reviews for: listing #73583 - South Haven, Michigan House rental

Marwood Cottage, Quiet Michigan Retreat by the Lake!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $260 - $325 /nt
    $1,450 - $1,975 /wk
    $3,500 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

Sweet and Simple Michigan Paradise

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

My family's stay at Marwood Cottage was ,as always, a relaxing and rejuvenating chance to exchange the cares of the hot, humid , hurried city life for the tranquil breezes of Lake Michigan and the many charms of Southwest Michigan. Marwood Cottage is superbly maintained both inside and out. My kids and I always looks forward to capping off a day at the beach with bocce ball and bbq on the expansive back lawn as we await the sunset and the return of the guys from their exhilarating round of golf at nearby Hawkshead. The only drawback of this annual retreat is the day we need to say goodbye!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A great family vacation spot

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

This was the perfect spot for our family vacation. A beautiful location just a block from lake michigan with beach access. The house was nice and clean but not fancy so I could relax and let the kid's play. The yard is big enough for a soccer match or a wiffle ball game. We loved the sunsets and spent every night out at the fire pit. We will be back

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 18, 2007   Date of arrival: January 18, 2007

Our family stayed here for one week in August of 2006 and had a wonderful time.We had friends and extended family come and enjoy this place with us. I believe you can't find a better place to stay while visiting South Haven. The cottage exceeded our expectations manyfold. The views of Lake Michigan were awesome. The yard was great for having fires at night. The kitchen had everything you could expect for making great dinners. The location to the lake was a 2 minute walk. There was not one bad thing to say about this cottage. I would love to own this place.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: November 13, 2006   Date of arrival: November 13, 2006

We stayed here for a week this past summer, & had a great family vacation.
The Marwood was very close to Lake Michigan & private beach had easy access. The house was very cozy, and the setting was pretty. Thanks for renting your home out to our family!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Review submitted: December 21, 2005   Date of arrival: December 21, 2005

We have spent 2 summer weeks at
this wonderful retreat . We are a
family of 6 with 3 little kids. One of the
things that is important to us is
having room to rumble around. This
house and grounds gives the kids
the room to run AND gives us the
ability to keep an eye on them. The
drive to the South Haven beach is
short . The South Haven beach is
one of the best on the Sunset Coast.
We have been to most of them,
public and private. We have prepared
many meals in the small but very
usable kitchen. We have feed up to
10 people with enough room for
young and old alike. This cottage is a
great place to base your family out of
to explore the entire area. The
cottage has a great outside deck
perfect for relaxing upon after
spending all day out and about. We
end most days with the short walk to
the cliffs of Lake Michigan, walk
down the stairs and spend the
sunset skipping rocks into beautiful
Lake Michigan. The entire family
looks forward to our week at this
most excellent retreat!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 12, 2005   Date of arrival: October 12, 2005

Thank you very much for allowing us to stay in your home in South Haven this past week-end. We had a wonderful time, and eventhough it was chilly we walked to the lake at least 3 times every day. We enjoyed some beautiful sunsets!
We also enjoyed looking at the history you had of purchasing the home and remodeling it as well as the orginal Marwood estate and Doctor's row.
Thanks again for a wonderful week-end get away with my family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 7, 2005   Date of arrival: September 7, 2005

We were very pleased with the cottage and South Haven. Your cottage is quite a lovely place and well equipped. Our 5 year old grand-daughter greatly enjoyed discovering the chest of toys in the living room. We really had a very nice time. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 5, 2005   Date of arrival: September 5, 2005

We had a great week. The weather was good-warm enough to swim, but not too hot.
The house was really fun. You've done a great job on it. We enjoyed looking trough the photo album of your remodeling adventure. Having done some remodeling and gardening ourselves, we enjoyed seeing the ongoing process. It has a lot of character and charm. The upstairs bathroom is seriously cute! There was plenty of room for the 7 of us and the dog too.
We did go up to the lighthouse and shopping downtown which was fun for a change but we mostly spent the whole week at the beach. We used the neighborhood lake access mostly for enjoying the sunsets (so relaxing!). Instead we walked or drove to close by dune accesses which the kids love. The beach was mostly empty, with a few other people on the weekends. Once we got used to the rocks, we started collecting and ended up coming home with lots of colorful, cheap, natural souvenirs. We drove the half hour up to Saugatuck one day and did the hike back to their beach which was really beautiful. But we had the advantage of staying in a much more peaceful and private place than Saugatuck. Anyway, we had a wonderful time! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 31, 2005   Date of arrival: August 31, 2005

We did have a great time! We took your advise and went to the public beach every day, it was easier with the two little ones. Beautiful beach and we certainly enjoyed the peaches and blueberries that were in season. We brought some back for all our neighbors and friends.
You have done a nice job remodeling, we wish you well with your cottage. Your flowers are beautiful, we enjoyed sitting around the fire every night telling stories. We also enjoyed the red fox that came by every evening.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 15, 2005   Date of arrival: July 15, 2005

This summer was our 3rd year of loving and totally enjoying your warm, cozy, "enchanting" Marwood cottage! A million thanks to you... for your loving kindness. Our stays at Marwood were some of the best vacations of our lives! How I wish and dream we could have come up with more $ to have bought "Wood Haven" next door! Absolutely everything about your 2nd home is Heaven... Singing at night time bonfires, lolling on your gorgeous ancient beaches, singing "the hills are alive" on the cliff for the breathtaking sunsets... Thank you so very much for another great summer vacation! Same time next year...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 9, 2005   Date of arrival: June 9, 2005

Your lovely home provided so much more than we expected. Your warmth and personality resonates throughout! Thank you so much for sharing with us. After being out of the country (in Oman) for the past year, this years vacation was about connecting again with friends and family in the state where we grew up. The locale gave us a sense of our own history: family and friends of a life time gathering here to share this time in this warm and inviting home created memories of the best kind. The grand-daughters loved the books, toys & things to do! Thanks so much for all the thought and special things you've left here for visitors. We also loved reading about the history of the area. Thanks again for a great family reunion.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review