reviews for: listing #73689 - Fort Morgan, Alabama House rental

Enchanted Dunes
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Dunes
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $415 - $1,215 /nt
    $2,491 - $7,989 /wk

sort by:

A Little Bit of Heaven

Review submitted: August 24, 2014   Date of arrival: August 16, 2014

Enchanted Dunes was just as promised for our family wedding/ get-away. Pictures do not do justice to the views, and the main porch and balconies were wonderful to relax on. Beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, our entire family was happy with the accommodations! This is a pet friendly home, but the furniture and flooring do not show "pet" , and the main floor /bathroom tiles were ideal for pets, children, and beach "goers". The kitchen was very well stocked with items, and the two dishwashers, ice-maker, and two refrigerators were very welcome to our large family. The elevator helped our family members with knee issues, and as long as you follow the directions, works perfectly! All of the furniture was comfortable and made for relaxing including the porch chairs and lounges, and seating in the kitchen and dining area is ample. Just off the deck is an area to "shower off" the sand before coming in, and George had sand toys, noodles, floats, etc.... in the storage room on the lower level. We loved having the shade of the lower level for grilling and cooking sea food, (huge grill) and the picnic table is a nice addition along with all the chairs for seating. We had room for our "redneck wedding reception" and brought in ten tables/ 60 chairs and still had room to enjoy the company. At night, the bedrooms were welcoming and extremely comfortable, and our king bed with balcony and beach view was wonderful. Truthfully, I can't tell you much about the large screen TVs and tech items because I spent much of my time on the beach- however, the gentlemen and teens were happy so I can safely assume all was good! I know having the internet helped keep our younger family members connected with college info. The boardwalk to the beach gave us quick beach access even it was a bit hot to the feet (take flip-flops) and it was just minutes to the water and sand. The Dunes community provides lounges, and the beach area was very nice.
We only had one issue with the house, and it was a minor one. The French doors to the balconies and main deck were a little difficult to unlock/lock and open. The owner (George) provided instructions for everything from the elevator to opening these doors, and we still had a little difficulty with them. Regardless, I would recommend Enchanted Dunes for any family get together or event, and I would love to return! George was extremely helpful, and quickly responded to all questions. He helped make our Wedding Event perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enchanted Dunes Wedding

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

We came to the enchanted dunes for our wedding. we could not have picked a more perfect location. the week long stay with ourselves and the wedding party could not have been better. plenty of space,perfect beach access. we visit gulf shores every year and we will not stay anywhere else in the future except for the enchanted dunes house. thank you to george for allowing us to use his beautiful home to make our wedding so very special.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway!!!

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We chose this house as the vacation spot for family and friends driving in from: Birmingham, Al; Atlanta, Ga; Orlanda, Fl; and Knoxville, TN. Since this was my first time renting thru VRBO, I was a bit skeptical. I submitted my request & the next day, received a call from Mr Wakefield. He was so thorough, I didn't have to ask any questions; and I felt at ease. It was also comforting to know that I had contact information and could call Mr Wakefield if I had any questions before and during the trip (which I didn't thanks to Mr Wakefield's attention to detail). I liked that the other travelers were able to make payments for their portion of the trip via the Internet. The express check in and key code entry allowed for everyone to arrive at their own pace as they would be able to enter with the code. Even though the house looks nice in the pictures, it looks even better in person. The TV's have good picture quality; and the wifi connection was GREAT!!! There is enough room and seating on the lower deck for 10-12 people (comfortably). We found ourself sitting out there at night listening to the waves before calling it a night. We were able to catch a glimpse of the Blue Angels doing their fly overs [which was great]. The beach was clean; and wasn't too crowded. I could go on and on about all the "greats" of this house, the location and Mr Wakefield but I'm limited by character count :). This was our first stay in Ft Morgan (we normally rent in Gulf Shores). We were so impressed with Ft Morgan and with Enchanted Dunes, we've already reserved to come back next year!!! Thanks for sharing your home with us Mr Wakefield!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best vacation. Ever

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

My family had an awesome vacation at Enchanted Dunes. We had room to spread out and and enjoy. Thank you Mr. George for sharing your home it is beautiful! We are already planning our trip next year to Fort Morgan, very family friendly and safe. Thank you VRBO can always rely on you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Home & Vacation

