reviews for: listing #7352 - Cobb Island, Maryland House rental

Relax at Waterfront Home with Dock, Beach & Amazing Views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Waterfront
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,750 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Our best faily vacation in years!

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: August 16, 2008

"My entire family thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at this beautiful waterfront house which is a hard feat to accomplish simply because we have 3 generations of children, all of course with different interests and expectations. Our youngest daughter is a rising 5th grader, our son will be graduating H.S. and our oldest daughter will be graduating from Grad School this year.

The house was was very clean, well decorated, spacious and most importantly lived up to the owners billing of having a true gourmet kitchen which just delighted my wife as she loves to cook.

The views were spectacular, the fishing and crabbing was excellent, the local restaraunt food was fantastic, the neighbors very friendly, the kayaking a lot fun and the private sandy beach was simply icing on the cake.

We also took a ride up to Baltimore for a day and saw the Red Sox play the Orioles and visited some sights in D.C. as they are not that far away.

I highly recommend this rental property to anyone seeking a truly enjoyable relaxing vacation. We enjoyed it so much that we plan on coming back again next year!

Dan, Linda, Caitlin, Daniel and Julia.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our goal is to send our vacationers home 100% satisfied, and we take a really nice location and combine it with all the things we can plus extras to make your stay memorable.

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Excellent stay

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

Hi there -- we got back on Friday and couldn't say better things about our visit and the house. For what we were looking for (ultimate relaxation with a toddler -- an oxymoron, I suppose) we thought the house was perfect. I would give all of your ratings a 10. Even my mother said the mattresses were very comfortable. We didn't have any negative issues associated with the house or the island -- all in all, a wonderful visit. This is probably the only place I would consider returning to next year. I have to say the furniture is incredibly comfortable, and the layout of the house is perfect. Our toddler loved it. The screened-in porch was absolutely amazing -- I could NOT get enough of it, even sitting there with the fans when it got into the 90s.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities

Owners response: We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Cobb Island Vacation Home. We do put a lot of effort into enhancing what mother nature has provided and we are glad the total package met your expectations. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House!

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

We enjoyed a weekend with some cousins from out of state and stayed in the house an had a fabulous weekend. The house was very clean and completely stocked with everything we needed! We used available kayaks and fishing poles while we sat out on the pier. The beds were very comfortable and we spent hours on the screened-in porch. The house was perfect for us and we would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maureen and her family were great guests at our house and we would love to have them return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cpbb Island Vacation

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

What we especially liked about your Cobb Island house was: being on the water, fishing, kayaking, biking, catching lightning bugs watching the fireworks on our 1st evening on the porch. If we were not in the water swimming, picking up sea glass, sea shells,fishing or trying to catch a crab we were on the porch. Star gazing at night was also a bonus! We so enjoyed your home! Ernie and Marty were very friendly and shared zucchini from their garden. The kayaks were wonderful to have and be able to get on the water. Good view of the osprey nest in the pine tree and different posts along the waterway. Our daughter brought her bike with a tag along for our grand-daughter. We had some wonderful bike rides. My legs today are a little sore. Your bikes were another wonderful addition. We look forward to our future visit with our children and grand-children. The one thing we did not like was - Having to leave!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Michelle Meyer

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Every year, my mother takes us all on vacation, my brother, sister, and I and our families. Since my father passed away, these times together have become more important to all of us. Each year we look forward to the trip, but always hope that we will find "the vacation spot". The place that makes us all happy, adults and kids alike. I think we found that place in your house. After a tumoltuous year and a half long divorce, the papers were finally signed on the 18th. So the timing was perfect for my part of the family. Every thing about the house was perfect. It was just the right amount of time away, the right amount of house, and the right amount of fun. We spent our days on the river swimming and Kayaking and our evenings watching the river and the stars. The kids enjoyed hanging out in the living room and the adults relaxed in the spacious kitchen and caught up. There was no stress of making sure we saw everything, because everything to see was right in the backyard. We were all able to kick back and relax, just like you should on vacation. The house was beautiful and far exceded our expectations. We've done this enough to know that pictures don't always tell the truth. But yours were exact. Thank you so very much for sharing your home with us to enjoy. I am hoping we will be back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation Location

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

The feeling of walking into our own place was fantastic. It was homey, cozy, clean and well equipped! I spend a lot of time in the kitchen, so I especially loved the well equipped kitchen. The layout and furnishings were perfect for our family! We spend a lot of our time outdoors and on the water, so the dock and water access was perfect for our family!
We enjoyed our vaction and plan to come back, as well as would recommend this place to friends and family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

riverside relaxation!

