reviews for: listing #7360 - Fripp Island, South Carolina Villa rental

Direct Oceanfront & Golf / Highest-Rated Fripp 2 BR, on VRBO
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $207 /nt
    $1,225 - $1,450 /wk
    $1,400 - $1,500 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Very kind guests from Wisconsin

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

I was just about to email you to thank you for letting us share your great place when I received your post. We have really enjoyed our stay. All of the information you gave was a big help in choosing restaurants and places to explore in the area. I never thought I would hear my wife turn down shrimp, because she loves it so much, but she was able to eat it to her hearts content. We loved the area with all the things to do. We had a nice, enjoyable week with our Grandkids. It was so peaceful here on the island. We were able to walk the beach almost everyday. We both love the place and request that if you do get an inquiry before mid-summer about staying in March next year, to drop us an email. Again, thanks for all you've done.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kind, current month-long guests, from Wisconsin

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

Hi Lisa, Wow-What a beautiful place you have. We arrived safely this afternoon after visiting friends in Savannah. Temp was 46 degrees but when we left home it was 20 below. I'll take it-that's a 66 degree difference.

Your friend Lori did a fantastic job-the place is immaculate. We look forward to investigating the area. Again, thanks for all your help. Rick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More, from our Great Guests - Jan. & Feb. at Fripp

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Had a great time and enjoyed your place very much. Absolutely loved the view. Thank you for having us, long term. Will keep in touch.
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Guests - Jan. & Feb. at Fripp

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Yes we have electricity. We are enjoying ourselves, weather has been chilly here, but still able to golf.

Your place worked out great and the view is terrific. You are right...the north is terrible.
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Appreciate long-term guest; Jan. & Feb. 2014

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

(From guests staying for 2 months, Jan./Feb. 2014. One of our three guests just took a mini-trip, from Fripp to FL, to visit her family, during this 2014, unusually cold winter...)

"Well, even in Destin, FL, I was caught in a ice storm but was glad to see son and family. Returning Sunday and looking forward to better weather but enjoying your place. Very pleased with your condo. Thanks for keeping in touch."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Appreciative guests from Greenville, SC area

Review submitted: November 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2013

We had a wonderful, wonderful time... My hubby wasn't able to make it but my Aunt was happy..ha!

I have a friend that lives at LandsEnd (not far away) and she loved your place. I gave her your info for rental..

What a beautiful, beautiful view. My friend is a photographer and we had a photo shoot on the golf green and around the area. We rented a golf cart and ventured on the island all weekend.. My little darling 4-yr-old daughter said it was amazing.

I have stayed in a lot of condos but yours definitely has a warm, comfortable feeling. Although chilly, we enjoyed the balcony at night. Thank you for the late checkout and early arrival. It was very nice to ride the golf cart a little longer for my little darling. She loved it.

Thanks again! It was an awesome trip for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Long-Weekend, Family Stay

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We want to thank you for a great weekend. Everything with your home was first class. Thanks so much for early arrival which made a long weekend. This was our first time on this end of the island and we loved the peace & quiet. We tried to leave your place as clean when we left, as it was when we got there. Thanks again for everything. Tommy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A very nice thank you -

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

We are back in Greenville after an AWESOME long weekend at your villa.
Everything was perfect we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Your condo is impeccable and we hope we'll be able to rent from you in the near future again.

Thanks so much again and take care.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice guests who arrived 10/17/13...

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

Just wanted to let you know that we just checked in. Your condo is beautiful! We're leaving shortly to get the amenity cards.

Thanks!
Daniela

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2 friends, relaxing at Fripp

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay.....very relaxing.
The beaches were wonderful, as was every aspect of your home.

Thank you once again.

Kindest regards,
Sharon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful "Grandson Time" at Fripp!

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

We had a great time! The house was great and the scallops were so good, we had them 2 nights. A trip to remember with our grandson. Neil

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Wonders of Fripp

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

I wanted to thank you again for our stay, as we had a great trip and got back this afternoon. we had sun each of the 4 days and it never really got too hot. saw a lot of fish, even one small shark, and some sting rays. i agree that your location is a great place to be, as we checked out all the beaches and found pros and cons to each.

i'll write a much longer review on VRBO and we'd stay with you again if the opportunity arises. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer!