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We were fortunate to have found this home for our family of 20 & for our beach wedding. There was plenty of space including the great kitchen! Everyone tends to gather in the kitchen, and there was plenty of seating and space for everyone. We enjoyed watching the dolphins, the birds, and the Blue Angels practicing every day. With the 9 TV's in the house, the only one used was in the kids bedroom at night. It was great to see everyone "unplugged" and to enjoy the natural beauty of this place. It was a plus to have two dishwashers, two refrigerators and an ice-maker. Although we rarely used it, the elevator was handy to haul luggage upstairs. It was also nice for each bedroom to have a private bathroom, which we have not enjoyed in other home rentals. My only complaint is that it is time for new mattresses, epecially in the master bedroom. In addition, I would like to see the rental company provide a check list of damages,so I am sure that there is not a problem or a "guilty" party in my group if something is broke or damaged. A shelf in the refrigerator was broke, and there was several dings in the walls when we arrived - I sure didn't want to be blamed & I wasn't. Just a thought. A beautiful place - I truly miss sitting on the porch while I enjoyed watching our family making a memorable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for visiting Enchanted Dunes! We love renting our vacation home but have learned that there will be some nicks and dings... These are addressed several times per year. Along the same lines, we understand that occasionally something will break and we appreciate when guests let us know so that we can repair them as soon as possible. We now have a handyman who regularly goes through the house but an email giving us a heads up about an issue is great since some may not be obvious. For instance we found some box springs that had become separated leaving a gap under the mattress. We have new expensive mattresses that work best with the box springs correctly positioned! Thank you very much for your stay and comments and I hope you will want to come back to Enchanted Dunes soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best place to stay, look no further!!

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

This place was fantastic. We try to do a family vacation with my in-laws and their children every year during spring break. We wanted something on the beach that would be large enough to accomodate the 16 of us without tripping over each other. This house was perfect. Right on the beach so you can drink your morning coffee, watch the dolphin play and listen to the ocean. We could sit on the decks and watch the children down at the waters edge. The total walk down the boardwalks to the beach took approximately 2 minutes. You can't get any closer to the beach unless you pitch a tent on the beach!! The house was great, extremely homey and comfortable. We didn't worry that we were going to break something, it was so very inviting and the men spent a lot of time on the couches watching March Madness while we women sat on the decks or went to the beach. The home is about 20 minutes from the main tourist attractions and this was lovely for us as it wasn't so busy and gave us a chance to get away. The bedrooms were all good sized and the beds were very comfortable. It was so nice having a bathroom for each bedroom and every room also had large closets. There are decks off of each bedroom which allowed you to see what the temperature was going to be prior to getting dressed and heading out. the kitchen/dining area was large enough to accomadate us all easily. George was extremely friendly and supplied us with a lot of information so we were well prepared. Tacky Jacks is just across the street from the subdivision and we enjoyed the bar and the even chartered a boat through their marina. I highly recommend Walter at the Marina, he gave us a great fishing experience and we even threw a bunch back!! Sherrie at the bar was also extremely friendly and informative. We ate at the diner above the bar and i hate to say we were not impressed, the waitress was rude and to be honest we will not return to the dining part of Tacky Jacks. We also went and did the Zip lining adventure at the Gulf State Park, another recommendation, I never knew I could have so much fun. The people at the Hummingbird zip lines were extremely friendly and helpful and immediately put me at ease. We also drove about 45 minutes and watched the Blue Angels practice, what an experience! George, thank you so much for opening your beautifu home to us, we hope to return next year but if we can't you have given us memories to last a lifetime. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Snowbird heaven!

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

My baby boomer aged families and I enjoyed a wonderful time, some might go as far to say an Enchanted Vacation at this property in February. It is located at the extreme end of Fort Morgan. There are sooh many pelicans and dolphins to watch from the 3 balconies, roads in the area to ride a bike, and an easy walk on the beach. We experienced coffee and a floor show of animal activity every morning. If you are looking for night life excitement, you might want to live closer to Gulf Shores. However, for a perfect sunrise or sunset look no further.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enchanted Dunes - WOW!!!

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

George thank you very much for sharing your lovely beach house with my family. We spend 7 glorious nights in the lap of luxury wanting for nothing except a longer stay. Folks - Enchanted Dunes is everything and more than specified in the advertisement. Plainly put - 5 STARS. We do an annual family reunion and this year I chose to return to NAS Pensacola, where I received my Wings of Gold in 1975. I wanted to take my family to the Naval Aviation museum and the NAS Cubi O’Club addition to show them what dad did while he was deployed to WESTPAC. We all wanted a beach location big enough to handle our group but in a location where folks could just relax and enjoy. Everything went perfectly. We were lucky enough to grab an extra night when the agency let us know that an earlier transition day was available. They didn’t have to do that, but they did – they were all about customer service and satisfaction. We received plenty of information to plan our trip and very courteous service from arrival to departure. In addition to Pensacola FL, we made day visits to Foley, Gulf Shores, The World Famous Flora-Bama Oyster Bar and Grill, and Fairhope AL. We set up evening shop at Tacky Jacks II and made it our nighttime hangout. The weather was very cooperative, and when we were not out seeing the sights, we were enjoying the beach – which OBW the house had plenty of gear for use in the sand. We cooked out one night and just sat on the first floor deck overlooking the Gulf while chatting, laughing and listening to the waves hit the shore. Enchanted Dunes has plenty of space with its 7 large bedrooms and baths. The elevator was a very nice accessory, but now my wife would like one in our home. The refrigerator on the carport level made food and drink storage a non issue. The adjacent work out facility was a hit with my daughter. Enchanted Dunes will always be a fond memory to all of us. George thanks again from a very grateful and relaxed group of smiling campers. Chuck McKeone.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Destination Wedding

