reviews for: listing #73443 - Asheville, North Carolina Cabin rental

Custom Log Cabin, 8 Miles to Asheville Fireplace/Wifi/HotTub
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $350 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

Great Home in a Fantastic Setting

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

This property was exactly as promised. A secluded location less than 20 minutes from downtown Asheville. The owners were great to work with and very responsive.

This is a well designed and nicely furnished log home that is comfortable and in a very tranquil setting. There was plenty of room for our diverse group to individually enjoy privacy when needed.

We had ten family members from age 16 to 70 and two dogs. Everyone found plenty to do taking art lessons, cooking family meals most evenings, and lots of hiking excursions.

We would definitely rent this home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Getaway!

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 26, 2014

We enjoyed four nights at this wonderful cabin in the woods. The location was perfect. The pictures reflected the place perfectly which for me is really important. We were able to sleep four adults and four children (2 of which are over 6 ft tall) VERY comfortably. Be sure to eat at "The Local Joint", which is right down the main road. YUM!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family reunion

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

We had a lovely time at Rebecca's place, owning a log cabin like hers has always been a dream of ours. It had plenty of little extras that I've rarely seen in many places I've stayed which give it a real homey feel. It was really close to Chimney Rock and a quick drive to Biltmore. The privacy was another nice extra. We lacked nothing. You won't be disappointed if you stay at this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Cabin

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

There were six of us on this trip and we had plenty of room. We liked that there were some cooking basics there as well as other details like plenty of towels and the space heaters. We enjoyed making a fire. The firewood was plentiful and very easy to access. Very lovely house overall. The cabin is peaceful and relaxing. Also, we did not bring out pet but we appreciated all the thoughtfulness in the cabin for pets.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family fun

Review submitted: December 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

We chose bear's den for our family Christmas weekend since our family is scattered. Besides the brew tours, sightseeing, and candlelight tour at the Biltmore, we had fun hanging out at the house playing board games, watching movies, cooking turkey dinner, & enjoying family time. It 's close to shopping, whether it's necessities or goodies. Great memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice place with a lot of charm

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

My family (me, my wife and our 2-year-old, my parents, my sister, my cousin and his wife) stayed at the Bear's Den Mountain Cabin for a few days this November for an early Thanksgiving celebration and we couldn't have been happier with the place.

The kitchen was very nice and roomy, with plenty of counter space and nice appliances for our cooking, and plenty of comfy seating for us. The big round table was perfect for our big meal, and there were just enough chairs for the eight of us around the table.

The bedrooms are all very nice and cozy, and the whole place oozes with log cabin charm, with just enough modern convenience not to be too rustic. It was very clean and warm (especially once we got the bonafide wood fireplace in the great room roaring) and we all had a great time exploring and taking pictures outside in the woods when the weather was warm enough.

It has high-speed wireless internet at your fingertips and satellite TV for your enjoyment. The two-car garage was very nice for coming and going without having to tromp out in the cold-- it'd be especially nice at Christmas or in January/February!

The driveway is steep, but there was no ice or snow, so we had no problem traversing it in our front-wheel drive rental cars. If the weather's very cold or snowy, you can rest assured that you *will* need four-wheel drive to get to the cabin-- Rebecca's not joking when you tells you that!

Overall, we all loved the place and we were sad to leave. If our travels bring us back to the area, we will definitely be coming back for more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Warm inviting home

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

We were really pleased with our stay at this home. It is warm and inviting. The owners have decorated it with lots of quality furnishings. And added some humor as well. The king bed was super comfortable. Everything was very clean. It is located in a really convenient place to explore the area. Very easy to get to and from Asheville. Food Lion just minutes away. It is tucked into lots of trees on a hillside, so there is a lot of privacy. Quiet too. Hot tub, wood-burning fireplace, and garage are great to have. If we are back in this area, we will be sure to see if it is available. And bring family and friends to enjoy. It is a house to be shared. Thank you very much Rebecca!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location and accommodations!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

We had a board retreat in the cabin for 5 people. I rent a lot of VRBO and this was my best experience. Rebecca does it right! Great location, close to Asheville yet secluded and relaxing. The cabin was large enough to give us our own space with excellent cell coverage and internet. Very clean! I highly recommend this cabin for a family vacation, friends trip or business gathering.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

