reviews for: listing #73598 - Lake Anna, Virginia House rental

Wk, 1/2 Wk, Wkend Save-1000' waterfront/launch/VIEWS/ramp
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bearcastle
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $228 - $300 /nt
    $1,600 - $3,200 /wk

sort by:

Highly Recommended

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

I reserved this lakefront home for a long weekend with a group of friends. The location is superb; the home is situated on a huge corner lot so there's lots of privacy and peace/quiet. The house has its own dock for fishing and there is a huge back deck which is perfect for BBQs. Although my group stayed during a cold weekend in late January, there was still plenty to do! The home's kitchen is fully equipped for cooking, there are board games, TV/cable, etc. Lake Anna Winery is also nearby (15 minutes), which is delightful. The weekend was fun, yet very restful. Sleeping accomodations were great; beds were comfortable and no one had a complaint the entire weekend. I'd highly recommend staying here (groups 10 or smaller) anytime during the year. John (the owner), is a pleasure to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Absolutely Magnificent

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2011

We've been to numerous places across the nation for get away vacations. This is by far the best. Sitting on its own peninsula with water on 3 sides and woods to the back, there is total privacy. You have a panarama view of the lake and we would spend hours sitting on the deck and commenting how idyllic the setting was and how much better this was than the Outer Banks. There is a private sand beach for easy entry into the lake. The yard leading down to the lake is enormous. We brought our 2 Doberman and they had a fantastic time running around the yard, chasing squirrels and rabbits in the woods, and swimming in the lake. The house has everything and there is a new Food Lion 10 minutes away. John, the owner, ensures everything is perfect. We're going back this fall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

We just spent the Memorial weekend at the Bear Castle lake house and had the best vacation ever. The private and secluded location of the house, the grand view of the lake, the superb view of the sunset right at your finger tips , the warm and welcoming fire pit, and all the amenities is all so unbelivably perfect. We spent all day fishing, swimming, boating, jet skying, Grilling, playing at the little beach and the play groubd, taking naps on the hammock, and watching the sunset by the fire pit....What else could you ask for?
The house is clean, efficient, spacious, and has amazing wrap around glass windows that provides a lake view from any corner of the house. We have rnted so many othe houses at Lake Ana and we recommend this place to whoever that is looking for the BEST lake house at Lake Ana.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

fishing week

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

Words can't even describe this location. Surrounded by water with incredible sunsets and quite secluded. We had 7 guys with 3 boats fishing for the week and this place was perfect. The boat ramp is a great plus to launch and load. The dock was sufficient for 3 boats with electrical outlets to help keep the batteries charged. The layout of the house is great with focus on views of the water. The chef of the group enjoyed the kitchen with the great views. Plenty of items were stocked to help prepare wonderful meals. The dining table seated all of us and the 2 picnic tables on the deck are great for those comfortable evenings. The seating was plenty to watch DVD's on the flat screen. 2 refrigerators was very beneficial for all the food we brought. The bedrooms had plenty of space with large comfortable beds. John was a pleasure to work with arranging our trip. We will definitely be booking a week for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fishing week

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

Words can't even describe this location. Surrounded by water with incredible sunsets and quite secluded. We had 7 guys with 3 boats fishing for the week and this place was perfect. The boat ramp is a great plus to launch and load. The dock was sufficient for 3 boats with electrical outlets to help keep the batteries charged. The layout of the house is great with focus on views of the water. The chef of the group enjoyed the kitchen with the great views. Plenty of items were stocked to help prepare wonderful meals. The dining table seated all of us and the 2 picnic tables on the deck are great for those comfortable evenings. The seating was plenty to watch DVD's on the flat screen. 2 refrigerators was very beneficial for all the food we brought. The bedrooms had plenty of space with large comfortable beds. John was a pleasure to work with arranging our trip. We will definitely be booking a week for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bearcastle Weekend

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

What a fantastic home…. The location is amazing… The kitchen is huge and very well stocked. Cooking in this kitchen was actaully enjoyable. The layout works well and I didn't want to move from the large section sofa with chaise in front of the huge flat screen TV. John was incredible to work with and so accomodating. We had good weather, but got a little chilly at night, so we had a chance to enjoy the firepit and roasted marshmallows. We took the paddle boat out and the dogs waded in the water, still too cold for actual swimming. The dogs ran and ran, they had the best time.

I have rented MANY houses in a lot of locations, and this by far has been my favorite. I can only imagine how nice it would be in the summer months.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bearcastle

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

We stayed here with our grandkids for their Spring break for 5 nights and had a nice time. Our weather was chilly and windy for most of our stay but the view of the Lake was worth the whole stay! The wood stove made it very cozy! Every room has a view and it's gorgeous! The owner was awesome, checked to see how our stay was going and didn't rush us at check-out time which is NOT early like most places. The house does need a little updating but that is in the works for this coming winter. Not a lot for the kids to do in th house but outside when the weather is better will be great! Dock, paddleboat, small play area with sand and swings. We will definately stay again!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Review is accurate, but to clarify:
Inside activities include:
2 HDTV's with ample channels including many premium movie channels
board games
Multi-game Atari set-up with joy-stick controller
Outside play set is a fort/slide/swing for young children - we're shopping for something larger.
Beach is quite large, well protected, and stays sandy as you go into the water.
john : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review