reviews for: listing #73691 - Olympia, Washington House rental

Perfect Equestrian Estate Venue for Weddings, Reunions, Etc
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $900 /nt
    $2,000 - $3,500 /wk
    $4,500 - $7,500 /mth

sort by:

Close To Everything, Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 4, 2014

We had such a fantastic stay at the Manor. Our family got together for a late holiday gathering and we couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations. This was my second stay at this property and it was really fun to see all of the improvements made to make the place even more guest friendly.
My family all raved about how comfy their beds were, and how the quiet country setting made sleeping in easy. My mom and uncle fought over who got to do the cooking, as the kitchen is huge and so easy to create meals in, the kids loved the Ping pong and horses and really always had plenty to do. The horses are super cute and actually come peek over the massive rock wall around the patio, looking for pets and treats. We fed them carrots and had permanent friends after that. The chickens are a riot as they just roam the property and come running to you if you look like you might have a snack to share.
We are already discussing next year's visit to the Manor. It couldn't be better kept, everything was just spotless! And the owner is very accessible and helpful when we had questions. Everything was set up in a way that made our stay relaxing and stress free. Attention to detail and lots of effort goes into the manors maintenance and it made for a lovely stay. 5 stars!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a must return vacation spot

Review submitted: November 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

The memories of this place is still fresh in my mind. My sister and my two nephews had our first vacation together and no other place could have made this memorable except the Manor. clean, spacious and comfortable house. Misti was there to welcome us with a basket of fruits and a bottle of wine:)
I cant wait to schedule another vacation there very soon. I highly recommend anyone to try it and you will understand my excitement.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Manor at South Bay

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

Our stay was a wonderful experience, above and beyond what we had hoped for!! Hope to return soon!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderful Easter Weekend

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

Our family rented this beautiful home to surprise our youngest sibling on his 40th Birthday which also fell on Easter weekend. We had such a wonderful time! The house is great, beautiful and clean. The grounds were just coming out of a hard winter but were still fantastic. The kids had an easter egg hunt, there were so many places to hide eggs, I only hope we found them all. We had kids ranging from 5 to 16 and all of them were so entertained. The house had space for all of us to hang out in small groups to catch up with each other and large enough areas to gather together. Misty was always available to answer questions and help us if we needed anything. The views from this property are amazing, Mt Rainer in the distance is breath taking! We thank you so much for this great home and sharing it with us! We look forward to renting again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Our Happily Ever After

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Our family had the honor of spending our New Years Weekend at the Manor at South Bay, and bringing in the New Year with our Wedding. The Manor is so beautiful I found it so hard to pack up and leave. I am hoping to spend more time there this summer and get out to see more of the horses. I want to thank Misti for being readily available if we had any questions and for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. It truly was an Amazing time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

A Magical Place....

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

I just returned home today, from a lovely weekend with the Family at the Manor. I almost cried when we left because I had such a great time and bonded with Butterfly, one of the sweetest horses I have ever been in contact with. The house reminded me of a storybook and I was easily able to relax and forget about any stresses in life. The rooms are all unique in decor and the house is much bigger than it looks! I actually got lost a few times, when we first arrived. The owner and staff are helpful and lovely people! My husband, brother, brother's gf and I were all able to enjoy a horseback riding lesson at the equestrian center, located just 2 miles from the Manor. The Instructor was amazing and really encouraged the first time riders which made them more confident in their riding abilities. I just loved all the time I spent with horses. My husband is now dealing with me wanting to purchase a horse and move to the countryside, as I have always wanted a horse! There is something magical about the Manor, and if you need a getaway, this is the place to go. Located only an hour from Seattle, which was a quick drive for my husband and I. We are planning to return as soon as possible. I miss the horses, especially Butterfly, and I miss the Manor, I felt instantly at home. It's a healing, peaceful place....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Even better in person, very impressed!