Regards,
- John & Meredith

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great vacation for a very kind family of four

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

Just want to tell you that Mark, I and the girls are loving it here:). So thankful of all that you had here for us to use like the pool noodle for Adyson:), the beach chairs, beach towels and the beach dolly which saved our life lol. Your home is beautifully updated and very kid friendly! I would like to also add that you have been such a true blessing to talk to and deal with, you have always been here when I needed to ask you anything so thank you for that and all the helpful information you sent us. We enjoyed the ice cream shop here on the island and also bought a pizza there tonight which was very good! Another plus to many of your home is your touch keypad that I have been bragging to everyone about bc it's so great not to have to keep up with another key:). All of these reasons and many more is the reason we plan to visit Fripp Island and your home again for future family vacations. Enjoy your new grandchild and bless you and your husband! Mark, Angel, Adyson, and Sophie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fripp Island and Nature...appreciated by all ages

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We had such a wonderful time on Fripp! The island is just beautiful, and your condo is so warm and welcoming. The kids referred to it as our “home away from home” all week, and Sophie said, “I’m really going to miss this home away from home when we go to our real home.”
As we were leaving the island Saturday morning, I asked the kids what the favorite part of their trip was, and we decided there were too many to pick just one! A few of the highlights: seeing so much wildlife (deer, turtles, alligators, dolphins, etc.); getting to pet Archie the Alligator at the Nature Center; catching a shark (Owen and his dad caught a few actually); and looking at starfish, hermit crabs and shells on the beach!
We had an amazing trip, and I am confident that my kids will always remember the time they went to Fripp Island!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From future, Sept. 2013 guests - Our location

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We have stayed on Fripp and our best trip was on that end of the island with the ocean sounds and watching a sea turtle and dolphins [Ocean Point]. Let us know how to proceed. Thanks. Neil and Susie.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Current Happy Guests, July 2013

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We made it- and everything is wonderful! We are so comfortable and content- I just asked CJ- my son- "what do u think of the place?" He said, "Perfect!"
Thanks so much
Amanda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful guests from Lexington, KY

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We had such a wonderful time. Laurie was cleaning on Saturday when we dropped off our food. She was so nice and gave me a few tips for the island. Your information provided beforehand helped so much as well.

The condo was immaculate when we arrived. It was perfect in every way. So nice to have everything we needed and loved using the beach chairs, umbrella and cart. The kitchen had everything necessary for dinners in.

The view was amazing! We spent hours sitting on the balcony watching the waves. The island was so laid back and I think we rode at least 30 miles on our bikes. Such an experience to see the deer up close. My husband, son and I voted this our best vacation. Thanks for sharing your condo with us. We hope that we will be able to return next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful guests from North Carolina

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We will be back home in about 45 minutes. We left the island about 1:00, stopped at Gays Fish Market to bring home some shrimp and sadly said our goodbyes to the area. Thank you for your beautiful home for the week. We enjoyed it so much. We would love to return. I will stay in touch with you as we determine when we can come back to Fripp. Thank you again. You and your husband were so accommodating.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful family getaway

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Lisa, I cannot tell you how much our family of 5 enjoyed your villa on Fripp. We have always vacationed on the Gulf and wanted to try something new and couldn't be more pleased with our experience. We loved the island and greatly appreciated all the helpful information you gave us prior to our visit, it made getting settled in so easy! We loved the quietness of the villa complex as well as how easy it was to get to the other spots on the island. Your villa was SO clean and had everything we needed to enjoy the beach (great chairs by the way) and not having to pack our own towels was very nice as well. The pictures you display are accurate as are the description of how lovely the area is. The only thing we may have missed was a grill to cook all the wonderful fresh seafood we purchased at Gay's, but the steamer pot in the kitchen worked out great! We highly recommend the Nature cruise thru excursions, especially to anyone who hasn't visited the area before, it was a great value and our whole family is still talking about all the things we saw. My kids also enjoyed the craft activities available to give us a short break from the sun in the afternoon, and everything was so reasonable in price! We will certainly be back to Fripp, hopefully many more times, and would certainly recommend your property to anyone and would love to stay again ourselves! Thanks again for being so easy to work with and for sharing your treasure with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Katrina, I'm so glad that you and your family enjoyed Fripp and our villa! It really is a unique little sanctuary. I've never taken the Nature Cruise, but I now plan to do so. Thank you so much for your very thoughtful and sweet email. I'm so glad that you have discovered and enjoyed Beautiful Fripp :>)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our friends from Winter Park, FL

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We had a very relaxing time. We spent the majority of our time just enjoying your lovely condo--the balcony was our favorite spot. The condo was comfortable and nicely decorated. Both Patti & I commented that the floor plan was such an efficient use of space--not an inch wasted! I was really glad that we went to Fripp before the conference and not after, because of the unusually early tropical storm that blew up.

