reviews for: listing #73008 - Brooklyn, New York Apartment rental

Amazing 2 BR Apartment in Historic Brownstone
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Crown Heights
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $850 - $1,100 /wk
    $3,100 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

Great Location / Helpful Owner

Review submitted: May 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 22, 2013

We had a bit of an issue upon arriving at the apartment -- the door wouldn't open! But the owners came to the rescue ASAP and even allowed us to keep warm at a neighboring apartment while they tried to resolve the issue with the door. I wasn't expecting a fancy place but the apartment was kept neat and fairly clean.

The location is great for commute as the walk to the nearest subway station was only 10 minutes. And when you cross that main road there are several bakeries, restaurants, etc. on the other side.

Michelle was also extremely helpful with a host of things -- where to get food, how to get to the train, etc.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Comfortable, spacious, and clean

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

This apartment exceeded my expectations. I booked it fairly last minute while in NYC for work. I was pleasantly surprised by how accommodating and welcoming Michelle is. The rooms are clean and very spacious. And the bed is incredibly comfortable! For my job, I wanted to be within 45 minutes from manhattan and getting there from this apartment was very convenient. I will be staying here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ad was very deceiving

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

We were a little disappointed with our stay here - the unit was very dirty for a rental - the bedrooms listed were not what was there - it says there are two queen size beds but really there is 1 bed and a Futon which was terrible for our backs - there wasn't any bedding when we arrived and had to ask for sheets and blankets - the bathroom and toilet were filthy and I had to get some ammonia before I could use it - the floors were very dirty, walls half painted and we had a 2 year old that wanted to run around and couldn't because it was dirty - the owner was very helpful in resolving issues as they arise but would have thought that the place would have been ready since our arrival was planned since January - bathroom is also outside of the unit which was a little odd but not the worst thing... I wouldn't stay there again and really wanted others to know how it was - if we hadn't paid in advance we would have found somewhere else to go - there are too many nicer rentals in the area.

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

Best rental ever!

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

Michelle and her husband were so kind and wonderfully accommodating! Our flight was delayed, and I asked if it was possible to check in at a later date, and it was fine with Michelle! The apartment had everything we needed, all the basic necessities. Anytime we had questions, a quick text to Michelle and we would get a response immediately! The neighborhood is quiet, and the walk to the train station is a short walk, just a few blocks. Great rental!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Value

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

My wife and I had a very nice stay in the apartment while we visited our daughter in Brooklyn who had just given birth. The master bedroom is very large, airy and bright. Very comfortable bed with a wonderfully warm down comforter. While not large the kitchen is very serviceable and the living room was quite comfortable with a large flat screen tv, mini sound system. dvd player and wifi access....all the comforts of home. The location is on a quiet street with easy access to most parts of Brooklyn or going into Manhattan. Probably the best bang for my buck all that week in NYC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A wonderful week

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

I am originally from New york now living in Miami. My two best friends that had never been and I dedcided to take a trip up. Instead of staying cramped up in a small apartment with friends we decided to rent a place for a few nights. We found this great place with a great deal and rented two extra nights than originally intended. It was pertfect! There are several train stops near by. Prospect park was a short walk away including the Brooklyn musium and botanical gardens. The owner of the house made sure we were well acomidated and made our stay very comfortable. Besides having total privecy a cool place to be when not out and having a place to cook, the bed was extreamly comfortable. I would recommend this apartment to all my friends.!! Thanks so Much Mich.

Patricia

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great for performers in NYC Temporarily

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

I'm an actor/dancer from LA, but from time to time, I get calls about jobs/auditions in NYC- usually very short notice. I booked a job that required me to be in NYC from August 21 - 27. I heard about this website and thought I'd give it a shot instead of shacking up with friends in a cramped studio apartment in the city. And BOY AM I HAPPY I DID! Trust me you will love this apartment. The daily and weekly rate is worth every penny and more. It's located very close to te subway so it was easy for me to get into Manattan. And it's located in the cutest neighborhood surrounded with historic brownstones. The apartment is HUGE! And all the furniture and TV is either brand new or the owners do an amazing job with up keep. The owners are super nice and really did a great job of making me feel welcome. My only regret is that I didn't bring anyone along with me that could really enjoy the apartment while I was working. I already booked another week in December for my husband and another couple to return and actually sight-see around NYC.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Place to Stay in Brooklyn

