reviews for: listing #73070 - Asheville, North Carolina Studio rental

Country Cabin - LUXURY, GREAT LOCATION, HOT TUB
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $145 /nt
    $805 - $910 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Country Cabin

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

"This location & property are beautiful! It was cozy and perfect for my husband and I. The hot tub was great. We most certainly will recommend this property and will make plans to return when we can. Thank You."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Country Cabin

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

"It was a great place to stay. We would happily stay here again! The Verizon Network Extender was a very nice touch - and unexpected."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Country Cabin

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

"Perfect. There aren't any short-commings. The people you have taking care of the place are very nice and concerned of our well being and comfort, and thank you very much. Going to come back with our grown kids and let them enjoy the place too."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Country Cabin

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 16, 2014

"The cabin was a cozy little retreat that was still very close to downtown. It was exactly what we needed and even a little extra. Thanks for the escape!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible Cabin

Review submitted: May 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

This weekend getaway was exactly what we were looking for. The cabin was perfect for us and our two puppies. The hot tube and fire pit really made for a pleasant evening. During the day we toured local breweries. Everyone we met was very pleasant. I can't wait to plan my next trip back.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

"We had a lovely time in your wonderful cabin. The grounds are beautiful, the hot tub fantastic, and the cabin well appointed. We absolutely loved our visit - very romantic and a beautiful setting."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

"This is a great place to escape."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

"My husband and I were both extremely impressed by the cabin and its location. We couldn't have imagined a better way to spend a private cozy wedding anniversary. It was the perfect mix of romantic seclusion and modern amenities, especially the hot tub. Thank you."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

"We love this cabin! The landscaping is so beautiful and the cabin is so nice. This was the most relaxing weekend we've had in a long time!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

"Beautiful property and cabin. Very neat and clean. Very well furnished with a sufficient kitchen with all the amenities needed for a wonderful weekend!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

"Overall, we loved it! It's such a quick trip to Asheville and other surrounding areas. The kitchen is small, which makes it challenging to cook a meal, but we made it work just fine. We tended to go do things during the day, come back late at nigh to cook, eat and enjoy the amenities of the cabin and the quiet and peacefulness. Thanks so much!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

"Beautiful, peaceful country cabin. Secluded but close to stores and Asheville. We''' return and will also recommend to friends."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

"We loved our stay in this cabin! It was very easy to find, but felt remote and private. The decor is very nice. We really enjoyed the walking trails, hot tub, grill, and fireplace. We will be coming back here. It's the perfect place for a weekend getaway!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

"We had an amazing time. The cabin was quaint and perfect for a 2 day vacation."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

"Everything was fabulous! We will definitely be coming back here again! This was our first experience in a cabin and it was everything we imagined thanks to you! Thank you!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

"Overall, the place was excellent. The property is well maintained and quite lovely. The cabin is well equipped with anything anyone could want or need and the appliances are great and appropriate. Thanks for a great stay!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

"It's great to be 'in the middle of nowhere' but still so convenient to Blue Ridge Parkway and downtown. Definitely a luxury cabin - we never felt like we were 'roughing it'."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

"Beautiful & convenient location. The cabin is quaint and comfortable and i a great location for daytime excursions. Thanks so much!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

"It was percect. This is the ideal place to unplug and get away. The covered porch, the hot tub, the real wood fireplace! Awesome it has that rustic feel with all the modern amenities that you may need. We will be back (maybe with the kids!). Thanks."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

"Very quiet and peaceful. Just what we were looking for! The fireplace is amazing - we spent most of our trip sitting and rocking and watching the fire! The kitchen is very functional...We cooked several meals from scratch and had no problems whatsoever. We can't wait to come back and bring our 2 1/2 year old son! Many thanks for having us!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

