reviews for: listing #7361 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

MikaKai Oceanfront Executive Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $269 - $289 /nt
    $1,743 - $1,883 /wk

sort by:

Best Vrbo rental yet

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

We stayed for 10 wonderful days and enjoyed the whales everyday and the turtles the pods of dolphins that went by and gave us a show almost everyday. Watching the guys in the water spear fishing and giving us fresh fish was awesome. We had heard that is always rains on the Hilo side well that wasn't the case we only had rain one night . The valcaon at night is a sight to see. Our only complaint is we had to leave. Hope to be back soon. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 10 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great & All We Could Want!

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: July 11, 2014

Family meet from New Zealand & England. House great & all we could want but the rain was not welcome...never mind, we managed to complete our to do list & saw amazing fish snorkeling. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The House Had Everything!

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: May 27, 2014

We have spent 5 nights at your wonderful place. Saw 3 turtles & were visited one day by 2 Nene's & had fun watching them. Enjoyed the large waves crashing on the rocks behind the house. Had fun one day in old Hilo town at the market & did lunch at Pesto's & walked around the huge Banyan trees. Grandchildren had fun in the pool & hot tub. Had fun snorkeling, too. The house had everything we needed & was a beautiful place to stay. We absolutely love the Big Island. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Hale!

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

What a beautiful hale! We had a wonderful time and my 2 granddaughters spent every waking minute in the pool - the adults, too. My husband loved the deck, pool & Jacuzzi. We'd love to come back maybe in 2 years when my other nephew graduates from KS Kea'au. Mahalo nui loa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Week!

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 8, 2014

Thanks for a great week! We particularly appreciate your anticipation of our wants/needs...a proper kitchen, cool water, snorkel gear, lots of beach towels, emergency supplies, a very functional office, etc. ad infinitum...your thoughtfulness shows. We could not have asked for more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Practical Paradise

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

Our family found Mika Kai to be the perfect location for our small reunion. Everything said in previous reviews about the beauty of the seascape and the comfort of the home are all true. I'll add some practical notes that may be helpful.

While the property is not listed as wheelchair accessible, it is very friendly for those with limited mobility. You can pull your car right up to the front porch. Two low steps to the front door and the access to the hot tub were the most challenging for my elderly aunt with back and hip issues but she overcame both with assistance and enjoyed all the amenities. Two bedrooms and bathrooms are located on the first floor so she was able to avoid the stairs to the upper floor altogether.

The hot tub became the center of our enjoyment; large enough for 4-5 at a time, the temperature was consistent, the jets were powerful but not scary and the in-tub colored lights were therapeutic (and fun). A nighttime soak was the most wonderful topper to our busy days. The pool is lovely but was a little chilly for most of us. We didn't mind - we had our focus on the "bubble tub!"

The outdoor grill is large enough for a full surf and turf meal for 6-8 and easy to use if you've had any experience with propane grills.

There were plenty of plates and settings for indoor and outdoor use. If you're the cook, take a moment to peruse all the cabinets and drawers before you begin; you'll find so many useful tools and equipment. Everything from large boiling pots to ziplock bags and wooden skewers to a Japanese style rice cooker. The water cooler was much appreciated.

There's no air conditioning but you honestly don't need it. The breeze from the ocean and the overhead fans keep the temperature just right. Screens on all the windows allowed us to keep windows wide open while on property.

Check out the helpful binder of information right away. suggestions for local attractions, restaurants and sight seeing drives are plentiful.. Instructions for trash and recycling are there, too.

The final drive to the house on Makuu Road is a little tough for those who are prone to motion sickness. They don't call it the "roller coaster road" for nothing! But if you take it slowly, the 4 miles goes by without much thought.

And finally, Jamie, the owner, was responsive and helpful and friendly. I would rent any of her properties without hesitation.

Mika Kai was, indeed, paradise. I can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best rental house ever!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

This is my third time renting this house. This time I stayed here with a group of hula dancers to perform at the Merrie Monarch Festival ho'ike. The location is fabulous, very convenient to Hilo. And with all the bedrooms and bathrooms, we had plenty of space for all our dancers to get ready for our big show. When we had time to relax, the pool and hot tub were big hits! It is a perfect house for gatherings, relaxing and enjoying the Hilo side of the Big Island. Doesn't get any better than this!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Base!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 19, 2014

We have really enjoyed being off the general tourist area. Your house has proved the perfect "base" for all three generations travelling together! Your gift basket was very much appreciated. The pool and hot tub were a huge hit and after days of touring the area we would make our way back to the house around four. The children played from 4-6 each night in the pool & hot tub! Being a little "local" was the best part of visiting this house. Talked to the fishermen and shopped in Pahoa. Don't be fearful of the rain. It comes and goes so quickly it is hard to predict. Thank you for renting your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly Amazing!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

Your home has been a refuge & blessing to our family. To some perhaps a time to soak in the sun & amazing views, but the rest & relaxation has been truly amazing. Who can miss the power of God in the ocean & waves crashing into the lava! WOW! Enjoyed the gift basket & well stocked kitchen. Thank you for sharing this beautiful spot with our family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Thank you so much for being such great hosts. The group of LaQuinta GM's that stayed here really enjoyed themselves! This house is beautiful! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome House!

