reviews for: listing #73422 - Franklin, Tennessee Cabin rental

Moonshine Hill Inn
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Leipers Fork
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $325 /nt
    $1,900 - $1,900 /wk
    $6,500 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

Great vacation destination

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

My family, including twin 6-year-olds, loved our visit to Moonshine Hill Inn! The house and grounds are absolutely beautiful. The house is nestled in the scenic Tennessee hills, along a winding road and creek near Leipers Fork, which is a very charming little town with great shops. After surviving a long, cold Chicago winter, we spent most of our time outside enjoying the treehouse, pond, pavilion, and quaint cabins. Our kids had a blast playing in the treehouse and visiting the geese in the pond. The house is decorated beautifully with many interesting pieces of art, objects and books tucked away in every corner of the house. Ann thoughtfully provided many things in the house that made our visit more enjoyable - everything from delicious coffee and chocolates to wonderful body wash and soaps. We definitely hope to return again! Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven on earth

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

This is our second trip to Moonshine Hill. We absolutely LOVE it. There are so many buildings and areas to explore. Our kids were in love with the treehouse. The cottage "aka castle - to our kids" is so quaint and beautiful. Her attention to detail is unbelievable. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded expectation

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

What a wonderful place!!! I had said if this place looks half as good as it does in the pictures we will be OK. It was better!!! We have Labs that love to be outdoors. They got to hike on the 21 acres everyday. The house was stocked with everything we needed, and some things that we forgot. Going into Leipers Fork was quaint and fun. Sitting by the fire outside and inside was wonderful. Can't wait to go back!!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Pure Paradise!

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 16, 2013

My husband and I wanted to find a romantic place to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary so after looking at different places we chose Moonshine Hill. The description on the website was accurate...it was so beautiful and cozy! Ann's attention to every little detail of her home made us feel so special! We will definitely be back! And I must add...What a quaint town Leiper's Fork is!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Felt right at home.

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

Absolutely Magical!! Its like walking right into a story book cottage. Instantly felt at home!!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Little Slice of Heaven!

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

My wife and I renewed our vows at Moonshine Hill Inn for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. It could not have been more perfect. The cabin itself reminds me of something out of an old-time country Christmas story. It is decorated beautifully but more important is the attention to detail that been has attended to. There is everything available from KitchenAide Mixer to a hairdryer and body oils. I thought I knew much of the history of Franklin and Leiper's Fork, but the coffee table books she has available proved me wrong... I could spend a month just reading these wonderful books. The property is extremely well maintained. We held the renewal ceremony in the gazebo which is nicely furnished and beautifully lit, overlooking the lovely pond. There are several fire pits available and we used them all. Firewood is furnished and is of excellent quality. After spending three days here, there is no doubt, we will return to Moonshine Hill.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AWESOME GETAWAY WEEKEND

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

We LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Moonshine Hill!! It is perfect! Located in a nice, peaceful area but still close to everything. We enjoyed going out to Leipers Fork, Franklin & surrounding areas, but then were equally excited to get back. Weather was beautiful so we took advantage of being outside, exploring & sitting around the fire pit which was awesome. Later in the evening, sat in front of fireplace & watched some of the many movies provided. They provide everything you could ever need! Honestly, just can't say enough nice things about Moonshine Hill!! Can't wait to go back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Moonshine Hill, it was so fabulous! The setting in the beautiful TN hills was perfect, the pond,fireplace, the charming out buildings, the treehouse was awesome, the out house, the little log cabin were all a delight. The cabin was very nicely furnished and you could tell there was a whole lot of love put into every detail, thank you for a wonderful stay,we will be back for sure.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Moonshine Hill

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

My husband and I chose Moonshine Hill to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. From the moment we arrived at Moonshine Hill, we knew we were in for a wonderful treat. We wanted to stay someplace peaceful and beautiful and that it was. The house and property is even more breathtaking in person than in the pictures! We loved the town of Leiper's Fork-there were some lovely shops and places to eat. We had breakfast at Country Boy Restaurant and it was great! The owner of Moonshine Hill gave us great suggestions on things to do during our stay. We went to the town of Franklin, which is about 20 minutes away and saw a great musical show, did some shopping, had wonderful dinners and also took a tour of the properties involved in the Civil War. We were busy at our own pace every day and enjoyed coming back to Moonshine in the evening to relax and spend time with our cat. Yes, we were allowed to bring our cat who loved it there also. The owner answered any questions we had and was very accomodating. We hope to go back soon as we so enjoyed our stay and really liked the fact that we were the only guests there. The property has so much to do without even leaving, it has a newly constructed tree house, a log cabin, a moonshine room musuem and a gorgeous gazebo to sit in and relax. We LOVED Moonshine Hill!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Couple

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We loved it!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredibly Picturesque!