"This area is beautiful. Rob from The Lodge was a big help getting in and setting our code for us. The grounds are breathtakingly green and the privacy is top rated. Our dog, Boone, loved every minute of every day here - He was at peace. The hot tub was perfect after a day on Chimney Rock. Boone loved the stream running through the property. My husband and I loved the sounds of nature and the air comfort bed! We loved this place and will surely be back."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

"This area is beautiful. Rob from The Lodge was a big help getting in and setting our code for us. The grounds are breathtakingly green and the privacy is top rated. Our dog, Boone, loved every minute of every day here - He was at peace. The hot tub was perfect after a day on Chimney Rock. Boone loved the stream running through the property. My husband and I loved the sounds of nature and the air comfort bed! We loved this place and will surely be back."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

"Very Cozy. Kept us warm. My 6'4" husband very much appreciated the high shower head. The photos online don't do this place justice. It far exceeded our expectations. The dogs liked the hiking trails. We did not see any bears, but we did spot a turkey."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

"The cabin was more than I hoped for, it exceeded our expectations! We enjoyed traveling around the area and spending the days out and about - coming 'home' to the cabin at the end of each day was a welcome breath of fresh air! The warm wood tones and the tranquility of the area was an immediate relaxing, restful feeling. We intend on recommending this to anyone and everyone we know heading down this way. The cabin is a vacation in itself. Loved it - Thanks!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

"Perfect!!! Awesome set up - we had everything we needed and more!! Cabin was perfect and the most peaceful vacation I have taken. I would highly recommend it and plan on coming again."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

"I spent countless hours researching cabins and am so glad I chose this one / it was available. Love the interior and exterior of the cabin - was perfect surprise for my boyfriend's birthday. We both said we would definitely stay here again! Quick drive to downtown Asheville and nearby whitewater rafting. Thank you! We look forward to staying here again."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

"The cabin was more than I had expected. My boyfriend and I were both very surprised that the cabin was so modern and comfortable. We had a great stay! Thank you!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

"This was a great get-away for us. The location is remote, but very convenient for everything we wanted. Thanks for sharing your cabin with us!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

"Excellent! We were surprised to find the cabin exceeded our already HIGH expectations. I'll recommend to any friend coming this way.
PS - I saw a freakin bear! I've never seen a bear. I thought the "Bear Aware" info left for us was kind of a joke...Nope! BEARS!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

"Thank you for having us on Thanksgiving here, we enjoyed every minute of our stay, hope to come back soon. Thank you both again, we love this place, Our second home. Thanks for the jacuzzi wow, I needed that."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

"We really liked that it was tucked away from the road. We would definitely recommend this place to our friends. Thank you!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

"We loved the cabin and had a wonderful time. Looking forward to staying here again sometime."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

"Beautiful and restful cabin. Liked the rustic yet modern amenities. We even saw the bear! When we are back in the area, we would like to stay here again. Enjoyed the hot tub and seeing the stars."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

"My sweetie, Louis, and I were just so happy to have the weekend together, but when I pulled up to the cabin I was stunned by its modern touch. We disconnected, relaxed and didn't even make it to downtown Asheville! We had everything we needed here, plus! Thank you for having us! Oh, we loved the light and land scape too."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

"Clean, comfortable, great use of space! Cozy, quiet, natural! We stayed in the Hummingbird last year - loved them both! Can't wait to stay in The Lodge!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

"The cabin was great. Had almost everything we needed and a few more things. The furnishings were very nice."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

"LOVED IT! We will definitely plan on coming back for another visit :) Thanks!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

This is our favorite cabin and we've stayed in quite a few (at least 7 or 8 in Asheville!) Super cozy, clean and quaint. We spent our time by the fire relaxing and hiking right outside. We saw beautiful deer upon waking our first morning (but no bears!). We cooked and I practiced yoga by the fire. This place will always have a special meaning to us as we got engaged our first night here! My sweet Love proposed by the fireplace. Thank you for this space of peace and love. We will be back. Oh and not to forget the hot tub, awesome and clean. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 3, 2013