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

Hosted a wedding at this location and the house was more than we expected. Everyone had plenty of room and privacy with the layout of the house. Only disappointment was the 2nd floor master was not beachview and the access to the beach was a longer walk than I anticipated. The weather was perfect and the wedding was wonderful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

We plan a family reunion each year, selecting a different location. For the most part we use vrbo and recently home away in our search for the right place. This year we wanted a beach location and settled on Fort Morgan, Alabama. The preparations went very harmonious, with rental agent and owner, plenty of information to plan our trip and very courteous service. The property was exactly what we needed; plenty of space for group gatherings and also private rooms and baths. We stayed for 5 days, and because of the information provided we were able to parked on arrival and enjoyed the whole week without traveling anywhere by car. The place was well maintained, furnished as stated, clean and a real joy for everyone. We had family from Alabama, Florida east coast, Ohio and Michigan. It couldn’t have been better. It was one of the best locations so far in our 5 years of getting together. If you are looking for a Gulf Coast vacation you won’t be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Retreat

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

My family of 14 got together to celebrate a special birthday at Enchanted Dunes. The house was amazing. The elevator was very helpful to the ones in the family who have trouble getting around. The views were awesome!!!! We felt right at home. The owner called us during our trip to make sure that everything was OK with our stay. It was just an all around great experience. We will definitely plan to go back to Enchanted Dunes again,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mother of the Bride

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

My daughter was married on the beach in front of the home. The entire experience was wonderful and beautiful. The views were breathtaking. The beach house is so large that they may want to install an intercom from floor to floor. I would definately stay again and recommend the beach house for any occasion.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great for weddings!!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

We stayed at the beach house for my wedding and it was beautiful. Everyone that came was very impressed. I will definitely use the property again...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

This houose was wonderful from the bedding, decorations, room, location and size. My daughter was married in front of the home on the beach the Day After Thanksgiving and it was beautiful for our intimate famiy gathering. We enjoyed relaxing the several days before the wedding and the home is so well insulated everyone could have time to read, watch TV or just hang out on the balconies and enjoy the peace and quite. We look forward to another visit in our near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review of Enchanted Dunes!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

~ Enchanted stay at Enchanted Dunes ~

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

Our family of 14 loves to stay together at the beach, but everyone has a special request when choosing a location. For example, one wants private baths, one needs semi-handicap home access, one wants lots of nature, the kids want a pool in case ocean swimming is dangerous, my husband wants great electronics/TV, I want a beautifully equiped kitchen with plenty of function/space/seating. With such a large family it can get tricky trying to meet all of the requests presented, but our vacation at Enchanted Dunes met or exceeded each family members request! As our family grows, we need more and more space and this home gave us lots of room for enjoying time together, but refuge (with a private bed/bath/balcony) at the end of the day. We have stayed in a condo for the past several years, and it was wonderful to get back to house-living because we forgot how much fun it is to take bicycles and fishing equipment on vacation and not have to bring them inside at night. The ourside grill was first class. We brought our golf cart and it was fun to load it up and ease over to Ft. Morgan for fishing in the afternoon. Thank goodness for the keyless-entry and the elevator - both of which helped tremendously! When the jelly-fish rolled in, the kids actually had two pools to choose from. And I cannot say enough about the kitchen ~ an icemaker, two dishwashers, top notch appliances and best of all, the VIEW while cooking! George was a true professional to work with and he called to check and see if we had any questions after we checked-in. Thank you George - We absolutely had the time of our life!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are quite welcome! It is rewarding to help people have a wonderful vacation. Thank you for your comments!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Debra (Rome,GA)

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

This is a beautiful home. The property is well maintained and descriptions are accurate in listing. My family had a wonderful time. The grandchildren and great grandchildren have some wonderful memories
flying kites on the beach, hunting sand crabs, and fishing on the beach with their Papa and cousins. My mother enjoyed the beach from the back porch and playing with the greatchildren. After my mother figured out the elevator, it was very handy the rest of the week since she has leg problems. The beach wheelchair was delivered by the time we arrived. Everything was great! Thank you for sharing your home with us, and we would love to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enchanted Dunes Birthday Celebration!!

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

Our trip to Enchanted Dunes couldn't have been any better!!! The weather was fantastic. The house was so beautiful and accommodating for all of our family members that joined us. We were wowed by how well equipped the the house was, especially the kitchen. The dueling dishwashers were a big hit!!! We will certainly be regulars returning to your house and have already told lots of friends about it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Love Enchanted Dunes

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

We recently rented this property, it is absolutely the best property I have ever rented. I love the location, the house is fabulous. We had everything we needed for my family of 14. Owner was very helpful in assisting us with electronics questions and operation of the elevator. Only a short walk to the beach, which by the way, was beautiful as well as water. We had a wonderful time and plan to go back next fall, same time, same place. Thank you George.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Thanks so much for the house! It was wonderful! We hope to come back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review