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

Thanks for the awesome house!! It is really nice not having to stay at a hotel or resort. We were surprised at all the extras available for your visitors and how this place was nicer than we expected. Also thanks to you for investing in these vacation rentals for people like us to enjoy!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular views & a beautiful home made for a great family vacation.

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

Mika Kai was everything we hoped it would be and MORE!!... Our vacation was months in the planning.. With so many holiday homes to choose from in the Hilo area combined with the needs of our family and also our parents to satisfy we were more than a little anxious. Our booking was arranged promptly & professionally by the very helpful and friendly owner Terri and we felt reassured of a trouble-free holiday. Mika Kai is a beautiful modern home, spacious, well maintained and stocked with every conceivable appliance and convenience you could ask for, we were truly amazed... The lovely welcome basket of local treats was especially lovely, as was the filtered chilled water fountain. We enjoyed delicious BBQ meals by the pool and sunsets from the deck, walked along the lava rock coastline and watched the turtles play in the waves only a few feet away... so many magic memories of our stay at Mika Kai, I hope it will not be long before we can return. I'd like to say also a BIG thank you to Adan and Terri also for forwarding my daughters swimsuit onto us in Waikiki when we left it behind, it was very much appreciated.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious & Beautifully Decorated!

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

We were two families with assorted grown children who stayed at this lovely home from November 29 to December 7, 2013. The house is spacious and beautifully decorated with all the amenities you could want, including washer-dryer, bikes, snorkelling equipment, beach chairs, cooler, etc. The view from just about everywhere is simply incomparable. Huge deck, a small but gorgeous pool – what a treat to take a dip and hear the surf in the background! We also loved the hot tub, especially in the evening, under the stars! The master bedroom is simply enormous. All the bedrooms have their own full bathrooms, with one extra to spare! The property is not especially close to Hilo and it takes a good 40 minutes or more (in traffic) to get there, but this was a minor issue for us. There are no grocery stores nearby so bear this in mind when planning your stay. Check out the snorkelling at Richardson Beach Park in Hilo - a small but impressive black sand beach (the snorkelling at Kapoho tide pools was awesome but it can be tricky to navigate the lava rocks to actually get into the water).

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful Treat!

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

What a delightful treat to have spent this week with my sister & her family at this beautiful villa. We were touched by all the care put in to make us comfortable here. The location is extraordinary. We were mesmerized by the power of the ocean that was ever changing! It is difficult to leave! Mahalo & Aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Enjoyed Every Minute!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

We enjoyed every minute at Mika Kai and exploring the island. The view from the houe is amazing! We could not believe all the amenities and loved how the house was decorated. We referred to the map often to understand all the miles we drove. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW!

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

WOW! Jamie & Noi, you know how to do it right! We have never been so impressed with amenities & view. Your home has been home to us for the past few days and already knew the next one won't be close to what you offer. Thank you so much for opening your heart & home to us. Thank you so much for providing necessities. Thank you so much for having such a beautiful home to experience. We all enjoyed ourselves so much and already have discussed our next year's plans of staying here - 100% and not leaving to see other islands. You have spoiled us to no end. Even the frogs at night impressed us. Now we have to find that sound on our sleep machine. The spirit of aloha will always be within. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Memories!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

What a wonderful time we had! Everything as promised - and more. Your booklet was priceless, we relied on it daily, as were your collection of maps. Awesome memories! Hope we left it as we found, but for our footprints. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect 15th Anniversary!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

We came here in celebration of our 15th wedding anniversary. It has been awesome! We loved the house; it was very comfortable & well stocked with everything we needed. The view was awesome, too! Every morning & evening was spent out on the deck. Loved seeing the turtles out back and the crabs. I've never seen a sunset so beautiful. All in all we had a very memorable time at Mika Kai & loved calling it home base. Thank you for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Conveniently-Located & Well-Equipped

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

The owner was a joy to work with. He answered all our emails promptly and pleasantly. You will find the house as advertised. The house was pleasantly appointed and held our group of 9 very comfortably. The bedrooms and bathrooms were nice-sized and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The kitchen was well-stocked with basics (including even paper towels, paper plates, and baggies) and very clean. There was a new barbecue grill for our use. Also very nice for this location, there was snorkeling equipment for our use and a couple of bicycles.
The house is about 50 minutes from Volcano National Park. Aside from the hotel on the park property, there were few hotels and B&Bs; on this side of the island, so it was pleasant to stay on the ocean. We could walk out the gate and walk right on the lava at the ocean's edge. About 30 minutes away there was the greatest snorkeling of our vacation -- better even than the snorkeling on our guided snorkeling trip on Mauri.
Our group had absolutely no complaints.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truly a relaxing paradise....

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

Mika Kai is one of the most relaxing homes I have been in for vacation. I have been to all the islands in Hawaii and love the Hawaiian culture. I come to relax, rest and enjoy the beauty. Mika Kai is superb at allowing for quiet rest, wonderful views, superb amenities and great owners who look out for your every need. There were 4-5 of us in our group and we feel we have had 30 days of rest in our 10 days here on the Big Island. I cannot thank our hosts enough for their sharing their piece of paradise with us. Blessings from the big kahuna!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Place!

