reviews for: listing #73533 - Banner Elk, North Carolina House rental

New B.Elk- 2 miles to slopes
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  hickory nc
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $400 /nt
    $750 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

This is a wonderful retreat!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We rented this cabin to celebrate Christmas in the mountains. While I'm a northern girl at heart, we currently live in southern Florida. My in-laws live in Charlotte. We decided to rent this cabin so that my husbands family could all be together over the holidays. This house suited us beautifully. There are three levels so the house doesn't feel cramped. There are also plenty of bathrooms, which is a bonus. As others have said, the furnishings are upscale and the beds are comfortable. We had a fire going most of the time we were there. I was worried about finding wood and sleds, but neither was an issue. From what I could tell, you could get either at MANY places, including the grocery store. Be sure to buy kindling because the logs can be moist and we used it to get things going. Firestarter or paper logs would be a good option, too. We didn't eat out while there, and found it easy to prepare meals at the house. However, we did take advantage of the Beech mountain sledding hill with children ages 3 - 8 and all had a blast. They make snow there so it is always white. It is in the town of Beech Mountain near the chamber of commerce. Initially I thought it was in Banner Elk and was very confused as to where it was. We also went to wine tasting at Banner Elk Winery. The wine was fantastic and the decor is delightful. A group was there sitting by the fire, drinking wine and eating cheese and crackers. i think you can do that, too. My sister and mother-in-law got a mani-pedi in town at hollywood nails and enjoyed that. I got coffee next door, which was delicious. We will definitely return.

Perhaps the best feature of the house is the owner. She is absolutely delightful and low key. I've rented a lot of houses in my time and she is easily the nicest person I have ever rented from. it was a very low stress vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the sweet response. It is so nice to get in family like yours that really appreciate things. You guys are welcome to come back anytime. You were a joy to work with too.
Katie Purgason
Owner

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Mountain Getaway

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Just got back from my mountain getaway vacation at "Cougars Retreat" and I must say what a wonderful time I had. The location was perfect! The furnishings were first class. I loved the dining table so much that I am going to ask the owner where she got it so I can get one for myself. Everything was spotless and all the appliances were new and up-to-date. I love to cook and found everything I could need or use in the well-stocked kitchen. This is a first class getaway and is close to all the slopes. My only regret is that I didn't book it for longer. I definitely plan on going back and will recommend this house to all my friends and family as well. It was also a pleasure talking with the owner, Katie. She was super helpful and friendly. I have booked other houses before and you often wonder about whether what you see in the pictures is what you are going to get but I can say that the pictures do not do this home justice. It is a beautiful home, gorgeously decorated, perfectly located and trouble-free, which is what a vacation is supposed to be. I cannot wait to plan another getaway to "Cougars Retreat"!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not what we thought

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

I am sure the owner of this unit is a nice person but there were so many things that went wrong that I feel the need to warn others. First of all, we had difficulty confirming our reservation. Granted, the person that made the reservation and the person that sent the check were two different people - BUT, appropriate documentation was provided during every interaction (and with every check sent). Still had trouble up until nearly the day we left simply confirming we were good to go. Second, the unit itself is in need of some TLC. Basically no instruction on how to operate much of anything in the unit outside of the basics - you are totally on your own. More importantly, however, is the major stuff that went wrong. The heat never worked as specified - boiling hot in the evenings, ice cold by morning. So much was missing/broken/unusable - missing/burned out light bulbs, non-functional coffee maker (went out and purchased one after two days without), lack of wine bottle opener and lots of other kitchen basics - to sum it up, really elementary stuff. The cabin itself was in a bit of disrepair - broken door knobs, kitchen cabinets out of their hinges, windows that didn't shut. The stairs to get into the cabin are steep and very slippery when wet. If you have anyone in your party that has mobility issues, this is not the rental for them. Please also note that there is no wifi connection - which is OK but we just would have wanted to know this going in. Finally, we rented this for 3 families to come together for Christmas (which was mentioned several times) - although this cabin sleeps 10+ there is only a small kitchen/pub like table for dining that seats 4 and virtually no other place to sit as the living area (common space) is the smallest part of the home. We had to do every meal in shifts - had I had any idea that this cabin could sleep so many but service so few I would have said no right off the bat.

Owners response: First of all we got a check in the mail with no info on which house you were renting and what dates or anything. The check came with no phone number or email address or any info so I could book the house. So I had to write a letter to the address the check came from. It took over 2 months for me to hear from someone about which house they wanted and the dates.
As for the elememtary stuff wine opener we supply mostly everything but sometimes things disappear. My kitchen is fully stocked. There were extra bulbs in the drawer. As for the WIFI we didn't advertise that we had it.
Sorry you must have read that on another web page. As for the steps to get up there that's the way most houses are in the mountains. I wouldn't suggest it for eldery in the winter either. As for the dinette there is a huge table with 6 stools.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Cabin and location

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Katie was very accommodating in helping us with our last minute plans. The house is gorgeous and a great place to stay for any occasion. There is so much to do nearby and the woods are beautiful. The cabin is very comfortable and it's easy to make your self at home. Thank you again Katie!! We hope to return soon :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a great time. Come again and stay during the winter. Snow is going to be plentiful this winter so they say.
Thank you for the review too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas Present

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

This was a Christmas Gift to our daughters and their families. We all had a wonderful time. The day we arrived it was snowing which was a good thing for the grandkids and great-grands. They had a blast sliding down the hills with their sleds. The adults enjoyed it just as much. We made lots of memories. The house was fully furnished with all necessities and the owner, Katie, was wonderful to work with. We kept the fireplace going all the time and dared anyone to let it go out. Very relaxing. We look forward to coming back and recommend it to everyone if you need a quiet and relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The wedding crew

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Awesome house and we will be back.. Came from Flordia and had 4 groups that stayed in other houses and everyone agreed we had the nicest house. Fire pit was so much fun. Had a wedding at EAgles Nest and we were so close to it. Worked out perfect.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house, great location

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

Very clean and well taken care of. Amazing beds, great furnishings.
Owner was very friendly and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you and hope you can come up for ski season.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome Cabin

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

Loved the cabin and location. Close to everything. Thanks for sharing your place with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Your welcome. I am glad you had a great time. Come back in the summer too.
There is so much to do in the mountains.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our ski trip

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

Thank you for letting us stay at your home.. Very clean and nicely decorated.. We will call you in May for a spring trip up. The snow was piling up everywhere. We got to use the yard to sled and it was great. Great hill. Best skiing too..

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Snow Bound

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

What fun we had. Your place is awesome. Sugar Mountain only 2 miles away and Beech 6 miles. We had groups skiing at Sugar and Beech. I will recommend this to all my friends. Thank you again..

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The best yet!

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

Love the fire pit! Super clean and comfortable beds. Quiet in the area with beautiful trees and lots of nature. Restaurants close by and the deck was awesome!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

This was the perfect vacation. The firepit outback made it even more fun..
Everything was very clean and very comfortable. The mattresses must have been expensive because we slept great.. Cant wait to go back..

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review