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

My lifelong best friend and our husbands stayed at Moonshine Hill to celebrate our 30th birthdays. We could not have picked a more perfect place. The setting was like something out of a storybook. The cabin itself was charming, well decorated and very clean. It was very well stocked with anything you could imagine needing...spices, cutlery, dishes, toiletries. The complimentary coffee and bug spray (Hillbilly Kritter Ridder) was a personal touch that made the visit all the more special. At night, the property glows with strung lights that make you feel as though you stepped into a fairytale. There are so many places to pick from on the property to sit and relax, whether it is in the pavilion over looking the pond, down by the pond, the small cabin at the back of the property, or around the fire pit. The town of Leiper's Fork is just as charming as Moonshine Hill, with many shops, galleries and fun places to eat. We will definitely be going back there for another stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

I was looking for a property where we could bring our children and my very pampered dog Roxy. I came across Moonshine Hill inn and thought this is too good to be true. Well, it was even more beautiful than the picture! My family and especially my dog loved it! Ann, the owner, covers every little detail from fresh flowers all throughout the cabin to dog treats and toys for your pets to play with! This is the place to stay if you want the country experience, but also a short scenic drive away from everything that Nashville has to offer! We LOVED it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Looking at our road trip map and finding Moonshine Hill available was awesome. When we arrived, we found that words cannot describe what a wonderful place. The pictures are accurate, yet to be standing on the property, walking near the pond, swinging on the porch, picking guitars under the pavillion, wondering in the dog house and even the outhouse are all an experience unlike any other.
The choice of interior decorating is done with such thought and sheer delight!!! Relaxing comes easy even for those who find it not so easy to relax. We decided right away this would be a stop we will make again. Easily you could bring your groceries in for a day or two and not have it cross your mind to drive out of the driveway.
But if you did:
Just down the road a short drive you will find the best place in Tennessee to eat "Country Boy Restaurant"!!! Pick up some pulled pork and a salad from Puckett Grocery for lunch or dinner and you will not be disappointed. Short ride to Franklin to do some walking/shopping around the square.
We Loved our stay and we will return!!!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Even better than we could've possibly imagined...

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We needed to get away from the city for a weekend without sacrificing all of our time off driving or flying. We also needed a place for our dogs to relax with us. After doing some research, I came across Moonshine Hill. Not only is Moonshine Hill listed amongst some pet-friendly sites as available get-aways, it also has a charming little site of its own with even more information. What can I say? As magnificent as Moonshine Hill looks and sounds from a distance, nothing can do it more justice than booking a stay there for yourself. I almost hate to write such a glowing review for fear that more and more people will discover what we think is already one of the best kept secrets in the entire state of Tennessee. We booked a simple 24 hour stay with our dogs and wanted for absolutely nothing. And when I say nothing, I mean we literally only brought what little food we needed to eat for the day - and that's not even mentioning the complimentary breakfast the following morning at Country Boy Restaurant...which was a great end to the stay. Moonshine Hill is just a short drive from Nashville but it feels like it's worlds away. We are already looking at future dates. So are my parents. Trust me, don't read any more reviews. Check availability, book a day or seven and the owner Ann will accomodate your every need. You will not regret it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Absolutely charming!

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Fell in love with this place. It exceeded all expectations. The atmoshere is totally relaxing. It was a perfect weekend. Our 5y/o grandkids talk about nothing but getting to go back. We also fell inlove with the entire area. Leipers Fork is a treasure and Franklin is one of the most charming places we have ever been. We will be back. Thank you for sharing this totally wonderful place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Moonshine Hill kicks ass!!!!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

Magical place to relax and unwind. LOVED the fireplace. LOVED the bed. LOVED the decor. LOVED the grounds. Great place to create memories. Uniquely inspired. Can tell it was created over time w/ lots of love!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a treasure!

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

Moonshine Hill is such a quaint and charming getaway destination. The house is warm and inviting and the perfect place to unwind and relax. Upon our arrival we were greeted with delicate arrangements of fresh flowers throughout the house, which added a nice touch. The massive stone fireplace in the living room was one of the highlights for us and there was ample wood to keep the fire going. I can't begin to describe the simple tranquility of snuggling up on a big comfy couch, sipping on a cup of apple cider, and watching the flames dance. Truly magical! The beautiful canopy bed upstairs has one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on. I really appreciated all the movies, board games, and internet service available to help keep us entertained. The grounds are fabulous as well with the pond, gazebo, cabin, multiple fire pits and patios; especially all lit up at night. On our way out of town we stopped at Country Boy restaurant, which had good food (you must try the onion rings). We thoroughly enjoyed every romantic moment spent there and would love to return. Don't hesitate! Book your trip with confidence. :-)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Illinois

Review submitted: December 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

Wow! Moonshine Hill Inn was awesome. It was the first time we tried VRBO and the experience was excellent. It was easy to go online and find a place that fit what we were looking for. Also it was easy working collectively with VRBO and the owner. The rental far exceeded our expectations. We will definitely make a return trip to Moonshine Hill.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Moonshine Hill Inn

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

Great place to get away from it all! Decorator's touch throughout this adorable house. Enjoyed roaming the private grounds and sitting by the fire pit. Close to quaint town of Lieper's Fork and beuatiful downtown Franklin, TN! Would go again!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Inspiring Retreat with Classic Elegance

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Our staff stayed at Moonshine Hill for an overnight retreat. There were five of us and we were all "wow-ed" by Moonshine Hill. A beautiful setting where we hiked in the woods, sat by the water and soaked up the fall. We had a planning session by one of the fire pits and creativity flowed! A wonderful place to get away from it all, but close enough to unique shops and restaurants to make it convenient. Every attention to detail is included in Moonshine Hill. Well crafted and so comfortable that the moment you walk in you feel at home. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Magical Wedding!