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

What a fantastic place! Love the layout of the house, the well equipped kitchen, magnificent views. Don't miss snorkeling at Kapoho - fantastic, amazing. Thanks for the bikes, snorkel gear etc. - sooo nice. Everything was fabulous! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

I'm having an amazing time. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay!! (P.S. The pool and view are both gorgeous!) Thnx!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Beautiful Place!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time, what a beautiful place. Thanks so much!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Time

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We just left your house. Had a wonderful time. A very comfortable and beautiful spot for our group. Thanks again for sharing your house.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Avoid

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

The highlight of this property is the outdoor area. BUT.. there are a lot of buts.
We were charged several hundred extra dollars for guests 6 and 7 for "cleaning" (apparently the list price only covers 5 people), so I was frustrated to find that the pool had not been cleaned when we arrived (toys floating in it, sand on the bottom, and cups on the railing).
Additionally, as previous reviewers noted, the house is very dilapidated and run down. When we arrived, the fan over the table (which looked like it had been hanging there for 50 years) did not work, and several times during our stay there were electrical problems: a light switch popped and stopped working; and an entire bedroom that just lost power suddenly. We never found the breaker box which must be locked away in the garage, but apparently that wasn’t the problem – it took more than a day for the maintenance guy to get it fixed (we had to use an extension cord from the hall and a flashlight that we brought with us to find our way around in that bedroom).
Poor patch/paint jobs, everything rusty, untrimmed discount blinds, dirty layer of film in the cupboards (we felt like we had to wash any dish we wanted to use when pulling it out), cobwebs in the corners, towels that were on the edge of smelling funky, and bugs everywhere. I don’t mind a few bugs in an open house – but there were a lot! One of the bathrooms even had tiny little ants that would cover the toilet paper roll – making it necessary to roll off several layers to be able to use it.
A little bit of fuel was provided for the tiki torches – but they were all rusted shut, and the washer smelled sour (didn’t dare use it to wash anything).
Have stayed in much nicer houses for this price point. Would not recommend.

Owners response: This review is a huge surprise to us. The bedroom electrical outage and the dining room fan were fixed as soon as they were brought to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience and we have always fixed things right away. There was an additional cleaning fee for 5 days for 2 guests of $15 each, total $30. As is customary in the Hawaii vacation rental business, the additional guests that were added a few weeks before arrival were charged an extra per night fee (in this case $25 per night plus HI taxes.) This is explained on our website and also in information sent to guests. All items on this list are being evaluated and improved where needed.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Would Love to Return!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We had a truly great experience! The house is very comfortable, great views (even saw turtles). The pool and hot tub were an added bonus. Thanks for all the extras! We would love to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ending Our 3rd (and Last) Week - Bummer!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

Ending our 3rd week at Mika Kai. What a bummer! First week and a half was with 3 other couples, our best friends. 2nd week and a half was with our kids and grand kids. What a fabulous time we've had...Sorry, Jamie, if we wore the pool out! Rain or shine we were in it. Nene were fun, but the dolphin drive-bys were the best! We saw tons of hawkbill turtles as well, right in front of Mika Kai! Grandkids loved the fresh coconut from the tree in front and the geckos were a constant source of entertainment. Thanks, Jamie.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope to be Back Soon

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

What a vacation! The view was absolutely spectacular and so much fun to be had around the place! We hope to be back someday soon. We all had an unbelievably great time! Thank you for your home, pool & view.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Spot!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

Beautiful spot, loved the pool. Enjoyed the daily flyby of the Nene.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular Kickstart to Our Hawaiian Vacation!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

We have enjoyed a spectacular kickstart to our Hawaiian vacation here at Mika Kai. We find ourselves wishing we had left this destination to the end as I think we have been spoiled here with the magnificant setting and amenities provided! The house, the lanai, the beautiful surroundings are all amazing! We all renjoyed spending the majority of our time on the lanai, basking in the sun, playing in the pool, looking for sea turtles in the surf and ending the day with a hot tub! The beds were especially comfy and we all slept well with the sound of the waves and the rainshowers during the night. We managed to luck out on the weather for the most part with the majority of the rain happening over night. We are an extended family with Grandma, Poppie, Auntie, Mom, Dad and 2 kids aged 11 and 13 and found everything we needed here at Mika Kai. The configuration and number of bathrooms was perfect. So many spices and condiments available that we wanted for nothing. We're off to Kona for a family wedding but we know we will be back again someday!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hate to Leave!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

So gl;ad we decided to join our friends for vacation. The place was perfect. Hate to leave, but the adventure goes on! Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not as good as we had hoped for