We really enjoyed the cabin & property during our stay. We used the fireplace a lot during our stay so the abundant supply of firewood was great! The coffee cups, etc. was nice to have available. We struggled some our first night, even with a fire going. At first, we thought the heat wasn't working, until we finally turned it up to the maximum. Then again, we are from Alabama and probably not used to the cold. :) Overall, we had a great time and appreciate all the amenities you cabin provided!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

"The cabin was very cozy. We loved the hot tub and fireplace especially! It snowed while we were here which was absolutely beautiful! The property was very nice, we loved the trails! This cabin is everything you would imagine a cabin in the woods would be and more; Definitely can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Escape!!!

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

We just stayed at High Country and could not have been happier. It was just what we needed to escape the drone of daily life. The cabin was perfect for two people although could fit 3-4. We really enjoyed sitting outside with the firepit at night. There was certainly no shortage of split firewood either. The cabin itself was very comfortable with a nice size tv and surpisingly Wi-Fi. That was really helpful. My wifes smart phone couldn't pick up service but my dumb phone worked just fine. The hot tub was hot and clean.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sweet little cabin

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

This was the perfect size cabin for us and our two dogs. It was secluded enough that we never heard any traffic from the road but close enough to town that it took less than 15 minutes to get to a major grocery store and the Blue Ridge Parkway. There's a little bit of hiking on the property which was nice. Everything in the cabin was very clean and well stocked. The fireplace is huge and great to have during a winter stay. The hot tub was appreciated as well! We had no problem getting connected to the internet and there were plenty of choices on the TV. The bed and couch were very comfortable. We were very pleased with our stay and look forward to coming back again!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cozy Cabin in the woods

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

I came to visit my son at Warren Wilson. This is a great location. The cabin is well stocked with all the utensils you might need. It is an excellent spot for a little solitude or if you want a location close enough to easily get to the city. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a weekend getaway

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Asheville for his birthday. I spent countless hours on VRBO looking for potential places to stay, and am so glad I decided on this one / it was available. We could not have been happier. The cabin had a grill and firepit perfect for a night in- with all the kitchen amenities already provided. We were so happy to find the hot tub already heating up when we got there. The cabin is in the perfect location- has that secluded feeling but is only a ten to fifteen minute easy drive to downtown Asheville. I was a little concerned about us sharing a full size bed- but it was truly one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in- and even slept for 12 hours one night which has never happened. The cabin interior/amenities managed to be updated while still maintaining the cabin feel. The cabin was incredibly clean- I really have nothing negative to say about this cabin. We both agreed that we would love to return for a weekend getaway and would recommend it to our friends. I think the cabin would be great for a romantic getaway, a girls weekend, or a small family. Highly recommend this cabin!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

2nd Honeymoon

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

My husband and I married on 3.24.12. We honeymooned in St. Lucia for a week. I wasn't ready to check into reality just yet, so after a few weeks back at work I booked us a romantic getaway to this sexy cabin. I'm a stickler about cleanliness- and this place was so clean and germ free and zero pet hair. We brought our dog Boone and he was in heaven and had no issues with "other" smells in the cabin. This place is romantic and literally has everything one would need. We went to Ingles and got all the fixin' to make dinners and breakfasts. We grilled out, made fires, soaked in the hot tub, went on hikes, and even played in the stream with our dog. On Saturday my husband, my dog, and me hiked Chimney Rock! We had a great day out and about- the best part of the whole day was how close we were to everything. After the hike we went into downtown Ash where we had lunch, shopped, and took to drinking at the Earth Day festival. We stocked up at Brusin' Ales and had an amazing late lunch at Southern. Every night we ate dinner together, made a fire outside and relished in the hot tub. Each morning we had breakfast together and then went for a hike with our dog. The temp was amazing in the mountains. We saw no bears, our dog never went too far, and the privacy is just amazing. I am planning to go back in October for my birthday. The landscaping for such a small cabin was adorable and we felt so safe. I love the Verizon booster, the wireless internet, the ihome alarm clock and noise maker, and let me tell you about the bed! By far the best vacation bed I've slept on. The TV was great, the concept of being rustic in mountains, but having such amenities is just a fun luxury. I was in heaven. Watching my man make and sit by the fire while five feet away I'm making a snack plate and watching TV was just up my alley on what a holiday should be. The bathroom was so clean. The water doesn't have that bad of a smell, which I was worried (I'm sensitive to smell too). The gas grill lit right up. The fire wood is chopped and plentiful. The stream is relaxing. The hot tub is in the perfect location to soak and look up at the nights sky. The cabin is located near everything. Patrick and I were very happy and we will be back soon.
Awaiting my 3rd honeymoon, Kathleen Singleton.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Asheville

