reviews for: listing #73653 - Key Largo, Florida Houseboat rental

Surrounded by Water & manatee, canal & bayside choices!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Key Largo Village
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $160 /nt
    $780 - $900 /wk

sort by:

Houseboat adventure

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 14, 2014

It's hard to know where to start. Giana's descriptions are right on the money. We searched for a new experience and nailed it. Swimming off the boat in the morning with no drive, kayaking to the mangroves easily or a short bike ride to one of Key Largo's beaches are just a few of the perks. We lived like the locals which is what we always strive for now. This beats the hustle an bustle of your typical overpriced dry hotel set-up.
Giana and Chanock are the perfect hosts. So accommodating! [That's an understatement] We had some great conversations and truly felt like close friends or family. We stayed on the Everglades houseboat and our daughter, son-in-law and 1 year old stayed on land at the Sun Bay Haven [perfect for them]Family from Miami visited easily and we were able to hit Key West or Miami easily by car.
The houseboats and land lodgings are exquisitely set up and clean with HUGE attention to detail. They are perfect and we look forward to a visit to their Brooklyn site now as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review:) We enjoyed hosting you, getting to know you and do look forward to seeing you here in New York City! It truly makes us happy to witness our guests having a good time and enjoying our places and taking care. Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent location, friendly owners,cozy houseboat

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

Never lived on a boat before, loved it. Giana is very friendly, made a few great suggestions for us regarding places to see, places to eat. We kayaked to the beach every day, straight from the boat, my friend used the bicycle to the beach. We watched lots of fish and lots of birds. Manatees were close by, so much fun! The houseboat is close to several parks and attractions worth visiting. Supermarket is 5 minutes drive,so we saved some money on breakfast and lunch meals.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Our guests were wonderful folks we had the pleasure to host. We welcome them back anytime in the future. There is plenty of wildlife to see right at the boat, in the bay and over at the beach. It was so nice to see their pleasure in experiencing the manatee. We have fond memories of their stay with us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our vacation paradise

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

The last week of July, our family of 10 stayed 7 nights on the Silver Moon houseboat, Manatee Queen Haven and the Sun Bay Haven. What a wonderful time..We were all able to be together, it was like having our own little vacation paradise. We grilled out in the evenings, docked our boat right there, enjoyed the kayaks, fished for small barracuda right off the dock, we even snorkeled out the canal to the beach area, it was great! So much better than a hotel; the privacy led to a truly great family experience. Giana made the reservation coordination for all the family easy and Chanoch stopped by occasionally to make sure we were having a most pleasurable experience. If you want a great vacation in Key Largo and you have a big family, check this place out. The location, amenities, privacy and reasonable cost can’t be beat.
I highly recommend!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Respectful, kind, easy to communicate people make it easy to host! It is no small feat to coordinate a multi-family vacation and they made it easy and fun. I'm glad they had a good time and we welcome them back again.
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun adventure with everything you need!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We had a GREAT time on the house boat! The property was clean and accurately described. We received great customer service. We would recommend this site to friends an family! We loved having access to a Kayak that was one of our favorite things to do. The bikes also came in very handy. Our favorite restaurant was the Pilot house! Enjoy your Trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We do our best to make it clean, fun, easy to have a good vacation. I am glad you had a good time and it was a joy to host you and welcome you back any time to any of our properties.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place - loved the manatees!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Let's put it this way: the houseboat is a very special place. Its location right near the bay and the curious manatees (7 together at one time) frequently visiting made our trip unforgettable. It is very much family friendly, or 2 and 5 year old had such a great time with all the wildlife around.

The hospitality of Giana and Chanoch was fabulous. Very clean houseboat, well equiped and a few blocks away from a beautiful beach. The free access to the double kayak was very much appreciated. We enjoyed the owner's company and the opportunity to meet with neighbors and other vacationers renting the other units. Will definitly go again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: They were wonderful guests, lovely people and we welcome them back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Scuba trip

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

We decided to try a few days on the houseboat after we had a great time at one of their other rentals. This time it was just me and my teenage daughter (left mom at home) so we could concentrate on diving. This was the perfect spot to stay. Right on the water, we could take the kayak out in the morning then head out for the afternoon dive. We were very comfortable there and we had everything we needed. The owner's, Gianna & Chanoch couldn't have been nicer. They were always there to help and answer any questions we had. We met several of their neighbors and joined them one night for a pot luck dinner....everyone was so generous and welcoming. We already have reservations for a week in June right when school lets out and we can't wait!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: They were wonderful to host. We often say, we look forward to hosting a guest in the future and in fact, we have had the pleasure to host them twice more! We have many returning vacationers, and for those returning, they get to see the changes: new plants, updated amenities, new places including kayaks & bikes in which to choose! Thank you for coming back to us here in Key Largo!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We found our perfect piece of Paradise!