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

My brothers and I planned a surprise for my Mom's 80th birthday weekend. It was to take her back to Cobb Island where she summered growing up. The weekend was a huge success and much of that was attributed to this beautifuk house we were fortunate enough to find.
The house itself is charming, clean and homey. sleeping facilities were ample and the 6 of us never felt on top of one another.
the real traet though, and where everyone spent the majority of the time, was the outside areas. The deck, picnic table and dock were so relaxing and beautiful.
the amenities were also appreciated. I myself became a kayak freak while we were there and have bought my own since returning home to Tampa.
we hope to return soon.

thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cobb Island

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

Dear Ed...wish I had allowed myself enough time to write more in the guest book...I could have written PAGES! What a wonderful time I had with my "main squeeze" , son , daughter, son-in-law , and granddaughter . Every morning I was up with the sunrise and a cup of coffee at the end of the pier taking in all the beauty..a dream realized. My daughter and son-in-law ended up driving two cars down so my son-in-law could fit the telescope in (as all the baby's paraphernalia took up one car!) and the stars were amazing! My son-in-law has a computer program, which we brought out to the dock on more than one night along with the telescope and identified all the constellations as they appeared...knowing when to watch for Jupiter to rise...the Milky Way was incredible! I have traveled extensively (former Pan Am stewardess...back in the dark ages) and have seen both the northern lights and the southern cross, but nothing compared to the Cobb Island starry nights with my family. My daughter tried fishing...but found out from a man fishing off the neighbor's pier that blood worms were the bait of choice and she was using night crawlers. My son did catch a perch, however, with his bare hands!!! Little did we know we had a noodler in the family! We didn't catch any crabs...maybe Irene was the cause of that! We did have many laughing gulls...cracking me up every time they called out! The big surprise was the stingray which hung out for two days - kids went swimming anyway. I could go on and on but most of all...
Thanks again for making your wonderful home a home for us to say good bye to the summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Multi-Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Our 3 families traveled from North Carolina, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island to be together for summer vacation. We had in our group almost 80 year olds, 40-somethings, teens and 10 yr. olds. The house is extremely comfortable and very well maintained. It is quiet at all times here so if you are looking to truly "get away" this is your place. You won't find any taffy shops or those giant - shark - mouth chain t-shirt shops. It is a very small peaceful place. We fished, crabbed, kayaked, and welcomed the sun every day. The only and I mean only thing missing would be a nice boat or jet - skis to rent. It was hot, very hot in late July - but so easy to cool off in the water. We hit Captain John's for crab cakes and according to our server - theirs were rated 3rd in the state. They were really, really good. Absolutely, positively the best feature of the house is the peace and tranquility of the Potomac river. We feel fortunate to have found you on VBRO.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Not *exactly* 4 bedrooms + loft

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

While the house and property are very nice, I felt that the posting was misleading. It states there are 4 bedrooms plus loft, but there actually are 3 bedrooms, a den-type room between the kitchen and living room that contains a futon (and the walls do not go to the ceiling and there is no window covering on the bottom half of the window), and the "loft" is a single-over-double bunk bed in an area immediately outside the door to the master bedroom. It caused a bit of a problem for us. That said, we did enjoy the property, with fishing and kayaking, eating crabs at the picnic table, and cooking in the marvelously equipped kitchen. We would likely return -- but with an awareness of the actual configuration of the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Incredibly Relaxing!