We ate shrimp, shrimp, more shrimp, scallops, shrimp, and crab. The seafood was wonderful everyplace we went, as well as cooking some ourselves. Then when we got to Savannah we ate more seafood. I'm taking a break from seafood now and having some chicken and steak because I know that the shrimp we can get will not come close to what we ate there!

I certainly want to include your condo on Fripp in my future vacation plans. For me, because I don't like crowds, it was the perfect time of year. Thanks again for your hospitality and all of the information you supplied. I hope you are all settled in by now and that things are less hectic.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Trip Down Memory Lane

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

This was a great villa for our mid-May long weekend trip down Memory Lane with my 85 year-old parents who used to live on Fripp. I chose Lisa’s villa because of all her details and advice she listed on this website (so helpful!), the easy access with the elevator for elderly knees(!), it was on our favorite quieter end of the island, and it had great ocean and inlet views. As a nice bonus, the hotel-quality large luggage cart made unloading a snap!

We especially loved sitting on Lisa’s balcony watching the pelicans soar by at eye-level! It was also great watching the surf at high tide explode in sea spray as it hit the rocks in front of the building! At night, the comfy sofa and the huge TV were where you’d find us. Although we didn’t go swimming this trip (just a bit chilly this time!), the condo’s swimming pool looked very inviting!

Lisa’s villa was exceptionally clean, neat, and had a very well-supplied kitchen, lots of bath and beach towels, and very comfortable beds! Lisa also has LOTS of beach chairs! My dad especially liked the taller ones that had the soft cushions and sides that blocked the wind on the beach, were easy for him to use, and so easy to carry with its case and shoulder strap.

If you want to go to a really great seafood restaurant, try the 11th Street Dockside at Port Royal (about 30 minutes from the villa) overlooking the shrimp docks on Port Royal Sound. (We noted they have a new location on Lady’s Island, but as we were going back to our long-time favorites, we went to Port Royal!)

Closer to Fripp on Harbor Island is Johnson Creek Tavern, another long-time favorite that did not disappoint, and the Shrimp Shack for great shrimp burgers! We tried Barbara Jean’s just to try something new. Trust us. Johnson Creek Tavern’s crab cakes were MUCH better, and they are a long-time local restaurant, not a chain.

Note to those travelling with the elderly: Some beach access points require more walking to the shore than others, and some access points require you to go up and down some stair steps. If this is an issue, just ask Lisa or security for the access point that would work best for your group.

Note for those with older kids who LOVE big waves: From our many years of experience at Fripp, the best time for big waves is about 1 hour up to high tide. If you also happen to be at Fripp during a full moon, the waves at high tide are even better!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break at Fripp

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

This villa was a perfect place for me, my husband and our 9-year-old to stay for spring break. Everything was clean, comfortable and in great working order. Lisa provided so much helpful information about what to do, see, eat... It made our stay even more enjoyable! We rented a golf cart while we were there, which was really nice to have. Fripp is a wonderful place for families with children with lots of nature experiences. We hope to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kind Guests from Augusta, GA

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Hi Lisa,

I just wanted to let you know that we had a great time, and your place is lovely! We will definitely rent it again.

Thanks so much, Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nevada Visitors

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

Everything was great. Wonderful ocean view and the sounds of breaking waves. The condo has everything necessary for a great vacation and so very clean. Love to return next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Perfect Stay

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This is our 3rd time staying in this villa unit. Here are the reasons why each stay has been nothing short of stellar: 1) cleanliness - always very clean, organized and stocked 2) Lisa - as responsiveness goes, Lisa is second to none and always accommodating (example, we needed another car pass because my parents were visiting and within 10 minutes Lisa had contacted the gate and arranged for the other pass) 3) Economical - the unit is always fairly priced which helps out our family of 4 4) Location - great view of the ocean and pool, and top floor.