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

I cannot begin to express how wonderful this cabin is. It was just the perfect place for my husband, children and myself to spend qualify time together. The cabin is so cute and cozy. Although the cabin is one room, not including bath, we had a family of four (dad, mom, son 16 and son 12) and were just fine. Good time to keep all of us together for good ole family time. My family and I had such a great time walking the trails, using the hot tub, and hanging out by the streams, etc. This cabin had every thing that we needed and we cannot wait to be able to go back. Very close to alot of things too. Thanks so much for the hospitality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

Everything was very clean when we arrived. We loved it! Couldn’t imagine anything better. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

Everything looked great when we arrived. Thank you for keeping the cabin so well stocked. The location is great – close enough to everything. The cabin is so cozy – perfect for a couple & their dog. We really appreciated being able to bring our dog – Jasmine – with us. We really appreciated the privacy and the quiet. The hot tub was fantastic. We also enjoyed the hiking trails – the Fall colors have been amazing to see. We’d love to make a return visit in the future

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

Everything was in perfect order – thank you! Not really anything you could have done better…on the whole you exceeded my expectations (which is difficult to do ? ) I came here to get away….to find some sense of respite from the pandemonium of my everyday life. That is what your place gave me. It was not less and not more than what I needed and for that, I thank you. I will be glad to recommend it to my friends and hope to have the privilege of staying here again soon. You obviously take gre

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

The cabin was delightful. We really enjoyed walking around the property and relaxing in the hot tub.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

I spent Christmas weekend here. It was quiet, peaceful and allowed me the time and space away from the city that I desperately needed. Very clean, updated and functional cabin. Thanks for all the attention to detail! Merry Christmas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

The cabin was extremely clean upon arrival. We had an absolute wonderful time. I adore this cabin. My now fiancée proposed to me our first night here. It was the perfect location, and it will now be a VERY special spot for us. We enjoyed exploring the surroundings as well as visiting the Biltmore Estate. Thank you for allowing us a wonderful stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

We loved it. The cabin is beautiful and the plants/meadow is very nice. I would like to stay here again! It was the perfect setting for my birthday weekend…. We also loved the hiking trails.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

The cabin was very clean and the lights were turned on for our arrival, very cozy and inviting. There was nothing you could have provided to make our stay more enjoyable, you provided everything! Loved the pass code door lock, quite impressive and handy too – never seen one like it on a rental. This was the perfect surprise for my husbands’ birthday. We loved it! The cabin is the perfect mix of rustic, country living and modern conveniences. The little details do not go unnoticed

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sweet

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

What a cozy little cabin. Perfect setting. Close to alot of activities, but very secluded. Everything is here you may need for your stay. The kicker is the wood fireplace, there is a plethora of firewood provided at no cost. We loved it. If you can not enjoy this cabin and its surroundings there is no life left in you and you are a dried up old curmudgeon.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Valentines retreat

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

I can not express how wonderful of time we had at this cabin! Our mouths fell open when we saw it in person. absolutley gorgeous!! I cant wait to come back again. I have already told so many of my friends about this hidden treasure we found in the woods of Asheville. Everything truely was perfect!
thanks for a wonderful stay!
Angee Cannon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy, romantic, very clean - a nature-lover's paradise minus the bugs!

