reviews for: listing #73568 - San Diego, California House rental

5 Bedroom 3 Bath Home - Feb Special $2000/wk or $295/nt
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mission Bay
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $500 /nt
    $2,100 - $3,200 /wk
    $8,000 - $9,500 /mth

sort by:

San Diego Comforts of Home

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

Great house, very spacious, clean, quiet, and in close proximity of everything. Landlords were great to deal with and had the home ready to step into when we arrived. Weather was not as good as we would have wanted but the comforts of the home made it an enjoyable trip. Thanks Scott and Jennifer...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mission Bay Christmas

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

The house was more than we expected nice open layout with plenty of rooms for down time for young children. Every thing was nice and clean on our arrival even a chocolate on every pillow every thing worked great. Every thing went very well with the owner before the visit. I would be very comfortable recommending this property to anyone and would love to use again. The pool dose have a solar heater but in December has a hard time to get the water warm but the owner did say this ahead of time so was not a big deal for us. We went to many beaches and the zoo we also did the Midway tour every thing was very easy drive from the house.Very nice neighborhood took many nice walks around and enjoyed the lovely weather.
Thanks for letting us rent your home. Pat and family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A true home away from home

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

Myself and 8 friends stayed at this San Diego home for 4 days in October. The home was perfectly suited for all adults to have their own bed and allowed us all to relax and enjoy each others company under one roof. The home was located no more than 30 minutes away from all 4 golf courses that we chose to play over the weekend and less than a five minute drive to where you can catch the train to go to Qualcomm Stadium to take in a Charger's game. All in all a great property to stay at, as well as a very helpful and informative owner who ensured that we had everything we needed for our stay. Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice clean house with amazing pool and big backyard...

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We just came back from our amazing vacation at this property! The house was very spacious, clean and well stocked with dishes, pans, utensils, etch. The pool is very nice and the backyard is very big. Spent most of the days and nights out in the back just relaxing. We plan on renting again. Everything was perfect, the only thing that I can suggest is maybe that small, portable fans be put into the bedrooms. I believe the weather is hotter in August when we visited and the bedrooms can get a bit hot even with the windows wide open. Otherwise, everything was perfect! Thank you Scott and Jeanette for allowing us into your vacation home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great place

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

The house was great!! More than enough room for 7 adults and a 14 month old. We loved it that everyone could have their own room to go to if they needed some quiet time. Loved it even more that there was enough room for the little one to run around and burn off some of her energy. We loved the pool and patio area. The pool was warm enough for all of us. Really enjoyed that we could go to attractions during the day and then come back and relax in the pool. We were a little worried about there not being any ac in the house as we are from mn and used to having ac on all summer but it was just perfect.the location of the house was wonderful about 20 minutes from everything! We would definitely stay here again! Owners wer
e wonderful and helpful with any questions we had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious, Comfortable, Great Location

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

The house is in a great location for a lot of what San Diego has to offer. The swimming pool was a great way to stay cool and have fun at the end of long days. House was very clean and had all the essentials of being at home (ie..cookware, linens, bbq grill). More than roomy for all 11 of us. And did I mention it has a POOL! We will be back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house! Great Pool!!

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

Had a wonderful time at this lovely home.. It was so close to everything we needed to do..
We loved the back yard and wonderful pool..
The house is very clean and the linens were so fresh and inviting.
The house is very spacious and fit all of us just fine..
We had all we needed and the owners were awesome..
We will be back next year for sure!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect house for our needs!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

We had a great stay at this house! I have lived in SanDiego and have never stayed at a more perfect location. Everything we wanted to do was 15 minutes away! Lots of room for 5 kids! The pool was perfect as was the yard. We will defiantly stay here again when we all get together ! The owners were also very easy to contact and the house was clean and well kept. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lots of space

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Loved the location of this rental. It was central to everything in San Diego. Owner made sure that he left lights on for a possible evening arrival and made sure we were aware of possible issues in the house (i.e., heater fan not turning off). 5 bedrooms, 3 baths perfect for our family reunion. It would be a perfect rental during the summer so that the non-heated pool and spacious backyard could be used. We always had to make sure the door to garage was locked before we left and at night because there is no lock to the garage from the door leading outside. Otherwise, everything was clean. Thanks for having us in your home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

San Diego Getaway

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time and the property was as described more or less. The property was cleaned and well maintained. The owner of the property could not have been more helpul in our transactions. I would certainly recommend this to a friend. Did not have time to go to restaurants or participate in any attractions as we were there for a family wedding and time did not permit.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great pool, adequate house