We'll look forward to staying again when the opportunity presents itself.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Hi Lisa!

Just want to thank you again for sharing your lovely home-away-from-home with us! We had such a wonderful, relaxing time and really, really, REALLY enjoyed that view! It's really amazing and would have been happy just sitting on the balcony the entire time. It was very nice though to have the pool right there; it was never crowded or noisy and soooo close. We walked over to see the Ocean Point pool and came back even more thankful!!

We went to a fairly close beach access off Marlin Dr. on Red Drum S. our first day to the beach. The rest of the time we went to the other end of the island (past the Beach Club and the Marina Rd.) almost to the end and found a very short beach access with a lovely wide beach.

We rented bikes and toured around in the evening when the sun went down. By the way, we had lunch at Ocean Point Grille one day and my husband said they had the best crab cake sandwich he's ever had (even better than Barbara Jean's).

This is probably way more information than you needed, but I feel like I know you from all your emails! By the way, I put the recipe for the Frogmore Stew in the black binder with all the Fripp info under the coffee table; put it in the dining section. Hope you make it sometime and enjoy it.

Thanks again so much and we do hope to rent from you again. You have provided everything one could need and made it so welcoming!

Our best!
PS Loved being on the 3rd floor, and that elevator is a lifesaver!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Current Guests

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Hi Lisa!

Yes, we are very much enjoying ourselves! Your home is lovely and provides everything we could ever think we need! LOVE THE VIEW! Last nite we had "The Dolphin Show" with several out there just moseying around for our entertainment!

The weather has been beautiful, but hot, hot, hot! No surprise, of course.

And yes, we had our shrimpburgers yesterday for lunch from the Shrimp Shack, and Chris & Liz fixed us shrimp quesadillas with shrimp from Gay's last nite. Heaven!

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comments from Kind Guests

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Hi Lisa,
Sorry for our delay in responding! We very much enjoyed our trip to Fripp! Your condo was great! We spent so much time outdoors by the time we made it back to the condo the kiddos were sacked out on the couch. Speaking of which, they loved the Shirley Temple DVDs (Babes in toyland and Madeline.). The condo had everything we needed. You supplied so many towels and beach towels. The beach chairs and umbrella were perfect for a day at the beach! And the kiddos love the smaller chairs too! Again, thanks so much!!! It really was a great trip! We love Fripp! =)
Take care,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Lisa - just wanted to take a quick moment to thank you for all your kind help and all the information for our Fripp Island vacation. The unit was just right for us...I have never enjoyed such a well-stocked kitchen while on vacation before! The beds were so comfy, the girls fought over who lounged in the chaise end of the sofa, and I enjoyed the nicely-brewed coffee and the view from the balcony.

Exploring Fripp was a nightly adventure, and with a side trip to Charleston, our week was gone in a flash. Among all the deer roaming the island, our favorite was seeing a days-old tiny fawn with hundreds of spots! Or perhaps it was the nicely-antlered buck eating flowers while standing on someone's front porch.

You went above and beyond any home owner we have dealt with before...I thank you for taking the time to be so kind and helpful.

Please enjoy the rest of your summer!

With fond memories,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Good Morning Lisa,

We just wanted to say thanks for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home for our family vacation. We had a great time and look forward to coming back next year!

Have a great summer!
Joe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

We have had a great time on Fripp. Our boys have especially enjoyed getting around on a golf cart and seeing deer up close. We have also started a game to see who can count the most pelicans flying in formation (our current record is 50). Thank you for all of your information and hospitality. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Hi Lisa,

I just wanted to let you know that we got here without any problems yesterday. We had time to rent a golf cart and check out the island a little before it got too late. Your condo is extremely nice and comfortable and we absolutely love the island so far. It’s overcast today so I think we are going to go do a little shopping. The next couple of days are supposed to be more clear so we thought we’d get our shopping in today. :>)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

This is from a super couple from Vermont, who enjoyed Fripp the entire month of April:

Greetings Lisa! Our last day has arrived and I am so sad to be leaving South Carolina and your beautiful home. We are all packed and as usual, my husband is fretting that everything is not going to fit in the car. It fit comfortably coming down and I haven't done that much shopping.....or maybe I have.