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

We got married this past weekend at Moonshine in the covered pavilion and it was absolutely magical. It was all that we dreamed and more. Ann, the innkeeper is an absolute gem to work with. She accommodated us in every way and made sure every detail was perfect! We will certainly be back to celebrate soon! Thank you for a fabulous and romantic get-away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING/BREATHTAKING/INTERESTING

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

Beautiful, peaceful, relaxing, something different to see everywhere you look - incredibly furnished with unusual furnishings, books, dishware, pictures- floor plan includes small private nooks- Outside is beautifully landscaped and well kept- Would love to spend more time next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home - Lovely Area

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

We decided to choose Moonshine Hill because the pictures looked beautiful and the surroundings appeared peaceful as well as the owner allowed us to bring our dogs. The dates we wanted were available because the owner was having some electrical wires buried in the yard and told us she would give us a discount for the inconvenience. She told us that she would have an electrician digging a "little" ditch to bury some electrical wires. Well the one electrician turned out to be a crew of 3 - 4 men, a backhoe and another big piece of equipment. They arrived at 7:30 in the morning and stayed until 5:30 tearing up the entire back yard and pounding out rock. We felt we had no privacy and feel that the owner misled us by her description of the work that needed to be done. However, that said, Moonshine Hill is absolutely beautiful and the surrounding area including the outdoor gazebo were lovely. The cabin was closer to the road than we thought from the pictures but still sat back enough so the traffic wasn't a problem. The cabin was very clean and appointed beautifully. The kitchen could have been better stocked for cooking and the dishwasher wasn't secured to the wall and if the bottom shelf was opened all the way out, the dishwasher tilted forward. We did enjoy eating breakfast at the Country Boy Restaurant in Lieper's Fork and the little town was charming. We would have really enjoyed staying there if the work that was done wasn't so extensive and loud. Even with the discount we were given, we feel the price we paid was excessive for the noise and disruption the workers did to the area. We left a day early to go home so we could have peace and quiet.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome Place!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Moonshine Hill for our 25th Anniversary. This place is absolutely just amazing. Ann has done a wonderful job creating this warm, cozy, beautiful piece of paradise in Leiper's Fork. Once you get there, you will not want to leave. I regret we only stayed 2 nites, but we will cherish the memories for a life time.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

luxurious getaway

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

If you live in the Nashville area, I have a tip for you! Book a getaway
at Moonshine Hill and you can experience the peace and quiet of the country
and feel like you were a million miles away. My husband and I needed to escape
for awhile and did just that. We live only 8 miles away but enjoyed the perks of
a dream vacation without the hassle of the travel.
Moonshine Hill is so beautiful and interesting that we walked around admiring every little detail for
the longest time. Inside and outside! We loved our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Summer Vacation

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Moonshine Hill was everything and more than its description. We have 4 kids ranging in age from 4-12 and a dog and all of them were happy at Moonshine Hill. They had all the yard they needed to play baseball and they could fish whenever the mood struck them. The outside is just a paradise and the attention to details in and out of the cabin are amazing. If you are looking to slow down a bit and experience the outdoors in an elegant setting this is it! Not to forget that the historic town of Franklin is a 10 min drive and they have two beautiful golf courses. If you dont want to golf there is a lot of shopping and antiquing to do. And you cant forget to stop by the newly renovated theatre in Franklin...a definite must see. Moonshine Hill was a great find!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delight to the Senses

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

From the moment we opened the door and were greeted with the scent of lingering wood smoke, we knew we were in for a special treat. The attention to detail is evident throughtout from the beveled glass window panes in the back door to the wonderfully inviting and restful bed upstairs. We loved the fresh flowers too!
As comfortable and lovely as the indoors may be, my favorite part of Moonshine Hill is its exterior. Seeing all the colorful summer flowers contrasted wtih the snow seen during our last visit in 2010. I particularly enjoyed coffee each morning with the birds at the outdoor pavillion and trekking up the hill to peak at progress on the groom's cabin and being rewarded with its wonderful cedar smell. What a delight!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Moonshine Hill

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We had planned on spending the week making daily travels to Nashville and Franklin doing the tourist thing, but the Moonshine Hill property was so relaxing that most of our time was spent just enjoying the ambiance of the cabin in the country. The photos can't do justice to the beauty of the cabin itself and the property surrounding it. The amenities were beyond as stated and the owner could not have been more personable. We enjoyed the little town of Leiper's Fork and the shops that it offered were fun and interesting. The book store was a real treat. I would most assuredly recommend Moonshine Hill to my friends and family; and will likely return for another visit in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing property and home. We are going back.