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

A group of us stayed at Ed's Cobb Island home in August 2010... it was a wonderful vacation! The house was very clean and extremely well-stocked... you can't imagine the amount of appliances in the kitchen (you don't need to bring anything- even a coffee grinder!)
We spent our time fishing, crabbing, kayaking, tubing and stargazing - so much fun! I'd also like to mention there is a wonderful playground for the kids right up the road. We weren't interested in sightseeing as we all lead very busy lives in Philadelphia. We wanted a place to just sit back and relax...
Ed's house is a gem in a laid-back little town!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything you could want in a vacation!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

The house has everything that ED has described...and more! The property has a fully equipped kitchen, sleeping accomodations for a large number of people (we had two families of 4), terrific views, huge dock for lounging and diving, kayaks and bikes. The town was very friendly and Capt Johns had a pretty good seafood buffet. Ed's meticulous details of where to grocery shop, where to eat, where to take the kids for the playground, and lots more were tremendous! He truly has thought of everything...including a slew of board games.
This getaway was a perfect family vacation to spend time with the family. My daughter (3yrs old) enjoyed playing on the beach and jumping off the dock, she can't stop talking about the fun she had. The kids from both families (two 3 yr olds and two 11 month olds) had a great time. If you do have really young ones, you may want to consider to bring a child gate for the stairwell.
The ONLY negative for our vacation was that we had two days of jellyfish, as the water was very warm. This is not the owners fault. We bought an inflatable pool that the kids used on the two jellyfish days.
We were unsuccessful catching the "BLUE CRAB" but were quite successful buying half a bushel of them for $40 at the local market and they were quite delicious! We had fun checking the crab pots every day though. Also didn't do so well catching fish with any size, caught a few really small ones, but we still had a blast trying.
The neighbors were kind and helpful.
I would DEFINITELY book this place again for my family.

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation...look no further, you found it. Ed's house is as gorgeous as the pictures and the views are quite beautiful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family & Friends Time!!!!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

My husband, two daughters and good friends of ours with their daughters had a GREAT time in this lovely, well equipped(Views included)home. I've never been to a home that had so much to share. The people from the island were so friendly. We didn't catch alot of crabs but had a lot of fun trying. The fish were plenty though.

We highly recommend this vacation home if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, quality time with your family. You'll love the views and the lay out of the home. We would love to come back again!! Thank you to the Mullans for sharing their home!

The Lotitos & Ackermans

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

"We have lived in Maryland for over 40 years and have never stayed on such an adorable island. What a best kept secret this little island is. This house was truly exceptional. The website does not do this vacation home justice. My family, consisting of three young boys along with their grandparents loved it! It was so nice to wake up to the beautiful views from the upstairs master bedroom. (there are large windows along the whole backside of the house facing the river) Ed, the owner, was extremely helpful with all the details of the property and the island itself. Ed has thought of everything to ensure your stay on the island is one to remember. Besides the well-equipped house and the views: the deck overlooking the water, the long pier (with two levels for the kids to jump off), the private beach, the kayaks, the fishing and the bikes. We took a bikeride to the local park and the boys had a blast.

Please take note that on the pier were three crabtraps for your use. The bikes (I think I counted ten) were all ready for your use. There were several life vests all ready for the kayaks. There were also a few rods at the house for fishing. (my husband caught several fish and the boys caught hard and soft shell crabs)

Lastly, the birds were just a joy to watch. We had the pleasure of witnessing two hawks tending to their new family. (the joke was the hawks swooped by with larger fish then my husband could catch)

If you are looking for a truly memorable peaceful family vacation, my husband and I would highly recommend this gorgeous Island.

Thank you Ed for sharing your vacation home!
We cannot wait to return!
John, Tracey and the boys
Grams and Pops too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cobb Island-A Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

What a great vacation...The house was fantastic. It was well maintained and fully stocked with more than anyone could want. The kayaks and bikes were great for everyone...The kitchen made cooking while on vacation easy..The people on the island were helpful and nice. The sunrises were beautiful and the fishing was fun. We were close enough to go to DC for the day and to go to the movies. Most of all the owner of the property was wonderful to work with...They were very concerned about us having a wonderful time. We would recommend a Cobb Island vacation to our friends and family members