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

Our first impression of the inside of the house was great as the living area is airy and spacious, just as shown online. We were also pleasantly surprised at the size of the pool-the photos make it look like a small pool but it's actually one of the biggest pools we've had in a holiday rental. We were two families of four so a large party. The pool temperature was perfect this time of year. We had great fun toasting marshmallows in the firepit in the garden one evening.
The house itself met all the needs of two families adequately-wifi, fully equipped kitchen, clean bathrooms, comfy beds etc etc-but no more than adequately; eg there were TVs, but they were quite old, and the appliances and furniture were not modern. The only thing that was completely lacking, rather than just not particularly new or up to date, was aircon/room fans and there were no curtains in one of the bedrooms or on the top floor landing to keep out both the heat and light of the sun. The living room and one bedroom have ceiling fans, but there was only one other freestanding fan. We were there during a hot spell so this was a problem for us, particularly in the bedroom with no curtains which is also very small. As non pet-owners we also noticed a quite a petty smell in the garage where the washing machine is.
However we weren't home a great deal-the house is well placed for all the area has to offer. We snorkelled in La Jolla (amazing), visited San Diego gaslamp quarter and Old Town, and went to watch a baseball game at Petco Park-go Padres!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great memories!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

This is a great family home with plenty of room for 6 adults and our five grandchildren. The beds were all comfortable. Our favorite place was the back yard with the lovely pool and patio area. We really enjoyed being able to grill and eat outside. Location was ideal – close to everything.

A suggestion would be to have ceiling fans in all the bedrooms and some extra floor fans. During our stay the first week of Aug. it was warmer and more humid than usual and extra fans would have been helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

663 Alcala Knolls

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Very nice home and pool. Great space for accomodations for a large family!
Very close to attractions.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

good space

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

nice house, lot's of space. fairly dated furniture and setup in a residential neighborhood. smelled liked cats had been there recently. back yard was the spot. pretty pool. overall, well maintained home, just a little older home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

What a great place! This is a charming home, minutes from everything you want to see in the San Diego area. The house lived up to its description, and was clean, well-maintained, and decorated. The owners added touches that made this place feel like home. Beautiful backyard!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great two family or extended family vacation home.

Review submitted: November 24, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

Great home, it was clean and well equipped with a very generous living space. The garden is well maintained and a good size for a dog. It is very centrally located 10 minutes from Sea World, 15 minutes from the zoo and 10 minutes to Old Town. It was very quiet in a pleasant residential area but with a 7-11, a restaurant and a garage a few minutes walk away. There's a frequent bus service to Old Town and the transit hub with in walking distance. I would highly recommend this house!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeded Expectations!!!

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

Jeanette and Scott, thank you so much for you wonderful home that gave us so many family memories! We had 9 family members flew out to San Diego to attend our family's new Marine's graduation. From the minute we opened the door, we were elated at every last detail of your home. We all enjoyed the pool including my 70 year young mom. The location was perfect and within minutes of everything including the trolley that we took downtown to the Padres game. We were there for the citywide power outage, actually affected 4 states. We can't say enough about the people in the area during the outage. The 7 eleven behind the house reopened for us, so we were able to get wood for the firepit and ice. We then went down the street to Joe's $0.99 store and in the pitch blackness, people helped us find candles. We came home lit the candles, the outside firepit and started up the grill. We were comfortable and well fed. I could go on and on... If we ever get back to San Diego, we will definiately be staying at Alcala Knolls!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Exceeded Expectations!!!

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

Jeanette and Scott, thank you so much for you wonderful home that gave us so many family memories! We had 9 family members flew out to San Diego to attend our family's new Marine's graduation. From the minute we opened the door, we were elated at every last detail of your home. We all enjoyed the pool including my 70 year young mom. The location was perfect and within minutes of everything including the trolley that we took downtown to the Padres game. We were there for the citywide power outage, actually affected 4 states. We can't say enough about the people in the area during the outage. The 7 eleven behind the house reopened for us, so we were able to get wood for the firepit and ice. We then went down the street to Joe's $0.99 store and in the pitch blackness, people helped us find candles. We came home lit the candles, the outside firepit and started up the grill. We were comfortable and well fed. I could go on and on... If we ever get back to San Diego, we will definiately be staying at Alcala Knolls!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A comfortable and memorable holiday

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Jeannette & Scott,
Thank you very much for making our holiday so comfortable and memorable. Your patience in answering all our questions even before we arrived was much appreciated as it helped us to plan our trip.
Your house is lovely - the space, the amenities, the colours and light in the house, and Jeannette we all admired your paintings.
We could not have asked for a better holiday home!
The proximity to all the major locations was also much appreciated = )
Thanks

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our first vacation over 2700 miles from home

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Jeannette & Scott,
Words are unable to express our gratitude to the both of you for opening up your home to all of us the past two weeks. The two of you have been more than accomodating as our family has enjoyed our first vacation over 2700 miles from home in Chesapeake Beach, Maryland.
Alcala was the perfect location for our family of four, two single friends and couple joining us from Boise, idaho. There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep, join together, and have their own space which was priceless. Whether sitting poolside or taking a dip, everyone was spoiled by the pool and San Diego sun.
The skilights were amazing and allowed us to rarely use the lights. As you recommended, the breeze was so refreshing and consistent that we did not heed to use the air conditioner. This was a sharp contrast to the oppresive heat wave thatwas blanketing the US. In Chesapeak the temperature hit a record of 115ºF with the heat index.
Your recommendation of local eateries were spectacular. We enjoyed Super Bronco (family favorite), Sushi freak, NYPD, and ZPizza. The kitchen was even better than the pictures. No pictures do justice for the kitchen or the entire house for that matter.
Thanks for all the essentials that made this a HOME for our week stay in San Diego
Sincerely,
The Koch Family (and friends)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful week in this home!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

We had a wonderful week in your home! Pool was great (kids loved it) and location was wonderful. You wil definitely hear from us again next time we come to San Diego. Loved, loved, loved the space we had here.

