reviews for: listing #7335 - Ocala, Florida House rental

Lakefront Country Haven near Ocala & Forest
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Orange Springs
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $180 - $180 /nt
    $798 - $850 /wk
    $2,800 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

A House as lovely as it's owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: January 18, 2009

This house, and it's owner made my 10th trip to Florida the only one I have EVER enjoyed. The house is wonderful. The kitchen has everything you need.

Ed makes the experience that much more wonderful for you. He is a true, honest, gentleman.

If you value a vacation at your owe pace. Lot's of privacy. Nature all around-yet close to the city, this is the best of the best.

I can't praise Ed enough!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Fun, Comfortable, Relaxing Retreat

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Our time spent at this Lakefront home was amazing and the owner was awesome to work with. The owner has thought of everything to make your visit all you could want. There were 8 of us, 4 generations and 2 dogs. We celebrated Thanksgiving, 3 Birthdays and Christmas all in 4 days. Made wonderful meals in the well appointed kitchen and played lots of games on the big table for 8. Lots of fun was enjoyed outside by the fire and many smores were eaten. The kids and the dogs loved the big fenced yard. Thanks for creating such a great place for all to enjoy and thanks for being kid and dog friendly. We will plan on returning. Great place for family retreat. Loved all the pretty decorating touches, art and vintage items.....real style!.....even the dishes have class and style! :} The owner has paid attention to details.

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to respond. Our aim to provide and truly great experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxed and Accommodating as it's Wonderful Owner!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

We adored this lake house! There was plenty of sleeping room for our large family of 8 PLUS we had more relatives visit and still had plenty of space! :)

Owners response: Much appreciation for the excellent review. It is our goal to share the beautiful lakeside surroundings with others in a professionally kept cottage!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

If you can't relax here, then you can't relax.

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 15, 2013

I will truly miss this home. It was peaceful and quiet. Clean and accommodating. From the well stocked kitchen, to the plentiful linens for the bath and beds you won't need much. We really enjoyed the rides in the canoe, sitting on the dock and relaxing in the screened in porch. A wonderful cozy home that we will return to in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Much appreciation for the kind words. We work towards this kind of experience!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fantastic!!!!

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Oh my goodness,,,,this place was above and beyond anything we expected. My family and I just wanted a few days away for thanksgiving and this place was perfect. We enjoyed all the amenities, including the kitchen which was top notch, and the view. We would definitely recommend this little piece of heaven to everyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. Our objective is to provide great accommodations in a terrific location amongst Florida's natural environment.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Fantastic!!!

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Oh my goodness,,,,this place was above and beyond anything we expected. My family and I just wanted a few days away for thanksgiving and this place was perfect. We enjoyed all the amenities, including the kitchen which was top notch, and the view. We would definitely recommend this little piece of heaven to everyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Owner is Wonderful

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Working with the owner of this home has been a joy. He is honest, Thorough, and understanding. He will answer your questions and help you along the way. I highly recommend him and any of his properties.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay. We hated to leave such a peaceful and tranquil setting. Misty mornings over the lake, birds chirping, just lovely..
The owner was great, responses quickly and provides lots of info re sightseeing, restaurants, etc. Delightful home, just like home. Kitchen is spectacular, all amenities are there for your use. Beds are great. Bathrooms are updated. We hated to leave...
Tastefully decorated and very clean. Better than a hotel!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet retreat for family or 2 couples...

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

First of all, the owners are great! They respond quickly and provide lots of info regarding the property, sights to see, restaurants, etc. Everything you need to know and more.
The property is wonderful... It is decorated tastefully, just like your home away from home. Wonderfully updated kitchen, bathrooms, comfortable beds, cable tv, everything that you would need or want.
Lovely lake with misty views in the am, very quiet and a pleasure to be there. It was difficult to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic vacation destination

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at "Hypo Haven" for the month of February 2011. We consider this one the best vacations we've taken. The cottage is well appointed and so very comfortable. We were able to take advantage of the canoe and jon boat even though the lake was low..fishing, fires and friends rounded out the month. My family from Fl. and Az. joined us for a time. Ed is one of the easiest people to deal with. We made the mistake of only booking for one month..if we are able we will come back for a longer vacation. So relaxing. Thanks Ed! The Farkases from Lansing, NY

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better than the pictures!