This home was exactly as described and better than the pictures. 11 of us stayed for 5 days and were very comfortable. The deck was just beautiful and felt so private. You did not need to bring anything except groceries. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms lovely. I definitely will stay here again. The drive to Asheville was a breeze as was the drive to the Biltmore. You felt as though you were far out and up in the mountains but it took no time at all to get where you wanted to go. Mostly, we loved the place so much that we just stayed put. Lovely, lovely home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal mountain lodging, close enough to town

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

Recently stayed at this magnificent, rustic cabin. For our group of 12 people, there was more than enough room for everyone to stay comfortable during the day and while sleeping at night.

The weather was perfect and much of our time was spent on the HUGE wrap around porch. Everything in the owners description of this home is extremely accurate and there was nothing to warrant disappointment.

If you are in search of a secluded cabin that is close to downtown, this is a great option. The closest neighbors cannot be seen through the thick woods surrounding the house 360°.

Lastly, the owner was most responsive to all my questions and concerns both before and after I booked her property.

Next time I stay in Asheville, this home will absolutely be on my short list

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A comfortable, relaxing spot.

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

A really great place all around. The view is great, the beds are comfortable, and it's located close enough to Asheville for day-long excursions. The main room is spacious and open, with super comfortable furniture and room enough for a large get together. The best part is the rear deck, though. There's a nice grill, seating for many, and a hottub with a fantastic view. I'd recommend this to almost any family/group.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It's the berries

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at Bear's Den along with 2 other couples. We really liked the open floor plan for the living/kitchen and dining area. We were all able to be together and have plenty of space to move around. The kitchen is large enough for several people to be in there cooking at the same time. The large back deck was so nice with plenty of tables and chairs. We spent alot of time on the deck looking out at the mountains and enjoying the quietness of nature. The cabin is so inviting we spent quite a bit of our time there during our visit. We will go back again for another visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we needed

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

My wife , our three grown sons (21-27) and I just returned from a stay at the house, and had a great time.
The location is perfect, on a wooded piece of property only a short drive off the main road. The house had a everything that we needed to relax and enjoy the vacation. We did some cooking, and the open kitchen was perfect for that , and just hung out, and enjoyed the quite and time together.
We were close enough to the downtown area of Asheville to take full advantage, but far enough away to feel in our own little world.
We would love to return real soon/

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

peaceful setting in the woods

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

We stayed for one week in this lovely home nestled in the woods. There were six adults and each of us had our own bedroom and bath. After getting our bearings, we found the location to be excellent for the activities we participated in. When a problem arose, the owner responded quickly and the issue was resolved, except for the shower. Our only complaint was the condition of some of the appliances (dishwasher, disposal), the poor lighting in the great room, and musty smell of the lower level. The downstairs shower leaked which contributed to the musty smell. It worked well but was not repaired while we were there. There was no fan in the lower basement to remove the moisture. We thought the house needed some TLC to check for on-going maintenance issues. Everything worked as promised. Chimney Rock and the Biltmore were fantastic. We did the Navitat Zip line and it was safe and fun. Carl Sandberg's home is wonderful. Black Mountain is a great little place to shop for pottery, etc. Great location for entering the Parkway. We liked the Corner Kitchen restaurant in the Biltmore Village. Yes, we would recommend this house for a large group. Quite and peaceful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Balance

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

Outstanding house! Perfect balance between privacy and access to amenities. Very close to grocery stores, and reasonably close to downtown, but maintains the isolated cabin feel. Sleeps plenty of people but has the feel of a small mountain home. Beautiful place, beautiful house, beautiful city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place absolutely loved it..........

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We staying in March......... the cabin was beautiful. Well kept and a very relaxing. The hot tub on the deck in the snow was amazing. We had ages 2 to 47 stay and we all enjoyed it very much! Short drive to fun activities and far enough away to be ever so peaceful..... would love to go back again! ~

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Location and Accomodations

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Our stay was absolutely outstanding. We were able to live comfortably for our week and local hiking and sightseeing adventures were numerous. The property was very well kept up and clean when we arrived and was exactly what we were expecting based on the pictures that we saw. We will definitely look into staying again and would certainly recommend this to our friends. Thanks for a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This cabin and Asheville are a win/win combination. Close in but very private and secure.