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at this cabin in late January. We had the entire property to ourselves and it was utterly quiet and peaceful. While there is an unfinished Lodge within view of the front of the cabin, it’s only occupied by the maintenance man (we took comfort knowing someone was on site in case of an emergency - but there was never a need and we never heard nor saw a peep). Furthermore all our time was spent at the back of the cabin, where the grills and hot tub are - all out of sight and completely private.

The property is beautiful. There is a tiny stream in front of the cabin with a wooden footpath over it. Larger Shope creek is near the road, but the road isn't busy and there are several ways to get to it, down the driveway or via some trails. There you get the true sound and feel of a rushing mountain stream. The trails around the cabin on the property are marked in the book inside the cabin but we did discover some other ones! We had some nice views through the naked trees on our hikes, thanks to the time of year. We found a small mountain waterfall behind the cabin, with lots of wild animal tracks about - cats, white-tailed deer, and I think black bear! We saw lots of bear claw markings on trees. On the way to the waterfall we heard and saw the deer - white tails swishing as they ran away up the hill. There are also a few pretty meadows on the property. One evening when the stars came out, we went out right in the middle of one and, wrapped in blankets, used apps on our phones to map the heavens!

The cabin itself was delightful - the sight and smell captivates as soon as you enter, and it was super clean. The heat was on for us so it was warm and the hot tub was ready and worked great! They had even provided plenty of wood by the door, inside, and some kindling. We loved the iPhone dock on the clock/radio so we could even further set the mood. The TV was awesome and had lots of channels. You can actually lay in bed and watch TV by the fire, but the rocking chairs are quite cozy as well as the couch. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept on!

After providing such comfort and fun, the early check-out was a bummer but they did offer a later one if no one else was checking in, which was nice (tho that didn’t work out for us). But that just gave us the opportunity to see more of the area before heading back home. We would definitely recommend the cabin to any couple looking for a romantic mountain get-away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

location, location, location!

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 31, 2011

This is a great cabin for a couple or small family. It has a fabulous fireplace that is the highlight of the interior space, in my opinion. Hot tub is nice and hot and the trails around the cabin are perfect. The best selling point of this cabin is the location! Close to the Blue Ridge Parkway and downtown Asheville, you can get to everything from here, yet when you are at the cabin you feel as though you are the only people for miles! We always vacation with our dogs, and they enjoyed their stay as well!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

This is “practically perfect in every way” (Mary Poppins) and thanks for upgrading the approach lane.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

Very clean. It was fun and exciting staying in a “real” log cabin. Landscaped beautifully. Are there really bears here or did you just make us paranoid.(LOL)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Very pleasant. It was a perfect space for the two of us and our dog. We don’t have a yard at home so she loved laying in the grass and chasing butterflies. We had a great time and are very happy we chose your cabin instead of a hotel chain. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

Very nice, well kept, we would definitely come back. Thank you so much for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

The setup was awesome. It helped greatly having smaller items like seasonings and dish soap etc… so all we had to buy was groceries. We had an excellent time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

The cabin was perfect and very clean. We relaxed and enjoyed the quiet and beauty. We needed rest and relaxation and this was the perfect place for that. The bath & Kitchen left nothing to be desired. Everything you need – right down to the vegetable peeler. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

This is a lovely place. Comfortable in the woods, near enough to Asheville. We’ve had an ideal week here. It’s been especially nice to eat in once or twice on a vacation. While we’d be perfectly happy without the TV, checking in on a favorite show or two was good and the wireless network very good to have. The trails on the property and nearby….. just perfect!
Thanks so much!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. The cabin is the perfect size for two people and I loved the way it is decorated. We had everything we needed for the few meals we had in the cabin. We did not use the hot tub due to rain or too hot outside to get it. We enjoyed mornings and evenings on the porch. It is hard to believe we are so close to the city