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

My family cannot thank Ed and Nancy enough for sharing their wonderful vacation home! We came together from California, Maryland, Virginia and New Jersey, looking for a truly away-from-it-all place; free of the usual resort-city insanity and our experience on Cobb Island greatly surpassed our expectations. As mentioned by other people, the kitchen is SO well equipped- we were a collection of gourmet foodies / semi-professional and we were delighted to find everything we could possibly want. You will NOT run out of plates or silverware!! Caught a lot of fish and grilled it, kids loved kayaking, my son was out at dawn with my newphew to kayak and fish just about every day. The place is just beautiful, peaceful, an extremely comfortable house- the sofas, beds... just what I'd like to have at home! I can truly say this was the best vacation I've ever had and the first with most of my family in over 30 years. We want to come back... it was hard to leave. Enjoyed biking around the island, watching the osprey, big family dinners.. quiet heavenly mornings....Loved it, loved it, loved it!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 27, 2008   Date of arrival: July 27, 2008

Our arrival couldn't have been timed better as a rainbow appeared over the river on Saturday afternoon. The photos online do not do this home justice as it is a wonderfully equipped and a very clean house to spend a week's vacation in. Beside side trips to Washington, DC on the metro, we were out on the pier, swimming/fishing, riding the bikes, and talking to the locals at the nearby stores and restaurants every day. We loved the quiet and watching the wildlife and imagining what it would be like to live in such pleasant surroundings all year 'round.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 11, 2007   Date of arrival: September 11, 2007

8/25/07-9/9/07
Probably our best holiday ever. Just wish we had had more time! The house is superbly equipped with everything you could possibly want to make your stay enjoyable. The location is tremendous with a stunning panorama of passing boats and wildlife. We have never seen so many ospreys in one go. And it is so peaceful. The neighbours, Ernie and Bill were helpful, but not intrusive. There are three restaurants, all within walking distance. The crabs at Captain Johns are awesome. We spent most of our time out on the jetty, either sunbathing or fishing. Typical catches were 100 Spot and Perch/day, with a couple of Croaker at night. Went to Bunky's at Soloman for a charter boat and some "proper" fishing. Both kids enjoyed themselves (16 & 12yrs). Kayaks werre a big success. Too hot for bikes though. Lots to see and do within 90 mins driving. DC of course, but Annapolis is a gem. Very English!
We can certainly recommend the property to anyone, and the owners are so accommodating and helpful. Thank you Ed and Nancy. We wish we were back on Cobb Island right now!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 27, 2007   Date of arrival: August 27, 2007

I agree with the previous posting. Particularly the comment about kitchen. YES IT IS THE BEST. Kayaking/Cycling/Swimming/Fishing....I doubt if I wished for anything else. It was a perfect vacation for everyone from age of 18 months to 40. Defintely will suggest to visit this place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 21, 2007   Date of arrival: August 21, 2007

We had a wonderful week at Cobb Island. The house was a superb venue for our family reunion and we all greatly enjoyed the swimming, fishing, kayaking and bicycling around the island. The house is exceptionally well equipped and quite spacious, particularly the kitchen. My wife remarked that this was by far the best equipped kitchen in a rental property she had ever seen. We were able to enjoy outdoor activities suitable for all four generations present, with plenty of room inside for the family to relax in the evening. Thanks again for the great vacation and many memories to treasure. We will certainly keep Cobb Island in our book for future occasions.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 18, 2007   Date of arrival: July 18, 2007

We had a fabulous one-week vacation in this rental property. The views from this home are outstanding! One of our favorite things to do was to get up in the morning early enough to see the sun rise and enjoy a cup of coffee outside. It was so relaxing to just sit outside and watch the birds and enjoy watching the boats on the river. Watching the birds (especially osprey) and listening to their enjoyable chorus (purple martins and others) each morning was delightful. We enjoyed relaxing in the house, swimming, kayaking, boating, crabbing, biking, and fishing. All the appliances in the home are up-to-date and there are plenty of utensils, glassware, dishes, baking pans, etc., in the kitchen. We had every convenience in our "home away from home". The owners of this rental property take excellent care of the house and everything inside it. The owners are very nice and they made the rental process very easy. If we go to Cobb Island again, we'll stay at this rental property. It is just the best! Thank you so much, Ed and Nancy. We enjoyed our stay immensely and wish we could have stayed longer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 18, 2007   Date of arrival: June 18, 2007

We had a great time while visiting Cobb Island. We were there in mid-May and the weather was great. We went out for several long paddles-4 to 5 hours each- and the heat was not too bad, although next time I might consider going even earlier in May. All the creeks were lovely and quite pristine. We couldn't get over the number of bald eagles and osprey we saw. It was a real kayaker's paradise.

