reviews for: listing #73550 - Lake Arrowhead, California House rental

Lake Arrowhead "Treeside Cabin"- Lake View! WiFi,Pool Table
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Arrowhead Villas
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $250 /nt
    $900 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

We were privileged to have Jim & Diane share their beautiful retreat with our family.

As a child, we used to rent "summer cabins" and none in my memories can match the Treeside Cabin. Every possible convenience was supplied. The home is comfortable, beautifully decorated, extremely clean and convenient to everything. We were especially happy to find Stater Bros. in the Village with "normal" prices. The next time, we won't have to tote so much with us.

Our daughter shared this experiencde with us and she hiked everyday we were there, my husband and I relaxed on the spacious deck and took in the sense of actually being in the treetops with the birds.

We found all to be as promised and,in some cases, even better.

Had a great dinner at Bin 189 (not too thrifty, but well worth the price). Other nights, we either barbecued or cooked in.

All-in-all, this is an experience we would not hesitate recommending to anyone and definetly one we will be repeating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Getaway 2 Hours from Home (SoOrCo, CA)

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

We loved the Treeside Cabin and hope to return sometime. We are a 55+ couple who wanted a mini-vacation close to home and that's what we had! We wisely arrived before July 4 and left after, as the lake and village get very crowded for the holiday. We are swimmers and welcomed the beach club passes which allow access to the parking lots and beach clubs on the lake. We first checked out Tavern Bay, but found Burnt Mill more to our liking. Even though it is known as the beach for young kids, it offered more shade and better access for Mary, who needs few stairs to climb.

The cabin itself is beautiful and well maintained. Yes, there are stairs from the area where the car is parked down to the cabin (with no handrail) but this was fully disclosed and discussed with Jim prior to our arrival. Mary only found it a challenge on the last day, which was very hot. Otherwise, all needed amenities were on the main level which was spectacular. We had breakfast and most dinners on the deck, with a beautiful view of the lake in front of us -- about a 5-minute drive although it appears to be further in the distance. This was perfect for us as we wanted to be away from the crowds .

The neighborhood is wonderfully quiet! The Steller's Jays, with their calls mimicking other birds, were sometimes the only "neighbors" we heard. While the Treeside Cabin has WiFi access and basic cable service, we found it refreshing to stay away from the phone or tv or computer most of the time. We did have guests with young boys stay for a day and a night, and they loved the pool table. The cabin accommodated them in the bunk beds downstairs, their parents in the master suite upstairs, while we stayed on the main floor. There was privacy for all yet a common area as well. The kitchen was fully equipped, with every needed convenience.

The owners provide a "Treeside Bible" that answers almost all questions -- those that aren't answered in the notebook are easily answered by Jim, by phone. There were just a few minor contradictions in the book; it might need to be updated in a few areas (trash removal, gate codes, etc). None of these interfered with our enjoyment; in fact, we extended our week by one day as we didn't want to leave!

If you want a peaceful getaway with all the comforts of home (and more!), this is your place! The cabin is obviously a home, and is decorated and furnished beautifully and tastefully. Thank you!
Richard & Mary