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

The Manor is much more beautiful in person than online. So often, it's the opposite but in this case, we were just amazed. There's no way to capture in pictures how expansive the property is. We had everything we needed and our stay felt like a true country luxury vacation. The kids picked black berries and rode horses, which they LOVED! We ate breakfast on the backyard deck area that looks right at Mt. Rainier, the sun rise, and horses grazing. It almost feels like a movie set. And less than an hour from Pike Place Market and Downtown Seattle. That was an easy day trip, and great for the kids. We talked about having a reunion here next year, or spending the Holidays. It would be perfect for a large family get together. The Manor wasn't just a place to sleep, it was a huge part of our vacation. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Devin and family,
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Manor. When we came in to tend to the horses, your little city kids looked as though they had adapted quickly to country living. So cute! Especially Woodrow on the pony! We do hope to see you again, and thank you for your kind words.
~Misti

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

My husband and I have been vacation rental junkies for a few years now and The Manor was by far one of our favorites. The home was spotless, very organized, and we were supplied with everything we needed from hand soap to towels to cooking utensils/spices etc. in the kitchen. The first thing we did when we got home was buy a Keurig coffee maker like the one at The Manor. Those buggers are quite handy!
It was also great being close to town, with no traffic getting to or from Olympia or Lacey, and yet sitting on top of a country hill over looking pastures and the beautiful Mt. Rainer.
We were able to relax and really let down. My husband loved the walking trails on the property and we were able to jog the Chehalis Western trail just a block from the Manor, which took us right to the gorgeous Puget Sound.
I have paid twice as much for a lot, lot, less. We loved our stay, we are very grateful to Misti for taking care of all the details and providing such a wonderful place, and we will most certainly be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Darlina,
You are so welcome! We love what we do and love that families like yours enjoy the Manor like we do. We agree that it's a special place. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again soon!
~Misti

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Horses, fresh air, spacious, relaxing, fun!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

We had the best time! We booked the Manor for a family gathering. Our parents live in Olympia and us kids are spread out all over the country. There are 22 of us total, with kids and spouses, and we had more than enough room. We were able to cook our meals in the huge kitchen and it was so nice to not have to eat out all the time. One of the nicest features is the windows, you can see Mt. Rainier, herds of horses, and we could see the kids outside playing from most windows. We made good use of the volleyball court and the huge grill, and we played laser tag on the walking trails in the woods. It was just perfect to have the whole family centrally located at a huge country estate, with acres of land to play on and a gorgeous home to relax in. Another appreciated feature is the location! You feel like you're in the country, but lots of shopping and dining is under 10 minutes away. We had such a great time with our family, and we were thrilled with everything about the Manor. Can't wait for next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Julyl 21

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

Having a great time! First family joined us last night. Nieces love the horses closeby. :-)

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

Great house...great time! :-)

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

June 10, 2011

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

We will be back! You have a wonderful place there. All we did was cook and eat...not many crafts got done! But, we had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 15, 2011

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

I want to thank you for allowing us to stay at your beautiful property. I know all of the people in my party were very happy with the property and their stay :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 24, 2011

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

Many thanks for a lovely stay-

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Ahh, Those Special Touches Rarely Found....

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

We arrived to a beautiful setting of horses grazing on lush pastures, and a stately Manor with perfectly manicured grounds. My mouth dropped open but no words came out. Sorry if I sound like a cheesy Harlequin novel, but I kid you not, I felt like I was in one. Dont' get me wrong, nothing was cheesy, everything was perfect! Once I got over my ohhing and ahhhing over the gorgeous flowers, beautiful horses, fresh air, and amazing views, I ran to the house. What a treat! I could go on and on, but I will just state what I'm sure you want to know : The house was spotless, organized, bedding was high quality, beds were all VERY comfortable, the patio/out door kitchen was AWESOME! One night we had 40 family members over for a BBQ and there was room for all to mingle and hang out. Mount Rainier looked amazing, and was in clear view from the Patio/Pool area.
The little touches that really made us feel welcome: Gift basket full of lotions, soaps, etc., a Tasha Nicole cheesecake left by the owner as a token of her appreciation, a phone call from the owner to check on us shortly after check in to make sure we were settled in and comfortable, very friendly maintenance and housekeeping staff (one offered to bring us fresh Salmon for the BBQ), Oh! And while there I was invited to take a riding lesson for the first time. Something I've always wanted to do and finally did! The energy there is so good, the staff and owner are very friendly and were attentive to our needs, we have been in many vacation rentals but few inspire me to write a review. It's just a wonderful place to relax, rejuvenate, and just be. Very highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jenna
Your review made me chuckle! I am so glad that your party went well and that everyone had a great time. You certainly had great weather! I appreciate your review, and would love to have your family back for future celebrations. I hope you have found a stable to ride at near home. You looked great on that horse!
Thanks again,
Misti