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We stayed at Moonshine Hill as gift for our anniversary from out mother-in-law. The home and property and amazing. The house is cozy, has great furniture and offers everything you need including Moonshine Hill coffee. We took our dinner up to the large gazebo with comfortable couches. We could hear the bullfrogs in the pond and it was very peaceful sitting outside. The day got up to 98 degree but by 7pm the gazebo felt great. We can't wait to come back in fall and sit by the firepit. The upstairs has all the extras and is cozy. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magical Stay

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

What a magical place! Myself and my 10 and 13 year old kids had the most wonderful stay at Moonshine Hill. The house is amazing with all the woodwork, decorations and little touches such as fresh flowers in each room by the owner, Ann. Property is amazing and the village of Leiper's Fork and the area was very pristine. People were very friendly and take great pride in their surroundings. A step back in time with the historical sites in the area of Franklin. My kids didn't complain once. The accomodations were better in real life than even in the pictures. Can't say that about many place on this earth! Highly recommended and well worth the price.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

A group of girlfriends stayed at Moonshine for a getaway, after spending a couple nights in Nashville. We all loved everything about it and it was the perfect retreat after time in the city. We spent alot of time in the comfy gazebo, listening to the frogs and crickets, built a fire in the outdoor pit and made smores and ate dinner outside under the lights and stars. The inside has much character, is clean and very cozy. I loved all the extra touches, like soaps, lotions, honey, popcorn, lavendar facial wipes, comfy beds, etc, etc. Thank You Anne for the southern hospitality. I will definitely recommend your Inn to friends and family and hope to return again someday.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tour of Homes - Spectacular Beauty

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

I have visited Moonshine Hill many times over the past few years and enjoyed the property again during the weekend of the Franklin, TN tour of homes. Moonshine Hill is, quite frankly, fabulous. The photos, while wonderful, don't do the property justice. Indeed, if you want privacy, with proximity then stay here. If you love antiques (not cheap one's either), then stay here. If you want a wonderful host, then stay here. Located only a mile from the village centre of Leiper's Fork I am convinced you will love every aspect of this amazing place as I have. Yes, Moonshine Hill is a unique beauty nestled in the rolling hills of Williamson County, TN.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly stands out!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Moonshine Hill for two nights. It was truly a treat! The place has character and comfort. The owner, Ann, really couldn't possibly have been more accommodating. It was obvious from my initial contact with her that she was genuinely concerned with providing the best possible experience for her guests.

It is the property itself, though, that provides the real accommodation. The location out on Old Highway 96 is secluded, and is the best of what rural Tennessee has to offer. There is a small pond, an outdoor fire pit, a healthy stock of firewood, and a huge brick patio. My wife and I had a tough time deciding whether to be outside or inside - both are equally appealing at Moonshine Hill.

Inside, the cabin is just about perfect. “Cabin” is a bit of a misnomer, yet it isn’t. It has elements that are characteristic of a mansion, a cabin, and a cottage. The end result is uniqueness. One of our favorite features was a “walk-in fireplace.” That is a slight exaggeration - I did have to duck a tad. We had a fire both nights and listened to some music. If technological entertainment’s your thing, it’s all there - flat-panel TVs, DVD players, etc. At the same time, if what appeals to you is reading the newspaper while listening to birds chirp, Moonshine Hill is a great place for that, too. It is even adequate for a business trip, as there is Wi-Fi.

With any review, I list the negatives, as it’s only fair. I can honestly say none of these factors was negative to me, but they could be to others. Verizon customers, beware. The cell signal is weak to non-existent out here. (When this wasn’t problematic, I found it very nice). The electrical system (for all very good reasons, I imagine) is hilariously complex and makes turning lights off and on confusing. This was more a charming quirk than an annoyance. My wife said at one point “Go outside and turn the kitchen light off.” (She wasn’t being literal, but there was enough of a semblance to reality to make the comment funny).

Moonshine Hill was just great! We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfection

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

We truly had the most wonderful stay here at Moonshine Hill. I've traveled the world and seen it all, yet this place--only 20 minutes away from my home-- seemed just as magical! We came for our anniversary and hope to come back again. It's great for romance and it would even be great for a bunch of friends just hanging out! PLEASE visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply amazing!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

Simply put, Moonshine Hill is amazing. The pictures provided are fantastic, but honestly don't do the property justice. It has all of the modern day amenities you might want, but the serene atmosphere almost begs you to put all of that aside. I truly haven't experienced relaxation like that in years. We've been spreading the word of this little gem with family and friends and will definitely be returning!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Secluded Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Relaxing, quaint property excellent for the romantic at heart. The calm atmosphere allows you to unwind and take in the beauty that nature has to offer. I would love to escape here every weekend! Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mountain Girl

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

This place is PERFECT! I love the land, the house, the firepit and all the wild turkeys we saw. The owner, Ann, is a very sweet and hardworking gal and has put lots of love into this place and it shows. Very comfortable and charming! The town of Leiper's Fork is very cool as well...We will be back for another stay really soon! P.S. The bed upstairs is like heaven...We sleep so well :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Moonshine Charm

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

Property was amazing! Has more character and charm than we could have ever imagined. The way the house is designed, the furnishings, the details, give such a warm, relaxing atmosphere. Definitly a one of a kind experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