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

Even though I just got to stay the weekend the house was a wonderful place to be! I live in Jacksonvill, FL and was surprising my boyfriend for his birthday who loves fishing. Instead of being confined to a small hotel room I decided to go with this house. It was the perfect amount of space for us and another couple. The master bed was amazing! I didnt sleep in the extra room but the other couple had nothing but good remarks. A fishing tip would be chicken livers (my suggestion is bring them before you come) there is a little grocery up the road but they don't carry very many containers. Even though we had plans outside of the home I would have paid the price just to enjoy the scenary and relax somewhere you cannot see your neighbors! You cannot beat this price, i have looked everywhere. lol I highly recommend this house, like i said in the title the pictures don't compare to actually staying. The house is 100% nicer than the pictures when you get there. Only one tip if your surprising someone, make sure you tell them no one lives there. My boyfirend was very hesitant about walking up to the house not knowing about anything! It was very clean and welcoming, I really felt like i was at home. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Lakeside Beauty

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

We truly enjoyed our 9 day stay at this beautiful, well appointed and maintained lakeside paradise. Everything was "as advertised" and then some. From the terrific kitchen to the high quality comfortable beds the accomodations were only outdone by the beauty and serenity of the setting! I would consider this one of the best vacation values I have ever experienced. There is no reason to ever leave the property but if you choose to there are lots of interesting things to do and places to visit.

Kayaking on the Ocklawaha, fishing in Rodman Resevoir, Alexander Springs, and eating at the Orange Springs Cafe were among our favorites.

The information provided to us by Ed Wynne (the owner) was terrific! He e-mailed us a packet with everything you need to know about the facilities, directions, advice on restaurants and activities, all very helpful and accurate. It was a pleasure to stay here and to do business with Ed. We will recommend this to all our friends and certainly return again in the future.

Thanks for a great family experience!

Sincerely, Capt Tim Brady

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is the type of experience we try to provide through a clean, problem-free, outstanding location. The outdoors nature speaks for itself and so does our lake place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Quiet Hideaway

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: November 22, 2008

My husband, John, and I just returned from Hypo Haven. This is our second visit. We have also stayed in the little brown house next door which is smaller but is also charming. Hypo Haven is lovely, has everything you could possibly want for a quiet time on the water. Just bring your food, clothes and some form of recreation. We took our kayaks and fished and paddled. We live in south Florida but the change of scenery and time to chill out was just great. Saw and heard lots of sandhill cranes, woodpeckers, hawks, cardinals, bluejays, etc. We hope to return!!!!!!!!!!

Brenda

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

EXCELLANT FOR RELAXING

Review submitted: September 19, 2008   Date of arrival: September 5, 2008

We really in enjoyed our stay in Sept. 2008 at this very relaxing,clean and darling house on the lake. We fished alot of the time we where there. The dock was perfect for Me and my children ages (9) and (15). Even our little Yourkie I think enjoyed it i didn't have to leash her she could just run around checking out the sand she was sure of since we live in Tenn she use to grass. We have family here and it was really close to them and that was nice. I would recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Honeymoon!!

Review submitted: August 2, 2008   Date of arrival: July 27, 2008

As a 4th generation to the owners, I just wanted to say that we have enjoyed every second that has been spent at our lake house. My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and shared some very relaxing times and grew closer together. I want to thank my uncle for allowing us to stay at this wonderful place I have called a second home for 29 years. To the future guest, don't pass up the chance to stay here, you will not regret any of the time you spend here. You can relax and find yourself and just enjoy no worries because everything you need has been provided for you by the owner. You will not find another owner who cares for your stay at the lake more than Ed and wants you to be able to share the same experiences we have for the past generations. Thank you again Edward for everything!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Florida in Feb.

Review submitted: March 5, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

For finding and making arrangements for renting this property over the internet, we where very pleased upon arrival to find it equal or better than advertised and hoped we would find.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Florida Rental

Review submitted: February 2, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We stayed at this property for a month in January 2008. It is a very comfortable home and we enjoyed our visit. The house was very clean and neat when we arrived and very nicely decorated. The owner sent us a detailed description of the property and area before we arrived which was very helpful. The owner was very nice and helpful and called after we arrived to be sure that everything was OK. The property is in a very rural location and is very quiet and peaceful. At night, the stars are brilliant and I watched beautiful sunrises from the sliding glass door in the master bedroon. There are lots of activities if you like the out-of-doors. We spent our days fishing and hiking and kayaking and bicycling in the nearby Ocala National Forest and at the local Florida State Parks and Marion County Parks. At night, there was cable TV with a good selection of channels and we were able to use our computer via dial-up. The local cafe, Kelly Street Cafe, has wonderful blueberry pancakes on the menu for breakfast and $2 breakfast specials on Tuesdays. Because it is a very remote location, don't expect a lot of nightlife or quick access to restaurants. Do expect a beautiful, rural, peaceful setting.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review