reviews for: listing #73468 - South Lake Tahoe, California Cabin rental

5 Mins to Casinos/Heavenly | Wi-Fi | Sleeps 10 | Pets OK :)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Black Bart
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $99 - $250 /nt
    $950 - $2,100 /wk
    $2,400 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

Nice, yet misleading...

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: July 17, 2014

This cabin was in a good location as well as being clean, however, based on the photos and the description, it looked like it was going to be big enough for our family. It was not. Upon arrival, we noticed that the living room had little to no seating. The only place to really sit was on the chaise lounge. The leather couch was missing. Also, upstairs there pictured a couch, 2 chairs and a fold out futon. These all are missing. The futon was unfolded on the ground, and there were 2 very small children sized couches upstairs. The beds were also smaller than queen sized and the master bedroom bed is so squeaky that it keeps you up all night. If these had been mentioned before we booked it I would have been more understanding, however, having a party of 7 adults, with no place for all of us to sit and socialize was very disappointing. If you have a smaller amount of people, or even more kids than adults, I'm sure that this would work well for you. There are also no screens on most of the windows, so bugs will come in at night if you have them open for a nice breeze. Just make sure that you take pictures of any damage upon arrival and send to the property manager. Christina was excellent at communicating with me. She responded quickly and answered all questions. I really did like this place, there were just a few things that I would have liked to have known about beforehand.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Cabin

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

This cabin was just right for my family -- my husband, myself and seven children/young adults. The cabin was clean and well maintained with a good mixture of public/private space. I would recommend it to other families looking for a place to stay in South Lake Tahoe.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: It was a pleasure hosting you and your family at our cabin. We look forward to creating more summer memories for your family in the future :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Dunham Love Shack

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

Great accommodations! Very easy to get to from HWY 50 and Pioneer Trail. Minutes away from the California side of Heavenly Valley Ski Resort and from the Casino's. The cabin was warm, clean and very comfortable. I would defintely stay there again. Keyless entry feature for the front door was excellent. I had no problems getting in and getting out. Can't wait to book a longer stay at The Dunham Love Shack.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Appreciate the feedback! We find the keyless entry convenient as well, especially for large parties. No more issues with coordinating arrivals or worrying about lost keys :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

73468

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Found this cabin online and booked in June for our christmas holiday getaway. It was a nice cabin with many accomodations. We had 8 people and a dog and were all happy and comfortable. Perfect location, close to everything. Kitchen had everything we needed to eat several meals in. Even had a belgium waffle iron. Beds were a little hard, but still received a good night sleep. We will definitely return to this cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We intend to do a few minor updates to the cabin this spring, including replacing the mattresses. Your comment certainly helped reinforce that decision. We look forward to hosting you and your family again on a future trip to South Lake Tahoe :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

422883

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Very nice accomodations for my family and friends. Loft accomodated our teen and young 20's group and the adults hung out in the family room. Cabin had everything we needed. My only complaint is the beds were kinda hard, but heck we weren't in Tahoe to laze in bed. And I did get a good nights sleep. Close to heavenly and Sierra and the fun southshore casinos. Great neighborhood. We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Winter get away

Review submitted: December 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

This home looked small, but is well planned out, we had plenty of space and areas for kids to gather and play games, adults to chat and all had our privacy if we needed it. Easy to get there and the owner was available if we had any questions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Our home is definitely cozy, with a lay-out very typical of other A-framed cabins in South Lake Tahoe. It's perfect for a small group of ten or less. We especially love hosting families and always want to ensure a pleasant getaway for our guests. Thanks for staying with us :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great cabin

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

We had a great time. The cabin had everything we needed to have a awesome time in Tahoe. Will recommend to our friend. We are talking about returning next summer to enjoy more of South Lake Tahoe.

Owners response: Thank you Sandi and Phillip for choosing our cabin! We look forward to hosting your family again next year :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Friendly Location & Amenities!!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

WOW! Thanks to Christina and her lovely home for helping the single moms create lifelong memories for our kids in your lovely home.

We're already talking about making it an annual excursion. This home fit our families all without being on top of one another. We had 3 moms and 5 kids and it was great! Ample ammenities and provisions were available to our liking and we never felt more close yet never once felt like we were falling all over each other in this cozy home. Kid's loved the back yard and made the most of the great powder that we were fortunate enough to get during our stay!

Thanks for providing us with a wonderful refuge and helping us share in the joy in our childrens faces as we cuddled up after a day in the snow watching movies eating popcorn and hot cocoa! Yes truly Norman Rockwell worthy adventures. You and your family will enjoy the memories too for sure!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: I'm so happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time at the cabin! We look forward to hosting many more Tahoe family excursions :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A real cozy home

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Dear Jack and Christina -

We had a good time visiting your house. You have a real cozy home!

Sincerely,
- Nandini, Gahil, Anyadha, Vivan, Shashi, Smita, Soniya and Charulata

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A home away from home

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

We had a great time using your cozy cabin, "a home away from home"! Perfect place for families with kids. Thanks for providing all that we need from the kitchen to the bathrooms. Our family Easter celebration turned out wonderful. Hope you had a safe one. God bless your generosity!

- Ely, Aurora, Ernaly, Ray, Jaren, Malia, Jay and Erin

P.S. The Orchid Thai Place is OK! Delicious food. Snowshoing was fun!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a wonderful time

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

Dear Christina & Jack -

We had a wonderful time here in this cabin. It was designed very beautiful and cozy! It had everything we needed and we were very impressed. Looking forward to our next Tahoe trip! Thanks for everything.

- Angelica

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope to return

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Had a great time! Thank you for everything. As always, was too short. Hope to return. - Ben P. (Sacramento)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Family Time

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

Dear Christina - Your place was perfect and we enjoyed some great skiing and wonderful family time. We will be back! Many thanks, Megan, Mike, Max and Audrey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from home

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

Dear Christina - Thank you for a wonderful 1st time experience of snow and Tahoe for our family. We thoroughly enjoyed staying in your lovely home. It was very comfortable and felt like a home away from home. We will definitely be back.

Thanks again,
Crystal P.M.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thorougly enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

I know that Lake Tahoe is a great place to visit with all of the outdoor activities, shops to visit, great food to eat and the beautiful scenery you get to take in, but couple that with an excellent place to stay and you have a great weekend getaway. This was so much more than we expected and the cabin had everything we needed. We will definitely return and spread the word.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Tahoe

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

What a great find! Stayed at this rustic yet modern interior A-framer last November. Excellent location in a secure & private setting.

Thanks for the great service! I highly recommend

---DA CHICAGO TOURIST---

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much!!!! As you can see from the photos, we've made a few upgrades since you last stayed there :)

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review