My husband, son (6 yr) and I stayed at Moonshine Hill for 5 days recently. From the moment we walked in, we knew we had found the perfect place. The grounds are amazing and can be explored endlessly and still not see it all. We played ball, rolled down the hills, hunted for snails, found four leaf clovers, explored the grounds and sometimes just sat on the front porch. The house is so clean, cozy and wonderful. Everything is there, all you need are your clothes and toothbrushes. There is something to look at around every corner. The beds were so comfortable, my son slept all night in his bed. I cannot say enough good things about the owner and the house. The attention to every little detail still has me amazed. The town of Lieper's Fork is quaint and very welcoming. It was exactly the vacation we needed. We loved it so much we are going back this summer, and moving there in about 3 years.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unique Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

For anyone looking for a very unique getaway - Moonshine Hill is Leipers Fork,
Tennessee is your place. My husband and I along with another couple stayed
there in February for a long 4 day weekend. We have a cousin who lives in
Franklin and thought we would visit him and do the Nashville scene. Upon arriving
at Moonshine Hill we fell in love with the place and didn't want to leave. We had
our cousin come see us and forgot about Nashville. We did tour Franklin and
enjoyed the town, shopping and restaurants. Everything you can
imagine we had - hiking, sitting outside even on cool winter nights by open fire
pits, a library of books, and movies to watch. There was a large king size poster
bed upstairs that was very comfortable and the bath upstairs has a large tub
which I thoroughly enjoyed, a "calgon take me away" experience. All of the
restaurants and shops in Leipers Fork were very good and very friendly people.
The house is unbelievable, with a stone tower, huge stone fireplace, red tin
roof which I would have loved to have heard rain hitting it. The inside walls were
of beautiful pine and spruce and the downstairs bath had American chestnut.
The front porch has two large bench swings. There are art work, mirrors and
lamps throughout the place. The kitchen is fully stocked with staples and
modern appliances. So whether you have a very busy schedule or want a
relaxing time around Franklin and Nashville - Moonshine Hill is your place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Darling place that was more than we imagined!

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

We had come to Leiper's Fork for a girl's weekend, and our stay at Moonshine Hill was better than we ever dreamed! From the heart-shaped sugar cookies (after all, it was Valentine's weekend) to the bottle of chardonnay chilling in the fridge to the wonderful perculator and creamer choices, we felt so pampered! Our only regret was we didn't plan to spend more time! Thanks, Ann!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

TOTAL BLISS

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the wonderful 'Moonshine Hill' for a 3 day weekend. Everything from the first meeting with the friendly owners to the picturesque afternoon strolls and gorgeous fire place added to what was such a peaceful and private stay.

Even though Moonshine Hill has a wonderful and homely 'cottage' feel, there is also a level of comfort and extravagance you would not find with similar holiday rentals. Plenty of 'extras' are provided including food supplies and toiletries and Moonshine Hill is most certainly a place to bring your family pet (they even provide a huge doggy bed which our dog did not move from).

My husband and I spent most of the time watching movies in front of the fire place and gently strolling the gorgeous grounds, (we needed the rest) - however any avid trail walkers/ hikers or outdoorsy kind of people would be equally as happy here.

If you are looking for complete privacy, proximity to a great little town with lots of unique finds and total unrivaled relaxation then i most certainly recommend Moonshine Hill (and yes - they provide real moonshine if the mood strikes you).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

What a lovely place! The furnishings are wonderful. The fireplace is the best. The coffee was sooo good. I can't say enough. I can't wait to go in warmer times to be able to enjoy the front porch swing. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Almost Heaven

Review submitted: February 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

I have stayed at Moonshine Hill at least 3 times a year for the past few years as there is absolutely no better place to stay. It is everything anyone could hope for with the owners' eye for decorating and detail. Corn Stalks and pumpkins in the fall, flowers abound in the spring and summer and I can't even describe the beauty of winter. It's private, inviting and cozy with no pretention. The gazebo up the hill is perfect for reading then napping. Moonshine Hill is close to town yet miles away from the hustle of the city yet 30 minutes to downtown Nashville and all the wonderful country music venues, wineries and entertainment imaginable. The owner invites your comments although all I've ever seen has been compliments and recommendations. We have taken friends and family with us to share the beauty, exquisite amenities and details of comfort of this hidden gem. It is everything described and more. I have stayed at a few other places in the area when Moonshine Hill was booked but always come back as it can't be excelled by anyone. We'll continue to stay here whenever we visit the area and find a place to buy or build as our own. Although we would stay here as a special treat even if we lived in the area! So close to Leiper's Fork for parades, Puckett's Grocery with live music, Chili Cook Off, Cork in the Fork Event and Franklin for Wine on Main Street, fabulous restaurants (The Red Pony is our favorite), the fabulous Franklin Theater, factory store "mall" and then there's Nashville for live music at the Bluebird Cafe, shopping at Green Hills, Noshville Cafe,etc. I could go on forever.....
Great Job Ann!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Spectacular!