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Large and Clean

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

The place was very clean and plenty of room. There was not enough paper goods for our entire stay. You have to take your trash with you when you leave. We found a dumpster near Stater Bros in town for residents. Wash cloths were in a trash bag in the laundry room. Taking a shower: Make sure no one else runs any water when you take a shower as you loose the temperture. Also you need to wait between showers as the hot water does not last for 2 full showers in a row.
Miss leading advertisement stating the DVD player in front bedroom, should be removed from ad. We ended up having to switch bedrooms after the first night because we didn’t check to see if the ad was correct concerning the DVD player.
There are no “spices and condiments” as stated in the ad, and recommend you bring your own. They did have coffee, suger, powered creamer, and salt.
The ad stated “Free cable TV” however only channels 2 – 13 were available. The ad is very misleading. We could not see the college football games on ESPN which comes with basic cable in most areas. Also we could not receive CNN news. If the ad had been more truthful about the channel availability we would have made other arrangements. This was the most disappointing part of our stay. New Year’s week is the biggest college football week with all the “BOWL GAMES”.
Since we were there over New Years Eve the kids were not able to see the New Years ball drop in New York City in real time because we could not receive the appropriate channels. The lack of channels was the most disappointing part about this adventure as our family men and women enjoy watching football (college and NFL). With the pooltable we thought this cabin was going to be ideal for our trip. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. All in all 'IF' we had gone up to the cabin knowing these details we could have brought the other needed items with us, but we had to make these purchases in town. We would not stay in this cabin during huge sporting events due to the cable TV situation. We checked out on January 2, 2012 and received our full deposit back ten days later on January 12, 2012. Jim was very nice on the phone and did not seem to know about sporting events and such so I'll go ahead and blame it on us for not asking the details on the cable TV. Jim was always available by phone. Jim and Diane do not seem to respond well to email and I'm not sure if it is the email address or if they do not check their email accounts regularly.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: The renters all seemed to be nice people and they took good and reasonable care of our house. I was, however, surprised by some of their comments, so I will address them as best as I can.

Each bathroom is supplied with several rolls of toilet paper and the kitchen is supplied with at least (1) roll of paper towels. Not an endless supply.

All renters are asked to take their trash with them when they leave; this should not have been a surprise since it is clearly stated in the lease. This is primarily for short term tenants; long term tenants can use the trash service.

The house is equiped with a 50 gallon hot water heater, how it is used is out of my control. No previous complaints.

The DVD player in the front bedroom is being replaced since a previous tenant broke it. They were also correct that there was no pepper, the cleaning service missed refilling it.

The big issue with this tenant was the cable TV. He was very disturbed that he could not get ESPN. Our ad states free cable TV a wi-fi service. We provide basic cable service, unfortunately it does not include ESPN. It also does not include HBO, Showtime, the Golf channel, etc.

The tanant stated, " if I had been more truthful about the channel availability we would have made other arrangements." I think this is an unfair comment, since I made no mention of channel availability so how can I be untruthful about it ?

The channels that come with basic cable are mostly from L.A. and include the major networks. If they had asked prior to their stay, I could have made arrangements to provide the channels desired. I also tried to get the cable company to install ESPN after the tenant arrived, but the cable company said it had to be hooked up at the street since it was an analogue system and that a technician was not available until after their stay. I tried.

lastly, my phone number is in the listing and once tenants occupy the Cabin I encourage them to call me since I only check my listing email once or twice a day.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Clean Spacious Moutain Retreat

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We stayed a week at this home and it was a very pleasant and tranquil respite from Los Angeles. Jim & Diane were wonderful hosts. They were very helpful in describing their home & surroundings. They were responsive to our calls with questions and prompt in returning our security deposit the day after our departure.
Their vacation home was very spacious, clean and well maintained inside and out. The master bedroom and bathroom on the top level are very spacious and have lots of light due to large windows & skylights. The two bedrooms on the middle level are plenty large with lots of natural light. While we didn’t use the lower bedroom with bunk beds, this room also was quite roomy.
The open family area with the living room, dining room and pool room was very comfortable. The deck was spacious with lots of furniture and a pretty view.
The wireless internet worked well throughout our stay.
The home is near the end of a road with no outlet. While there are several neighboring homes somewhat near, we never saw anyone in any of the adjacent homes. We found our daily runs/ walks in the neighborhood quite nice….virtually no traffic, no unleashed dogs and hills that weren’t too challenging.
While the home has both air conditioning, heating and a fireplace we did not need any of them despite some warm days and cool nights.
The home is quite accessible to Lake Arrowhead and Blue Jay (about five minutes each) and Lake Gregory (about 10-15 minutes). Lake Arrowhead and Blue Jay have some good, reasonably priced restaurants and some good outlet shops. Hiking trails are also nearby.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review