reviews for: listing #7342 - Jaco, Costa Rica Condo rental

2 Level 2 Bedroom Beachfront Condo Jaco Beach w/Video Tour
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Paloma Blanca
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $240 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Vacation in Jaco

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

As first time visitors to Costa Rica, we didn't quite know what to expect. We were very favorably impressed with our whole vacation. What made our vacation extra special was the accomodations at the Harada's condo at La Paloma Blanca. This condo was a two story Ocean front unit. Nice second story balcony off the master bedroom. Great layout and plenty of room. The pool was essentially a private one for the 3 units that share the building. The location was good in that it wasn't in the heart of Jaco, but could easily be reached by walking. The beach there is fine, and not crowded. Secluded beaches are only a short drive or cab ride away in Hormosa area. Good internet connectivity. Private parking is included, but many other guests did not have cars and used cabs, short term rentals, or walked. The staff at the complex was both very pleasant and helpful. Would highly recommend and hope to visit again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Best condo complex in Jaco!

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

We have just arrived home from an 8 day stay at this great condo on Jaco Beach. The weather was perfect as was our stay at La Paloma Blanca! We loved the location on the quiet south end of Jaco. We did daily walks of the beach and after much scrutinizing we felt that this is the nicest part of the beach as going north the beach is quite rocky. In front of this condo the sand is powdery with great surf and it is much quieter as further down many locals congregate, which is nice but busy.
As a family of 4 we loved the set up of the condo. Our 12 and 10 year old loved thet they were 5 steps from our front door to the pool. We could be on the front patio watching them swim or above on our second floor balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean. My favorite thing was waking up to the sound of the waves and having a great cup of Costa Rican coffee with that amazing view!
All of the staff were lovely our favorite was a young man named Arlene who was always trying to entertain our kids with iguanas and new Spanish words. We also found the other residents and renters to be very friendly and helpful with tips. We met some very nice families that we hope to keep in touch with. About 75% of our stay we pretty much had the pool to ourselves!
Our kitchen was well equipped and the in suite washer/dryer was wonderful. Very good closet space in both bedrooms and each room had its own air conditioner and ceiling fan which kept us comfortable despite the evenings being around 30 degrees. We had maid service once during our week stay which was nice to replenish supplies although we did have to buy dish soap, tea towels, and pot scrubbers as they seemed to be missing. This is one of the nicest units in this complex as far as location and lay out as we were able to see a few units while we were there. The negative review was a huge exaggeration as the couple of tiny flaws this unit has does not affect your stay at all!
We ate out every night and would like to leave some recommendations. Our favorite was adventure dining which was a fabulous experience dining on the top of a mountain overlooking a waterfall. 2nd for atmosphere and great seafood was Hicaco right on the beach. Best food was Lemon Zest and we also enjoyed Pili Pili and Taco Bar was a great casual fun place with solid food.
The only small issue we encountered was our wifi only worked in certain areas of the condo. We were told not to go on the beach at night. But please don't hesitate to book here!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

There is no luxury here!

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

My wife and I recently booked this unit for 8 days and when we arrived, we found it not to be as advertised. It was dirty, there were holes in the wall, in general, we found this condo to be "very tired". There is absolutely nothing luxurious about this unit. For four kids on spring break, this might have been the ideal place as it is right on the beach. I could stay any place that is clean but clearly the housekeeping standards at La Paloma Blanca are much different thn those at Los Suenos.

Owners response: We try to make sure all our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and that our condo is clean and everything is in order. Unfortunately this couple did not let the property manager or myself know it was not to their satisfaction until after they departed. There was no opportunity to address their complaints and make corrections. Our sincerest apologies, but one star? Very unreasonable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Our family stayed over Christmas holiday this year and our time was incredible. The condo is in an excellent location and has all the amenities you could want. Staying in and cooking a fun Costa Rican Christmas dinner was easy and it was beautiful eating on the balcony overlooking the ocean. Leonard was incredibly helpful with information that made or decision to stay here easy. Having the condo association make tour reservations and schedule drives to the airport made it so easy to see sites and feel taken care of. The location is excellent as you can easily walk to resturaunts or the grocery store or just hang out on the beach. Watch the video - it is not an exageration as to how beautiful the place is. We definitely plan to return to this same condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in this condo with another couple and we had a fantastic stay. This condo is even better than the pictures and is in a great location! The owners were very helpful with the many questions I had before our trip, even questions that didn't even pertain to the condo. Once we got there, the management was very helpful and friendly. The grounds were clean and you can't beat the proximity to the beach. We fell asleep and woke up to the sounds of the waves. The condo is close to downtown Jaco, walking distance or a very cheap taxi ride.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sleep to the Sounds of the Suft

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

We spent 3 nights at this beautiful truly beachfront condo and I was totally satisfied. the pictures are accurate and the staff and La Paloma Blanca was friendly and professional. All the appliances, A/C, TV and wireless internet worked perfectly. It is "as advertised" and nothing is better than falling asleep to the sounds of waves crashing on the beach. I liked the location as it was not in the center of all the Jaco action, and getting a taxi was super fast and only cost $2. On a side note, I would recommend The Adventure Dining night for a really romantic dinner. You can find it on Trip Advisor.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Costa Rican Vacation!

