reviews for: listing #73158 - Lubec, Maine House rental

Hunter Cottage -- a treasure hidden on a private lane
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $150 /nt
    $600 - $650 /wk

sort by:

Highly recommend Lubec, Maine

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

This eclectic old house was very close to the main street of Lubec which had some EXCELLENT restaurants and a lovely,fairly new library. Campobello Island, Eastport, Machias, Ellsworth and Bar Harbor were within easy driving distance. Whale watching, beachcombing,exploring the residential area of Lubec were interesting experienes. The cottage was a fun mix of old, new, and everything in between. The kitchen was well stocked for any kind of meal preparation. Two TV's, washer/dryer, huge supply of towels, books/magazines/ CD's,games,wi-fi,etc all added to the pleasure of this vacation.We had trouble with the "on demand" hot water. Jody, the property manager, sent the plumber right away....it was a Sunday. He came. We never did get the hot water to be consistant, but this really did not detract from our vacation. There was an IGA grocery just on the outskirts of the village which had a very adequate variety of groceries. The town, the cottage, and the people of Lubec provided a very nice backdrop for a restful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Since encountering this problem with the consistency of the hot water, I have done some research on the type of hot water heating system in Hunter Cottage, which has a new tankless, on demand, hot water heater. It seems that temperature consistency problems are common with this type of hot water heating system. Two particular challenges for this type of system are sending hot water up two flights and low flow, water saving shower heads -- both conditions are present in Hunter Cottage. I have just edited the information notebook in the house to add some tips for getting the best performance possible from the tankless, on demand hot water system. I hope our future guests will benefit from this information.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

One of our best vacations

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

In this little village, we found a perfect place to "renew" our lives. Although a made over old house, all our needs were met - lots of towels, 2 TV's, a well equipped kitchen (even left over condiments),plenty of rooms to read, reflect,or nap. The hot water was "on demand". We had trouble maintaining consistency so called Jodi. Although it was Sun., she sent the plumber right away. We never could get it quite right, but that really didn't hamper the good time. Walking around the little village and the beach was a lot of fun. There are some EXCELLENT restaurants in town as well as a very nice library. Proximity to Campobello Island, whale watching tours,and Eastport made for a wonderful first time visit to this part of Maine.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charmingly decorated, wonderful village location

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Lubec has many beautiful waterfront properties, but also a wonderfully walkable central village, which is what drew me to Hunter Cottage. This was my fourth visit to Lubec, and I was very happy with my choice. Hunter Cottage is tucked behind Summer Street, one of the nicest in the village, and just a few minutes walk from the harbor, restaurants, and shops in one direction and a two-mile long beach in the other. The property, while not isolated, is quite 'leafy'--surrounded by trees, quiet, and pleasant. Indeed, one of the nicest surprises of Hunter Cottage, not shown in the existing photos, was the beautiful new painted deck that runs the length of the house. Equipped with sturdy wrought iron furniture, an umbrella, and a gas grill, it was a wonderful spot to enjoy a quiet dinner at home at the end of a full day.

The other chief selling point of Hunter Cottage is the very appealing decor. Decorated with an artist's eye and a touch of whimsy, the house has many additional updates and finishing touches not included in the present photos--most notably a wooden dining room table, nice area rugs in the LR and DR, stencilling and a nautical theme in the twin bedroom, outdoor windchimes, and other local artwork scattered throughout the house.

Another favorite spot not shown in the photos was the bright sunny kitchen eating area outfitted with a beautiful slate tile table (made by a local artisan, I believe) next to two large East-facing windows. The house as a whole is very bright and airy as well. The home has both the quirks and character of an older house, but the full bath is light and cheery, painted in (again) whimsical colors of the sea, with a pedastal tub and shower. As other reviewers have noted, most of the furnishings seem to be new and of good quality. Wireless internet worked flawlessly. The house is a gem for the price.