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We found our perfect piece of paradise when we stayed at the Silvermoon Houseboat. Upon arrival we were graciously welcomed by our hostess Giana, who showed us around the property and gave us information on the area. The property is conveniently located to everything you could need during your stay. The first morning we were greeted by the manatee. It was a magical moment, that soon would be followed by many others during our stay. From the kayak tour of the mangrove to relaxing on the deck at sunset. This property has it all! We were looking for an unique experience and we've found it on the houseboat. It comes with everything you need! We've always stayed at resorts and after staying on the houseboat, we will always choose the houseboat as our first choice for travel fun. The hosts were very friendly and made you feel like family. I would recommend staying on the houseboat to anyone who is looking for the perfect Florida Key experience and enjoy a piece of paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Some of what our guests had to say was why we do this: for guests to experience magical, wonderful moments, and really being able to kick back and enjoy our piece of paradise. I was so glad they had a good time, and we look forward to hosting them in the future in Brooklyn or Key Largo!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Houseboat Beautiful!

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

We have never spent a better getaway and have been to many parts of Florida numerous times. The boat is wonderful, like a minature home away from home. The canal and manatee are enticing and the owners, Gianna & Chanoch, are so gracious and friendly and helpful. If we return, this will be our first choice of places to come back too. It is close to the Bay, beach, grocery store, post office, library and several other amenities. The restaurants around are excellent, expecially Mrs. Macs and The Fish House. We'd give it a "ten" for convenience. And we would recommend it very very highly.
David & Louise, Ozark, Arkansas

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review! Both of you and your sweet little dog will be missed! I feel like one of the real marks of having been a good host is when the guests want to return! We welcome them back without reservation!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Hidden Treasure!

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

When planning a spring break get away for me and my husband we decided to try some place different and out of the tourist traps and where it was guaranteed to be very warm. Once we settled on Key Largo, we saw the listing for the house boat. Having never stayed in a house boat before we were excited to give it a try! WE WERE NOT disappointed! The weather was indeed beautiful, the house boat was fun, and hospitality was 5 star! We have lasting memories of swimming with the manatee, riding the bikes all over, and spending time on the patio with the other guests and owners. Looking forward to another visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Another reason we love hosting is the great guests we have the honor to host! They are fun loving great couple and love that they have come back to visit multiple times!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sun Bay Getaway

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic vacation staying in Best Sun Bay-Getaway. The room was clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed playing with the manatees and relaxing in the sun:) Chanoch & Giana were extremely hospitable, we couldn't have asked for better hosts and conversation. We would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a blast on the houseboat

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

We (family of four) had a fantastic time on the houseboat - swam with the manatees (the kids had names for them all), kayaked through the canals and into the bay. Chanoch and Giana were wonderful hosts and looked after us very well with lots of information about what to do and where to go locally. The houseboat was clean, comfortable and in good shape. We highly recommend staying on the houseboat for a unique Florida Keys holiday experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just like visiting family

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

The owners of the houseboat could not have been nicer. When we arrived the owner asked us if we needed anything. My wife responded that a beer would be nice. Poof out came a beer for each Adult. Plus the local advise of restaurants to eat at with a dog and other things to do in the keys was prefect. If you are looking for a nice safe place to stay, people who treat you like family and the use of a Kayak. Then this is the place for you. Just a note for people that have not stayed on a house boat before. Houseboat are not roomy. But the view of 2 manatee swimming down the canal is worth it. Looking forward to a return trip in the summer.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Our super Jupiter family were wonderful! Whether its a couple or a family coming to vacation, our place is adaptable. There is the romantic long pier for watching sunsets, nice swim to our beach, or romping on the dock and jumping into the canal with the noodles & floaties.
If you are looking to 'hang out' or want your privacy, its all up to our guests to decide:)
A bathing suit and toothbrush is really the only things one needs. We do have a great room, we call the 'dance hall'. This is a good place for suitcases so there is more room in the houseboat. Yes, the houseboat is cozy & part of its charm - there are three decks to hang out about & the dock is also an extension of your living space.
When more sleeping space is needed, along with the houseboat we have an on-land one room efficiency- great for a second couple!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review