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Everything was perfect. Perfect location, close to Asheville and its restaurants and at the same time in the middle of the woods. We really enjoyed the hot tub.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Absolutely clean. We had an excellent stay! The cabin’s amenities were thoughtful and very much appreciated. The cabin was very clean and very comfortable – the setting is beautiful! Thank you – I will recommend to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

8-6-11
The cabin was perfect when we arrived. We loved the cabin and the property. Our whole family looked forward to returning to the cabin at the end of each day. It actually out ranked some of the activities we did for our children. We look forward to bringing our extended family up to experience the wonderful retreat you’ve created
Best!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

Very clean. The pictures on VRBO do not do this place justice. I was pleasantly surprised to find this place so wonderful. It was cozy and comfortable. Hopefully we will be able to come back very soon. Thank you!
Jennifer

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

Everything was very clean, Bathroom, kitchen area and sleeping areas were very tidy. We loved it! The cabin had everything we needed. I enjoyed the coffee you had there. We LOVED the hot tub & fire pit to roast marshmallows. The bed was excellent & very comfortable. We could not have asked for a better place to stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Asheville

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

Everything was very clean. We followed Google Map, then your directions to the cabin. It was perfect for two. We enjoyed the indoor fireplace, the outdoor fire pit and the hot tub. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay! We would recommend this to all and hope to return. VRBO was accurate in description and pictures.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

We arrived after dark to find the cabin very well lit and inviting, beautifully furnished and equipped with everything needed for a weekend retreat. As we appreciated the cabin it was as if we were driving into a post card. Inside we enjoyed relaxing on the leather sofa and slept comfortably on the sleep number bed. Outside we enjoyed the serenity of mountain mornings in the hot tub and cool evenings with the fire pit. Also, we used the grill to prepare a nice supper of steaks with mushrooms, potatoes and broccoli. We will gladly recommend High Country Retreat to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 13, 2011

From the moment we turned into the drive we knew we’d made the perfect choice for our stay in Asheville. We visited Asheville as our first trip together almost 6 years ago & wanted out return to be special. The privacy is exactly what we wanted. The cabin is decorated beautifully! Every detail is comfortable & inviting. The landscaping throughout the property is gorgeous AND to top it all off WE BECAME ENGAGED HERE this trip! – Making this cabin special to us forever! ? Thank you so much for a wonderful & very memorable trip

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

You have done a great job of making to most of this small cabin. Your cabin and surrounding property is great. We were happy to hang out here – hike, rest, relax in the hot tub & enjoy home cooking. It was great to have Wi-Fi available plus Dish TV & even free long distance (even though we didn’t use it) We really enjoyed the quiet seclusion of this cabin and yet it was convenient to all points of interest. We appreciated the attention to detail – snacks, sweeteners, tea & coffee…..even a hot tub ready and warm!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

WE LOVED IT! Great location, great ambiance. Very cozy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

The cabin was very clean, more than expected. A great get away for us. It was very calming and tranquil. We hope to have opportunity to visit again. The cabin was rustic but comfortable. WE LOVED IT!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

We were very impressed upon our arrival; everything was clean and in order. I was very pleased with the cabin and property. Thanks for providing all needed cookware and appliances. The coffee was MUCH appreciated. This truly was an amazing first visit to Asheville. We will return!! THANKS!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic time!

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

My time at the property was fantastic to say the least. We arrived late afternoon to the cabin which was fully stocked and ready for anything we needed. After unpacking and discovering all the amenities, we spent some time in the hot tub, and watching TV on the very nice flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable, TV was great, bathroom was great, plenty of dishes for the two of us, wood ready to be used for a fire...everything we needed was there.