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

I recently stayed at Moonshine Hill for 5 days, an experience that I will always treasure. I will never stay anywhere else in Tennessee.

The Moonshine Hill Inn is in Leiper’s Fork, which is a quaint (yet wonderfully sophisticated) town located right outside of Nashville. I visited downtown Nashville almost daily, and as a result I felt like I was on two splendid vacations at once- one in the city, and one in the country. Leiper’s Fork is a tiny, country town with unique shops and excellent food (we ate at the Country Boy restaurant almost every day, because we just couldn’t get enough!). Most importantly, you will not meet an unfriendly person for miles. Everyone I met in Leiper’s Fork was very kind and very helpful.

Coming from my hometown of Los Angeles, the expanse of Moonshine Hill astounded me. Sitting on 22 beautiful acres, Moonshine Hill is surrounded by spacious forestry, which helps create the ambiance of a true escape. The inn has its own tranquil lake, which is a perfect place to sit and sip coffee in the morning. Just outside the cabin is a large fire pit, complete with surrounding, stone seating. Behind the cabin is a gazebo, perfect for picnics and BBQs. Made mostly from an intricate network of sticks and twigs, the astonishing artistry of the gazebo cannot go unnoticed. This area, and the campfire area, make Moonshine Hill a perfect place for gathering with a group of family or friends (and I don’t think there are any neighbors are close enough to hear anything!).

Finally, the main cabin is absolutely stunning. Made from a brilliant variety of hard-woods (much of which was taken from the land itself), its beauty is unmatched. The attention paid to its creation and decoration is remarkable, and helps to make Moonshine Hill a true work of art. With an enormous stone fireplace downstairs, and a big bath tub upstairs, the inn would be wonderful romantic getaway for couples. The beds are so comfortable, they’d be hard to get out of if the rest of the house wasn’t so lovely. The kitchen comes stocked with cooking necessities, as well as utensils made of real silver. Bathroom essentials are also provided. Outside the front door is a large wooden porch, with two bench-swings on either side, over-looking a dazzling view.

The Moonshine Hill Inn is pure country, but all luxury. You’d be hard-pressed to find a better place to stay in Tennessee- or anywhere else.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW! is a complete sentence, I've stayed alot a places in my life but, nothing quite like this!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

The attention to detail is amazing, The Rugs, Furniture, Draperies, Art... every nook and cranny is filled with something interesting!!! The cabin is more than we expected! The cabin is so inviting for the entire family, all you need it your toothbrush! There is so much to do and there is also nothing to do! We woke up to rain on the tin ROOF and did not want to get up... so we didn't. We had a great time walking around the lake, watching Deer and Wild Turkey roaming around on the land. I brought my dogs and they had their own bed to sleep in. The innkeeper had more treats for our 4 legged family members than us! We did enjoy the Godiva Chocolates on the bed with the White Lightin Bottled Water. I definately suggest Moonshine Hill for any couple looking to get away or a family wanting to spend quality time together. We loved the breakfast at "The Country Boy Resturant". Breakfast was included every morning. That was a treat!!! My partner enjoyed shopping in the little village of "Leipers Fork" it was not even two miles away, the shops are all so unique! I wish I had brought my bicycle, and I will next time! You will NOT be disapointed! The innkeeper was the most helpful, she told us she was a native Nashvillian so we wore her out with questions, she was always charming and helpful. Downtown Franklin is only 8 miles away and Downtown Nashville is 30 minutes, we did BOTH!!! WE LOVE MOONSHINE HILL and WE ARE HOOKED!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Romantic Get Away

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

If you're looking to relight the fire or start the fire of a romance for the first time, MoonShine Hill is the ultimate kindling.

Everything about MoonShine Hill is about as close to perfect for a weekend get away as you could hope for. Additionally Ann is a fantastic hostess.

My wife & I highly recommend MoonShine Hill and Country Boy's for breakfast. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It's As Beautiful As It Looks

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

Birds chirping... wind chimes... a babbling brook...

These are the only sounds you'll hear when you first arrive at Moonshine Hill. Take a deep breath of the fresh air and enjoy the lack of urban sounds.

We arrived in time for the holiday celebrations in Franklin and Leipers Fork, so Moonshine Hill was fully furnished with Christmas decorations. There was plenty of firewood, and there are so many amenities that it is tempting to just stay in and rest. But you won't, since the property begs to be explored. Spend some time in town talking with the friendly locals and go shopping in historic Leipers Fork. Talk about traveling back in time!

It was probably the best family vacation I've ever been on. Want to know how much we love the area? I've just opened an office nearby, and plan on having my family living there within the year.