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We have rented vacation homes on most of our previous vacations (Oahu ’03, Maui ’04, and Kauai ’06, Yellowstone ‘09). Mika Kai was chosen partly based on the reviews posted here. I have to say, we were somewhat disappointed. This is difficult to write, but I feel it needs to be written so others won’t be disappointed such as our group was.
First, the positives: The house's location was wonderful. The grounds and pool are nice and the views amazing. The kitchen and pantry were well stocked and it was great that the paper products were included. Jamie was excellent to work with and when a problem did arise, Adan took care of it quickly.
Now the negatives: The house was in need of updating and repairs. There were drawers in the kitchen that squeaked when opened and the refrigerator leaked when the freezer door was opened. There were poorly done patches to the drywall that were quite conspicuous and the entire interior is in need of paint; giving the home a dilapidated appearance and feel.
We’re not clean freaks, but we did feel the house could have been cleaner. There was a general feeling of un-cleanliness in the kitchen and baths; long dark hairs on the vanity and sink in one of the upstairs bathrooms and a mildew-like smell throughout. The smell did subside once we opened the house. However, it was back again each time we returned from being out.
There are amenities listed with the house that were there, but not in a condition that could be easily used. The electronic ignition on the gas BBQ was not functioning and could only be lit with matches. There were a variety of bicycles available for use but all of them had flat tires. This would not have been a problem had the tire pumps worked. Our daughter and her boyfriend bought a bicycle pump just so they could go riding.
At the price-point Mika Kai is in, and the reviews written here, we certainly expected much more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We would like to thank our guests for writing a review from their perspective. We are happy that their overall experience was positive. This is the first less than 5* review that we have received, and of course, it is of deep concern to us. On the issues that were addressed in this review, we would like to make the following responses:
* If ever there is a “cleanliness” issue, once notified, it will be take care of it immediately.
*Opening windows generally takes care of any musty smells in the house – this is the tropics. We sanitize and odorize between each guest visit.
*On the oceanfront, with the salt air and wonderful tropical breezes, the BBQ automatic ignitor does not last more than a month after brand new. We provide butane lighters for this purpose, matches and also stainless steel BBQ equipment.
*We apologize for there not being a bicycle pump at Mika Kai. We leave one there for such occasions. We were not aware that the pump was missing. If guests leave us a comment and receipt, we are happy to reimburse them for any out-of-pocket expense. Or they can call our maintenance person, and he will be more than happy to bring over whatever is needed. Most vacation homes in the area do not provide bicycles – we try to go above and beyond, but again the salt and moisture-laden air takes its toll.
*Mika Kai has been scheduled for a total painting based on these guests’ comments. As soon as we are aware of any issues, we address them immediately.

It is of utmost concern to us that these guests were not 100% satisfied with their accommodations. We appreciate any and all guest comments. Guest comments are our best source of identifying any issues that need to be addressed. We aim to make each Hawaiian vacation at Mika Kai wonderful and memorable. Aloha, Jamie, Owner

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Impression from Newly Arrived Guest

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

The house is wonderful, thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect and Perfect!

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

Perfect and perfect! Thank you - Mahalo. Little rain at first - windy offering stunning crashing waves of beautiful colors. 2 turtles almost everyday - Franklin and Bob. Today is calm - so many whales we have lost count. No breeching today but Mom and baby pickle breeching other days. Didn't believe the previous comment of hearing the whales. We have heard them for 3 nites in a row - Wow! Sounds like a cow mooing but louder, lower & slower - pretty amazing. We only heard them after dark sitting on the deck. Baby just breeched!! Yeah! Lovely home. Great snorkel gear. PS Directions were perfect - communication along the way awesome - advice for groceries perfect - gift basket very thoughtful & appreciated.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for the Home Away from Home

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here in Hilo at your beautiful house. It was a perfect venture point for our adventures into the volcano park, Hilo town and other smaller towns nearby. It is a lovely house, very clean and comfortable - particularly the beds. The pounding surf was very soothing. You have the most beautiful lanai. we spent a significant portion of our time here sipping coffee in the am, eating meals and just gazing out into the ocean from it. Thanks for the home away from home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Lovely Place to "Come Home To"

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

We had heard it would be rainy in Hilo, but didn't quite expect the 12" we got during our stay. We are from near Seattle, tho, so we already knew you just do things in the rain. The surf watching was most enjoyable - the power of the ocean asit pounded against the lava walls was hears-stopping at times. We found ourselves standing on the lanai just watching for long periods of time. Mika Kai was a lovely place to "come home to" in the evenings...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Location

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay. We've never stayed in a home so will stocked! The crashing waves, chirping frogs, rustling palms and spraying mists all delighted the senses. We heard a whale "moving" about 50 yards from the shore. Could hear the spouting also of 1 of the three. How thrilling. Saw many others farther out and turtle as well. The first night we enjoyed star gazing from the hot tub. The second night we think it rained half the annual rainfall! Such a lovely location. Hope we can return someday. Thanks for the basket of goodies and fresh flowers.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We loved the view and sound/smell of ocean, snorkling in the marine preserve down the street, Volcanoes National Park, and being here in such a beautiful place together. I really appreciated all your excellent and prompt responses throughout the rental process.

We loved our vacation house and found it extremely well appointed. We ate in every night and found nothing wanting. We did lose hot water overnight one night but it was timely repaired so we only had cold showers one morning. Love the patio for coffee watching the sun come up! Absolutely love that there are an abundance of towels and that there was plenty of paper product provided. Look forward to returning in the future.

This is the third time we've had the pleasure to stay here. Always wonderful and fun! Thanks for the place, the hospitality and the mahalo!

Heidi, John, Richard, Germaine, John, Rita, Barbara and Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

da bomb!

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

Mahalo for sharing your beautiful home with us. The view is da bomb! We loved it and didn't want to go back to reality....the perfect getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Experience!