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

We have been to Asheville a number of times over the last 20 years, but last weeks' visit was by far the best. We have stayed in Hotels and Motels before and that was okay for a quick visit, but this time we had family come from long distances for a family vacation. This cabin and its' location were prefect. It is outside of the busy traffic of town, but very close in. It is a on a hillside neighborhood of similar cabins which have their own entrance road. There is NO drive by traffic, no Noise, no Security problems. The owner forgot to mention the big two car+ enclosegarage beneath the house. We never had a cabin with this feature before. Plan a family vaction here, bring the harley and the bass boat, put them in the garage, lock them up and go see Asheville. Quick Facts about this visit. This house is not perfect. No place is. The kitchen is well equipped. The outside grill is great and has an extra bottle of gas just in case. It is very comfortable, very secure, fully equipped, the wireless internet is good, bring your own cat cable if you want wired. Cell phone service is great. The local phone at the cabin works great for local calls. It is pet friendly but no evidence of past pet presence. This house is CLEAN, CLEAN CLEAN. Be sure to take the GRAY LINE TOUR first thing.This is a steal of a deal, I promise you. Runs from the Visitor Center downtown. For 20 bucks you get free parking and 2 hour guided tour of Asheville. See what Asheville has and then come back in your car later. You can get off and on the tour and reboard to continue the tour. The ticket is good for 2 days. Our Driver was Denise ( with Lovely Cajun Accent ). Busses run about every hour. We never knew what a cool place Asheville is. There is a lot to see and do that we'd never have found. Our visit was for 7 people and we had plenty of room and a good time. We will stay here again when we return next time. There is lots of tourist stuff on the bar, and in the drawer. If you like privacy, cleanliness, close proximity to town, excellent security and a quiet homey place to stay it is a good choice. There is some local wildlife too. Squirrels abound, Deer feed within sight, and I noticed a Racoon taking a tour of the deck when I got up early ( 4am ) one morning. Didn't see any bears tho. No stray dogs or cats either. If you're only going to blow into town, spend the night, anywhere will do. If you want something more like home, this cabin is good choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Fit

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

The cabin was perfect for our needs...a shared vacation with family...three couples. Clean and comfortable from the beds to the big chairs that swallow you up as you relax. The spacious layout is excellent, especially the open living, dining, and living room. Loved the privacy of the lot and the convenient location to Asheville, Chimney Rock, the Blue Ridge Parkway, restaurants, and lots of other things to do in the area. Would definitely keep this on out list for return vacations to the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Destination

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

Our cousin had a fabulous destination wedding at the beautiful Biltmore Estate, and eight of us family members came and stayed at the Bears Den log cabin. The cabin was exactly as described on line and in previous visitors’ reviews, and we couldn’t get over how clean, spacious and comfortable everything was. The cabin provided all of our needs, and Rebecca was a joy to work with. The trees were turning color while we were there, and the large outdoor deck, with plenty of seating and new hot tub, was the perfect spot to enjoy the show. The location is perfect – close enough to the Biltmore to get there quickly and easily, but also convenient to downtown Asheville and other area attractions. The road up to the cabin is nicely paved and fairly easily navigated once you get used to the hairpin curves and scary entrance to the drive. I would recommend arriving in the daytime so you can scope it out. All in all, you can tell that Rebecca put a lot of thought and love into the Bears Den cabin, and we are so happy we were able to share it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great gathering place

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Bears Den cabin is a great home for a group gathering or family vacation. I have rented it twice in the past 2 months! We loved the amenities such as the gift basket in the kitchen, coffee creamers in the frig and extras in the bathrooms. Nice touch! The big deck, hot tub and gas grill are great and we spent lots of time outside enjoying the quiet surroundings.The home is in a great location, close to many great places to visit and shop. Would definitely recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family gathering to experience Asheville area

