reviews for: listing #73100 - San Diego, California House rental

Zen Retreat
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $119 /nt
    $500 - $800 /wk

sort by:

Home away from home

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

Zen Retreat is a wonderful option instead of a hotel stay. I stayed there for Comic Con and had no problems getting to the Convention Center or coming back. It is only a 20 minute drive into downtown San Diego and only 1 mile from the trolley station to get to downtown. I walked a few times to the trolley station and back since the weather was fantastic to walk in. The accommodations were very relaxing as was the decor. I felt safe and secure and the property was extremely clean and well-maintained. I absolutely loved the ease of travel, the accommodations, and the honest and straight forward owner. I hope to return soon as it was truly a delight staying there!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review Maria. I am so glad you had a great time in San Diego and enjoyed Zen Retreat. Thank you also for taking such good care of my place. I would be honored to have the two of you as return guests in the future. ~Kris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend and it was wonderful.

Small intimate setting, which is just what we were looking for. Way better than an uncomfortable hotel stay. Everything was very clean, user friendly and comfortable. We relaxed, sat out on the little porch for coffee and used the kitchen for our meals so we did not have to eat out every meal. The bed was very comfy!

Kris was very welcoming and helpful. Even printed out a document we needed for our travel. She was just a phone call/e-mail away. We were on her property and did not feel uncomfortable or awsward at all. :-)

We would definitely stay again.

Thank you for everything Kris!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Time Away

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Kris was very welcoming and place was very cozy. The description in the advertisement is very accurate as it pertains to location and layout. The place is centrally located for just about everything you'd want to do in San Diego. The nearest mall is about 3 minutes away and downtown San Diego is about a ten-minute drive. Kris was very helpful in terms of letting us know how to get where we wanted to go and was available if we needed her for anything. The personal highlight of the place was the kitchen. It was well-stocked as far as tools and utensils were concerned. I would certainly recommend this place to a friend and I will definitely keep this place in mind the next time I want to stay in San Diego.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jason, you and Stephanie will be welcome here anytime. I appreciate your taking such good care of my place. I am happy you had a great time and that the sun finally came out for you. Take care, ~Kris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Birthday trip

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We spent six days in the San Diego area to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. The location of this property is very centralized. With the exception of a drive north along the coast and the Safari Park, everything else (from downtown San Diego to the beaches, airport, etc) everything was easily within a 20 min or so drive. Access to the freeway is literally one minute. Very easy to get to and from any direction. Grocery store very close. Huge open air mall (with many restaurants, movie theater, etc.) just a couple miles.

The property itself is just as the owner described it. Excellent condition. Great decor and amenities. We loved having the full kitchen in order to enjoy breakfast and to make picnic lunches for our day trips. Highlight of each morning was going out to the back yard and picking oranges from the tree, and using the juicer, while my wife enjoyed the brewed coffee. After a busy day, it was great to come back to a quiet place of our own (including off street parking), and just relax.

The owner is a wonderful person who knows how to take care of her guests. She went above and beyond by ordering flowers and candy for my wife (had them waiting when we checked in). She explained how everything worked and where everything was. Also was most accommodating in terms of printing out any maps, coupons, etc that we requested.

I wouldn't hesitate for a second to rent this property again if we make a return trip to the San Diego area.

Thank you again Kris, for helping make make my wife's birthday vacation memorable.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, thank you so much Steve for such a detailed review so that future guests will know what to expect. I am so happy that you both had a good time. You and your wife will always be welcome here. ~Kris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I'll be back! ;)

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

I would highly recommend this rental home. The owner was very friendly and helpful during my stay. She provided a nice fruit basket which was ideal for taking with me as I rushed out to enjoy my day. There are so many places and things to do close by. After a busy day it was nice to be able to return to the house and enjoy the fully equipped kitchenette for dinner because I was too tired to get dressed up and go out again. I was even able to BBQ one night. I felt very much at home. I certainly enjoyed being able to use the laundry and go home with clean clothes. Everything was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I will be using this rental on my next visit to the San Diego area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: It was such a pleasure having you vacation with us. Thank you for taking such good care of our place. You will always be welcome here. We are looking forward to your next visit. Hope your having great weather out in Vegas. ~Kris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

In from Connecticut

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

In from CT. this is a close stay to so many area attractions.
We were very comfortable and the hospitality was wonderful.
Very comfortable bed and very relaxing atmosphere. Loved to be able to sit outside and have breakfast and coffee and to watch the hummingbirds fly around. I would and will reccomend this place to my family and friends.
Our next trip back, we will be calling to stay again. AND THAT IS FOR SURE. Thank You so much for everything and making our experience a great one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking such great care of my place. You will always be welcome here. So please call when you have had enough of the snow and sleet, and come to our near eternal sunshine.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review