Thanks so much Scott & Jeannette! You have been a pleasure to deal with!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A very homely place to stay

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

Thanks for a great stay. house suited us perfectly and kids loved the pool - the adults cooled off in it too after hot days at Seaworld and the Zoo. Many thanks.

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your very comfortable home. The space and location was perfect for our two families and the kids adored the pool.

It was perfect to be able to come back and relax outside by the pool after a busy day seeing the sites of San Diego. Our kids would have spent 8 hours in the pool if they could!! The firepit in the garden was perfect for toasting marshmallous and the BBQ was great.

All in all, a very homely place to stay.
Thanks again

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place to be together and create memories while on vacation.

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

What a perfect place for our family vacation. The kids loved the pool, all the room, the books, the separate TV room - the adults loved the kitchen & the new appliances and the laundry facilities.

Plus, we all enjoyed only being 15-20 min away from almost anything!! But most of all, we just loved beign together and creating memories...

We will definitely recommend this to any other family looking for a vacation home in the SD area!

Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

you can find better.

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

pool was cold....brrr
skylights have spider webs in them
appliances and tv's are 20 years old
you can tell the remodel done by owner, it's 2nd rate work

keep looking you can find better

Owners response: We are sorry the guests had a rough start because of their flight, as they expressed when they called us the first day. As we say in our add, we offer a pool, which is "solar" heated and the weather wasn't as warm as the guest expected, hence the pool wasn't either up to their expectations. Appliances are not new, for sure, most of them are a year old and all the TV's are high definition. We have taken care of the spiderwebs located at the top of the 30 foot high beam ceiling, thanks for pointing that out to us, we would have preferred to know it before, so we could have sent our crew to do the work.

We also appreciated all the previous groups that had taken care of the property and complied with the contract they read and signed well before they completed their reservation process. Unfortunately, it was not the case this time, and we just had to follow protocol, and enforce the contract and apply an additional charge from the deposit.

We're not perfect, and we're doing our best to make our guests experience a good one, and always hoping that in return, they would take care of our home."

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Great location and lots of room

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This property is located in a beautiful area above the City, 14 minutes from airport, 10 mintues from Old Town and Sea World, 15 minutes from Balboa Park and Zoo, 35 minutes from Legoland, and two minutes from Fashion Valley Mall considered one of the best shopping malls in San Diego by the residents (Macys, Nordstrom, JC Penny, Burberry, Coach, etc). The house is very clean, warmly decorated and comfortable. Large kitchen, lots of storage space, good appliances, and great shower in the master bathroom. The beds and bedding are extremely comfortable. Lots of spices in kitchen, washing detergent and other supplies for use while staying. The yard is beautifully maintained and lots of outdoor furniture and barbacue for cooking. The only item that could be improved upon are adding some better quality cookware pans for the kitchen. As the home is older and heat is probably not on as much year around, the home has a slight musty scent that improves when the heat is turned on. We could not use the pool in the backyeard as it was too cold (not heated). One option for colder months is to ask the owners to look into a hot tub rental to add to your package. Good property to rent, easy to get to, and great value for large families or friends sharing accomodations together. I would definately come back when it is warmer to use the pool.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

"We had a great stay here in San Diego! The house was perfect for our family, with plenty of room for everyone. We loved the bright openess of the house. The takeout menus came in very useful, especially after a long day out at the parks :) . It was great to have a home to come back to at the end of the day, rather than a hotel room. The kids loved the pool and piano, and Mom loved the laundry facilities!
The location could not have been better for us. We were so close to the major attractions, which is especially nice when travelling with small children. We were really pleased with it. We would definitely recomend the house to others.
Scott and Jeannette, you made us feel very welcome in your home. Thank you so very much..."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spaciouos Centrally Located Rental

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

We felt right at home in this large house, that is centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer and very close to a red box movie rental with a 7 eleven, and fashion valley (a great shopping mall with restaurants and an amc movie theater).

This beautiful home is actually more spacious and charming in person than any photos could ever indicate. No one can feel cramped in this house; there is even an office that was great for working in or could even be used as an extra bedroom. The home owners were always helpful in answering any of our questions or concerns.

We plan on renting this house from now on for our stays in San Diego and would recommend it to all of our friends and relatives.

Whether you decide to go out and about or relax by the warm pool, you are guaranteed to enjoy your stay in San Diego.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

wonderful

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2010

it is a bright large home with wonderful character and a delectable pool with perfect water and an open patio. The location is just right. it is five to ten minutes from all the beaches, sea world, and the zoo. and conveniently located near the house is a seven eleven and red box for late night snacks and movies. we absolutely loved our time here and recommend it to anyone who wants to visit san diego especially families

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review