I think Hunter Cottage would be an ideal spot for Summerkeys musicians, artists, writers, nature lovers, and other visitors just seeking to unwind in a quiet seaside village. Lubec is not for everyone (sidewalks really do roll up at 8:30), but I found plenty of hiking and photo opportunities to fill my two weeks. There are several new restaurants in town, lots of musical offerings, and a ferry to Eastport that are worth checking out. I could have happily filled two more weeks at Hunter Cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for SummerKeys students and family

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

My family of 5 adults stayed at Hunter Cottage for a week of SummerKeys music classes. We highly recommend it. The cottage is located within easy walking distance of the buildings used for classes and performances, as well as shops and restaurants. The small grocery store requires a longer walk, but is still close enough if you don’t need to carry too many bags. The cottage has a very well-equipped kitchen with pots, pans, cooking utensils, flatware, dinnerware, and all kinds of glasses. These items are of very good quality. There are three rooms and a bath upstairs. One has a queen bed, one has two twin beds, and the third rather small room has a futon which folds out into a double bed. The bathroom is large and stocked with a multitude of fluffy white towels. Downstairs are a small dining room for four, a half-bath, a living room (with TV, local-call house phone, DVD player, boom box, a few CDs, and many books), the kitchen with a small breakfast table for two, and an entry hallway. There are also two porches, one enclosed as a sunroom and equipped with binoculars, a backpack, and patio furniture for two, the other an open porch with a large gas grill, a patio table and chairs, and two lounges. These porch spaces are large enough to have several friends over for musical get-togethers. The cottage has a basement with washer, dryer, and table for folding clothes. All-in-all, our stay was very pleasant in this well-appointed, well-equipped cottage, and I would highly recommend it for SummerKeys students.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very convenient for SummerKeys

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

My family of 5 adults stayed at Hunter Cottage for a week of SummerKeys music classes. We highly recommend it. The cottage is located within easy walking distance of the buildings used for classes and performances, as well as shops and restaurants. The small grocery store requires a longer walk, but is still close enough if you don’t need to carry too many bags. The cottage has a very well-equipped kitchen with pots, pans, cooking utensils, flatware, dinnerware, and all kinds of glasses. These items are of very good quality. There are three rooms and a bath upstairs. One has a queen bed, one has two twin beds, and the third rather small room has a futon which folds out into a double bed. The bathroom is large and stocked with a multitude of fluffy white towels. Downstairs are a small dining room for four, a half-bath, a living room (with TV, local-call house phone, DVD player, boom box, a few CDs, and many books), the kitchen with a small breakfast table for two, and an entry hallway. There are also two porches, one enclosed as a sunroom and equipped with binoculars, a backpack, and patio furniture for two, the other an open porch with a large gas grill a patio table and chairs and two loungers. These porch spaces are large enough to have several friends over for musical get-togethers. The cottage has a basement with washer, dryer, and table for folding clothes. All-in-all, our stay was very pleasant in this well-appointed, well-equipped cottage, and I would highly recommend it for SummerKeys students.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

comfortable accomodations

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

This was a reasonably pleasant stay. The house has everything you'll need for a comfortable visit to Lubec: tv's, dvd player, ceiling fan in the bedroom, washer and dryer in the basement, functional and spacious kitchen, and many attractive finishing touches. The "study" served as an ideal practice room while I was at Summer Keys (music camp), and would have been a wonderful retreat for someone needing some alone time to read or think. While the ad claims that it's "hidden," and it is indeed located on a tiny street that few people have heard of, there are other houses on every side, so it's hardly isolated, for better or worse. Prospective guests should probably be aware that the location, while close to the beach, is one of the less scenic sections of Lubec. That said, you won't go wrong for the price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

clean, well-equipped accommodation

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

This was a reasonably pleasant stay. The house has everything you'll need for a comfortable visit to Lubec: tv's, dvd player, ceiling fan in the bedroom, washer and dryer in the basement, functional and spacious kitchen, and many attractive finishing touches. The "study" served as an ideal practice room while I was at Summer Keys (music camp), and would have been a wonderful retreat for someone needing some alone time to read or think. While the ad claims that it's "hidden," and it is indeed located on a tiny street that few people have heard of, there are other houses on every side, so it's hardly isolated, for better or worse. Prospective guests should probably be aware that the location, while close to the beach, is one of the less scenic sections of Lubec. That said, you won't go wrong for the price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review comments. You are right that Hunter Cottage is not isolated, since it is located in the center of town. It is in a residential area within walking distance of everything, including Mowery Beach and the town dock. Future guests should know that they will not be in an isolated setting, rather they will be in one of the most quiet and out of the way locations available in the center of town. The cottage is "hidden" in the sense that no traffic drives by the cottage and it is hidden well off the main village streets. It is a "treasure" in the sense that the price is incredibly affordable for a house with all the features and amenities you could want. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I am sure future guests will enjoy the affordable, quiet charm of Hunter Cottage, too. Thanks again for your review!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review