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

VERY poor management!!

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

To start with, we were double booked TWICE! The second time making us change our graduation party plans in which all invites has already been sent--the was extremely inconvient.
We were never sent a contract. I had to phone and e-mail multiple times just to get a confermation. I finally received one 1 week before our scheduled weekend, only to discover the wrong dates.
I had to call her to find out how to get into the house.
There was a shortage of bedding for the air mattresses--and not many towels.
No blinds on all the bedroom windows---so good luck sleeping in or getting kiddos down for a nap.
There was only ONE bunk bed in the barn---which I was told by a very rude lady working out there that we were not allowed to use any way...???
But the topper to this experience--NO WORKING HOT TUB! It had no water and looked to had been out of service for some time.
The pool was cold and cloudy.
I recommend finding a rental that has proper management!

Owners response: Our staff is very professional to guests, and can handle even the pushiest of guests with a calm and polite demeanor. In reference to the above review, the guest had a difficult time understanding the parameters of what was and wasn't included in the rental of The Manor. One member of the party entered a locked building, picked up a weed eater, and attempted to clear an area for a fire pit in the middle of a dry hay field because the actual fire pit was "too far away". When staff requested the guest stop, the guest refused. When staff requested the guests not inhabit the barn loft because it is not a part of the rental, the guest refused and would not leave. This put us in violation of county codes.
We take great care of our renters and realize that we can't please everyone all of the time, but we have been praised over and over for our attention to detail and courteous, prompt attention to guest needs.
We will never and have never double booked the Manor. The contract is always sent in PDF and if you are unable to open it or do not own a printer, we can and will fax it or snail mail it. Contracts are required with every transaction to protect the renter as well as us, the property owner. We have never booked the Manor without a contract.
All windows have window coverings which allow rooms to be made dark.
Use of air beds must be requested in advance so that we can provide the appropriate air bed linens. However, if a guest forgets to reserve the beds, there are many blankets and extra pillows (25 total) for any guest to use on the air beds with no reservation required.
The barn is not included in the rental of the Manor, and we do not imply that it is. This is stated clearly in the contract.
It is a disheartening feeling to have communication problems with a guest, but we try very hard to be proactive to eliminate potential miscommunications. We care deeply about our guests' experience and go above and beyond to make sure all is well.

Helpful votes: 6 / 12

 

Quiet, elegant, charming- everything you need

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

We booked Chastain for only one night and wished we could have stayed forever! We used it for a gathering place for mix of business and relaxing and it was absolutely perfect. You feel so away from all of the hustle of the city, and yet you are only minutes away from down town Olympia. Hearing the horses whinny in the morning and watching them prance around the fields was just amazing. The house has EVERYTHING you could need. Fully stocked kitchen, huge island, 2 ovens. It was a joy to cook in. The master bedroom was breathtaking and so spacious with THE most comfortable bed. It was hard to get up in the morning. The shower is a small walk in room with two showerheads as well as a hand held one. The other bathroom has a nice jetted tub that everyone raved about as well. While it was too cold to swim in the pool and the hot tub wasn't yet ready we plan on coming back when both are ready to be used and enjoying the full outside kitchen on the deck. The ample parking space was also really helpful. Over all I can't say enough good things about this place. The owners were friendly, easy to work with in renting it, accommodating, and fast to respond. I came out the hero in our group for finding such a gem. Thanks Chastain Mist Manor!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 21

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review