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

From the first time I emailed you 8 months ago, I knew this would be a great experience. Your home - Top Shelf! Your location - Top Shelf! Your helping guidance - Very Much Appreciated. My wife loved her 50th birthday present. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ocean out the back door

Review submitted: December 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

We've never stayed at an ocean front property so close to the ocean. Enjoyed getting up in the morning and having a cup of coffee while watching the sea turtles swim in the surf. The house was very roomy, inviting, comfortable and well stocked. Had everything as advertised. We were there for my birthday and were greeted with a basket full of wine, coffee and other goodies.
Our favorite snorkeling spot was only about 10 miles away-Kapoho tide pools. Many fish and a turtle. Easy to snorkel, very clear and no surf to contend with. There is a lot to see and do in the Puna and HIlo area. Some of best scenery was driving up the east coast and taking back roads in Puna. We were there during a week of rather high surf and rain in Hilo area so headed to Kona side for some day trips. A bit of a drive, but lots to see along the way. A great memory is driving back after dark and stopping to watch the volcano glow. Thank you Jamie for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Rental

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Great place! Lots of room and one of the best equipped rental houses we've ever stayed in. They had everything -- from every gadget and spice for making a full thanksgiving meal to beach towels, snorkel gear and ice chests for outings. We loved Hilo area -- very lush and very laid back with unique buildings and gift stores and lots of things to see and do.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So Peaceful & Relaxing

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

The most peaceful place we have stayed in Hawaii. So many unexpected ammenities. When Jamie stated it was fully furnished and stocked - it was. It was like moving one's home to Hawaii and you lacked nothing. Owners were most hospitable and see that every need is met (they even bought a crock pot for us) so you can enjoy your vacation to the max. There is a delightful caretaker nearby who answers his phone immediately if you have any questions or problems. Always felt very safe and secure. My bed upstairs was like sleeping on a cloud with the birds, crickets and ocean at night lulling me to sleep. The deposit was returned within 3 days of our return. Cannot recommend this rental enough. It could definitely use a 10 star rating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Heaven on Earth"

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Date entered: 08/24/2012

We had such a wonderful time here "Heaven on Earth".
We used every space in the house (pool, hot tub, master
bath tub, lanai...). A perfect spot.
We ventured to the other side of the island for a day.
Visited the Champagne Pond, Tidal pools Kapoho (best
snorkeling ever, best ever done and we have been to all of
the places).
There's a great restaurant in Pahoa called "Kaleo".

Thanks so much!!
We didn't want to leave-

Guest city-state/province: Winthrop, ME

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Special Magical Place

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

Date entered: 08/18/2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for the second time.
We simply love the Puna area and in particular your home.
We have many wonderful memories here. Wish we didn't have
to leave!
We also enjoyed the Nene pair that came and visited with
us poolside almost everyday, almost a spiritually encounter.
Very Special Magical Place.

Aloha! Until we return!

Guest city-state/province: Union City, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The pool so close to the ocean is awesome

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Date entered: 07/29/2012

We came a long way from No. Cal to visit family for a long
awaited reunion. What a great spot!
We love the house and the pool so close to the ocean is
awesome.
Looking forward to coming back to try one of your other
houses next time! Thank you for the basket.

Aloha!!

Guest city-state/province: Grass Valley,CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Not even home one day and we already miss it

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

Date entered: 08/20/2012

Jamie,
We loved our time at Mika Kai, as before it was thoroughly
enjoyable. Not even home one day and we already miss it.
We certainly plan on a return visit in the future,
hopefully it will still be available.

Mahalo,

Guest city-state/province: Union City, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unwinding After Intense Kumu Hula Training in God's Place

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

This property is truly God's place! After a week-long intense training and hula graduation, I needed a place to rest and appreciate the beauty of the aina (land). This home was so well appointed with everything you would ever need for the comforts of home. The rooms were very spacious and the beds comfortable...more comfortable than my own mattress! The house was very clean and every detail was covered. Adan was always available if we needed anything. The view was absolutely spectacular. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the lanai for our meals and drinks. The jacuzzi was the first place I hit after my week of hula. We enjoyed the pool immensely. Mostly, we enjoyed being right by the ocean and waking up to the crashing waves. Jamie was extremely accommodating as our dates changed several times because of our schedules. The pictures really don't do this house justice. We enjoyed taking walks along the roads by the house and meeting all the friendly neighbors. My family and I would come back to this house in a heartbeat! Mahalo nui loa Jamie for a wonderful stay! Aloha ke Akua!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Yes, Mika Kai is beautiful

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Aloha Jamie,

Yes, Mika Kai is beautiful and we have very much enjoyed
staying here.

Guest city-state/province: Cotati, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The beautiful ocean at our door step

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

Thank you so much. Our time at Mika Kai was
unforgettable. The home is absolutely beautiful and will be
highly recommended to all our relatives and friends. It was
wonderful waking up each morning to see the beautiful ocean
at our door step .... having breakfast on the lanai each
morning was so enjoyable. The home was perfect for our
need.
Again, thank you for such a fabulous time at your Mika Kai
home. My whole family loved it. If we get back there, we
will call you again!

Thanks so much.

Have a great week!

Me ke aloha,

Guest city-state/province: Sacramento, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We felt so at home here!

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

What a wonderful home. My husband Jim & I (w/ baby on the
way 5 1/2 mos) felt so at home here! We have explored the
entire island & now plan to remain here or very near by for
the solace & peace! You must be a wonderful couple!