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

Our six day stay at La Paloma Blanca in Jaco was amazing.
The amenities were true to description and photographs shown.
Upon arrival, we were greeted and given all necessary information
then escorted to this beautiful condo. It was clean and stocked
with paper products and other essentials.

The owner was readily available for information sought prior
to our visit and extremely helpful with local information regarding
what to expect with currency, dining, attractions, transportation
and other inquires.

We enjoyed many local activities such as ATV rentals, boogie boarding on the
ever present waves,hiking and zip lining. We utilized the map given to
familiarize ourselves with the area and found it easy to travel.

We are seasoned travelers, yet this was our first
trip to Costa Rica. We will certainly return to this beautiful country,
with it's gracious people and fantastic weather!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fabulous First Trip to Costa Rica

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

We have just returned from our first trip to Costa Rica. This property was perfect for us. It is roomy and comfortable. The location at the south end of Jaco was beautiful and quiet. The Daystar staff helped us in getting transportation and booking tours. We went on the zip line tour. That was very exciting. The Tortuga Island tour by Calypso was a wonderful day. The trip on the catamaran was relaxing and lovely. They prepared a delicious meal for us on the island. It was beautiful. We also went on a guided tour to Manuel Antonio. We saw amazing wildlife and enjoyed the beautiful beach there.

In Jaco our favorite restaurants were Lemon Zest, Los Amigos and Taco Bar. We enjoyed experiencing the flavor of the country in Jaco. We had a perfect vacation and would love to return. We would definitely consider renting this unit again. The owners were very helpful with information and described the unit accurately.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful ocean view

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

During our stay in your condo we spent many wonderful hour sitting on the balcony watching the ocean. We saw surfers, storms, sunsets and life in general.

Our most memorable time was going to the Thursday Farmers Market. It was an adventure that continued when we prepared the food items we bought. The kitchen items were a bit sparse and we had to improvise at times

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As we had mentioned, it is difficult to keep spices readily available for the kitchen because of the tropical climate.
Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beachfront condo

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

The condo is nicely situated, and the condo complex is very well maintained with 24 hours security.The condo faces the beach. Just 2-3 steps from the condo is one of the three swimming pools, and beyond the pool is the beach, just steps away from the pool.The condo is a two story condo, and the verandah on the upper story is perfect to sit and read and listen to the sound of the breaking waves. My daugters and I had a message on the verandah and it was heaven.The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. . The owner was very helpful and ensured that the condo was made ready for us within 24 hours notice. It was comfortable and we had a good time.II will stay there agaiin when I return to Costa Rica.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 29, 2010

This beautiful condo has everything. Location. Views. Comfort. I especially loved the HUGE upstairs porch. I spoke with the owner several times prior to arriving and he was very professional.

The security guards are very helpful in calling a taxi. Our wait was less than 5 minutes. During the day, you could easily stroll the beach into town. The town of Jaco is very quaint with many restaurants.

We will definitely be renting this condo again next year. We were sad to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation on the beach!

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

Everything was as Leonard (the owner) said it was...right on the beach, quiet south end of Jaco, beautiful condo with its own pool...perfect place for our family of four! We found it very relaxing and a great base for some of the tours we did. Leonard was also very helpful and available for questions when planning our trip. We loved it and we loved Costa Rica! Would highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

We stayed at the Paloma Blanca before the construction was even complete. It was wonderful! Directly across the street from a huge, uncrowded black-sand beach, yet with all the amenities of home. We'll never forget the view of the sunset over the beach from our balcony, the crystal clear pools, the great restaurants just a brief walk down the beach at night. Seeing the video now with an even bigger pool onsite, we want to go back! A great vacation spot for couples, yet still kid friendly (we had two children with us). You'll love it!

Owners response: Thank you for your positive comments Liz! However, the street you refer to is actually more a dead end driveway for the front gate.
Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 1, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

This condo is far better than the photos show. We were in awe of the beautiful view and sounds of the waves from the bedrooms. This place was so close to the beach that you can tell when it is high tide or low tide.
We saw Macaws perched outside in the trees after they flew right by the gorgeous 2nd floor patio. The pool was just a few steps away from the 1st floor patio and both patios had full size tables and chairs. The interior was decorated very nicely with new appliances, luxury tile and nicely selected artwork. It was like a Costa Rican museum. This is true luxury accomodations.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, along with 24 hour security guards that were also very nice.
We will definately consider staying here again. If you want to feel like wealthy living in Costa Rica, this is the place to be.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 17, 2007   Date of arrival: December 17, 2007

This was my first trip out of the country and I have to say that my stay at Paloma Blanca was so incredible that I don't want to go anywhere else. The condo was AMAZING! It was like a home away from home. We had everything at our fingertips...full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony, pool and we were literally steps away from beach! The staff were friendly and courteous. The management company had a ton of activities to chose from with most including transportation and meals. I couldn't have imagined a more perferct vacation spot. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review