reviews for: listing #73098 - Bar Harbor, Maine House rental

Blackwoods Cottage,OPENING week August 9/16
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Otter Creek Village
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,255 - $1,595 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Our first trip to Maine was amazing!

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Staying at Blackwoods Cottage was perfect for a family. Great location, wonderful porch, smores in the firepit, we learned how to cook and eat
lobster. We hope to come back again. Thanks for sharing your cottage with us.
What a wonderful vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love the cottage!

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

After camping for the past 12 years, transitioning to this cottage as been a delight now that we have a little one. We enjoy coming to Maine every summer and couldn't have discovered a better place for us to stay. Always looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a perfect place for peace and confort

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

we ha d awonderful time staying at Blackwoods Cottage, we got some much
need rest lounging on the porch ,cooking and enjoying the fire pit at night.
We look forward to our next trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Our family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our time at Blackwoods. It was so easy and lovely. The cottage is really neat and is actually a 3 bedroom ! Everything is provided!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review of Blackwoods, we are so glad your family enjoyed your stay. The "small" 3rd bedroom is a wonderful space for siblings
wanting there own space, or for you to store your luggage and extra gear. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we do look forward to your family as guest again at Blackwoods Cottage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Cottage!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Blackwood's Cottage is a charming and welcoming place. It is located just outside of Bar Harbor and very close to Acadia Park entrances and a a beach. We stayed there with our two small children and we were able to enjoy biking, and the beach almost every day.The cottage was very clean and very well equipped. The large porch allowed us to enjoy our meals outside. We would recommend this property to anyone that loves to visit Acadia National Park.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely First Trip to Maine

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Blackwood"s Cottage and Mount Desert Island. The cottage was exactly what we were looking for in this vacation. The accomodations were very comfortable and perfect for our family. We loved the porch, firepit, and surrounding scenery. We also loved that it was out of Bar Harbor in a quiet area, but close enough for a short drive into town. The Island Express bus was very convenient for hikes (we went up the Cadillac North Ridge trail and down the South Ridge trail); and we arrived back just yards away from our cottage. We will definitely be coming back; 1 week was not enough! Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Cottage!!!!!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We had a fantastic time in Acadia and at Blackwoods Cottage. If you're looking to be away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor town but just a quick drive or bus ride away from it all, this is the place for you. Between the carriage roads, the free bus service right in front of the house, and out-the-front-door access to hiking trails, this cottage has it all, plus wi-fi and lots of movies for the occasional rainy day. We did a full-moon hike up the South Ridge of Cadillac to watch the sun rise and were able to leave right from our front door! (The trailhead is about a quarter mile down Rt. 3). The cottage is very nicely decorated, comfortable, and well-equipped with cooking implements, and is perfectly suited for a romantic getaway, two couples or a family. The fire pit is also a huge plus!! Our two terriers loved hanging out on the porch too! Thank you so much for providing such a lovely home base for our vacation in Acadia.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Welcome Home!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Blackwood's Cottage is a delightfully warm and welcoming place. We walked in, and instantly felt at home. The bed we slept in was more comfortable than our own and the kitchen is well equipped with everything you would need to cook a great meal, right down to the "lobstah" plates and bowls. We spent lots of time on the spacious front porch where we could see all the comings and goings while still remaining private.
Only steps away from all the Acadia Natl. Park activities, Bar Harbor and the shuttle bus, gives you the ability to see it all.
Perfect, perfect, perfect...we loved Blackwoods Cottage and we are going back next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review