You won't regret spending time here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lisa, PC BCH FL

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

Our five day stay at Moonshine Inn was very relaxing and was the perfect location to explore the surrounding area. The Inn was very pretty,cozy and so, so peaceful. The in and out fireplaces make sure you enjoy both outside and inside of the property. I looked forward to getting up each morning to drink the Moonshine coffee and to walk around the property all bundled up for the cool weather. We traveled to Nashville, Franklin, Leipers Fork, and Lynchburg to visit the Jack Daniel's distillery. The country roads and towns we saw reminded me of my home town in WV. Thank you Ann for sharing your peace of Leipers Fork.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas 2010

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

AWESOME place to enjoy a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS with 15 family members & a WHITE ONE thrown in for good measure! We had SNOW on Christmas Eve & woke to find the ground covered. Our 93 yr. old Mother was THRILLED to have all FOUR of her children, 2 granddaughters, & other family members, especially the SNOW which brought back memories of her Indiana childhood!
Moonshine Hill created even MORE memories for all of us! THANKS VERY MUCH for the GREAT time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Setting

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

My fiance (now husband) and I stumbled upon Moonshine Hill when researching beautiful homes to hold our small wedding ceremony with our family. Ann was gracious enough to show us the home and property and we knew this was it - we wanted to be married here. We loved the log cabin feel and it helped add to the intimacy of our ceremony and the day. The layout of the house and grounds was perfect and created great wedding photographs. I was able to get ready with my sister and mom upstairs while my husband, his brother, parents and other family were able to hang out downstairs. We then walked up the stone walkway to the Pavilion where the ceremony was held. It rained the day of our wedding but we were covered under the Pavilion's tin roof, and it sounded so neat that we didn't mind! We were able to all gather around the dining table inside the house for our meal. It was a perfect intimate setting for our wedding. My husband and I spent our wedding night there and loved it. We can't wait to go back for an anniversary!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A WEEK END TO REMEMBER!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We were looking for a quick get-away to spend some quality time together and we fortunately found Moonshine Hill only a few miles away from home. The home and grounds are enchanting and all that we hoped for. The interiors met that of a first class English cottage. Every detail was met from hot face towels to hot of the press magazines. Our breakfast was arranged each morning at the Country Boy Cafe and was absolutely delicious. We are so looking forward to more time at Moonshine to renew our spirits and minds at such a grand get away. Can't say enough to Ann for the wonderful touch of detail and love she has given Moonshine Hill. For those who love "First Class", this is it!!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury, Romance & Relaxation

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

we only got to stay 2 days -but we fell in love with the cabin& the surroundings.Ann provided everything we needed & more -,we had expected alot from photos ,but were happily surprised to see its way better than shown in pics . Luxury Linens ,Antiques ,Luxury toiletries,everything is just so perfect . we were told make yourself at home & we did we explored every inch of property & spent hours outside by outdoor fire place & pavilion ,even though my teenage son was with us ,the property is set up so that we had plenty of alone time & since Ann provides more than 200 dvds ,my son was happy inside & out. we enjoyed a wonderful free breakfast at the Country Boy Cafe in Leipers Fork ,a quaint VERY Friendly town about 5 mins away.we have already made plans to return as soon as we can & my son says after we win lottery we are gonna make Ms Ann a offer she can't refuse :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Meaningful Event

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

Just wanted to tell you what a lovely time we had here at Moonshine Hill. It was a pleasure to leave the city environment to come to such a picturesque, peaceful and serence place.

The pavillion overlooking the lake provided a great backdrop for our pictures that will forever hold our memories. The pictures were beautiful; however, the pictures do not do Moonshine Hill justice.

The caterer you recommended was excellent. The fireplace was very relaxing for all who attended our event. It was a great send-off for our co-worker who was moving on to new adventures.
Anyone looking for a quiet setting together between friends and family would certainly enjoy an evening at Moonshine Hill.

Thank you for a very special evening.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2011

The house was charming and cozy. We loved all the special touches all over the house.
The pictures shown on the website are what you get when you get there. It was a pleasure to walk the grounds and read in the many sitting areas all over the property.

We will be back...not a doubt in my mind.
Thanks Ann for all your hard work...the house is a dream.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond charming, slice of heaven.

Review submitted: April 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Moonshine Hill exceeded all our expectations! Its the first time I have arrived at a property and spent so long just gasping at the beautiful and extensive setting before even setting foot inside! Then once inside we were amazed at the detail and effort throughout this hideaway. The listing photos only tell half the story - this is a carefully curated collection of original artworks and antiques that fascinates and welcomes all at the same time. It was like stepping into someone's comfortable home at their personal invitation. We loved all the nooks and crannies - there is always somewhere to go with a glass of wine, a book, the guitar or your favorite conversationalist. We were instantly relaxed in the lush, hilly surroundings and look forward to coming back. Everything we needed was there and the beds were not just for decoration - they were super comfortable too! Our two children chirped like happy birds out on the porch swings and exploring in the garden. The view was delightful. This cabin sits just outside Leipers Fork - which is a truly magical little spot. We spent a happy afternoon there perusing the refreshingly original small stores there, as well as spending time in nearby Franklin and Nashville - in fact, there was more to do than we had time for! There was a great sense of creative people following their passions which was very appealing. But back to the cabin: its a perfect place for a romantic hideaway, but it also worked well with our two children, aged 8 and 5 - in fact, there is so much room for everyone that it even felt romantic with the kids in tow! Wow! Ann is a wonderful "landlady" who helped make our stay extra special with her Easter advice, nothing was too much trouble. We sincerely hope to return on a regular basis!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best hospitality around!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