The house,yard,deck and dock were beyond our expectations. We couldn't have had a better time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 13, 2007   Date of arrival: February 13, 2007

Aside from the occassional jellyfish (due to small children the lifeguard closed the beach for a few minutes), we all had a great vacation! Our 2 children (1 & 2 yrs old) got to experience many new and exciting things, like crabs! Everyone of us leaves with great memories (&pictures) of your incredible house and amazing scenery. Hopefully we will be able to visit again. Thanks!
John & Cathy Blair; Derek, Jen & Emma Fissel; Matt, Christina & Tace Harris July22-29,2006

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 25, 2006   Date of arrival: October 25, 2006

Ed: We had a wonderful time this past week. Bill and Ernie are really great neighbors.

We caught hundreds of fish. My favorite spot for the week was the Cobb Light bar from 7:00 PM until dark. Caught nice fish almost every cast from stripers to jumbo spot. Caught most of the fish on a silver buddy or on a chartreuse 1 1/2 oz. chartreuse trout bomb with a chartreuse dropper fly. Another lure that worked well was a chartreuse beetle spin with a grass shrimp streamer as a dropper. For bait fishing, Fishbite and gulp bloodworms worked anytime we used them.

We caught enough big crabs to have a good feed on Thursday evening. Enjoyed excellent crab cakes for lunch at Quades on several days.
The boat lift worked well. I only had to lower it until the plank just became submerged.
The keys and remote for the lift were dropped at the Cobb Island PO at 9:00 AM Sat. morning.
Have attached some photos that I took this week of the sunrises and also of the full moonglow on Wed evening.

Best regards,
John ......... August 5-12, 2006

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 4, 2006   Date of arrival: September 4, 2006

Although this is my first Cobb Island experience, it is one I will cherish. I have many wonderful memories to take back home like the beautiful sunsets! I appreciate all your hospitality. It makes staying here even more pleasant. Hopefully I will get to come back to this relaxing island someday. Thanks and God Bless Amy Winslow - Labor Day Weekend '06

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2006   Date of arrival: August 12, 2006

Enjoyed a laid back vacation that appealed to all. Had a good brab feed. Caught hundreds of fish. The kayaks and bikes got lots of use. Ernie and Bill are great neighbors. Got several spectacular sunrise and sunset photos. The moonglow on the water was breathtaking with the full moon. Jelly fish were not a problem.

Regards, THe Keelers and Petersons.
(From our in house guest book)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 17, 2006   Date of arrival: April 17, 2006

Thank you for letting us into your home. What a wonderful week. Your home is so comfortable! The fishing, the crabbing, the relaxing - enjoying the river views. The full moon over the river -the beautiful sun rises. What a gift! We have taken up a new sport - Kayaking! We all had a wonderful week! Thank You!
Gail Jansen August 20, 2005
(verbatim entry from the guest book)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 17, 2006   Date of arrival: April 17, 2006

What fun and relaxation all in one place. We enjoyed our stay and had plenty of room for all eight of us. We all enjoyed fishing and crabbing. We caught at lest 50 crabs and enjoyed eating them on our last night's stay. We also caught a 23" catfish, which was a first for some of us. Anthony (9) and Jonathan(8) had their first kayak ride and even went around the island. We lost power one night and had some old fashioned fun with shadow puppets. The walk to the corner store for ice cream was great after a big meal too! Than you for this opportunity and for letting us enjoy your beautiful home.
Jill Rocco July 23-30, 2005
(comments entered verbatim from the guest book)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 12, 2006   Date of arrival: March 12, 2006