It took us about 20 minutes to get into Asheville, but the scenery on the way made the trip feel like a short drive across town. Really don't have anything negative to say about the property, except that a 10am checkout time was a bit early. But that is being very picky. I would recommend this to everyone. It was great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 23, 2011

It was perfect! Very cozy and comfortable. Out in the woods, yet close to town. Bed is very comfortable. We loved it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 9, 2011

The cabin was the perfect romantic getaway. It was immaculately clean and inviting. Thanks for preheating the hot tub! The snow made a beautiful backdrop. We can't wait to book again in the summer and explore the trails.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

I really enjoyed the stay here - our whole family did. This little cabin is magical, comfortable and convenient. I look forward to our next stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

Everything was perfect! This was a home away from home for us. Hiking trails were nice & kept up - the cabin was cozy and all the little extras made it special for our anniversary. Perfect location - close to everything, but quiet to come back to. The snow made it that much more special! Thanks for sharing it with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 28, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. We loved that the cabin is surrounded by woods - makes it feel cozy. Great proximity to Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway - makes it the perfect location. We also appreciated that the cabin was well stocked with high quality furnishings, kitchen stuff, etc. Very nice!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2010

It was exactly what we needed. It was perfect for our weekend escape. It had everything we needed – with a few touches we didn’t even think we needed – but were glad to have. THANK YOU for a wonderful stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

Very cozy – just what we needed to get away and still have close access to dinning out and one of our best anniversary weekends. You had everything we needed. The hot tub was great.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow!

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

We had the most amazing time! The accommodations were fantastic! The Log Cabin provided an extremely intimate, cozy and relaxing atmosphere. The owners were very helpful and sent us to some fantastic restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed the quiet nights in the out door hot tub. The view of the stars is breathtaking. We found plenty to do within no more than a 20-30 minute drive, including golf, shopping, and a wide variety of restaurants. We most certainly will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent choice

Review submitted: October 31, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

The cabin was clean, the scenery was beautiful, the location was great! I will plan on returning very soon.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

It was wonderful, we loved it! It had everything we needed & more. We loved the fire pit & hot tub & being “away from it all,” but also being able to get into town. We will definitely recommend your cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 27, 2010

The cabin was immaculate! Beautiful and clean - we loved the trail & the setting, and my husband saw two bears! Thanks for a great stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

You really did a wonderful job of providing anything a person might need in a well ordered, non cluttered way. Impressive attention to detail; the cabin is a wonderful balance between functionality and elegance. It’s simple but very nice. The property is beautiful and private – the trails were great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

The cabin was in perfect order! And the bathroom was spotless (which is a big issue for me!). So gorgeous! We just fell in love with the cabin! It's so charming and cozy and you have stocked it so well - you really thought of everything! The grounds are so peaceful and relaxing - exactly what we were needing - you can tell a lot of love has been put into this place. It is so awesome here we will definately be back. Probably for our honeymoon this winter! Thanks for the spectacular time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

It was amazing, comfortable, had everything we needed, great property. We loved it and would not stay anywhere else.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

The cabin was great! So much more than we ever expected! It was so quiet and cozy - we had everything we needed during our stay here! Can't wait to return! Maybe during the winter next time! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

Indeed a little haven in the woods, very convenient for the Swannanoa Gathering. Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful retreat from the modern world. Your cabin is so cozy, comfortable and cute. We hope to return one day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

We had a great time at the cabin last weekend, it is beautiful out there! I have passed along your information to a number of friends looking to vacation in the area with my highest recommendations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

Everything was perfectly in place and very neat. The cabin and property are very well maintained and beautiful. We could tell the owners took a lot of time to make sure that everything was in order. The interior design and upgrades of the cabin did not go under-appreciated (especially the flat screen and rocking chairs). We enjoyed the trails in the morning to get our blood flowing and relaxed in the hot tub after a long day. Thank you very much for the hospitality and vacation! PS The snacks were amazing and healthy. Our dog Sancho loved the place and trails as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review