My husband and I and our three dogs enjoyed a wonderful relaxing weekend at Moonshine Hill! The photos do not do the home full justice. We slept like babies in the wonderful king-size bed and enjoyed listening to the frogs talk in the evening. But the best part was meeting our new friends and hosts, Ann and Robert, who were the most generous hosts we have ever encountered in our VRBO experiences. Ann was so helpful and did everything in her power to make sure we had a good time and enjoyed our stay. We will be coming back soon; and, I will be bringing my mom along next time, so she can experience and enjoy Moonshine Hill as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Moonshine Hill Exceeds Your Every Expectation

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

I have to start this review with Wow...Moonshine Hill is such a magical, amazing place and exceeded our every expectation! Owner, Ann Johnson has meticulously decorated and loved every inch of her gorgeous home and acreage for all to enjoy. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a fabulous getaway place. You will return again and again!

Sincerely,
Holly & Christopher Ing

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming and Cozy

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

We have rented many properties from VBRO, but for this vacation we were looking for rest, relaxation, peace and quiet. Moonshine Hill is like a comfy sweater you can just wrap yourself in and relax!!! Ann is a wonderful hostess, and any questions or concerns were addressed immediately. The photographs do not do justice, because the property has many living areas outdoors. Our favorite lace was around the stone fire pit. SO many extras...you could actually come to Moonshine Hill with a change of clothes and your toothbrush and be perfectly content. The Country Boy restaurant has great hearty breakfasts...included with the stay!!! Best pancakes EVER!! It was also just a short 10-15 minute drive to get to great shopping and movie theater and everything around the Cool Springs area. My husband really liked the cigar shop there. I would not hesitate to return to Moonshine Hill, it is magical in winter, and I'm sure in any season! Thanks again, Ann for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a slice of Heaven

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2009

We stayed at the cabin for our honeymoon. Consideration was made for every detail to make us feel right at home. The lake is peaceful and a great spot for fishing. Moonshine Hill is the perfect setting to slow down from your busy life and just relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas 2010

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

My family will long remember Christmas 2010. We saw a flock of 20 wild turkeys the day we arrived, enjoyed THREE long-burning fires, and awoke Christmas morning to snow on the ground. What started out as an enchanting stay became absolutely magical by the time we left Moonshine Hill. We'd love to go back again in the spring.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Eclectic Elegance in the Heart of Historic Leipers Fork

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

From the moment you enter the drive to this romantic property...you're swept away. Nestled on a beautifully maintained hillside in one of middle Tennesse's quaintest escapes, Moonshine Hill offers the perfect blend of English eccentricity and common sense country living. Whether you're exploring inside or out, there are tiny touches of class and curiosity tucked in every nook and cranny. A true four season retreat, this wonderfully restored home offers every amenity you need to enjoy your time in wonderful Leipers Fork. Relaxing on the porch swings, lighting cozy fires, casting into the pond & gathering around one of the outdoor fire pits are just a few ways to wrap Moonshine Hill around your family and friends like a warm blanket. Escape, embrace and make memories... a truly wonderful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Luxury

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

Warm, cozy and luxurious are only three adjectives to try to describe this spot of heaven in Tennessee. My husband & I were so taken with the place that we have returned 4 times in the past year. So close to Franklin and Leipers Fork and yet in the middle of peaceful country setting with crickets to lull you to sleep. Sit and read outdoors, build a fire in one of the two fire pits to relax and talk with friends or family or just enjoy the wild turkeys, birds and gardens. The most expensive 5 star hotel will never be adequate after a stay at Moonshine Hill.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Moonshine Hill so much that we booked another stay the following month. The property is tranquil-- mornings were spent on reading on the front porch swings while our dogs roamed the property. Ann, the owner, had the kitchen stocked with great coffee and some snacks as well as dog beds for our dogs. We highly recommend this property and will return soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Extravagant Wedding

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

We were originally looking to have our wedding/reception in Leiper’s Fork, but couldn't find the perfect spot! With the help of a few local shop owners, we were able to track down and meet Ann, at which point she told us where Moonshine Hill was and we went to look around... perfect!!! It was around late February, so there were no leaves, no grass, no flowers and obviously no warmth... However, we could tell there was something else special about Moonshine Hill. We prayed about it, waited a week and the decision was easy.

<<<fast forward to September>>>

After a few extra visits to Moonshine Hill, a personal weekend for my fiancee at “the hill” and a few emails between Ann and myself, we had our rehearsal dinner, our wedding and our reception at Moonshine Hill and I can’t even begin to tell you what a glorious weekend it was!! Not only that, but my bride’s family is from out of town and they were able to stay with her at Moonshine Hill throughout the entire process, which was simply an added bonus for everyone!

We wanted a simple, beautiful, southern, outdoors wedding surrounded by God’s creation and we got more than what we ever expected! My wife and I have frequently recommended and will continue to recommend Moonshine Hill to anyone and everyone who has a curiosity about it specifically, or simply is looking for somewhere sweet to get away.

Believe me, if we had it to do all over again, WE WOULD NOT CHANGE A THING!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review