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Bear"s Den Mountain Cabin came with all the ammenities of a home and then some -- welcome basket of goodies in the well stocked kitchen (did not lack for kitchen equipment) and baths - nice touches if you forgot something, plenty of towels, blankets, and pillows but best of all so centrally located. Each day we did something different - Belle Cher, Hendersonville, Blue Ridge mile marker 417, Biltmore Village, Biltmore, Chimney Rock and lake Lure and last - downtown Asheville. Every place was within 20 - 30 minute trip but the cabin was where we could reassemble for evening libations and eats. Six families were represented in our group and everyone had the option of doing something different or together as a group - the cabin gave all of us space to gather as one or in small groups depending if you wanted to stay inside due to the heat/sun or be outside enjoying the scenery - all agreed our selection from the pictures and the description of nearby activities met our expectations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Choice!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We rented the cabin over a holiday weekend for a group of friends and had a great time. The driveway is accessible for all vehicles (we have stayed in cabins where you needed a 4X4 to arrive) and the location is perfect for those who want to be able to get in and out of Asheville with ease. The cabin is large with a near wrap around deck and nice view. I would highly recommend for a group or large family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Cabin For Our Extended Family

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

This cabin was absolutely perfect for our extended family for a long weekend. There was enough room for us all to have our own space and privacy, yet the kitchen/dining/living room was all open so that we could all be together. The setting was ideal with a lot of privacy and the exact "cabin in the woods" feel that we were looking for. The hot tub on the deck was delightful on the cool evenings. I would highly recommend this house to anyone looking to stay near Asheville.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bears Den

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

We stayed here over Christmas vacation. The cabin is exactly as pictured. It is cozy and comfortable, while still having plenty of space for 2 families of 5. It is very clean and well maintained. It is in close proximity to Chimney Rock State Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The owner is very easy to contact and willing to answer all your questions. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Biltmore vacation

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

We traveled with two other couples and had a great time. The cabin was very comfortable and had a great location. It was very close to the Asheville attractions and restaurants. I recommend this cabin to anyone visiting the Asheville area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Managers retreat!

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

We needed a place to relax and do some strategic planning. On arrival at this amazing retreat, we quickly realized our priorities and enjoyed some great R&R. Thank you for sharing this wonderful cabin! On arrival we felt welcomed and comfortable. We loved the sense of humour about the place! This cabin is cozy, yet spacious; private, yet convenient. There was plenty of room for us to visit, watch football and relax. We hiked and listened to the peaceful surroundings. Asheville is close by as is Black Mountain. We highly recommend this cabin...and hope to return soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Escape to the mountains yet be close to everything

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We stayed at this wonderful cabin during October 2011 to experience the fall foliage and downtown Asheville. This cabin more than met our needs and then some. We ere close to everything! The Blue Ridge parkway, downtown Asheville , the Biltmore and lots of other sites were a stones throw away. You feel like you are deep in the woods yet you are close enough for pizza delivery (Pizza & More on 74 rocks!). The hot tub provides an awesome relaxing experience with total privacy. The goodie basket full of yummies was a nice touch. This is the first place that I have stayed that provided split firewood which we definately made use of. All in all I can think of no better place to stay to enjoy some family bonding.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT CABIN CLOSE TO EVERYTHING

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

We had a great time staying at your cabin. It is easy to get to, very quiet and it has all the stuff you need to relax. The hot tub is located just outside the living room doors which is central to the cabin. You don't have to go downstairs or navigate to an area that isn't accessible to the rest of the house. The central intercom system was a great feature, you can listen to music practically anywhere inside or outside the cabin, just added to the whole experience. 10-15 minutes away from Biltmore, The Grove Park Inn and plenty of restaurants to select from. Plenty of linens and the fires are easy to start. Huge place, we didn't realize it was going to be so big. Thank you guys for letting us stay a few days at your home and enjoy our 10th year anniversary.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome home

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

Our family came to Asheville for a family wedding and had the wonderful opportunity to stay here. What an awesome experience. The home is tastefully decorated and we had all the creature comforts of home. We all would love to come back again and again. Thank you so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Vacation Retreat