(Comment from our guest book)
What a relaxing week of Kayaking, crabbing and fishing! We walked and ran many times around the pleasand little island and always found some charming little detail we'd missed before. From the many lawn ornaments to the cute signs outside homes, we found there was quite a character to this little island. The house is pleasant and bright - the perfect place for such a pleasant vacation

The Yeung Family Aug 14-21, 2004

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2004   Date of arrival: June 6, 2004

Thank you for sharing your wonderful house wit us. The scenery is beautiful, sunrises / sunsets are spectacular. This is a haven for relaxing and taking in a little slice of heaven hear on earth. Thanks again for the magnificent memories.
Dominick DiLello Toby Hanna, Pa. Aug 10, 2003

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2004   Date of arrival: June 6, 2004

"Remembrance is the sweetest flower..." it says somewhere in your nice holiday home. Well our remembrance on Cobb Island will be very positive; seldom do you find a house with a perfect location that's furnished and equipped like you'd do at home; that's what we call hospitality.Good job.
Karl Bruckmaier, Frankfurt,Germany Oct1, 1999

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2004   Date of arrival: June 6, 2004

A wonderful house - and we've seen our share of homes on the Bay. Caught several croakers, a 2' catfish and a huge snapping turtle (a Maryland Terrapin) Thanks

The Sims Family 14 June 2003

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2004   Date of arrival: June 6, 2004

Hi Ed,

We all thoroughly enjoyed our week on Cobb Island. highlights included the kitchen, which was very nicely laid out and well-equipped, and the quiet atmosphere of the island. Jim and I particularly enjoyed walking a loop
around the island each morning admiring the eclectic lawn ornaments!

You have a very nice collection of games and the children spent several hours each day playing Monopoly - when they weren't swimming or sailing.

The only suggestion is to have a ladder from the dock leading down to the water.

The list you sent was very informative. We went to Captain John's for dinner one night and enjoyed it.

I'm not sure we would return to Cobb Island but that's mostly because we all live so far away; but, yes, I would certainly recommend it to friends who were looking for a vacation home on the east coast.

Thanks for sharing your home with us!

Elise
-Elise WInkler, Boulder, Co July 2003

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2004   Date of arrival: June 6, 2004

We had a great time! George helped us catch some delicious "Croakers". We enjoyed hte kayaks, too. What a comfy home. Thanks!

Dave and Sara Disch Tulsa, Ok May 21-27 , 2000

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2004   Date of arrival: June 6, 2004

What a great vacation. House is beautiful. Great spot for Kids. We would definitely recommend this vacation house!
-Kyle Mason, Medford, NJ -609-953-1426

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2004   Date of arrival: June 6, 2004

Ed-
Just wanted to let you know we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. You have a lovely, comfortable home, and we found everything we needed. The beds were also very comfortable.
The water was perfect. I still can't get over the lack of boat traffic on either river. What a beautiful place that apparently few know exist. We got a fair amount of use out of the kayaks. Your neighbor,George, taught the kids a few things about fishing - he is an extremely kind man. Your next door neighbor's kitten was also a hit with the young ones.
Thanks for making your home available to us - it's a very calming place. . My biggest complaint is that the week should have been two - I wasn't ready to leave on Saturday.
Thanks again.
-Sheri
-Sheri Lucero

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2004   Date of arrival: June 6, 2004

We had a great family vacation. The view is beautiful! Your ome is filled with efverything needed and more. Thanks for recommending "Casey Jones", we loved it

Christine Sutherland Huntington, NY July 15-22, 2000

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2004   Date of arrival: June 6, 2004

We had a great time on Cobb Island. These are our recommendations - the catfish love sliced ham ( we caught 7 or 8 and 2 of them more than 5 pounds. - visit St Marys City - the best food /service/atmosphere is at the Cobb Island Marina - don't kayak around Cobb Island if you have a hangover - crabs are very yummy - drink champagne and watch fireflies - visit the yellow antique shop on 301 just N fo the junction of Cobb Island Rd (sorry we bought all the earings) have fun like we did

The Clarkes Australia 5-19 July 2003

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review