God Bless & Good Thoughts

Guest city-state/province: Spencer, IA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are sad to leave

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

Your home is so beautiful! I thank you for inviting us to
enjoy all its wonders. What an amazing view! We loved
falling asleep to the sound of the ocean waves and then
waking up to the sounds of the ocean waves and singing
birds. We are sad to leave.

Mahalo & Aloha!

Guest city-state/province: St Petersburg, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This place is amazing!

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

This place is amazing! It must be very hard to make this
place a rental.
Hope you like the drawing I made.

Age 9 1/2

Guest city-state/province: Hebron, KY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We saw turtles in the waves every day.

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Wonderful view right off the back deck, we saw turtles in
the waves every day.
If you're here on Sunday, turn south once you get back
onto the highway from Makuu Drive to go to a great farmer's
market. Plan on eating lunch there. We also loved Cafe
Pesto and Short & Sweet in Hilo to dine. Walking in the
park along Banyan Drive was also a hit.

Guest city-state/province: Fort Collins, CO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This property is rated triple straight A's.

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

We all had the best time ever. The house is grand - the
pool - the Jacuzzi all awesome. Hilo has always been our
1st stop to the islands and my pick for this property is
rated triple straight A's.

The flowers and gift basket was a treat. And we cannot
wait to be a repeat guest.

Thank You - Thank You !!

Guest city-state/province: Sitka, AK

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will definitely refer others!

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Mahalo Jamie (and Adan!)

We have loved staying here and will definitely refer others!

Guest city-state/province: Cotati, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was a trip we will always remember

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Date entered: 05/14/2012

We had a fantastic time! Your house, as you know, is so beautiful! And with the pool and jacuzzi and the ocean at our disposal, it was a trip we will always remember. The week went so fast! Your kitchen was very well stocked, and David, who is an excellent cook, made me some wonderful breakfasts and dinners there! We had such a wonderful week at your home, and we are definitely planning on returning. We thought that next time we would bring my parents or another couple with us. This time, it was an anniversary celebration just for the two of us!

Thanks again for everything!

Guest city-state/province: Las Vegas, NV

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was better than we could have ever dreamed of

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

Date entered: 05/02/2012

Aloha,

Just wanted to let you know that we had such an awesome time at your home. It was better than we could have ever dreamed of.

Thank you again,

Guest city-state/province: Prescott, AZ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Such a beautiful house in a wonderful setting

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2006

We would like to thank you for our outstanding couple of weeks ar Mika Kai. It was one of the most memorable vacations we have ever taken, thanks to such a beautiful house in a wonderful setting. The friends and family members who visited during our stay were equally enchanted.
Compliments on the three-ring binder of house and area information. It was a treasure trove. I would recommend that all of your guests read it carefully. As promised, we found the house was very well set up and supplied

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What an amazing property!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Our expectations were high after reading all the glowing reviews of this property. And incredibly enough, our expectations were exceeded! I used to work for a destination club, so I have a lot of experience with high end vacation homes. This property could have easily been in our portfolio. The house was very comfortable, well-kept and met our needs nicely. It was outfitted extremely well, both in the kitchen and general amenities. And the views from the back deck were just stunning (tons of sea turtles). And perhaps the best part was the amazing weather we had during our stay - sunny skies every day! You will not be disappointed with this property, and for the cost, it's an absolute steal! Be sure to check out the Kapoho tide pools nearby - incredible snorkeling!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Needs met like never before in a rental

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Extraordinary stay.
Needs met like never before in a rental.
So relaxing and comfortable ... regurgitating.
Beautiful home!
Absolutely, didn't want to leave, just stay here and we did
most of our stay.
Would enjoy coming back.
Thank You / Mahalo
Blessings,

Guest city-state/province: Arkansas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wake up & see the ocean every morning

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

We all had a wonderful time the 10 days spent here at Mika
Kai! It was such a treat to wake up & see the ocean every
morning & listen to it as you fall asleep... We even saw
turtles swimming around! Loved the black sand beach, Hilo,
botanical garden & volcano park. We all enjoyed & loved our
stay in Hawaii, thanks!

Guest city-state/province: Montana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a fabulous time!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2011

Had a fabulous time! Loved the house, wish we had more time
to relax our back but there's so much to see.

Guest city-state/province: Atlanta, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer in January

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Just got home, to snow and rain, after spending a glorious week at Mika Kai. Better than the pictures and the owner was a dream to deal with.
Beautiful setting, everything you'd ever need and the whale watching and sounds at night were the icing on the cake!! Thank you!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I saw lots of sea turtles...

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2008

Date entered: 07/08/2008

Thanks for letting me stay here! It was wonderful! I saw
lots of sea turtles... I loved the lava tubes and the crater.
I also loved the helicopter ride. I loved all those kinds of
fishy's!... I'm definitely gonna move here when grow up!
P.S. you have everything at this house!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very peaceful and relaxing next to the ocean

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2008

Date entered: 08/22/2008

Spent the last few days of our vacation here on the Hilo
side (first Honolulu, then Kona, then Volcano) - It is very
peaceful and relaxing next to the ocean, no matter where you
are!
We really enjoyed the Zoo and going to the night LAVA
viewing at the end of RT 130 is a MUST! It was awesome!
Our daughter LOVED the pool!
Aloha!
Guest city-state/province: Pittsford, NY

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great View of turtles...