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

This wonderfully secluded wooded retreat is an excellent place to spend time in the mountains of North Carolina. The home is very open and comfortable. The hot tub is perfect after an adventurous day. The house is well equipped, you really just need to bring food as everything else is included. Enjoy the Biltmore but also enjoy the rest that this area has to offer. We went thru Class IV rapids with the French Broad River Rafting Company and it was amazing, Ziplining with Navitat will definitely get your heart beating. All of this within 30-40 minutes of the property. The view from Pisgah Inn is amazing and will teach you why the Blue Ridge is called Blue on a clear day. The Inn is at the top of the mountain and is only about 45 minutes from the house. I could go on and on but you need to see it for yourself. You will remember this time forever.
Velda and Hal from Florida

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family from LA and MD met at Bear's Den Cabin

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

The Bear's Den lived up to our high expectations! Our three kids, their spouses and a granddaughter, met us for a delightful week that featured a glorious outdoors and the very scenic and artsy community of Asheville. The Bear's Den was the perfect rendevous location. Ample space, beautiful deck and spa, great cooking facilities, in a secluded area south of the city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bear's Den Cabin

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

Just ended our stay at Bear's Den and I must say, we were delighted with this spacious yet cozy comfortable vacation home for our family reunion. The owners have created a lovely retreat filled with whimsical and artistic mountain decor. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking and eating in. With our large group, we did a lot of this. Bedrooms have nice sleeping mattresses / pillows and ample storage space. Terrific long porch, both front & back for gathering outside. Location is convenient to grocery stores, post office, and gas stations. Only five or six miles to I-40 and Blue Ridge Parkway. Easy access into downtown Asheville and Biltmore. Owners were accomodating and helpful. I happily recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion & vacation from Ohio

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Dear Rebecca, Thank you so much for sharing your warm and comfortable cabin with our family. It was clean, beautiful and met our every need. The family dogs say "thank you" too for allowing them to join us! The kitchen accomodated our big diiners and beds were all comfty. The evenings were enjoyed on the big wrap around porch and of course in the "hot tub".
We loved the city of Asheville with all the attractions and neat shops. Also the beauty and tranquilty of the surrounding mountains! We definitly would stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a Crowd

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

My brother's family (4 from Indiana) and my family (4 plus son's girlfriend plus dog from Saint Pete, FL) brought our parents (2 from Naples, FL) here as a 50th wedding anniversary present and stayed for a week. The Bear's Den was very clean and well-equipped -- we thought we would have to purchase items such as laundry detergent, dishwashing detergent, but every need was anticipated and every item supplied. This property is perfect for a large group of family and /or friends; there is plenty of room for everyone to be together on the porch, the deck, the living area, but there is space for privacy too with the numerous bedrooms and bathrooms; plenty of closet space too and we had a group of eleven including four teenagers. Nice also to have cell phone and wireless intenet in the mountains. . . . Hot tub in the evenings is wonderful and relaxing in the mountain air. Convenient to Asheville to the west and Lake Lure/Chimney Rock to the East; we also visited the Biltmore, Sliding Rock/Pisgah National Forest, downtown, the Arbour, golf, yoga studio, Saint Laurence Basilica. The cabin is also equipped with literature about various tourist attractions for those like us who are unfamiliar with the area. My husband and I are so impressed we are considering buying property in the area. If you have a large group this is the place for you. Owner is very responsive to questions and concerns.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great mountain cabin for our group of 10

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

This house was perfect for our group of 5 couples in their late 20s and early 30s. We stayed for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the cabin and its feeling of being out in the middle of nowhere (among the trees on a mountain), yet still within an easy drive to Asheville and the surrounding area.

We made extensive use of the huge kitchen (tons of counter space), grill, and enormous deck (complete with hot tub). The fact that the cabin has 3 full bathrooms is great for large groups, too.

The owner is very friendly and keeps in excellent communication.

We highly recommend the cabin for your next visit to the Asheville area!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful White Christmas in Asheville!!!

