated my birthday at Casa Guacamole with 6 friends and the entire experience was fantastic. The villa is extraordinarily beautiful and the location is fantastic. It's set high up on a hill above downtown PV so there are a lot of stairs to climb but it is well worth if for the privacy and serene views. The rooms are very nicely appointed and the service was first rate. I cannot wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

casa guacamole

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

Casa Guacamole is a beautiful casa located in the hillside behind the cathedral, just in front of "gringo gulch". It was a nice walk to town and all the favorite hotspots and restaurants, along with the wonderful Malecon and all the best shops. I would recommend a cab for the ride back to the casa, as some of the hills are steep.The casa is very roomy and was a great choice for our first annual ladies week vacation. Every bedroom has an ocean view.It was very secure and the staff was most excellant. We never experianced any problems as one might expect when you get 8 women togather in one place, we all found it to be the most perfect place for a relaxing vacation. How often do you hear of 8 women agreeing on anything? What really made it stand out was the the beauty of the architecture and the lovely art work adorning the walls, the care the staff takes to ensure you want for nothing. It was also a major plus to have access to the internet and free calls back home to let our spouses know everything was going great. You know how men can worry! For the budget minded travellers, you will find no better deal in all of Vallarta, for everything Casa Guacamole offers. I would highly recommend this Casa to anyone looking for privacy to do as they wish and breathtaking views.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family and Friends: A Great Week at Casa Guacamole

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 9, 2010

First and foremost I want to say that all of us enjoyed our stay at Casa G (as we all ended up calling it). We felt we were behind the curve on just about everything...i.e., we had Mary cook for us on Friday and realized we should have had her come in just about every night! She is incredible and what a great price! For 8 of us it was about $100 for groceries and $35 for her fee (absolutely ridiculous for the all the work she put in!). And all the leftovers for the next day. Not to mention the fact that she accommodated my "can't really eat spicy food" request.
The chips, guacamole, and Margueritas upon arrival were a welcome we weren't expecting. What great foresight on Jeffrey's part!
Erica was a delight (the downstairs help). We were all trying to figure out how to pack Erica and Mary into our suitcases to bring them home. Even though Marta couldn't speak English, we managed to get a few requests in! Casa G is blessed with an absolutely wonderful staff.

Arriving Sunday evening, it wasn't until about Tuesday morning that I started to feel somewhat acclimated to the house and all it entailed. I guess this is because we had never vacationed this way before so it took awhile to get the "lay of the land" so to speak. Took me a day to figure out how I could get my room cold enough with the A/C.

Didn't discover the drawer with the brochures or the games and books until about Wednesday. So everybody should look in the big armoire off the living room right away to see what they can take advantage of.

As far as store suggestions, Rizo's was the best and closest (we thought). Walmart wasn't so great.

And, THANK GOD we didn't rent a car! We were all laughing over the concept of trying to drive on those cobblestone streets. Once we finally (here again, behind the curve) got the ability to bargain our taxi rates we did well. One taxi (early on)...a van...charged 4 of us $200 pesos to go down to the flea market. We were irritated about that for the rest of the trip!

All in all, it was a great time for all of us. I loved the rustic charm of the house and enjoyed the rooster as well as the chiming of the church bells.
Jeffrey answered my endless emails and phone calls without hesitation, always willing to provide information. The pictures on his website gave a good indication of the house and all it entailed. I would definitely recommend this house. But be prepared for a lot of steps, both up to the house and inside as well.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This place is a GEM!

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2009

I stayed at Casa Guacamole for a week last September. The house is IMMACULATE and beautifully decorated, and in an ideal location in Puerto Vallarta. The views from the house are some of the best in PV... I give this property a 5 out of 5 stars... highest rating I've ever given to any property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

casa guacamole

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

This was a most excellant choice for our group of 8 women traveling togather for the first time. It was laid out in the traditional mexican style with the open air concept, we all had our share of privacy and security that you sometimes wonder about while traveling. The location was a little farther than I had originally anticipated, but wasn't a problem, as it was an easy walk to the malecon, town and the beach. the view of banderas bay was breathtaking, along with the view of guadalupe......most excellant! The staff was very informative and most helpful, and very capeable of taking the utmost care of our every need. they kept a very neat and clean house. most of the taxi drivers in town didn't know the way back to casa guacamole, but that problem was remedied once we had Josie draw us up some simple maps up to show the cab drivers. All the cab drivers knew where we were when we called for a pick-up from the casa, though. i found out later on, they mostly work within certain assigned sections of town, hence the need for a map.
I would definately recommend this property to others, every one of us just loved it.....I would not recommend to anyone with anykind of disabilities that has problems with stairs.......44 steps up to the master bedroom.....BUT worth every bit of it! As for some of the activities we par took in, El Eden is a scenic wonder, along with a great luncheon....Para sailing over banderas bay was breathtaking, riding the mules through the town of Yelapa to the water falls was nice, but not quite as nice as the horseback ride through the jungle to the bigger falls in Los Animas. The water taxi service out of boca tomaitcolon (bad spelling) was intresting, but just don't trust the taxi guide when he tells you there is no horsebacking in los animas....they're based out of Yelapa, and want to take everyone there! But, Yelapa was nice too. Walking down the Malacon at sunset and seeing the crimson lights reflecting off the water onto the newer beachfront hotels in the marina area was quite a sight. All in all, a very satisfying experiance, with More than all the comforts of home!
Thank you so much, Jeffrey, for all you've done.
Sincerely,
Cindy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

We were a party of 7 who stayed in Casa Guacamole for 7 nights in January. It was fantastic! The house, furnishings, location were perfect. The walk up from the Malecon was steep, but we enjoyed our workout. Josie, Maria, Julia, Erika and Marta all made our stay wonderful. It was paradise!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

We have rented a few vacation homes.
This house is by far the nicest and most
fully equipped. The area is wonderful as
are the people who work at the house.
The sunsets and views of the bay are to
be seen for yourself. My family and I
can not wait to go back. We went with 6
total people, two of which were in their
late 70's and we all loved it. With the
4 large bedrooms, with the king sized
beds, you can go with any combination of
people and have fun and privacy. Sit out
by the pool and grill at sunset with a
drink, and for that small amount of time
you will not want to be anywhere else.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 13, 2009

Comment Text: My friends and I had a wonderful time staying at Casa Guacamole from the moment we arrived until our last minute there. It is a spectacular villa and the pictures really do it justice. The staff was very attentive and helpful and it was a great place to just kick back and relax or take a walk into town. Just one note about the location; it is up a very steep hill and then once at the house has many steps to get into the house and up to the bedrooms. It is not handicapped friendly so be careful when booking that you do not have anyone in your party who has difficulty walking. But even with the very long hard hill and stairs, everyone in our party agrees that when we return to PV, Casa Guacamole is the place for us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 17, 2008   Date of arrival: December 17, 2008

beautiful house I feel like i was in at palace.incredible sea view,great place to rest or go away with the family.it was wonderful i will come back. thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 15, 2008   Date of arrival: December 15, 2008

One couldn't ask for a better vacation get away! The villa is clean, beautiful, and oh-so comfortable. It is also nearby local amenities and the ocean, yet private enough to feel like you have paradise to yourselves. This will be our new, annual special treat to ourselves. We highly recommend it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 29, 2008   Date of arrival: August 29, 2008

I spent two weeks here in July and it was perfect! The
house is beautiful, Mary the cook was wonderful, and
the location is ideal. I couldn't have asked for a nicer
holiday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review