This year we discovered the Bonito Boat House at the Marina and loved the closeness and the sunset views. We also enjoyed the Foolish Frog in Frogmore and had a great dinner and loved the entertainment. Again we enjoyed golf at the Sanctuary on Cat Island ($44 per round after noon) and my favorite, Ocean Point ($69 per round after 1). OP is in the best condition of anywhere we played. Cat Island is a distance but we combine it with food shopping or church. Thanks again for sharing this little piece of heaven and God willing we would love to return next April. I don't know what we'll do when you decide to retire!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

Thank you very much for sharing your home with us. The atmosphere is always so warm and welcoming with an extra special amount of attention to all the small details which we greatly appreciate. My husband and I really look forward to our next visit in March of 2012. Take care now, and enjoy your spring. Warmest regards,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

I just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed our month at your condo. Everything was very nice, beautiful sunrises, very comfortable, everything. Shirley stayed with me the entire month. I guess I'm back in the real world! We certainly did have a good time, and thank you, again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

hello lisa!
just wanted to let you know what a MARVELOUS vacation my family had at your condo on fripp!! as usual, the condo was beautiful, clean, and a perfect retreat for each of us. we really enjoyed all the updates you made... my boys especially enjoyed the flat screen and the blue ray!!
thank you again for being so easy and fun to work with...vacation is the highlight of our year, and it just wouldn't be the same without staying at your place on fripp. WE LOVE IT!!
if it's okay, i will be getting with you soon about our dates for next year.
thanks again! hope all is going well with you and your family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Lisa and Eddie,

We had a wonderful time on Fripp. The scenery was spectacular. We made memories to last a lifetime. It was the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle and just be together as a family. We came home rested and relaxed and very appreciative of our time away. We felt right at home in your condo and really enjoyed grilling on the deck and watching the pelicans soar past. Our youngest thought the best part was her private pool. Because we went so late in the season, she really didn’t have to share pool time with others very often. All the information you provided ahead of time was key to making the most of our time on Fripp. Thank you so much!

Gina and Mark

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

(From a wonderful family from Kansas...)

Lisa: I wanted to report that our family had a terrific week at your condo on Fripp Island. It was spotless and more than exceeded our expectations.We had a week of total decompression which is what we needed. The island was friendly, relaxed and easy to get around. We enjoyed the beach, the condo's pool [which was almost private] and the large olympic sized pool that we used for lap swimming in the morning. We rented a golf cart to allow our teens the chance to have freedom to come and go and it really helped. We cooked in most nights and enjoyed Gay's Fish Market right at the edge of the Island. Our sons actually started competing to see who cold come up with the best dinner of the week.
Thank you for sharing your little slice of heaven with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

(From our very kind guests who stayed at our home, 7/31 - 8/7)
Hi Lisa,
Just wanted to let you know we had a great time @ Fripp Island. The condo was great and the pool was the best pool there. We saw Loggerhead turtles released...what a treat....No rain storms until Friday night after we had been to Hunting Island and the beach and the pool. We took a day trip to Savannah and took the Graves and Ghosts tour. It was a lot of fun. Johnson Creek Tavern was our favorite restaurant. I had their She Crab Soup, and I had their Frogmore Stew. Both were delicious. The girls both tried Fried Oysters...not sure they will do them again soon. Dona tried shrimp and grits...We loved the low-country cooking. We both bought Gullah baskets @ the Gullah restaurant and the lady was making them out front.
It was hot, but a great trip. We're trying to see when we can grab a group of girls and come back down. Thanks for all your help. It was one of the best vacations ever!!!
Linda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

You are right; the island is a jewel and we absolutely loved it. It was divine! Your condo was also so comfortable, spacious, and convenient. The first day, we drove to the beach and then by Tuesday I had figured out the tide and that we could just meander over there from the Ocean Point access. It was lovely just taking a towel, that I did not have to pack, and then wandering home again for lunch when it got hot. We found so many spectacular shells and Sand dollars. Marisol and I even found a skull on a marsh walk with guides that turned out to be a bobcat skull! We saw a minx twice and almost stepped on a tree foot sand shark in the surf. We petted lots of deer, saw two American oyster catchers, which they told us are relatively rare, and were also able to see those beautiful dolphins; you were right, they do swim right off the bow of the boat. They were so close, we could hear them blowing. The ride was almost sixteen hours but the trip was absolutely worth it!