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

Date entered: 06/01/2009

Our Arrival was breathtaking... Beautiful Sunset Great
friends to enjoy this Hawaiian Experience with... And it's
only just Begun. Off to Snorkel at Kapoho tide pools...
What a Perfect Day! The weather was so wonderful... Getting
the TAN on Kalapani Cafe (Fun) - Black Sand Beach - Issac
Hale Park - watching Locals Body Surf. Hwy 137 an
Absolutely must ride on!
Great View of turtles...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome week, Beautiful House

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

Date entered: 06/07/2009

June 1st - 7th 2009
Group of 6 (3 couples) Awesome week, beautiful house &
better friends!
Thanks
Guest city-state/province: Idaho

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect base for our Big Island adventures

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

Date entered: 06/16/2009

Thank you so much for our stay in your beautiful and
wonderfully appointed house! It was the perfect base for our
Big Island adventures, and a great place to relax in between.
We loved having breakfast and dinner on the deck, taking dips
in the pool and just taking it easy in these beautiful
surroundings.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was truly a home away from home

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

Date entered: 09/10/2009

Thank you for your thoughtful planning for Mika Kai to be
enjoyed! It was truly a home away from home.
Our family get together was fantastic by this wonderful
home.
Mahalo,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What more can a person ask for!

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

Date entered: 09/19/2009

Well we're just getting ready to leave & really hate to see
it end! Mahalo for such a wonderful place to stay. You've
helped make our vacation filled with many awesome memories.
Great meals on the deck - swimming - Jacuzzi - What more can a person ask for!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed the sight and sound of the Ocean

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

Date entered: 11/03/2009

Three sisters and a cousin enjoyed an absolutely perfect
retreat here at Mika Kai. No words could describe how much we
enjoyed the sight and sound of the Ocean. We had a very busy
time seeing a lot of the sights on the Big Island and we were
always glad that we had this spot to return to at day's end.

Guest city-state/province: Littleton, CO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We hope to come back very soon

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

Date entered: 11/16/2009

Aloha,
Thank you so much for a wonderful time. Our family enjoyed your beautiful home. Time passed way too fast. We hope to come back very soon. Thanks for everything. What a great vacation.
Mahalo
Guest city-state/province: Las Vegas, NV

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The pool was great. The hot tub was wonderful

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

Date entered: 11/16/2009

Thank You SO Much for having me stay here. It was a
relaxing stay. The pool was great. The hot tub was
wonderful. My family planned this for a birthday surprise for
me. We had a wonderful time!

guest city-state/province: Las Vegas, NV

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Place, Great Waves

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

Date entered: 12/05/2009

What a great place to bring our family - beautiful place, great waves, & the green is so lush.
Thank you for sharing your home & a bit of yourselves with us.
Mahalo
Guest city-state/province: Colorado, USA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful place, great waves

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

What a great place to bring our family - beautiful place, great waves, & the green is so lush.
Thank you for sharing your home & a bit of yourselves with us.

Mahalo
Guest city-state/province: Colorado, USA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful place to stay at

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

Date entered: 01/26/2010

Thank you for a rememerable time. That all my friends got to share. This is our first time here in Hawaii & I have to say what a beautiful place to stay at.

Thanks again
Guest city-state/province: Tampa, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful place to stay at

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

Date entered: 01/26/2010

Thank you for a rememerable time. That all my friends got to share. This is our first time here in Hawaii & I have to say what a beautiful place to stay at.

Thanks again
Guest city-state/province: Tampa, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful place to stay at

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

Date entered: 01/26/2010

Thank you for a rememerable time. That all my friends got to share. This is our first time here in Hawaii & I have to say what a beautiful place to stay at.

Thanks again
Guest city-state/province: Tampa, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful place to stay at

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

Date entered: 01/26/2010

Thank you for a rememerable time. That all my friends got to share. This is our first time here in Hawaii & I have to say what a beautiful place to stay at.

Thanks again
Guest city-state/province: Tampa, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

Date entered: 02/22/2010

Awesome
Thank you!!
Whales,
Sun,
Fabulous

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

Date entered: 02/22/2010

Awesome
Thank you!!
Whales,
Sun,
Fabulous

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See whales off the coast

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

Date entered: 04/11/2010

We have spent a wonderful week here w/ our hula sisters. We enjoyed the beautiful setting of Mika Kai & all its amenities. It was a wonderful place to rest during the busy week of the Merrie Monarch Festival. And we were fortunate enough to see whales off the coast. Thank you for providing a great setting for magical memories.

With warmest aloha,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See whales off the coast

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

Date entered: 04/11/2010

We have spent a wonderful week here w/ our hula sisters. We enjoyed the beautiful setting of Mika Kai & all its amenities. It was a wonderful place to rest during the busy week of the Merrie Monarch Festival. And we were fortunate enough to see whales off the coast. Thank you for providing a great setting for magical memories.

With warmest aloha,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See whales off the coast

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

Date entered: 04/11/2010

We have spent a wonderful week here w/ our hula sisters. We enjoyed the beautiful setting of Mika Kai & all its amenities. It was a wonderful place to rest during the busy week of the Merrie Monarch Festival. And we were fortunate enough to see whales off the coast. Thank you for providing a great setting for magical memories.