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

We stayed at the Bear's Den Cabin for a week at Christmas 2010 and had an absolutely amazing time. The cabin is everything as stated and more. The owner Rebecca was very helpful before we got there answering all my questions and she has everything you could possibly need....except a cookie sheet...LOL....but we made due with the broiler pan to make cookies. We woke up to a beautiful snowy Christmas morning.....it was just beautiful to hear my 11 year old come out "Its snowing, its snowing"! The cabin is just beautiful with the wood floors and cozy fireplace. The bedrooms are nice and roomy with big open windows to see the scenery.
Our Truck broke down the second night we got there and met a wonderful man and his grandson who helped us and we were back on the road the next day. Everyone we met in Fairview couldn't have been nicer.
We built a snowman, had snowball fights and even hiked down the hill one afternoon and met another really nice man and his son....they made us sleds....we left them at the cabin, so the next family could enjoy them too.
Dont miss see the Biltmore Estate....its amazing!
My 84 year old mother-in-law kept saying she wished it were her home...she could stay forever.
We hope to make it up again one day and would love to stay at this cabin again. Thank you for a wonderful time Rebecca.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New Years Trip 2011

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

We absolutely loved staying at this cabin! I would definitely stay here again! The lsiting description was more than accurate. THe pictures did justice! The beds were comfortbale and the kitchen is great! The view is beautiful. It is onyl about 20 minutes from downtown Asheville and Grove Park Inn. the owner was more than helpful in ever aspect. The cabin was more than we expected. It is very cozy and I cannot wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family trip to Asheville

Review submitted: November 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Bear's Den. We were delighted to find that the description and photos posted on the web were accurately representative of the cabin. The Bear's Den is very homey and cozy and we felt as if we were staying with friends. We found the cabin very clean and well appointed. The open living area was very easy for my 84 year old mother in law to navigate with her walker. The hot tub on the deck was a wonderful end to a full day of sight-seeing and dining. Before we left we were already talking about coming back with the rest of the family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Getaway!

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

We just returned home this past week after spending three wonderful days and nights at Bear's Den Cabin. Our ages ranged from 60 years old to 2 months old. This cabin is absolutely fantastic! It was not only as described, but much better. It was so comfortable and spacious. It is secluded but close to many attractions. We visitied and had dinner at the Grove Park Inn (15 minute drive) and also spent an afternoon at Chimney Rock State Park (less than 30 minute drive). The cabin had everything we could have asked for. The beds were comfortable, and the kitchen was well stocked. Loved the wood burning fireplace and the hot tub. The owner, Rebecca, was so helpful. What can I say.....WE WILL BE BACK!!! Thank you, Rebecca, for offering such a wonderful vacation rental!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Close and far

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

I love this kind of place. Out in the middle of the woods, can't see a single house from the back porch (or front, for that matter), birds and squirrels busily messing around in the trees; but the Food Lion is at the bottom of the hill, Asheville downtown and the Biltmore are a half hour or so away, and Chimney Rock is just over yonder ridge. The house itself is vacation-y without being at all spare: log style, but not oppressively heavy; lots of beds, but certainly not a dormitory; uncrowded furnishings and lots of empty kitchen cupboard space, but the only thing we found we lacked was nutmeg spice (we bought some and left it there, so you won't lack a thing); that kind of thing. We loved the comfort of the king bed (call dibs on that one early), the wonderful living room fan (aaah!), the huge round dining table and the hot tub. We went to the Biltmore (well worth the money), Pigeon River Canopy Tours zipline (what a blast -- you can do it!) and Chimney Rock (heavily used, but kept clean and natural). Recommend the funny organic food store across the street from Food Lion; taking the extra couple of minutes to go to Ingles instead of Food Lion; the Jerusalem Garden Cafe in Asheville (excellent belly dancer on Fri-Sat evenings); and Cedric's Tavern at the Biltmore. Downtown Asheville itself looks like a blast -- have to do that next time. Only two minuses we saw: there were some really beautiful trees in the way of seeing the beautiful mountains from the back deck (don't go cutting them down, now -- they ARE beautiful trees) and the traffic noise is a little high, but it decreases progressively through the evening. Did I mention the cabin is close to Stuff?

Go there. You'll be happy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderfully cozy cabin in the mountains around Asheville

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

We just came back from a wonderfully relaxing weekend in Asheville where we stayed in this cabin with 8 friends. The place is tasteful and cozy with all amenities you would want. It is about 15 minutes to Asheville which wasn't bad at all. We had a terrific time and would definitely return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

RELAX !!!!

