reviews for: listing #72967 - Kaanapali, Hawaii Condo rental

Honua Kai Resort and Spa
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Honua Kai
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $425 - $800 /nt
    $2,975 - $5,600 /wk

sort by:

I Need to GO BACK!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

My friends and I stayed for one week in this condo. I have traveled to Hawaii at least 20 times and have visited Maui on a few occasions, but this 5 star vacation rental has been the best so far. This condo is well cared for, well laid out, and has a very large balcony with fabulous views of the ocean. Not only is this unit well maintained, but really lovely, and beautifully decorated with soothing colors, making it easy to relax. The huge lanai, (and I mean huge), has glass doors that open completely to the views of the ocean and pools below. The unit is a 2BR 2B corner unit so you have a wider view of the ocean, pool and surrounding terrain.
The location of the Honua Kai Resort is ideal. Every day we would walk the long paved path along the shore, which leads to Whalers Village. Every afternoon we would swim in the beautiful pools and hot tubs. Dukes Restaurant is located on the property and we visited there a few times for dinner, drinks or just dessert. We also enjoyed sightseeing to the Seven Pools, a local blow-hole, a grouping of tide pools, with colorful fish and a pool deep enough to jump into. The shopping in Lahana is close and convenient as well. The amenities and this location are first class. The BBQ area is a favorite spot for gathering and meeting new friends. I also found the concierge to be very knowledgeable and helpful in arranging travel and site seeing plans. I so look forward to staying here again!
Carolyn from California

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We take great pride in keeping our condo very clean. My husband and I personally do a deep cleaning of the carpets, furniture and bathrooms 3 times a year. We feel that's so important for people in order to help them feel comfortable and be able to relax. Aloha Toni

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

What a beautiful place! Defiantly 5 star, but family friendly! Morning walks on beautiful paths with ocean views, shops and restaurants to stop in if you desire. Kayaking ,swimming, snorkeling and sun bathing on beautiful beach, afternoon swim in lovely pools and hot tubs with a very fun pool slide! Sunsets are Amazing as we enjoyed BBQing our dinners and watching the sunsets on the wrap around lani . Duke's restaurant right on the property is also a treat if wanting to eat out! The condo is very clean and up to date with everything you need.
After staying here we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else when coming to Hawaii!
Mike and Doreen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: One of the great things about coming to Maui is having a Costco Warehouse to shop at, right next to the airport. Grab all your meat and fish to barbecue, then on to Honua Kai, to enjoy all the barbecues on the property. The views are stunning from your spot at the grill and the pools are right there. You can either eat by the pool or come back to the large lanai, with a dining table that seats six. Aloha Toni

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another day in paradise!

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

My husband and I finally got to Hawaii (in our 60's)...not really knowing how Maui compared to islands we had been to in the Caribbean. Hastled by a day of travel from the East Coast, we welcomed the sight of our condo door..Wow, wow, WOW. We walked into a great room which opened out onto a large wrap-around lanai with plenty of comfortable seating for enjoying sunsets over the ocean. The whole condo far-exceeded our expectations. It was immaculate, the bedrooms were super comfortable and included large HD televisions, there was an ensuite laundry facility, the bathrooms were fully stocked with towels, soaps and other toiletries, and the kitchen contained everything we needed except for the food. The Honua Kai Resort was beautiful and its amenities numerous. We could walk by boardwalk to shopping and restaurants. We met up with a couple who had been to this resort several times, and they took us sightseeing to the Seven Pools, a local blow-hole, a grouping of tidepools, with colorful fish and a pool deep enough to jump into, and the Maui Aquarium. Maui, this condo, the amenities and sightseeing totally blew us away, leaving our Caribbean trips in their dust! We would recommend this condo to relatives and friends in a New York minute!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Honua Kai is a great resort for people of all ages. For people that just want to relax and not sight see, there is a market on site, a full grocery store, restaurants, shops, hair and nail salon and a great stand that makes Ono tacos, right across the street. Aloha

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular View

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

My husband and I have traveled all over the world and have stayed in amazing resorts. The Honua Kai Resort is definitely 5 star all the way. It has beautiful views of the ocean and an amazing lanai that we enjoyed everyday. The sunsets were gorgeous. There is a great gym, gourmet market and relaxing pools. There is a restaurant on site or you can walk down the beach to many other places to eat at the Whalers Village. We spent a lot of time at the beach, pool and barbecues which are a short walk out your door. This resort is in a great location and I feel you really don't need a car. All you need is to do is relax and enjoy. I also loved how the decor is so modern and first class all the way. We will definitely go back to this great place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: The amenities at Honua Kai truly make it the place that it is. Since our condo has the wrap around lanai you will really get the ultimate views and this floor plan gives you larger closets and more square footage inside.
Owner/Toni

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

No need for a car

Review submitted: March 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

The condominium in Kaanapali Beach is beautiful and spacious, close to all the shops and restaurants. Loved the ocean and wonderful walking paths and golf near by. We ate at Dukes restaurant at the resort, barbecued, and purchased salads and other side dishes at the Aina Market, also on site. We never had to get in the car, and this is the ultimate in a vacation for us. I really enjoyed myself and hope to get back as soon as possible. Thank-you and God Bless, fondly Gary and Debby Roenicke

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed yourself and were able to take advantage of the many things available at the Resort. Hope to have you come again next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect Girls Getaway

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

WONDERFUL new condo, well decorated and very comfortable, with ocean views as soon as you enter the condo, and every amenity you could ask for. I went with 3 other girlfriends, and we all felt so pampered. I especially enjoyed the ocean view heated pool with the lounge chairs IN it...so relaxing, and enjoyable for us sunbathers! We really enjoyed the walk path that goes all the way from Honua Kai to the Hyatt along the beach, and the gym, located right at the condo. A must see is the Maui Ocean Center, a surprising, favorite stop for me and my girlfriends.
A great get-away for families, friends, or for you and your honey.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maui is a wonderful island, with many places to go sight seeing. There's something for everyone for daytime activities and nighttime. The layout of our condo makes it comfortable for everyone. Aloha

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

8 days in paradise

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2009

Brand new facility. Completely A++++++ quality. Large rooms, large baths, granite counter tops, tile floors in kitchen and baths. Best resort I've stayed at in years. You can use the AC or completely open up the glass doors to the patio and have a full 'Hawaiian' immersion experience with lite breezes and ocean waves. Spacious layout and upgraded furnishings.

Quiet units and relaxing location. Secluded beach. If you're looking for hustle and bustle at this location, you won't find it. There's not much around and the restaurant had not opened yet. I believe Duke's is now open. Shopping and really good snorkling are a short 15-25 minute drive away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: "Dukes Restaurant" is now open and offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They have fantastic food and live entertainment. I encourage anyone staying here to try the snorkeling in front of the resort, it's fabulous. No need to drive elsewhere. Also you can take the walkway along the beach all the way to Whaler's Village for shopping and additional restaurants. The drive to Whaler's Village is only 5 minutes away and it's only an additional 5 to get to Lahaina.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review