With warmest aloha,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See whales off the coast

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

Date entered: 04/11/2010

We have spent a wonderful week here w/ our hula sisters. We enjoyed the beautiful setting of Mika Kai & all its amenities. It was a wonderful place to rest during the busy week of the Merrie Monarch Festival. And we were fortunate enough to see whales off the coast. Thank you for providing a great setting for magical memories.

With warmest aloha,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See whales off the coast

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

Date entered: 04/11/2010

We have spent a wonderful week here w/ our hula sisters. We enjoyed the beautiful setting of Mika Kai & all its amenities. It was a wonderful place to rest during the busy week of the Merrie Monarch Festival. And we were fortunate enough to see whales off the coast. Thank you for providing a great setting for magical memories.

With warmest aloha,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the best places to stay in these Islands

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

We now head to Kailua for another 5 days but we will cherish the memories of our stay here. The house was a perfect fit for us. The pool, the hottub, the space, the fenced yard, everything was just perfect. I especially enjoyed sitting out on the deck and playing slack key guitar as the waves crashed against the lava.
We will be back next year for another stay. And both of us think this is one of the best places to stay in these Islands.
Aloha and mahalo nui loa,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the best places to stay in these Islands

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

We now head to Kailua for another 5 days but we will cherish the memories of our stay here. The house was a perfect fit for us. The pool, the hottub, the space, the fenced yard, everything was just perfect. I especially enjoyed sitting out on the deck and playing slack key guitar as the waves crashed against the lava.
We will be back next year for another stay. And both of us think this is one of the best places to stay in these Islands.
Aloha and mahalo nui loa,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just relaxing watching the wave coming in

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Date entered: 06/05/2010

Thanks for the pretty house. It was breath taking. We enjoyed the pool and everything the house and the island had to offer. We enjoyed sitting on the deck and just relaxing watching the wave coming in. The house had everything you could want.

Thanks
Guest city-state/province: Alabama, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A very peaceful spot away from the world.

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

Date entered: 08/10/2011

Thank you for the wonderful opportunity to stay at Mika Kai... it is simply beautiful! A very peaceful spot away from the world.
I hope to come back here again someday.

Mahalo!
Guest city-state/province: Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will never forget the amazing view

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

Date entered: 11/22/2011

We had a good time. What a great house. Enjoyed the Pool and the Hot tub. We will never forget the amazing view.

Mahalo!
Guest city-state/province: Waconia, MN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

And did we miss Mika Kai!

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

Date entered: 11/12/2011

We've had a wonderful time here! Relaxing, un-winding and enjoying our honeymoon. We stayed one night in Kona due to the long drive - and did we miss Mika Kai!
Thank you for starting off our wedded bliss perfectly.

Mahalo!
Guest city-state/province: Chicago, IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had sea turtles swimming all around the house!

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Date entered: 10/15/2011

We have enjoyed our 9 days at Mika Kai, such a great house with an awesome view!! Coming back to Mika Kai to swim & soak in the hot tub was an every evening event! Will be back again for sure & will tell our friends!
"Oh", we had sea turtles swimming all around the house!

Mahalo, Mika Kai!
Guest city-state/province: Memphis, TN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Home

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Mika Kai was an amazing home to share with my family. We had the best time and hope to be back soon. Cynthia.
Mika Kai was the best time of my life! Great experience. House is great. Amazing view. Miss it! Melanie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfectly Wonderful for a Family

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2009

We gathered on the Big Island to be with my mom during her last year of life in 2009. We needed a place to come together as a family. Cousins from the Mainland joined our relatives from Australia. We had all our arrangements made. But when we arrived it turned out the house we had rented had mould problems.

Luckily the agent was able to move us to Mika Kai. What a place! We saw whales, basked in the pool and hot tub and cooked meals in the spacious kitchen. We make music, talk story, the whole thing was perfect. We would gladly return. Thanks so much to the owners for their hospitality and support. It really helped us out.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will remember for a lifetime

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

Your home was perfect & in such a beautiful setting. The 12
days we spent here, we will remember for a lifetime. The pool
was perfect for our 7 year old Michael & the waves were
perfect. My niece, wife & myself, we would love to stay here
again sometime. It is hard to leave this place. It is true
Paradise on Earth.
May God richly Bless you & yours.
Guest city-state/province: Delth, Utah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just amazing So wonderful

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

It was an amazing stay here, beautiful view & house. Just
amazing So wonderful and the best place for vacation spot,
very relaxing. Thank you for the stay. We enjoyed everything
about it. It was really beautiful.
Love,
* We will have many good memories in this house,
Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house had everything we needed!!

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Thank you for sharing your home. We had a happy & relaxing week. The house had everything we needed!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Healing Hawaii!

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

After the loss of my mother, our family chose to continue with our plans for a family vacation. This home is stunning and extremely comfortable. They have everything that you need! Our evenings were spent listening to the birds and wildlife and days by the pool and exploring the Island. We had 10 people; including 3 children 4, 6, and 9 and at no time did you feel crowded.
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home and making our first trip to Hawaii wonderful - we hope to return some day.
Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review