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

I was so welcomed by the aura of the cabin that relaxation came as second nature. My dog reese and I just felt we were in a different world from the bustle of the city - I guess we realy were!
It was a pleasent 3 night stay with all the conveiniences we have come to expect, coupled with the tranquility of the mountains. A lovely retreat.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mountain rental

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

My family enjoyed our time at Bears Dean Mountain Cabin. It provided room for everyone to have some privacy yet space for everyone to eat and relax together. I would recommend it to my friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

THIS MOUNTAIN CABIN IS AMAZING!!

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

The secluded peaceful location offers a view of gorgeous greenery with splendid mountain views with out another home insight.The entry has a welcoming front porch equipped with rocking chairs and a porch swing for enjoyment.Upon entry to the cabin you're greeted with the aromatics of wood which is throughout this lovely spacious cabin home.The cabin is decorated to make you feel right at home.The beds and linens are superb, the owner has equipped the home with such thoughtfulness. You're sure to find everything you need in her fully equipped kitchen.The location is perfect. Asheville, in itself, provides opportunity for farmers markets,local art,an array of interesting shops, and restaurants to rave about.We can't wait to come back and see looking glass falls,go down sliding rock,and experience all the natural wonders this area has to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful log cabin that is tastefully decorated with a nice rustic feel. The house is tucked away in a wooded lot that provides lots of privacy. We had two adults, four teenagers and the family dog with us on a weekend getaway. There was plenty of room to spare. The kids loved relaxing in the hot tub after a long day of hiking at Chimney Rock. The owner was very quick to respond and very accurate with her descriptions. I would highly recommend. Our only regret was that our stay was too short.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fall in love with the Fall Getaway

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2008

This lovely cabin in the woods was nothing short of perfect in the lush season of Fall. Colorful trees nestled around our hidaway. It was a joy to wake up in the morning to hear the birds, smell the fresh outdoors and know that another day of adventure in Asheville awaited. Everytime our family has visited here, we're reminded about how lucky we are to have found this little piece of heaven.
This cabin, and I use the term loosely---as it has four spacious bedrooms, a large family room and spacious kitchen and dining area, is idealy located close to all the sights that make Asheville so popular. But, it sits on a wooded hillside, secluded from the neighboring hustle and bustle of tourists. WHAT PERFECTION!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family of 5 SUMMER VACATION

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

This will be our third year in a row staying at this great log cabin. Our family of 5 and our pet dog love this cabin. It is tucked away in a quiet and serene area with nothing but nature around you. The lightning bugs come out every night and my kids love it. We stay for about a 5-6 days in the summer and everything you want to do is close by. Chimney Rock is literally right down the road from this cabin and Asheville is about a 15min drive. The cabin is always clean and well kept and after a long day of either hiking or just being out and about the jacuzzi is a nice bonus. I would recommend this property to my friends and family it is a perfect getaway from the daily grind.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

This spacious cabin offers a wonderful retreat for the entire family. It's perfect for a family reunion or a romantic getaway! We've visited Bear's Den several times and always found it to be welcoming, clean, and country cozy. The owner is an artist and her style is reflected in the lovely decor of each room. With four bedrooms, there's plenty of space for everyone in the family to sleep in comfort. The unobstructed view of the surrounding forest makes this retreat perfect in any time of year. We've come during every season and enjoyed the beauty of the fall leaves as well as the spring buds. We were even snowed-in one perfectly wonderful winter weekend. The Rustic pine kitchen is completely stocked with dishes, pots, pans and every utensil one might need. The beds are extremely comfortable. It's easy to feel right at home. The surrounding highlights of Asheville and the Mountains are close by. We've come to see this mountain retreat as our home away from home. It really is bargain for extended families or close friends. I highly recommend this wonderful vacation retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Photos are completely accurate - Beautiful Cabin

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

I am a Clearwater FL resident and stayed at this cabin for 5 days. I would recommend it to everybody I know. The furnishings and the artwork are very tasteful and relaxing. The kitchen, dining, living areas are open and inviting. There are enough bedrooms that everyone can relax and have some privacy. The location is so convenient that you can travel to all beautiful sites in and around the Ashville area in very little time. I will definitely be back.
Pam V - Clearwater FL

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review