I discovered the beach access by accident; the kids were there at low tide and called to say the sand bars were so big and the water so low they could walk to them. Definitely cool! When the tide was low, over two days, we found 17 sand dollars, 4 star fish, several fan shells, and the sand shark! The first day we walked from your villa to the main beach at about ten, the next about 11; it did take about twenty minutes but only because we were shelling the whole time and stopping to watch the dolphins too. We did not even take chairs to sit, just walked, shelled, and swam. It’s truly a gem of a place! Marisol and I took the marsh walk and we were the only people there with two college interns as guides. They were so knowledgeable and loved sharing their info; it cost $5 a piece for one hour. We wanted to do the evening kayak tour too. Thank you for sharing your secret island with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

Useful information from our current monthlong guests, who are leaving 4/24/10:
Dear Lisa and Eddie, We are sorry to think about this week being the end of our vacation on Fripp Island. It has been perfect but passed too quickly. We have not had one poor weather day. We had showers in the late afternoon of the first Sunday and rain while we slept. Not bad. I actually was happy it rained that Sunday because we were on the 5th holeat Ocean Point and I had lost 5 balls already...I am happy to report that I only lost 1 ball the next day when we used our raincheck. Both courses on the island are spectacular and have reduced rates afternoon ($65). The alligators do affect my concentration. We also discoveredthe Sanctuary Course on Cat Island and their greens fee is $39 after noon.We really love that course so we combine that golf trip with groceryshopping and dinner at 11th Street Dockside in Port Royal. They have great seafood! Manny and I went on a Fripp real estate open house caravan one Thursday and won a round of golf for 4 people. My sister and her husband were pleased withthat venture as we used it at Ocean Point.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

This beautiful thank-you is from our recent guests who were at our villa for a month, and then stayed at 2 other homes on Fripp:

Good Morning Lisa,

... you really have a lovely view of the sunrise from your home.

My father wanted to stress to you how beautiful your Villa was..."Everything was so finely done in your home. Every aspect of your Villa was superior to the other two. From cleanliness to the quality of furnishings, the paper supplies and kitchen supplies. Your Villa has something special. From the moment we walked through the door there was a feeling of being welcomed."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

(Kind comments I just received from our current guests, whose retired father is staying for the months of Jan. and Feb.)
===========================
Lisa,

We went to Boondocks last night for the 35 cent shrimp also. We got right in at about 6:00. The shrimp were absolutely amazing! I usually don't get fried food, but we didn't specify boiled or fried, and we got fried. I am glad we did because I have never tasted anything like them. I wish I was staying another week so I could go again!

Everything is wonderful here...other than the temperatures. Today is supposed to be the warmest day, and it is only supposed to get up to 50 degrees. But it is so much better than the 32 inches of snow at my house!!!!!!!!! The sun is amazing, and the dolphins are too! Yesterday we were fishing on the other side of the island, and about 20 feet from us a mom and her baby dolphin kept surfacing. It was amazing. By the time I got my camera out, they were gone. Oh well. It will live on in my brain!

Well, gotta go! The sun, the ocean and the dolphins are calling me!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fripp Island Villar

Review submitted: July 29, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

The description of the property and its condition was entirely accurate. The kitchen was well equipped, including utensils. Rooms were freshly painted and nicely furnished. The owner provided great customer service and was attentive and responsive. I would highly recommend this property to a family as it is situated right across from the swimming pool. The well are nicely groomed. My family and I use to spend a week in Hilton Head, but since discovering Fripp Island last year, we prefer it. No hotels, very slow pace, little traffic (mostly golf carts). Great place to relax, wind down, and spend time with the family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 13, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We had a wonderful week on Fripp Island! Your condo was very comfortable and it had everything we needed. We really enjoyed the convenience of having a pool right there. We visited the other pools on the island, but liked ours the best! We rented a golf cart one day to tour the island, and had a great time. Our teenage son enjoyed having the wifi available too. All in all, a wonderful family summer vacation. We would highly recommend Fripp Island and your condo! Thanks!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review