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

While visiting NY, my boyfriend and I decided to rent an apartment rather then stay at a hotel. Hotels are so expensive in the city, so when he came across this vacation rental, we jumped at the chance to stay there and boy was I happy I did. Not only did we save money, we really felt like I was a true New Yorker; living in Brooklyn for a week.
From the moment my boyfriend and I arrived, we were welcomed with open arms by Michelle, the owner of the apartment we rented. She was so friendly and I really felt as though she cared whether or not we enjoyed our time in New York.
The apartment was a home away from home. The bedroom is nice and spacious, with a clean look and feel about it. Michelle made sure that we had extra sheets available if we needed them, which was nice. There is a non working fireplace in the bedroom and although it would be amazing to have a fireplace (in the winter), the look of it made the bedroom even more cozy. The bathroom is a great size with a shower/bath and has everything you would need. Next to the bedroom is the kitchen, which I found so useful. I honestly didn't think I would need the kitchen all that much, but I was wrong. We mostly used it for making breakfast, which was nice. There is also a living room with everything you would need if you wanted to stay in and relax. There is a stereo, DVD player, flat screen TVwith all the channels you would want. There is another room off the living room, but we found no real use for it, we had even space and didn't need it.
The apartment is also located very close to the Subway, which was basically a deal breaker for us. We wanted to be close to the subway and the apartment was only a 10 min walk away. The subway is next to a few local shops as well as a Dunkin Donuts. The subway ride into NYC was nice and easy. It is the No. 3 train, which took us to Union Sq and from there we were able to anywhere. We were pleased to find out that the apartment was very close to the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens and also the Brooklyn Public Library. Both spots are amazing; I actually went to the gardens twice because it was so beautiful.
All in all, I had a wonderful time in Brooklyn and NYC in general. Michelle made it even more special by making us feel like we made the right choice by renting her apartment, which we did. We will definitely be coming back to Brooklyn and staying here again, if it isn't booked up. We had a great time here!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Brooklyn's Best

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

While visiting NY, my boyfriend and I decided to rent an apartment rather then stay at a hotel. Hotels are so expensive in the city, so when he came across this vacation rental, we jumped at the chance to stay there and boy was I happy I did. Not only did we save money, we really felt like I was a true New Yorker; living in Brooklyn for a week.
From the moment my boyfriend and I arrived, we were welcomed with open arms by Michelle, the owner of the apartment we rented. She was so friendly and I really felt as though she cared whether or not we enjoyed our time in New York.
The apartment was a home away from home. The bedroom is nice and spacious, with a clean look and feel about it. Michelle made sure that we had extra sheets available if we needed them, which was nice. There is a non working fireplace in the bedroom and although it would be amazing to have a fireplace (in the winter), the look of it made the bedroom even more cozy. The bathroom is a great size with a shower/bath and has everything you would need. Next to the bedroom is the kitchen, which I found so useful. I honestly didn't think I would need the kitchen all that much, but I was wrong. We mostly used it for making breakfast, which was nice. There is also a living room with everything you would need if you wanted to stay in and relax. There is a stereo, DVD player, flat screen TVwith all the channels you would want. There is another room off the living room, but we found no real use for it, we had even space and didn't need it.
The apartment is also located very close to the Subway, which was basically a deal breaker for us. We wanted to be close to the subway and the apartment was only a 10 min walk away. The subway is next to a few local shops as well as a Dunkin Donuts. The subway ride into NYC was nice and easy. It is the No. 3 train, which took us to Union Sq and from there we were able to anywhere. We were pleased to find out that the apartment was very close to the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens and also the Brooklyn Public Library. Both spots are amazing; I actually went to the gardens twice because it was so beautiful.
All in all, I had a wonderful time in Brooklyn and NYC in general. Michelle made it even more special by making us feel like we made the right choice by renting her apartment, which we did. We will definitely be coming back to Brooklyn and staying here again, if it isn't booked up. We had a great time here!

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review